Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dorisol Estrelicia 3 stars

Rua da Casa Branca, Sao Martinho, 9004-535 Funchal, Portugal

#70 of 73 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 348 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.4
    Good to get home for a good nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extremely noisy and irritating with inconsiderate neighbours having aircon usage 24 x 7 as unit against our room wall, making lack of sleep. (with balcony doors open too). Male manager brushed aside our complaints. First night was put in a temporary room without balcony (which we paid for) which was dull and extremely noisy. Gave us a cheep fizzy wine as compensation. The surrounding area have properties populated by packs of dogs with regular barking and yelping.

    Cleanliness and reception staff (apart from Male manager)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    it’s good that there was a lot do outside the hotel..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast wasn’t the best, especially coffee couldn’ve been better. additional charge for wi-fi wasn’t fair and wasn’t included in property informations on booking.com. facilities written on my reservation didn’t match with what I got. stuff was very unhelpful. the hotel clearly stopped in time.. if someone is a fan of 70’ & 80’ this hotel is a good choice.

    localization was very good, close to the ocean, restaurants & cafes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    5.8
    Cheap, but should have paid more and gone to a nicer hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, there was an awful draft and wind from the windows. No WiFi in the room. The sauna was really small and uncomfortable and the spa area was lackluster. The hotel was up a steep hill.

    The staff was helpful. The tv had a lot of channels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Hotel a bit dated
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was looking forward to the gym , tiny, dark and gloomy. Don’t expect outdoor heated pools in Madeira , head to the beach warmer .

    Location , a nice room with balcony needs a coat of paint but ok for 3* in Madeira. Doors bang and are noisy as people don’t use key cards to close them .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Budget accomodation with half-board
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Old style hotel, noise from other rooms, cleanness in the restaurant is poor.

    Good location, clean rooms, good evening programmes. Warm indoor swimming pool. Fair price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.6
    tired establishment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a very tired property, staff friendly, the whole place needs a refurbishment. indoor pool either too hot or cold, felt hotel was very much geared towards German visitors.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    Worst hotel I've ever been to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole facility is old and dated. Food was horrible and only a little to choose from. No chances to eat outside and enjoy fresh air - there's always someone smoking cigarettes right next to you. Gym was a big lie, couldn't do a basic workout. Reading feedbacks about bedbugs wasn't a good feeling. WiFi only downstairs in lobby.

    View from the room was nice, over then that I can't think of a single thing I liked about it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    Need I say more than I would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    more sun bed mats, plastic was a bit hard,

    Loved the indoor pool, excellent after a full day out. Entertainment at night same each week, so if you stay for two weeks it gets repeated. Good location for getting buses, and the room was kept very clean. Good variety of food, expected a buffet breakfast but you could get eggs, beans, etc.. Would return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.1
    Basic Hotel that needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We originally booked half board but we found the dining room lacking in atmosphere and the staff were not friendly. The food was OK but being a buffet style the temperature of the main meals was a bit cold at times. It's just need ing some investment in the decor plus some changes to staff attitude. They don't even put cutlery on the table so the staff have really very little to do part from clear plates, that's hardly going to be motivating. I am sure the staff are nice people but they just give the impression they don't want to be there. We managed to downgrade to B&B half way through our ten day stay so we ate out at local restaurants fro very similar costs. The food was definitely much better outside the hotel.

    The hotel is basic as you expect from a 3*, a bit tired in places (flaking paint, worn soft furnishings ) but very clean due to efforts of the staff. The staff are friendly apart from the staff in the dining room - they barely acknowledge customers. The rooms we were in on the 9th floor were OK, the beds were comfortable and the views were good. However, the linen/towels are very worn and the bathrooms were tired (cracks in porcelain etc). The location is good for accessing the Lido area and its about 30mins walk to the city centre. Plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars close to hotel. The swimming pools are good and the gardens are well maintained. Overall value for money was OK, you get what you pay for in terms of a 3* hotel but it still needs updating/improvements.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    8.8
    Dorisol Estrelicia - great budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very steep hill from gate to front door, it is Madeira!

    Most comfy beds I've had in my times at Madeira, also a great range of TV channels to watch at night

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.1
    Good Location, could use some work
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The English breakfast could have been a lot better. The hotel room didn't have any spare plugs apart from 1 behind the cabinet that the TV was on! If you don't like sound whilst you're sleeping then this might not be for you. Because of the wind it blew the sound of the street right up to our 7th floor window!

    The staff were super friendly! And the location was pretty good too. The view from our hotel room was stunning over the bay and at night with all the lights on it was breathtaking. The entertainment seemed pretty fun and we didn't hear it until we were on the groun floor, so no problem with sound inside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    4.2
    Location was excellant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no clean linen during the stay, insufficient towels provided, incorrect billing, guest walked into our room late one night. felt staff did not care when these issues were mentioned on departure.

    Location was excellant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Good stay, clean room, good views from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of swimming towels. No supervision of the jacuzzi pool, stupid parents allowing children under 12 to use it.

    The beds were comfortable, good selection of food. Good location in Funchal with good choices of restaurants to eat out in.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.5
    Clean, value for money, basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was not equipped, jacuzzi wasn't working, buffet didn't account for lactose intolerance (that's ok but meant we couldn't eat there two of the nights), noise travels between rooms.

    Indoor and outdoor pool. Very clean, along the bus routes, good access to city centre, new tourist areas and waterfront

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    3.8
    terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    hotel room very damp, curtains full of water marks and mouldy. breakfast disgusting pubic hair found in coffee cup

    nothing to like

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    The ocean's view from the room at 6th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise, not soundproof.

    The ocean's view from the room at 6th floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.7
    Nice and clean rooms and good buffet breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nearly all the Reception staff were very impatient...

    Comfortable beds and nice entertainment in the night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Although a bit steep, excellent location and nice staff. Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed the meals and location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Would be nice to have coffee & tea making facilities and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have coffee & tea making facilities and small fridge

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.9
    exactly as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee making facilities in the room

    Proximity to town centre

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.1
    Good as could be expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No WiFi in the rooms,no drinks in the rooms,one pillow each

    Swimming pool and sauna

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    The hotel was good value for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The access to the hotel entrance was steep. The evening entertainment was poor. There were no grab bars on shower. The shower had only a fixed part-petition so floor became slippy with water even with bath mat. The towels were not changed on certain stated days even if wet and were thin so we had to try to dry them outside on balcony.

    The hotel was good value for the money we paid. There was a free shuttle into Town at certain times of the day. We had a sea view from our 7th floor bedroom. The indoor swimming pool was good.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.0
    Sea view, clean, pool good, food reasonable for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very steep hill. Needs updating. Beds poor, can feel springs. Small bedroom, disappointed.No plug sockets in reach.Very basic.

    Sea view, clean, pool good, food reasonable for price.good pressure in shower.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    2.5
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - The photos on the hotel's website in booking.com don't match the rooms, the actual room we received was a few decades old. - Only a few rooms are refurbished, the vast majority is old and does not match the photos displayed in the reservation page. - When asked why the photos on their booking.com page do not match the real rooms the staff blamed booking.com for that which is false. - The hotel manager refused to give a refund even though the room we received did not match what we reserved.

    Nothing.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good food, many facilities and close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Far, far from the ocean.

    Friendly staff, good food, many facilities and close to shops and restaurants.

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Browse Dorisol Estrelicia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: