Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Estoril 4 stars

Estrada Marginal, 2665-901 Estoril, Portugal

#8 of 15 hotels in Estoril

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 888 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.0
    Not a 4 stars poor an expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, outdsted, bad Smell in rooms, need to be reformed, also pool everything was old and not well maintained , it’s not a 4 stars, to expensive for the quality, few towels, not even body cream in te amenities just shampoo and bath soap, very poor in all aspects, even minibar just water, safety box for extra cost, we pay 200 euros night and the charge you the safety apart !!

    Crear location, big rooons

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location - very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location - very close to the beach. The hotel has a nice roof pool, as plan B:) Excellent breakfast - what a choice on the menu! Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean rooms, comfortable beds. We enjoyed our stay full time.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Clean, great location, but very DATED!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very dated and need a refresh.. 4 Star is a stretch... I’d say more like 3

    The staff was very polite and friendly and the location is excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    4.6
    The property was too expensive but the comfort was closer to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    See above

    The property was too expensive but the comfort was closer to null. The room was too noisy, I couldn't sleep at night. The towels were very old. This property was too expensive compared to the level of service standard and facilities. Plus they charged to iron a cloth in addition to the already very expensive price of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Our original flight was cancelled and we arrived one day...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our original flight was cancelled and we arrived one day late but the hotel did not charge us for the first night. Andre, at the pool bar, was very service minded.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Not fancy but it does the job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to pay extra for things like a safe lock and pressing service since there was no iron in the room. The hotel should simply incorporate these small charges in the room fee so that the customer doesn't feel like they're paying for every small thing. There should be water provided in the room after the first day. I would avoid the 'Italian' restaurant downstairs, terrible spaghetti bolognese; and that is the most basic of Italian foods.

    Great location, just across the street from the beach and next to a wonderful pastry called Pastelaria Garrett; they have the best Portuguese treats. Having fruit in the room when I walked in. Clean bathroom and spacious bedroom. The people who cleaned the room and brought my pressed clothes were all lovely and very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    I'm staying in a much better hotel in Lisbon for a much less price so will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms, and fitness center were a bit tired and in need of updating. (ie, cigarette burns on nightstand table, old carpet). My main complaint was on the second night there was a dance party going on across the street which kept me from sleeping. Upon closing the windows I realized that the air conditioning unit was old and not strong enough to keep the room cool and ventilated enough to sleep. I called the front desk at 3:30am and asked how long the music would be going and the staff member told me that they had a permit until 6am. He then told me he was taking down the info for the rooms who complained. This was distressing since I booked a 4 hour walking tour of Lisbon the next day. Upon checking out I let the front desk person know that I was one of the people who had a sea facing room who called regarding the all night music. She went to a supervisor, came back , and said that they were sorry and would see would they could do in the future, and asked if I took anything from the minibar! I paid for my bottle of water and left.

    The staff, for the most part was attentive and friendly. Everyone I dealt with the front desk, bar, fitness center, and at the breakfast were great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked room with a balcony, but was told on check in that only a small number of rooms had a balcony, when we insisted we were given a room with a balcony the following day Wasn’t a helpful start

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Wife and I had a great birthday stay in Estoril, made magical by the well-situated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nil

    Bedroom perfect, everything we needed. Quality bathroom had bath, shower and bidet. Restaurant superb, everything you could think of at buffet breakfast plus great staff. Reception people v. helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    A fantastic stay! Everything was perfect. Thank you to all staff at Vila Gale Estoril.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fabulous! We stayed in a sea view room which was amazing! Great location with easy access to Cascais and Lisbon and only a few strides from the beach and seafront. All staff are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar both serve great food and the breakfast is also very good! Very clean and well presented hotel throughout. The pool is situated on the roof which is lovely as it boasts great views over the sea whilst swimming. Check in was simple and staff were very attentive and welcoming. Overall fantastic stay and I highly reccomend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    well positioned
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have more fresh fruits and better croissant: breakfast for me is fundamental. the hotel rooms are maybe little bit old fashion style (80's). it could be renovated little bit.

    well positioned

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot of things of interest in the area, and fewer food choices than other places. Like all major chain hotels, it was a little impersonal. Lighting in the room was terrible.

    Very comfortable stay. The pizza restaurant and included breakfast were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Overall our stay was enjoyable & would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The swimming pool was not opened & there was no information before arrival. The servicing of our bedroom was not complete before 16.00 hours on 5 days. the other two days were earlier as a result of we requesting priority .

    Location very good,staff very helpful, breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    This was my third stay at Vila Galé and as usual the hotel...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few things could definitely be updated, in particular the bathroom in my room looked a bit old and in need of some renovation. The minibar only had two bottles of water and there were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Check in was very slow.

    This was my third stay at Vila Galé and as usual the hotel was very good. The rooms are nice and extremely large, with very comfy beds and lots of space. Many rooms have at least partial sea view, the hotel is very close to the beach and the station, right next to the Casino, shops and restaurants. Breakfast is great with loads of choice and there are complimentary fruit and water in the room on arrival.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    Practical- just adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality Bed. Need to pay extra for safety locker in the room !!!!. Each time you need to ask for tea cups( You need to request for kettle and cups )it will not be replaced).

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing stay, seaview room was quiet, well air conditioned, friendly staff and very good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Masa Fina pizzeria staff seem to be a bit overworked. Look after the staff, and the staff will look after the clients.

    Very good staff all round, good breakfast with good selection of food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Functional but no fun.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are at least 4 Vila Gale in or near Estoril. I thought I was reserving one closer to centre Estoril.

    Very difficult to find the entrance and parking. Geographic situation is poor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous location, very close to the train station and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous location, very close to the train station and the casino. This was ideal for us as we were in Estoril to see a show at the casino. Friendly staff at hotel. Great view from room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice staying for a week in Estoril-Cascais area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Cannot complain any special there.

    Good location, excellent breakfast, very close of the coastline and a railway station of Estoril, pleasant place and staff, all works well, we can recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Great view and nice location - but very very noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is great, but extr. noisy at the same time (just next to main road leading to Lisbon - and an amazing volume of traffic passing by). Rooms and hotel in general somewhat 'out-dated', a little of a bygone era... They need to 'update' the hotel. Breakfast is ok, but not really in line with a 4 star category (e.g. no jelly/jam, no omelette, orange juice just sweet sugar water....).

    Location of the place, rooms 'with a view' have a wonderful view. Staff is very accomodating. The style of the hotel is like 'in the old days' of grand hotels... Breakfast room is nice (breakfast selection limited, though). We received a free bottle of wine for the Italian restaurant next door - very kind.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    We spend very nice week without some unpleasant surprises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Strange smell in the room when we first came into it.

    Very good location, close to the beach and train station. Very tasty breakfasts with daily espresso and champagne. Nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    The location is near the beach, casino and train station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only two lifts in the hotel and they wete very small. The room was big and clean but dated, the bed had a dipped in the middle. Breakfast was ok but you have to walk into the restaurant and find your own table.

    The location is near the beach, casino and train station, and restaurants, supermarket and cafes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel restaurants were slightly expensive. Buffet dinner option was cancelled?! Could do with a microwave in the room as an extra.

    Excellent breakfast, good location for beach and good transport links (via train) to Lisbon. Enjoyed the complementary bottle of wine with a full paying dinner at the restaurant. Can get a kettle for your room only upon request. Staff very pleasant and had a speedy check-in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stay for couple of days, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate beds for couples, joined rooms, pool area, breakfast could be better, difficult with parking.

    Good location, clean rooms, pleasant staff, discount on spa treatments.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    M&B Irl
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have music and if you didn't have buffet every night

    Very near beach & transport. Hotel very nice &staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel ideal for beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area small. No balcony with most rooms.

    Very close to beach and staff were great, very helpful. Ideal for catching train to Lisbon, station just across the road. Estoril beach is beautiful. Nice food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.9
    We loved Portugal and would visit again no doubt. I would question the beds the next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    THE BEDS! Not at all comfortable. We had three single beds - two full size singles and a fold-up for my younger child. The adult size beds were very springy and uncomfortable when it came to sleeping. The management need to invest in better beds to improve ratings. I met another family during our visit and they complained about the same problem. Otherwise it was great!

    Great Location! We were able to walk to the beach, Cascais and take the train into Lisbon. The Villa Gale staff were extremely helpful and friendly at all times! The room was a good size for three single beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    5.0
    Staff quiet responsive and polite
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Charging the bottle of waters in the fridge, without indicating this or the price anywhere - a small thing maybe but it leaves a dark spot on the place

    Staff quiet responsive and polite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    5.8
    poor experiences
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big problems with my access card. My access card to the room did not work just after I checked in before I want to go inside. So I need to come down to re-set the access card, and the card did not work again the next day! I need to re-set the access card again. The second day I finally got a parking place, so they added the garage access to my access card, and after I parked the car, the card did not work again to access my room!!! I need to came down to re-set the access card again!!!! I really did not know what happened to their systems, I waste many times on the access card. I booked the parking place 2 weeks ago, however, the hotel tells that I can not book one without any reason. I need to go to get one parking place next morning. But the second morning I went to ask one, they said I need to wait until 13:00, when someone left (again they can not book one parking place for me). Then when I asked again at 13:00, one of them was at lunch, so the another one asked me to come back later!!!! the location is near the beach, and you can see the beach in front of you just 100 meters, but you need to go another 500 meter to across the train lines by underground, which in this case, you are not so near to the beach. The air condition does not work very well, so very warm inside. I have no idea why this hotel can have 4 stars. All my experiences here are full of poor facilities, poor services!

    the room is good, and location is very near beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely staff, but the hotel is quite expensive for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the picture of the hotel on the website looks as if it is on the beach, there is a busy road and rail line to cross (by tunnel). Breakfast was only average. We had no hot water from 7pm to midday the following day (but staff were very helpful about this). There were no bathrobes for access to pool and health centre, which you would expect.

    Very pleasant and helpful staff. Good location, but Cascais is much more lively than Estoril and is only 20 minutes on foot.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Hotel Vila Gale Estoril offers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We share a room for three and it worked fine. The towel supplies were for two people. However when we asked this was sorted.

    There were ample supplies for breakfast catering to every taste. The gluten free packs were especially appreciated

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay at villa gale
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not great. Hot food was cold and even when we mentioned it did not improve. Plenty of cereals and fruit made up for it.

    The rooms were very well serviced. Swimming pool was excellent. Always a lounger free. Across the road from train and bus. Train every 20 mins to cascais or lovely 25 minute walk to cascais where there are lots of restaurants and shops

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    OK, but not 4 star quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very slow, small and often not working elevator Breakfast sub-par for 4 stars Pool too cold Bathroom not very clean.

    The location, the helpfulness of the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Wi Fi was very erratic. The connection was not stable. Very frustrating!! There was no Ice machine on any of the floors. Had to go down to the bar for ice.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Location to the beach and transport was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    It was a comfortable hotel with a relaxed vibe and friendly,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't have a king or queen bed in the room. Meant that we had two singles pushed together. Lifts are also tiny but not a massive problem.

    It was a comfortable hotel with a relaxed vibe and friendly, helpful staff. Walking distance to the beach, restaurants and train station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    great place across the street from the beach I would have loved to stay longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everything, good location, great pool, rooms were great. Breakfast was wonderful great selection buffet style fresh squeezed juice. Great value I'd definitely book this location again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Good Hotel excellent value but not for anyone with mobility issues if want to use rooftop pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Room was on 7 th floor and faced onto side of Palicio Hotel and view of Casino and gardens which was nice however the noise of refused lorries and the hotel staff throwing bottles etc in the bins all night long was really bad and we were 7 floors up and windows closed. Rooftop pool great but lift goes to 1st floor then you have to walk a corridor and climb 2 flights of marble stairs I counted 40 stairs with brass bannister which when the sun shines through the windows is red hot and difficut to hold onto I have leg problem and found this extremely difficutl to get to pool using my stick and there is no disabled access but I dont see any mention of this in the description of hotel . I would not have booked this hotel if I had . Some staff made the effort to converse others came across as rude and dissmissive because they dont understand the english languages although very fluent in French or German .

    The location was good for trains and buses It would be easy to get to from airport using the areobus to the main station in Lisbon then trains to Estoril are every 30 mins However given station is directly across the road you do have to negoiate 3 flights of stairs then underpass to get to other side so if a lot of baggage and not so young and fit a taxi to pick you up and collect on return journey you to airport is approx 60 euros and thats 2 passengers and 1 case oppose to approx 24 ueros . the Hotel breakfast was really good and always plenty on from 7am till 10.30 food for all tastes The rooftop pool was good (negatives below) and you got towels free of charge at desk . Didnt try fittness center but husband said good . And free wifi(never seen before ) with 2 computors in foyer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Very good 4 star hotel - value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only downside is the swimming pool located on the second floor with no lift or disabled access.

    The hotel is very convenient for rail travel into Lisbon with trains running every 15mins . It is 5 mins walk to the beach and nearby restaurants and I would have no problem recommending it whatsoever. Breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    great time .ideal time of year for senior citizens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Portugal sausage

    Very clean central location to all services,beach,public transport,good restaurants, great weather.local people very helpful to visitors

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect location , near beach and public transport links. Excellent promenade walk to CASCAIS. Friendly and attentive hotel staff who gave excellent information on local attractions. Brillant breakfast buffet with wide choice of hot and cold foods. Large comfortable bedrooms with daily cleaning and linen/towel changes.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    lovely hotel for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More sunbeds needed. Staff could have been friendlier. Not informed that we needed to book jacuzzi or sauna.

    Lovely hotel in good location, close to train station and buses. Good food in restaurant. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel near the beach
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was cold, there are no tea making facilities in the room (but kettles are available on request) and there is a safe but you have to request the lock.

    The hotel is located very close to the beach and the station, with easy access to restaurants and shops. Both continental and English breakfast are available and the variety of food on offer is very good. The staff is friendly. The rooms are huge and have nice decor and are very clean. The Casino is a 5 minutes walk away. Cascais is a 20' minute walk along the promenade and it's a very pretty village.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.1
    Disappointing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very samey-'bacon' was half burnt every day. The location was the biggest let down for us-that's not the fault of the hotel clearly. There wasn't much about the town-the restaurants in Estoril were disappointing and not much choice for kids. There was a train station which was handy, cheap and gave access to Cascais and Lisbon which were great.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    8.8
    Good Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I felt that there should have been bathrobes and slippers provided because it was a Spa Hotel

    Good hotel. Staff were very informative. Breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Good location ,near the estoril station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location ,near the estoril station.Good restirant around the hotel and on the beach.Good breakfast and many kinds of meals.Good and kindly staffs.Good and strong wifi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    good hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee and tea in the breakfast room were very poor and the cooked breakfast section did not look appetising at all. The pillows were lumpy.

    The bedroom was roomy, nicely furnished and well lit and the beds were comfortable. Everything was very clean including the bathroom. It was good to have a bath as well as a shower and there were toiletries provided. There was a good choice of food for breakfast. I especially liked the local bread. The staff at the desk were friendly and helpful. The location opposite the station was excellent as we arrived and left by train and went to and from Cascais many times.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Family week-end
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed matress are not very comfy, but not too bad either. The towels are a bit ware off, could use new towels... The air conditioning could use a filter clean-up.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, specially Elsa at reception desk, the room-service and the kitchen..! Excellent location; just seen the sea through your room window makes it all worth it... Rooms are big, airy and comfy...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    I can't say enough about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't say enough about the location. Easy access to the beach and the walking path along the beach. The breakfast is good. Worth the money to get a view especially to see the sunset.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    nice hotel in great location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I came here to attend a conference, i booked this hotel from booking, but the conference provided price was about 50 euros cheaper per night. This is unaccepted.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.9
    Great view and location, but pricey. Good choice for business.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Internet almost unusable -- disconnects every 2 minutes Beds not quite comfortable Hair dryers switch off too easy due to overheating

    Excellent location Clean rooms Very friendly staff Fantastic view of the ocean Good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    9.2
    The hotel near estoril station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel near estoril station.The area around of hotel is so beautiful.The breakfast is excellent.There are mant seafood resturant around the beach infront of the hotel and so many portugese local food long the road.The bedroom is so big and more comfore to sleep especially seaview room.You can walk to the Cascais from the hotel by walking along the beach.The view is so superb.The staffs are so friendly and so kind.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.7
    Great location, friendly staff but bring your clothes already pressed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel charges a fee for ironing services and does not provide customers the possibility of ironing their own clothes. While the prices are not outrageous, I found this very dissapointing from a 4* hotel especially since the price for the room is not low. I think that if they can include breakfast in the room rates they can also absorb the costs of an occasional pressing of a shirt. Ironing is not a luxury service and is provided even in lower rated hotels or B&B's.

    The location is very good. The hotel is withing walking distance between the conference centre and the beach. The top floor rooms with balcony to the seaside are very nice, spacious and comfortable. The staff is always very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet underneath the bed was filthy with bits of nail clippings and crumbs.

    Pillows really comfy. Peaceful enough hotel - no late night drunken louts. Location was great. Long promenade and restaurants a plenty. Great shopping mall very close to hotel. Breakfast buffet had a great selection.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    5.8
    In spite of location and good staff, because of the unsavoury bath, could not recommend to friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old "dirty looking" bath. Looked like there was a piece of old soap stuck to the surface and it was full of black hairs - in fact it was full of dirty scratches. Management should take a good look at it. Room 206

    The location of the hotel was very good and we were greeted well by the staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    We had a good week here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The coffee was terrible!!! They must get a machine that makes REAL coffee please. The bar staff were truculent and fairly unhelpful.

    Breakfasts were very good indeed - a lovely selection of food. Reception staff very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.9
    Good value for money although basic and dated accommodation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a night club on the beach over the road which runs all night to 6am. Even with the balcony doors shut it still can be heard. That's not the fault of the hotel, just need to be aware if you are a light sleeper

    Good value for money although basic and dated accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    Seaside hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit too hot (stuffy) in the hallways and elevators.

    I have stayed in both great and not so great hotels in Estoril and Cascais. Like many other hotels on the Lisbon coast this is a bit dated. My opinion is that it is still a good place to stay as everything seems to work and I got the impression that all the staff wanted to give the guests a positive experience. Breakfast buffet was actually very good. Estoril and surrounding areas (Cascais) has a lot to offer and based on the rates I believe Vila Gale is a good place to stay if you aren't too picky. Only a few minutes from the seafront with beaches anbd restaurants. A 3 minute walk to the train station offers easy access to Lisbon.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location by the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location by the sea. Train to Lisboa is a 2 minutes walk away. Hotel is a bit dated but everything works and seem well maintained. Very good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    3.8
    Not far from the train station and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A total waste of money, and a lot of money! Outdated, AC not cooling properly, water leak in the toilet, very poor amenities, two old and tiny lifts always busy, bad insulation between bedrooms and common areas, the pool is just a small water tank and lack of chairs.

    Not far from the train station and beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    They made me my favourite fried eggs😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything Brilliant

    They made me my favourite fried eggs😄

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    Staff & housekeeping very good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very basic

    Staff & housekeeping very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    5.4
    My cloud in Ireland were looking for location . 1 Seaside. 2 City location. 3 Fatima
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room. Coffee dreadful& 2 members of staff said I could have espresso & did not fulfill their promise.

    Reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    I dont stay again in this hotel, very bad experience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Window of my room have one wall in front, no view...

    nothing, hotel old, room have space but bad decoration...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds

    Position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Good Experience
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Reception Staff were excellent and really helpful, My Room was Perfect, Housekepper very good. Breakfast was good,will stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.9
    nice and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the pool is not very nice

    very good value for money and nice people working at the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    excellent!!
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...everything was great

    An extra bed was provided for my daughter

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is outdated.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Location! Location! Location! Stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location! Location! Location! Spectacular views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated but adequate.

    Breakfast and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    lovely holiday. hotel was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff could have been more helpful with special requests. towels/ bedclothes a bit basic/worn

    breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bed/ air con

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    very comfortable, friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no lotion nor robe and slippers

    very comfortable, friendly staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room gave me a good view of the beach and swimming pool. Room was okay for the price and very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    9.6
    Short business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, just opposite the train station. The breakfast is perfect (it has everything). Get a room with a view...it’s stunning

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: