Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel 4 stars

Alto do Vau, Sitio das delgadas, 8500-308 Portimão, Portugal

#146 of 220 Holiday rentals in Portimão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.3

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Chef was amazing. My wife has a gluten allergy (coeliac) and on several of the evening dinners the chef prepared a special gluten free dinner which was outstanding. How refreshing to find someone who not only has remarkable culinary skills but who also cared so much for his dinner guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the first time I have written a not so good review! Sorry I just felt it needed to be told things do not improve if they are not raised! This Hotel is off the beaten track shops etc are not in walking distance Beach is not as close as we thought it's a way to walk too! No Atmosphere in this Hotel Some Staff on Reception polite & helpful but not all our room wasen't ready when we arrived ( arrived early 10.45) we were told I would be contacted on my mobile when it was this did not happen we kept having to go to reception & ask! No interaction from Staff in general no Urgency or motivation they never spoke on passing you they just walked straight passed you no one asked if we were ok or just Good Morning would of been nice! Hotel landings & back stairs not very clean stairways had spillages on stairs from when we arrived to when we left I do not know what the Cleaners Clean? Do not use lift only used once surprised we made it up to first floor! Luggage Room not locked untidy & smelly!! Staff Very Rude in the Restaurant at Breakfast No one greeted you when you went in they were unhelpful we had to clear tables & get our own Utensils we had to ask for plates & dishes waited a long time for refills on hot food fruit etc food was nice a good choice The Chef I think lady in Red Jacket very polite helpful as was the one lady in white shirt ( sorry never got names) when we asked for food that wasent there Thank you !😊 we were paying €32 for the 4 of us each morning!! Pool area was never swept or washed down spills of food litter etc were there when we arrived & still there when we left Ladders to the pool 2 sets were on grass??verge?one set to get in & out of pool Pool very cloudy Area around the Snack Bar tatty untidy & worn there was a fountain with dead flowers in again seats & area in general not cared for! Inside Snack Bar not very inviting again dated & tatty!

    Size of the Apartment very spacious

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free Wifi only available in the reception and, for the current days, is normally to have free wifi available in all the hotel.

    Everything was as described. Very good and helpful staff. Nice hotel and very nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is dated and needs renovation. They are putting new furniture, which is good, but it does not compensate the overall conditions. I am wondering how they got 4 stars, when they do not change towels every day, and do change of bed linen only once a week. No double bed options are available - only twin beds. Not value for money.

    Very friendly staff who are always ready to help. Aparthotel assumes that you may cook yourself, which is good for families with young children, however kitchen utensils were a little short, kettle is not available. Good big fridge! Parking places were plenty, I guess given that we were off high season.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The kids club could have been better. Our room was positioned beside the fire door so our door kept banging.

    Pools were great, room was a good size, reception was always very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers need up grading and kitchen is basic. But if upgraded, then I couldnt afford it. Tennis court also needs upgrade. But is playable

    Great place. Very safe. Travelled with my mother with early memory problem. Staff were wonderful to her. Everything is there in one place and she was very content and secure

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Location wasnt ideal, would need to get taxis anywhere. pool restaurant not great long wait just to order food

    great for young children,very spacious apartment. .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe door awkward to open. Sun beds could do with replacing a few.

    Reception staff excellent. Laundry room very handy. Pool staff very good with children.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunbeds were always occupied even against the property rules of do not reserve. Staff should enforce the rule. A bit far from local businesses, only accessible by car. Furniture a bit degradated.

    Location and pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were not allowed to have fresh bath towels.

    Breakfast was great and breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proximity from the beach and quality of the apartments and swiming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and size of apartments

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    beds were not comfortable and the hotel grounds were in need of maintenance, the hotel just looked very tired.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    electric kettle was too small no brush for floor and no iron

    great space in two bedroom apartment beds really comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice if the bar was open a little later.

    Lovely clean,spacious rooms. Very friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel, fabulous staff. A bit out but we rented a car, clean hotel, needs new decor but the price was excellent so can't complain.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi in apartment. Sun bed covers need replaced.

    Clean and tidy apartment, good pool area. Prompt and efficient maintenance for minor problem with the air conditioning. Apartment cleaned daily.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    t. his was my third trip in a year. all the staff are so kind and helpful. the apartment was spotless clean as was the pool area, lots of loungers and no towel-lounger-grabers allowed, this is a great idea. the entire grounds are very well maintained, the overall building is nicely painted and in good condition. the cab fare to prairka de rocha is only approx. euro 5, the cab fare to contenente the big supermarket has increased to approx. euro 8 this makes your grocery shopping expensive so bring as much as you can with you. there is an excellent restaurant and bar on site. I would highly recommend and loo.k forward to next years trip back again

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of sockets in kitchen area. Only Wifi in lobby not rooms. Poor TV channel selection. Noisy crickets on ground floor, had to move room.

    Spacious rooms. Staff. Pools.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was a little shappy (cracked tiles, broken wardrobe door) , not much hot water, we arrived late at night and couldn't get a glass of water,

    Friendly staff, very quiet, nice food

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had ants on the second day, made it known to reception but all that was said was that the cleaning lady was in at 9. Wasn't dealt with professionally. Room looked different online. Not as modern and cheap looking when we saw the room for the first time. Unhappy at false advertisement. Room was still good to stay in and done the job since it was cheap.

    Breakfast was good value for money

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The kitchen had no oven , no immersion blender, neither the respective glass for those who take their own blender, few utensils. The windows/doors to balcon were very narrow for a weel chair to pass thru.

    O espaço do apartamento era grande, bem dividido.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place is dated and could use an décor update. Also its a far walk to the beach. It takes a good 20-25 minute walk and part of the path is unpaved. The restaurant also was too busy to serve us for lunch. They said it would be a very long time before we would be served.

    The breakfast was excellent and staff was very friendly

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Pool was very dirty for a full week before being closed for 2 days for cleaning. There was a shortage of pool seats every day. Hotel restaurant very poor standard.

    Lovely big spacious apartments. Pool side snack bar lovely with fresh food. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    vjust ery nice helpful staff. spotless clean. apartment perfect, had all requirements. air conditioning worked perfectly. huge balcony. supermarket great for basic essentials. only six euros to huge contente supermarket that. stocked

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are good but bathroom limited had to chase up to get linen changed and replenish bathroom products

    The proximity to a fabulous beach close to Alvor relaxing place overall

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really high quality apartments. 2nd time back. Stayed in 2 bed apartment, really spacious, clean and well fitted out. Great facilities and fantastic staff everywhere. Would definitely recommend

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing for us

    All excellent esp staff and receptionist. Friendlness and attitude to guests v good.

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The location

    The appartment

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well equipped apt

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Da falta de cama de casal nos quartos, local pensado so para grupos

    Do local, funcionarios e higiene

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The interiors are bland and you have to pay to use the sauna area.

    The apartment was spacious and close to Praia da Rocha.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely staff and tranquil place

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Need wifi in the rooms. Showers by the pool were not working.

    Quiet, clean. Staff on reception very helpful.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Turim Estrela do Vau Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: