Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Estrela da Luz 4 stars

Rua Manuel Augusto Alves Catarino, Praia Da Luz, 8600-155 Luz, Portugal

#2 of 31 Holiday rentals in Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 671 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    only because weather wasn't that hot , perhaps temperature of pools - but not a problem

    The cleanliness and staff so helpful , plus Hugo Beatys food and staff amazing cheers

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is a big problem with bird droppings on balconies, They clean them when you report it but the birds come back, it's not very nice.

    Estrela da Luz is a typical modern holiday complex, good facilities, everything works as it should. If you're looking for a place with a Potuguese ambience this is not it, it could be anywhere where the sun shines.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious well furnished apartment. Really clean public areas. Well equipped kitchen should you decide to cook in. Well located for beach & restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was having to leave after spending 6 wonderful nights!!!

    The whole experience was fantastic , from our spacious well equipped upscale room, the spotless adults only pool to the best food we ate in Portugal next door at the Hugo Beaty restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was uncomfortable which was disappointing as the resort was really nice and we would have extended our stay had the bed been nicer. Indoor pool with sliding doors to outdoor area permanently locked, many guests disappointed about this and were trying to open the doors as though it was warm enough to sunbath, it was a little cold for the outdoor pool which is not heated.

    Apartments great, spotless, resort fabulous, great location with beautiful gardens etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Beds were very uncomfortable. We had a two bedroom apartment, which had very steep stairs, which we would consider dangerous for both us and our daughter. Two of the outdoor pools were closed for most of our trip, these being the kid and family pool, the only one we could use was the adult only one. Also access to pools in the complex was via a dark underground carpark which was far from ideal. Also we had to pay an extra 10 euro per day for travel cot for our daughter which we would consider excessive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worst apparthotel i ever stayed in terms of staff, service and cost pov. While checking-in staff did not welcome at all but was saying without any pause on what we MUST do and what losses (if any) will cost us. Just for your awareness - we came for rest not for military stay. On top - the main one - lady at receiption charged 2-times more vs value we booked at "booking.com". It was done by mistake. I did not get money back STILL. She did not provide apologies and even DID not make any efforts to connect with bank and help get money back. For now i paid 2-times more. Besides poor service i did not get my money back. If they will not appear at my account this week, i will call police. On top vegetables and fruits were stolen by staff from the kitchen in the room. I've NEVER seen this before!!! As I'm very famous blogger i'm going to share this info for everyone not to choose your apartment

    Underground parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was broken And drilling in the apartment next to me on two afternoons was a disappointing thing and 2.50 e for pool towels daily was steep

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Apartment A3B was amazing duplex , clean ,tidy , and everything we needed . Coming back in May 24th we loved it so much , would love a duplex again if possible as we booked a 3 bedroom apartment. Also We ate for lunch and dinner in Hugo Beatys and it was superb food and great service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds are too firm.

    Estrela da Luz is in a well maintained and well equipped resort which we would return to. We had a sea view from our balcony- Bock C Building. The staff and local shopkeepers were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    We only used the bar once, but the staff were nice and friendly. It would be super on a sunny day with the outside area. We had a lovely sunny balcony, for most of the day, at our room . The room's facilities were very adequate . The gardens and pool area were very well maintained. The reception staff and the cleaners were all very pleasant and professional. We are returning very soon for another stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of any faults

    Great indoor pool and sauna well appreciated at the end Feb. We had a studio apartment which was very big with a separated off sleeping area. Full sized well equipped kitchen and balcony,

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the staff quite stand-offish. They were courteous but unfriendly and didn’t engage with us at all. We were also very disappointed to discover that we had very poor internet coverage in our apartment. Our last visit here was in December when we were told the jacuzzi was out of order. We were shocked to return in mid-March to be told, very matter of factly, that it was still out of action!! No apology was offered. We originally booked this for the indoor pool and jacuzzi facility! We were very disappointed - especially my wife who doesnt swim but really enjoys using the jacuzzi and sauna. I did feel, on this visit, that Estrela wasn’t fantastic.

    Our third visit here. Apartment was immaculately clean, spacious and well equipped. The outside areas are very attractive and well kept.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were very firm and uncomfortable. This property caters to the full-time residents and therefore restricts childrens use of the pool to specific hours. Towels had to be rented to be used around the pool. For what you pay to rent these rooms, towels should be included. Staff was hit and miss. One gentleman was pretty rude to my wife and kids.

    Very spacious and conveniently located. Room was clean and well appointed. Even came with sand toys for the kids. Underground parking was provided and each room had heat and AC.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See above

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The view from our apartment was non-existent and the washroom was very uncomfortable, the tub too high and the sink much to large for the size of the bathroom. The furniture was ok, kitchen was large and well equipped. we did not realize that these were privately owned apartments so best to check prior as all apartments are different, different furniture, views etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was broken, the staff were very rude and unhelpful, the rooms were very cold and only had air con as the only option which made me very sick. The “ double bed” was 2 singles pushed together which killed my back.

    The resort was surrounded by the sun

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are great, helped with transport from hotel to there and back, bus time table, tickets for the zoo and the accommodation are lovely. The staff do their up most to meet your requirements where they can. Can't fault them. Words can't describe how great this place is, due to staff and accommodation.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like having to leave.

    Very convenient location, safe parking underground or behind the building. We even had a view of the ocean. We stayed in a studio apt which was perfect for 2 people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We liked everything

    It was a large, very comfortable studio, with everything you could possibly need. The free underground car park is also a bonus as is the free wifi, that works easily too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no facilities for children except the swimming pool. Table tennis, pool table or table football would have been welcome for a 13 and 11 yr old

    Appartment was clean, modern and spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Access from our room to the pool, gym and restaurant was awkward, as you either had to go through the underground car park or go outside the property onto the footpath, walk down the road a bit then back into the property.

    Great location, weather 27-30 degrees at the end of October.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool bar shuts on 27 September The cleaning rota was strange as the maids came at 4.30pm on Saturday while we were chillin. We were leaving early Sunday morning

    Cleanliness

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Very spacious 3 bed apartment , excellent for 4 adults and 2 under 16. Excellent indoor pool and changing facilities Easy walk to resort facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a small thing but some locks on lockers in indoor pool changing areas didn’t lock properly. But staff allocated other lockers that did work so not really a problem.

    Spacious well equipped apartment. Lovely relaxing pool areas. Very pleasant, efficient staff who cater for your every need.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Resort is excellent and short distance the beach but is up quite a steep hill.

    Excellent resort and facilies and apartment surrounded with immaculately presented gardens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking on neighbour patios, steep stairs inside apartment

    Kids pool, nespresso coffee, laundry, excellent customer service, well equipped kitchen, view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous gym. Near shops, bars, beach & nice cliff walks. Staff are lovely . Great facilities & everything you need for self catering.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom. It wasn't air conditioned and being in the roof, was very hot (odd really as all the other rooms had cooling). The bed was hard and uncomfortable, as were the pillows. Otherwise I can't fault the apartment but that one thing spoilt it a little for me. My sleep really suffered.

    Super clean, resort had helpful staff and actually far more facilities than we expected - to a higher quality than we had expected. The pools, gym, spa etc were all excellent. Little things were thought through.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really lovely. The apartment was clean, huge and had everything you needed. 10mins walk to the beach. 3 outdoor pools, (adult, family and toddler) 1 indoor pool and a jacuzzi and sauna. Was very quiet at the end of Sept when we were there. It was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing the bed was way too hard .

    Loved this apartment, all the comforts of home 🏡. Easy walk to the beach and restaurants. The staff were great and loved the champagne provided. Would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    can't think - was excellent

    Reception people and bar people very friendly and knowledgeable .The studio was excellent , just right , no fuss , everything you needed , ( B0C ) Bed very comfy , aircon good, kitchen well kitted out , very clean and tidy , bedding and towels excellent , very clean bathroom - which was large - very impressed with B0C studio

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative I have is that the wardrobe was too small and not even the width of the coat hanger

    Good position easy walk to beach and supermarket. Accommodation a very good standard and good value for money. The studio apartment was a good size and well equiped. Underground parking was a surprise and kept the car cool. Swimming pools a good size and nice to have an adults and a family pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing of note. The underground parking spaces are tiny, but when we visited this was not a problem as the car park was virtually empty.

    Great facilities, with indoor heated swimming pool, extremely well equipped gym, separate outdoor pool area for adults (over 15 years), and two pools for families and children. The apartments were well equipped and very clean. All the kitchenware, furniture and bedding was new and well maintained. The apartment has a pre-allocated space in the underground car park, and there is plenty of parking outside as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The resort was amazing. Staff all very helpful. Apartment was exceptional, could not fault anything, absoloutely loved it, and will definetly be going again to this resort.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet had some ups and downs, but I don't think is much they can do.

    The apartment was big, conveniently situated close to the shops, restaurants and the beach. They also have a nice restaurant and bar right at the ground floor. The stuff is really friendly and helpful, we received all needed information about the area and they Made sure all the time we have everything needed. The property offers an underground garage and elevator. The fitness center is well equipped.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive, but nevetherless: we pay for pool towels and Jacuzzi wasn't work, only one small sauna, no Turkish bath

    Comfortable and amazing, lots of space, well equipped kitchen Good free parking Close to center Very good and smiled staff! Burry White CD in music center 😍😎

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much. Only one problem but not a big deal - We were on the front of the complex and street bins were cleared every morning about 1.30 am but to be honest I would prefer that to stinky bins so I'm not complaining.

    Apartment was a one bedroom and was huge. Staff were friendly and helpful. Every self catering facility available, washing machine and dishwasher - even a Nespresso machine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from apartment above was very intrusive. I'm not sure if the people were noisy or just poor sound proofing. I could hear them walking around, moving chairs and having conversations. It was very invasive especially at 1am and 4am. I visited for rest and quiet and this is the single thing that means I probably won't visit again. Such a shame because everything else was perfect.

    Apartment was very well supplied. It had everything I could think of and more. Pools were clean and not overcrowded. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The whole Complex is in a quiet area, near town and shops and immaculate gardens were a nice addition

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in abroad

    Me and my boyfriend stayed in the one bed apartment for 5 nights, We were both very impressed and cannot fault this place, the apt was very spacious, it had everything that we required, very modern, close to the beach, pubs, restaurants, we found the staff very friendly and helpful, and thought it was a lovely gesture to deliver to our room on our last nite a bottle of sparkling wine. I will be recommending this hotel to friends and family and would like to thank them for making our stay a very pleasant one😀

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there were three pools at the resort, one being adults only, a larger resort style pool would make the hotel even better for the adults. Otherwise, nothing really to fault!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Large apartment very well equipped. Nice hospitality touches - milk tea coffee in fridge when we arrived at night. Sparkling wine and local sweets provided to apartment on our last evening.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools a bit small for the number of people though it was August!

    Nice large rooms and apartments, very well maintained and clean with lovely friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The resort was a little quiet and we got a taxi into Lagos on a couple of evenings where there is plenty going on.

    The two bedroomed apartment was extremely spacious and very well equipped and as we stayed with two teenage boys the two bathrooms were invaluable. I also liked the adults only pool as we were there on a relaxing break and there was no need to reserve the sunbeds as there was always some available. The complimentary gift on the last evening was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The kitchen wasn't well equipped.

    The property was clean and parking was easy. The recommended restaurant was great. The washer in the kitchen was convenient. The grounds were very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The only negative thing was that probably we were there the 2 busiest weeks of the year. Many people reserved pool sunbeds and by 10:00 am there were none available but the towels owners were not there (despite of the sign requesting not to do this). Also some kids (almost teenagers I would say) were ofen playing with balls in the pool not really paying attention to small kids. Probably this could be solved by hiring a pool watcher to avoid this issues.

    We were a bit afraid because each apartment is different and we didn't know what we were going to find. The apartment was just as shown in the booking with a really nice terrace and view to the pool. It was fully equipped, 100% clean and surprisingly we got free indoors parking for free. The staff was really collaborative at all times. E.g. they adapted the apartment cleaning twice according to our needs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with only a 10 min walk to the beach and restaurants. Pool area lovely and accommodation generous and beautifully clean. Staff were excellent. Definitely recommend for a laid back holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was sent 2 e-mails requesting arrival time. Check-in time was 16:00, arrived at 15:00. Found the staff strict and sometimes unpleasant. Rules were confusing and not adhered to all of the time, yet my children seem to be the ones told to stick to the rules. Informed the indoor pool required U18s to be accompanied by an adult, yet 3 signs clearly stated U16s, when I pointed this out, one of the signs in Portugese was amended with a marker (16 to 18) but not all signs. Outdoor pool way too cold, indoor pool doors not opened to allow cool air in, so it was too hot in that room.

    Not much to be perfectly honest. Apartment large (2 bedroom, 2 bathroom), clean and well stocked.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We have stayed at these apartments 3 times now and every visit has been excellent. The adults pool area is quite and we had no problem getting a sun bed. The location is good with two supermarkets within 5 minutes walk. Restaurants in Praia da Luz are good quality and the service excellent. This is a very civilised resort which we will be returning to.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange that you have to walk through the garage to get to the pool...

    Good location near to restaurants, bars and sea. Family friendly place overall. A few hiccups when we arrived but the staff sorted it out straight away. Our double bed was so uncomfortable (like sleeping on cardboard) but housekeeping came and we got a topper placed on our mattress - this made a world of difference. Cleaning and towels changed twice s week if you stay for 1 week.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Shame there is no Table Tennis tables or two, as that is great for families and they have the space near the tennis courts, sometimes the kids pool area was too crowded

    Apartments to a good standard and the location was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some beds were very hard and uncomfortable and the family pool needs to be heated.

    Large, spacious apartment, very clean, friendly staff, great facilities around the pool, snack bar excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was lifts up to rooms but steps only up and down to pool area which was difficult with pram but otherwise good access and facilities.

    It was our first family holiday since my husband and children's father passed away so emotionally was always going to be difficult but the hotel was relaxed but smart and friendly and was within easy walking distance of the beach and restaurants, which made it easier and more relaxing for us all. There was also plenty on the complex to keep children happy with numerous swimming pools and a secure games room off the restaurant bar area they used in the evenings. We also booked to go to zoo marine which the kids all loved (range in age from 18, 12, 9 and down to 4) the hotel booked it for us including transport at no extra cost was a good day out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our parking space in the underground car park was difficult to manoeuvre into, due to pisitioning of a support pillar,especially as we had hired an estate type car. We managed but it took some dexterity.

    Excellent location.Good proximity to beach and shops. Adult only pool for adults. Family pool v suitable for our children. We had requested a quiet apartment location, which we got. Apartment was extremely spacious and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights

    THE WIFI WAS HORRIBLE!

    We LOVED Estrella Da Luz! WE plan to make it our yearly vacation spot from now on! LOVED IT!!! relaxation! Beauty! Great FOOD! Great Service! Great Location! Just Awesome!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could have been warmer but believe that was due to lower than average temperatures during our stay.

    Fantastic service, beautiful location. Everything 5 star!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was situated on top of a hill which may cause older people some difficulty.

    Everything that you could possibly need was catered for in the apartment. The grounds and the apartment were very well maintained and very secure. The apartment was located in a quiet area which was 5 minutes from the supermarket and only a few minutes more to the beach. Very good parking availability which was secure. The shower was amazing! The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is quite cramped compared to the size of the other rooms.

    Size of the apartment Cleanliness of the whole complex The adults only pool area The proper double bed, as opposed to two singles pushed together.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large rooms, friendly staff, everything you need is within the resort. Great gym, adults only pool, and lovely local restaurants nearby. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi is spotty. Maid service is offered twice a week, but one of those days is scheduled on the day of departure so we really only received clean towels once when we arrived and a couple of days later during our 5 night stay. Know we could have asked for extra clean towels if needed though. Had to ask for extra shampoo and soap.

    Centrally located and close to restaurants and the beach. Has good facilities on-site, 2 outdoor pools, 1 indoor pool, gym and spa. It was a plus to have a washer to do laundry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing - everything was good.

    All the staff were fabulous from the moment we arrived. Our room wasn't ready (4pm check in) so they looked after our luggage and advised we could use the gym changing showers and facilities (also spotlessly clean)to freshen up and lunge by the pool, get a drink or food and they rang us when the apartment was read (an hour early). The apartment was huge and spotlessly clean, with some complementary tea, coffee, milk and a bottle of water so we didn;t have to rush to the shops which was cool. it had everything we needed - cooker, microwave, large fridge freezer, iron and board, hairdryer etc. The pool areas and grounds are meticulouly kept and there are plenty of sunbeds and the drinks were reasonably priced round the pool. We used the gym, inside pool, jacuzzi and sauna every day - facilities are very good. Location was great, about 5 minutes from SPAR supermarket and another 5 few more down the hill to the beach area. Everywhere was spotless and it's a pretty place. Lovely walk along the prom in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were put in a room far away from the children's pool area which meant we had to go outside of the hotel and back in through a gate near the pool because we had a buggy. We were also given a room with stairs but no stair gate, this is quite problematic when you have small children. I felt that the fact that we were a family with small kids was not at all taken into consideration, we were just put into whatever room was available. I'm afraid because of this it wasn't an enjoyable place to stay, it could have been a totally different experience if someone had though this through. Really wasn't happy with it

    the kids pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV wasn't working on our arrival but staff were quick to fix it. It is quite expensive to stay here but is worth the extra money compared to other local Hotels/Apartments.

    I have been staying in Praia da Luz for about 25 years but always stayed with the Ocean club or in private villas. We decided to try Estrela da Luz for a change and I would highly recommend it. The apartments are large, spacious, clean and comfortable. There are 3 pools, 1 of which is just for adults and away from the family pool which is ideal if you want peace and quiet but also ideal if you have kids so you don't have to worry about them being considerate to others around the pool. Pool bar also has a good menu for lunch. Wifi is decent and can be used all over the complex. We had a hire car which is stored in a secure garage under the apartments. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The complex is about a 10-15 minute walk to the beach front but not really an issue if you're happy to walk or have a car. I will definitely be returning here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Estrella sign and that for reception could be more easily read from vehicles searching for the establishment.

    Apartment well fitted and equipped. Good cool secure underground car parking. Great shower but small bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing what so ever

    Just about everything, i have stayed in lots of different accomodation in Portugal but i can honestly say this apartment was to die for, every aspect of it was outstanding, from the massive space in the lounge/dining area to the huge balcony overlooking the sea. The bed was heaven to sleep in and most beds i have had in Portugal have been extremely hard and uncomfortable, all the linen and towels are quite new and a pleasure to have, the kitchen had every accessory u would need, the shower was heaven and there was always plenty of hot water, the TV also had lots of English channels which was a welcome bonus. We were only there for 5 nights as it was a mini break, luv'd the adult pool as it was very quiet with plenty of sun beds. Amazing apartment and complex, will definitely tell friends and return next year, the staff could not do enough to make our stay more comfortable. 2 mins walk to the beach, restaurants and cafes. Fabulous holiday, cannot wait to be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bed was the worst thing - the only thing that let the apartment down (that and the extra deep stairs in the stair case). the balcony was a bit small and not that safe for small children

    the space and how well equipped the apartment was. The maid service twice in the week and the provision of basics like toilet roll were an added bonus

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area too small for number of apartments, pool too cold, boiler in apartment not sufficient for 5 people ( hot water only enough for 1 or 2 showers max.) we had to have cold showers every day.

    Good Restaurant/bar in complex

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    We were informed of an upgrade on arrival (delighted)....however, main bedroom in C3 (in the attic !) not at all comfortable i.e. low ceiling / having to bend to get around the room / regularly bumping head (and we of just average height !!)

    Grounds / facilities / pool areas excellent....liked the idea of separate adult pool area....loungers & 'umbrellas' very good. The 2 'not so good' markings refer to 1/overall cleaning of the apt., (get in / get out as quickly as possible) and 2/see below re bedroom ceiling. Reception staff very courteous & helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Spacious apartments with everything we needed for self catering. Apartments and complex were well kept. Excellent leisure facilities.Five minute walk to the beach and supermarkets. Good selection of bars and restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We had a bad experience with our Hotel transfer, but that was booked and by and delivered a company not affiliated with the hotel. I can't think of anything that was wrong with this hotel. Loved it.

    I loved this property. The staff are all very helpful, and the area is all secure as the property has secure gates on all sides. There is a nice restaurant that does very affordable food. It is well located in a quiet part of the town. Well within walking distance of main restaurants, the church in Luz and near the beach. Good gym facilities, lovely pool.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot really, we went early in,the season and the pool bar opened on the day we left, not really an issue, but that's the only negative I can think of.

    It's a fantastic place to stay , the hotel, location and surrounding restaurants were excellent, the apartment was very good and the welcome to the hotel with the basics for a hot drink and water were a great touch. The gym is well equipped and has air con !!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the beach a bit dodgy at one stretch . Extra charge for cot bed! (On top of already expensive price)

    Spacious, clean, lots of back up towels etc in the property, well furnished eg washing machine, dishwasher etc , nice indoor pool and free sauna

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One bedroom apartment was huge, absolutley everything we required was at hand. Spotless. The 3 swimming pools were beautiful and great idea to have separate adult only pool and a family pool. Staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Can not wait to return 😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move room because the studio had no wardrobe to hang clothes just a small cupboard that couldn't hold a coat hanger! No chest of drawers either.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, clean, great pool for kids, huge amount of space in apartment and very well equipped. Kitchen had everything we needed, including a washing machine which is great when travelling with two toddlers!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Excellent position, staff friendly and very helpful with checkout, room immaculate and comfortable, facilities tremendous. The whole experience was highly recommendable.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Estrela da Luz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: