Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip São João da Madeira Hotel 4 stars

Rua Adelino Amaro da Costa (á rotunda da Ponte), 3700-023 São João da Madeira, Portugal

#2 of 3 hotels in São João da Madeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 775 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Amazing well-located hotel for a super comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If I'm being extra picky - there were no electrical sockets next to the bed, which meant keeping smartphones charging overnight next to the desk. But that's an insignificant detail in an otherwise great stay!

    The room was very clean, and the bed was super comfy. We really enjoyed the breakfast, as well as the meal at the restaurant. It was very well located - quite close to the city center, just a short walk away, and the staff were overall helpful and friendly. We just needed a simple stay for a friend's wedding, but it was far above what we needed, great value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.3
    Very nice, clean and comfortable hotel and suited our needs perfectly fro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Whilst the design of the hotel was lovely , it was a little disconcerting as the glass panels on each landing were quite low and I was a little nervous with kids etc. Undoubtedly very safe but the possible danger element did cross my mind.

    Staff were fantastic and guy on reception was wonderful (apologies I cant remember his name) Spoke fluent English.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.3
    Good place to stay for the Medieval Fair of Santa Maria da Feira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal didn't reached one of our rooms. The toilet shape was round it wasn't comfortable.

    The breakfast was good. The staff was nice and polite. The rooms were clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Lovely and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed on the 7th floor and the weather was hot. The air conditioning had failed but staff did their best to have it repaired and were very apologetic.

    The hotel was clean and well appointed staff were friendly and helpful, l pool was welcome on a hot day. Breakfast was of a good standard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    3.3
    too hot rooms with no good air conditioning
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dirty, the floor was not clean well. air conditioning working not well. when I arrive in the room I found 29°C and after all one night imposible to go down 26°C

    position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.7
    Could have been so much better, with new bedding and sheets.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel Bedding and Towels need to be replaced. They are looking old and worn. Some of the bedding was downright uncomfortable, with a duvet cover which opened near the top of the duvet and which could not be closed. Breakfast is not the most fantastic spread. Quite a simple continental-type breakfast, but it has all the essentials.

    The hotel is nicely laid out. Decent size rooms. They now also have a good internet system and decent coffee in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast of heroes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Acoutistics. Each morning even Sunday staff were clanging about cleaning from the early hours. A lie in on the weekend would have been nice.

    Breakfast of heroes! Awesome selection of great quality Portuguese food, even fresh pastel de natas with a sprinkling of cinnamon made an appearance. Excellent restaurant on site also, staff were accommodating and friendly with every need I had no matter how small it was. Rooms finished to a fab standard and super comfortable beds and duvets. Great choice of coffee from decaff to espresso

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not brilliant. I found the rooms a bit dark, Needs brightening up

    Clean, Restaurant was excellent. Good Parking and close to other cafes and restaurants. Not far off the main highway

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.3
    professional business hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bad breakfast experience. we were told to wait outside, because the room was full (10min before the and of the breakfast time). breakfast itself was rather simple

    professional business hotel. friendly staff. very clean. wood look. bathtube.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is ment to be a 4 star hotel. No ice machine. No complementary water in your room. No kettle, no tea or coffee in the room. No notepad or pen, I have stayed in two star hotels with better services in the room. The first room we were checked into we had to wait over an hour to be moved room as the air conditioning was not working. Moved to a room without a balcony. The lobby and surrounding areas inside the hotel were hotter than outside. Horrible hotel. I think the pool has been broke for a long time. The water was very low and unheated. Staff didn’t really care. No soap in any of the dispensers and no keys in the lockers ,which seems to me it has been closed for an extended period. For the money this hotel is an absolute rip off. I would advise strongly not Tom stay here.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Modern hotel in the heart of SJdM
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't really cool any of the rooms we were staying in. Everyone slept with their windows open. Not a big deal in May but maybe a problem it hotter months. Also the hotel does not have any irons but does offer a paid ironing/laundry service. This added a little anxiety to the group who needed clothes ready for a wedding the next morning with little time to wait for clothes to come back. The service was very good but doing it ourselves the night before would have calmed some nerves.

    The hotel was very modern and was pleasant to stay in. The staff were very friendly and always tried their best to help with any requests that we had. We would happily stay here again. The hotel was very quiet and calming and would be suitable for business trips, couples, families and small groups.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable, well-appointed, a safe bet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wi-fi desperately needs an upgrade. it seems it has been a problem for a long time, judging by the reviews, and it's just not reasonable for a business hotel to have the issues it does.

    Clean, comfortable, well-appointed, a safe bet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    2.5
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Thematic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad service. When we booked the hotel we paid extra on booking.com for a extra bed for our child but when we arrived at the hotel they informed that a extra bed was not included and we had to pay for another room. No other option so we paid and changed room. The new room had a queen bed and a sofa, we thought that the hotel staff would turn it in to a bed for our child but later when we asked the reception they informed it was a sofa and not a bed if we wanted a bed we had to change room again. So we changed the room again, late evening! The new room had a extra bed, it was the sofa just unfolded to be a bed! The sofa/bed was as confortable as a bed in a 1950 M.A.S.H front hospital! We had our dinner in the hotel restaurant, good meat but the restaurant was very under staffed and everything was very slow! The visit was our first, only and last visit!

    The rooms and restrooms is spacious. We know because we moved 3 times the same evening!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    I loved the atmosphere there will visit back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thematic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in the room was a little problem apart from that I really loved the place will be visiting back very soon

    The staff were excellent always smiling helpfull food was great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view. I thought it was going to be a pretty river view like the photos online but it was nothing special.

    Nice room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Overhall it was a very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning features could be improved

    Pretty much everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    After hostels a pleasant change
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a typical business hotel, lacking character

    The pool was just what we needed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    The location and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two joined twin beds instead of one full bed

    The location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    nice place to stop when you are near
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the swimming pool could be open more time

    we like very much the swimming pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant hotel but with a A/C's serious problem
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a serious problem with A/C

    Design of hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    Layover before Port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited but good

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Update swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Update swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Two nights stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very near to the road

    Comfortable, good parking, nice hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    8.0
    ALTAMENTE RECOMENDABLE
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personal muy muy amable, especialmente Gisela :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    I would always use this hotel when visiting Sao Joao
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are quite dark and the hairdryer in the bathroom was not very good

    Excellent and genuine customer service at reception and in the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.1
    the bar.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the bar.. very bad!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    The hotel is very comfortable and is excellent value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very comfortable and is excellent value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    Okay hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hygiene

    Spacious modern rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Sao Joao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Quality property

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Recommendable😎
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness after a long day on the Caminhl

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Room facilities was very good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Poor gym

    Room facilities was very good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel for short business trips.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning... it was really hot.

    Excellent staff. Very friendly and helpful. Especially the restaurant staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast is superb
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work in my room, only in the lobby

    Breakfast is superb

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Would like hot drink making facilities in the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would like hot drink making facilities in the room .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe deposit not working - reported it twice - not mended

    Breakfast good- room comfortable & clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel. Very helpful staff
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    I liked everything about this hotel: the staff, the room, the pool, the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant had lunch specials. The staff was very helpful and really went out of their way to accommodate my needs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant and professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very pleasant and professional staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Good business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air conditioning not very controllable - we had to get maintenance in to look at it 3 times .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with easy access
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Thematic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel with easy access

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.1
    Wifi needs to be better for a business hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was poor for the duration of my stay. Some of the food in the restaurant wasn't very hot.

    Staff in hotel restaurant were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    5.8
    Arquitetura
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check out

    Arquitetura

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    5.0
    Location was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Thematic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor.the room was okay but could improve some details.

    Location was okay. Nice to have parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    6.3
    free parking
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Shower was cold - after 12 minutes turned slowly warm WIFI not really working in my room Breakfast could be improved

    free parking quiet if windows closed good bed an pillow - slept well price is ok friendly personal at the counter

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.3
    Location , modern comfort , underground parking , price ,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    TV image not really clear, no internet connection due to more customers connected or trying to connect than the IP adresses availability in their router. Resulted that i couldnt work from the hotel .

    Location , modern comfort , underground parking , price , breakfast

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    6.7
    The staff was friendly and the restaurant s very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-fi very slow, was very hard to work, the telephone and tv remote didn't work and even after I ask they didn't repair, the housekeeping didn't replace the towels and didn't place a new shampoo...very poor standards for a 4* hotel, correct should be 2* maybe 3.

    The staff was friendly and the restaurant s very good.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff.
    • Couple

    The room were we stayed was quiet, but the background music of the hotel (all around the public areas, including access to rooms) should be off earlier than midnight. I'd suggest 22:30 tops. It's not loud, but it can be heard in the rooms and get extremely annoying when one tries to sleep. The breakfast was good, with the exception of the juices and coffee provided. The orange juice was so diluted in water that it was tasteless; the others were fake juices full of sugar. An expresso coffee machine (so easy to get nowadays) should also be added. (The served coffee was terrible.)

    Friendly staff. Very clean with great facilities. Got a great bargain price that made the stay extremely cheap for its quality. Extraordinary wifi quality. The best I ever got in a hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    7.9
    Good location, nice rooms, good restaurant for diner
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Heating too hot, not adjustable, no power plugs to charge the phone near the bed, minimalistic breakfast, scrambled eggs must have been waiting there for three hours.

    Good location, nice rooms, good restaurant for diner

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    7.5
    Cleanness, comfy bed, amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    - Music played from speakers in a hall starting at 7am. I had to work on a project till late and last thing I expected is a wake up call. - Meal in restaurant - ordered cod fish which was NOT filleted! Very awkward when having dinner with a customer. Fish was also drowned in frying oil. If I wasn't with customer I would had returned it. - Staff not very attentive (lack of when needed in restaurant and bar).

    Cleanness, comfy bed, amenities.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    8.3
    Bed and bathroom facilities were great and breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is very expensive for what is offered. The hotel is far from town and there is therefore not a good selection of cafes or shops.

    Bed and bathroom facilities were great and breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.5
    Wi-Fi to slow, no air conditioned
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi to slow, no air conditioned

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.9
    The price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    They gave me a room far away from the escalator

    The price

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    8.3
    The staff in the restaurant where EXCELLENT
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff in the restaurant where EXCELLENT

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    9.2
    Swimming pool and thematic room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Swimming pool and thematic room

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Nice and quiet with a great restaurant.
    • Solo traveller

    Nice and quiet with a great restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    7.9
    Confortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some dated equipments (tv) Very poor breakfast

    Confortable bed Overall cleaniseness

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    7.5
    Do design, localizacao e preco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Do design, localizacao e preco.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    10
    Beautiful hotel and Nice architecture
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful hotel and Nice architecture

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    8.3
    Mesmo com o S.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Mesmo com o S.João, o barulho não foi mau. Gosto dos quartos, espaçosos e confortáveis no geral.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.9
    Everything was fine staff friendly and helpful and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The size of the swimming pool to small!

    Everything was fine staff friendly and helpful and a lovely city

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Guests also reviewed these properties: