Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Excelsior 3 stars

Rua Rodrigues Sampaio 172, Santo Antonio, 1151-282 Lisbon, Portugal

#301 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2000 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standrd two-star hotel. Worn out equipment. Decapitated bathroom. Cockroach, but only one !

    Close to the main avenue. Possibility of free parking but after prior arrangement with the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs refurbishing.

    Great location, clever free parking outside main entrance using moveable barriers.Clean and spacious bedroom but small bathroom. Good breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our 1st floor room the bathroom window lock was broken - any thief could easily climb into room from back yard. We did not feel safe but as we arrived very late I put two cloth hangers into window frame for the first night. Reception said window lock can not he fixed right away and suggested room change. Our second room was safe but especially bathroom was very dirty - door handles sticky, plenty of some white construction dirt, lots of visible black (mold?) in tiles. According to reception there is safety box only in some rooms and no safety box at the reception. Rooms did not have minibar even though it is stated so in Booking.com site. The staff we met had challenges with discussing in English.

    Location close to Metro, Access From/to Airport is good. Simple breakfast buffet was OK.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff working at reception hardly speak english. i was actually shocked when i saw cleaning lady translating for us while speaking with "supervisor" Bath is REALLY tiny and rooms are old.

    The house keeping staff. Very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic and pretty old. You only need this hotel if everything else is booked and you can't find anything cheap. Location is good though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is an extremely old building....

    You get for what you pay... if you want to pay 30-50 Euros more you will get a much much better experience. Location is perfect for business

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, outdated with barely any window. For that price I would expect more. Breakfast - also for me not good, canned fruit and bad coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Request for hot water to be delivered to room was ignored twice, not critical but dissapointing, giving 4 guests in a room not enough electricity points

    Hotel provides free parking lot what is good for heavy parking situation in Lisboa

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let’s start from information that hotel is in renovation process, however rooms really need renovation. Walls dirty, ceiling looks like going to fall down, wooden parts from the desk falling of you can rip your clothes on it or hurt yourself. Price of the hotel was way too high! 3stars not matching the standards. Breakfast was really basic, almost nothing to eat. I should take some pictures to show in here.

    Localisation was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast was not very diverse and every now and then something would run out (food or plates). Because the windows are sliding they were not able to isolate the outside noice.

    The room was very clean and the location is very close to a metro station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel facilities are very old, the equipment and furniture as well, some of them bear damages but have not been replaced. The bathroom in our room was so small I could barely move around without hitting in a corner.

    The service and reception people were very nice, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bathroom including elevator were so small. Our bathroom was flooded from upstairs on the last day and we had to move to another room. Looks like these accidents are frequent because I saw it in the other reviews too.

    I liked that it was close to the center (about 15 minute walk) and it was cleaned well every day. Breakfast was OK, even though not too much choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls had mould, the staff spoke very poor English, and we couldn't sleep the night due to too much noise.

    The only decent service was the breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast, I think they should include extra homecookeed things. The common area close to the bar could be more comfy accomodated.

    It is close to Aerobus and a couple of turist busses.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast needs improvement. I didn't find a high quality in the products and the coffee was tasteless.

    The location is good, the staff excellent and the comfort of the room was ok. It was also very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The recepcionar was unhelpful, thr rezervatom was quite in advance so the rooms could bave a better view , the cleanliness of the rooms was questionable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed with rugby team, party of 36. Well looked after some had lovely big rooms with large bathroom with a bath. Several in twin rooms had small rooms with small bathroom with just a shower. So if you want a bigger bathroom get a room with a bath. Breakfast was basic but plentiful. Basically a cold buffet with tasty scrambled eggs. Bread was nice and toaster worked. Plentiful juice and coffee. Twenty minutes walk downhill and you are in Rossio/Bairro Alto. Taxis plentiful and cheap. If you are on a tight food budget or from Yorkshire like me then left out of hotel then take first left then left again to supermarket across the road with a little cafe. Couple of Baccalou or shrimp or chicken pasties, large custard creation and a large coffee for 3 euros. The hotel bar was cheap for the odd vino before you set out 2.50 euro a glass of nice Douro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and washroom is in need of renovations. Damged furniture and dirty looking washroom is

    I liked the staff and breakfast. Location was good. I wouldn't pay full price for the room. We had the room at a rebate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have appreciated a response to the several emails I sent at the time I booked since I noticed immediately I had made an error in my booking. No response meant unnecessary stress.

    Booked this place in error, but it worked well for us due to being close to downtown. Staff hadn't responded to my emails re my booking, but were helpful once we arrived. Older building but clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities to make tea/coffee...breakfast room too small and bathroom a little shabby but great value for money

    Great location 20 minutes walk from Rossi station and really comfortable beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is a bit basic. There seems to be a group of men attending to the outside parking area not officially affiliated with the hotel, which is a bit shady (they also caused a disturbance). One of the breakfast ladies wasn't very kind to an elderly. Elevators were very tight. No view whatsoever (the hotel is in the SECOND line of buildings across the Avenida da Liberdade avenue).

    The location is very good, close to subway, bus and the Marquês do Pombal hub. The quadruple room was very large and adequately comfortable, as well as its bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Coffee in the evening was very expensive, £2.50, for what you got. Just warm and small cup. Painting in the bathroom a bit rubbish.

    The staff were very helpful. Lotas of Breakfast but in a week it was always the same. Rooms kept nice and clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi connectivity was poor.

    The hotel is centrally located to the famous marques de pombal square and is a 1 minute walk to the bus and metro station which connects you to the popular tourist attractions in lisbon. The staff were very helpful. The breakfast was good and we were pleased with the variety. The hotel was nice and clean however the interiors could have been better, the overall ambience of the room was average however the stay was a comfortable one. :-) :-) :-) We also enjoyed the Ginja liquor available around the city, must try for wine and liquor lovers. :-P

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    overbooked on first night, so on arrival at 1am was told by concierge that we were booked into a different hotel. The other hotel was unpleasant! The rooms are very basically furnished with cheap laminate flooring, not very cosy or inviting. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Breakfast was very basic, good coffee and juice but very little choice. Ok if you like toast!

    Concierge were friendly and helpful, rooms clean, bed quite comfortable with plenty of pillows. Good location for exploring Lisbon and close to theatres, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were terrible because it was not clean at all and there was a constant noice during the night, probably from the ventilation. The whole room was stinking and we found human hair in our beds. The toilet was really messed up too. The staff of the hotel was also really really awful because they were really unfriendly. The breakfast was not good at all too, the reason is that the salami and cheese were stinking and the coffee was disgusting. The offer for the breakfast was also really poor.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the hotel and above all the total lack of professionalism and seriousness of the staff. In particular about "Mr Roscha?! (I don't know how to write correctly). I still wait for their reply email from september 3rd. I've sent the email 5 times and called so many times and they just tell me "to wait". How long?! So Bad experience. And I'm still waiting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had planned to do some work, but the room was not suitable for the purpose since the bed took up most of the space, making the table and chair almost inaccessible - and I am not even a particularly big person! Found an ad hoc solution, though.

    This is a perfectly fine and decent option for a touristic stay. Clean and functional, and in a good location although perhaps not in the hottest part of Lisbon's center. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is free, but only at night and weekends. Must feed meter between 9am and 7pm weekdays.

    Clean, comfortable room close to metro and a 10-15 minute walk from Restauradores area. Pretty good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms with no day light Unhelpful staff Not enough space in the breakfast room, so we couldn't have breakfast Rooms not clean - bathrooms had mould and bad smells General décor in need of updating Excessive noise from other rooms as walls were thin, and corridors noisy at night with people coming and going.

    On street parking right outside, but only because we got a space.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, and the window cannot be fully closed. Because of this, the room is quite noisy. The common toilet next to the bar was dirty in the morning and our private bathroom is really-really small, and smelly. We did not like this hotel.

    Good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Wi-Fi was horrible kept getting disconnected.

    Location was excellent, breakfast was alright, its the same every morning but it could use some fresh fruit. Staff were very good and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really outdated. It haven't been renovated since the 70s. Room was extremely small, barely enough space for a bed. Breakfast choice was very poor. All they had was bread rolls ham (witch was really a spam) and cheese, not even any tomatoes. There is now way this Hotel deserves 3 stars...

    Bed was nice, but that's it

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My booking was cancelled by the hotel without any communication. My room was the smallest I ever slept in. Breakfast was same each and every day/

    Proximity to Lisbon centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was supposed to have a safe box in the room, however it was missing due to renovations (?) of electrical network. I was proposed though to have my valuables stored at the reception. The window of my window couldn't be locked and could be simply opened from outside. Despite being told that it would be fixed no action from the personnel was taken (at least the problem wasn't fixed). Breakfast (especially drinks) was terrible. Coffee, juices were tasting very chemical. Cheese, bread and tea were good!

    Comfortable bed and good cleaning service. Was offered an iron despite the fact that no ironing board was present. Service with a smile and some candies offered upon request :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was very poor. Just very few items of food.

    Location is great, really close to the subway station, staff was very kind, nice, helpful and smiling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom was rather small.

    The location is spectacular. You can walk to the Rossio and the main downtown attractions like Rua Augusta, Elevador da Justa, etc. Breakfast was good. Excellent wi-fi connection. Very clean and confortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 days of cold showers.Reception staff in a cosmopolitan city who could only speak Portugese.6'x 8'room.Door handles missing or hanging off. Sitting sideways on the toilet as no space to sit straight.Sweat stained pillows.Didn't dare look at the mattress.

    Great Air Con. Clean towels and bedding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was same everyday should have been different.

    The bed was very comfortable and there were extra pillows as well. Walking distance to the centre. Access to public transport.staff at the reception were friendly.The room was little small but the balcony was a good idea where we Sat and relaxed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony as stipulated by booking.com Mini bar not stocked, hotel bar very limited. Safe not in room, the one supplied was just put into the wardrobe and not secured to the wall. Clean but very basic. No tea making facility. Only three star because it has a lift to upper floors.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculously slow and intermittent wifi. Public wifi works faster than this hotel's wifi. Not much choices for breakfast. One morning a busload of extremely noisy spanish guest occupied the whole resto and no table available for other guests.you put a slice of bread on your plate and there will be no space for other stuff.Toilet is very small. Room furnitures has seen better days. Noisy spanish guests.

    Location is central, close to metro station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We got keys to occupied room. When we came back to reception staff wasn't surprised by the situation and there was no "sorry". During whole stay we were worried about stuff we leave in room. It was not groundless because when we were in the room someone came inside (twice, on different days). Of course during that time and whole stay we had "do not disturb" sign on. Room was very small and bathroom was even smaller. It was 1m2 I think. There was renovation going on and in the hallway there was a lot of junk. It was noisy. I wasn't comfortable and it was bad value for money. What I can say is that was the worst hotel I ever been to. It has potential to be good, but it is not.

    Good location, near metro station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice at breakfast. Asked to use the safe and staff couldn't find a key, told to come back later twice yet no key was provided and no apology. We had to take our valuables with us everywhere we went. Hotel was in much need of renovation.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was the most disgusting experience I have ever had in a hotel stay. The room they put me in was dirty and when I wen to sleep the bed was full of bedbugs. when I complained they simply acted surprised and only changed the room after my insistence and no other compensation or apology.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room too small to that price. The shower & lavoir taps water came with a ABSOLUT MINIMUM OF PRESSURE, the shower only dripping. The whole "bathroom" max 1m2! Totally claustrofobic! BREAKFAST: the SAME one kind of cheese / one kind of "mortadella" every morning for 8 days! Not even a shadow of any vegetable stuff, nor fruit - how expensive are tomatoes+cucumber and oranges in Portugal??? Where's the problem? The nearby Marques Pombal causes noises (shoutings..) in the nights.

    The staff - all of it. The sunny breakfast room.T

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet on floor one was terrible, bleach stains and really old, really needs replacing or just leave it tiled.A bit off putting when you come off the lift,needs refurbishing, dated and dull on the first floor.

    Location was great. It was quite at night. Rooms cleaned everyday and plenty fresh towels supplied.AC was welcomed on the balmy evenings.Nice lobby.Accomodating by keeping our bags when we checked out.Staff friendly.Good value if you just want a place to put the head down when out all day!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are awful. Stayed on first floor. Huge bleach stains. Worn carpet. Worn lino in room. Toilet seat hanging on. Tons of cigarette buts outside windows. Staff were fine if not overly happy to see me arrive a little early. Breakfast was a bit rubbish. Quite a noisy area. Would never stay there again.

    It's a struggle to find any positives to be honest. I have no positives. It's brst features were just 'Ok'. It was relatively cheap I guess. Though not so much value when solo. Internet was ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room very small. Marks all over the wall. Walls thin so could hear everything said in the corridor. No window. Had to move room since first room had no AC. Lifts only just about big enough for a person and luggage. Had to renew my card at reception every single day. Poor choice of TV channels.

    Right next to the Metro Station. Really comfy bed. Free and Fast WiFi. Lots of sockets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has been horrendously noisy until 2.30 a.m. in the morning during my stay. Doors can only been closed if shut loudly, so the banging goes on and on. Lifts doors also close with noisy clangs. The sound insulation througout the hotel is non-existent. Furniture is very outdated and worn out, the cleanliness is not great - lots of dust and cobwebs around the windows, the sills and windows frames don't seem to have been cleaned for ages. In the bathroom, the ceiling had various large stains from water installations leaks, and the shower curtain was ancient, filthy and way too long, hanging over about half a meter inside the bathtub. The whole hotel is shabby looking and the receptionists are not particularly welcoming. Upon politely calling the reception at 1 a.m. to complain about the continuous noise and the intense traffic of people banging doors, shouting, and generally being inconsiderately loud, the receptionist said she would ask the guests coming in to try and move around more quietly. But nothing changed, and the noise went on until small hours in the morning, making a rest impossible. In themorning I asked curteously to check out, and explained the reason in a civil way, as I could not contemplate another sleepless night. They became rather hostile and obstructive, although I had asked for the cancellation of the next two nights very nicely. I had to contact booking.com to obtain their "say so", which they promptly granted. On the face of things, Excelsior hotel manager said that the matter was now sorted, that, indeed, I could check out without any problems and the cost for the cancelled night would be refunded to my bank account "very soon". I left my bank accounts as required and left apparently on perfectly amicable terms. Needless to say, after waiting for 3 weeks to no avail and after Excelsior invoked foul excuses, I had to contact Booking.com who had to honour the terms and refund me themselves, which they kindly did.

    The location is pretty much the only positive I can think of.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive for a stay like that

    Location was really good. It was all clean and comfy. The reception was really nice and lovely. You really feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is very poor you have only a few fruit jams, one kind of cheese and meat for such a price very poorly. The hotel needs renovating small rooms with very small windows and smells inside. One star is max

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel needs renovation. Rooms are small and dirty. Washrooms extremely small and with strong smell! The hotel is worth not more than 1 star...

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom had an issue with the pipes and it was leaking some water. Not much, but some.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, they even removed one of their own cars from a parking spot to hand in to us. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture outdated, not renovated in a long time. Very limited and poor breakfast options - a big disappointment, especially for the amount of money I paid.

    The hotel was clean. Good location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not the whole Hotel was renewed, so there was a bit of odor in the bathroom. But in sum, it did not spoil my trip:)

    Location was perfect , for walking or using public transportation. Beds are good, new madrases, clean towels every day. Friendly staff and decent breakfast until 10 am.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was badly cleaned - someone's toenail in the middle of the room. Overall dampness in the room. Nothing to view from the window - just dirty wall and 2-3 m² of concrete covered with trash. Bathroom needed some serious refurbishing - the floor and the toilet were very worn. All noises from the corridor could be heard in the room. Corridor smelt of cigarettes.

    Good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heating is on an air conditioner, that stinks and doesn't always work

    The hotel is right in the center in a good area, near the metro.Breakfast is good, but not awesome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant needs to be bigger to deal with the number of guests. The carpets need to be updated or deep cleaned. The furniture in the bedroom needs to be repaired, i.e we had a chest of drawers with 5 drawers but only one knob!!! and only one set of wardrobe doors opened.

    The location, and the breakfast, great air conditioning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    design and hygiene. Needed to call 5 times to get money back from a double transaction on my credit card.

    Rooms were very outdated, outfashioned. It was not well up to part for a 3 star hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby small room. Had to change rooms as first one had a smell of vomit.

    Night staff were really helpful and pleasant in every way. Could not do enough to facilitate us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff and good breakfast. Close to tourist attractions like Praça Marques de Pombal and walking distance to the city center. And walking to downtown.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was pretty bad. The renovations they were making in the building, were really disturbing.

    The staff was kind, the breakfast is good and the metro station is very close.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet on the halls should be changed. I suppose they started renovating and they didn't reach that point. There is a smell of old in the room that I think is because the hotel is in an old building. Or maybe from the furniture. Also the bathroom can be a bit cold in February because there is no heating there.

    The location of the hotel is very good, just a few meters from the metro. There are many restaurants around and you have plenty to see in the area if you are a fan of walking or by public transport. Our room was on the second floor, facing the inner court so it was quiet. The room had functional furniture and AC which proved really helpful when it got cold in the night. There was no carpet in the room which we prefer. The breakfast was included in the room rate. There were a few choices like cereals, cheese and ham, scrambled eggs, bread, butter and gem. The staff was nice and helpful and the tables in the breakfast room were quickly set-up after each traveler. Food was plenty. We were given a room before check-in as we arrived a bit early. The doorman was very helpful and nice. And we also appreciated the fact that there were two elevators. A bit small and slow but enough to get in with a street stroller.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very cold. The coldness came from the toilet, so I closed the door of the toilet all the time. It was a great torture when I had to go to the toilet in the middle of the night.

    The staffs are very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front staff could and find booking and caused lot of confusion by charging ctedit card again and then reversing it. Last thing u want when u come from a long overnight flight.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough sockets.

    Good breakfast; great wifi but there were only 2 sockets in a quadrupal room and that means you cannot charge all the mobile phones at once (we travelled with 2 teenagers and we all needed our phones) Location was excellent-15 minute walk to Rossio, 2 mins to the metro station and 3 minutes to the bus stop. (The bus goes directly to Belem).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small, noisy and with a serious need of an extreme makeover. Room facilities very badly maintained (no door handles in the shower, the sink hanging up from the wall...)

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Good location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise on the floor and corridor is very intense, you can hear whenever someone is walking or closing doors.

    The room was clean, the breakfast was OK for the value.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was really poor, the cleaning and the decoration of the hotel was out of expectations! The view from the room was awful!

    The location was very good!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room a little small for size of hotel. Limited choice beast buffet but good fresh bread and pastries

    Location location location.nice friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was missing yoghurt and vegetables in the breakfast menu and every day was the same offer - no change. There was a mold in the bathroom, especially around the window. Wi-Fi worked well in the dining room, but in the room itself was disappearing

    Tasty breakfast. Good location - close to metro (2 min walking + 30 minutes to reach airport by metro). 20 minutes walking to city center. Room for four was big enough with comfortable beds and it was clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The maids cleaned daily. But there still was mold in the bathroom and rusty parts etc. Electricity in general is a problem. Loading devices takes forever and not all power plugs were working. WiFi is also rather crappy and disconnected quite often.

    The staff was really nice and tried to help where and when they could. The location is very good. A lot of busses and 2 of the 4 metro lines very close by.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the second floor the bleach/cleaning marks on the corridor carpet indicated that someone had been ill at some time previously. I found very off putting and it coloured my view of the rest of the stay, despite our bedrooms being clean. Overall the hotel appeared a little dated and needed a basic upgrade.

    One of our party is a coeliac and although the breakfast menu was very limited, the hotel ensured that there was gluten free bread for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WLAN very slow, furnishing outdated und not at best condition.

    Comfortable bed and friendly personnel. Very uncomplicated. Location quite good, about 15min walk to City.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast should have variety. The cabinets in the room should be upgraded. The bathroom should have been a bit bigger.

    The staff were quite friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had booked a night for 26.09.2016. When I contacted them to let them now I was going to arrive later then expected, I was told there was no reservation on my name for that date. After looking on their system, they told me the reservation was for 26.08.2016 and as it was a no-show they had charged me. I was also told if I wanted a room I would have to pay for it. After contacting Booking (as the hotel said it was their fault) and Booking contacting the hotel they managed to spot the problem (hotel mistake) and got me a room. When arriving at the hotel to check in, I was given a "special room", i.e., the only one with a key (not a codified card) and with SportTv (pay sports channel). The room was a big room with 4 individual beds (I had booked a double room with a baby bed) and dark. Complained at the front desk and demanded a new room and learned they were full and that was the only one available. Refused to stay in that room and so they changed me to another one (from another reservation). The room was small and nothing like the pictures shown on the website. Parking is on the street and not free. For it to be free you just leave the key in the front desk so they can buy the ticket and place it inside the car, if needed.

    Good breakfast. Restaurant and lobby well presented. Friendliness of Mr. Costa on the front desk, after realizing it was their mistake.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs a lot of maintenance in order to reach proclamed standard. Dining room is very small and getting quickly congested. Only few reserved parking places in front of hotel (public place).

    Reasonable price comparing other hotels in Lisbon but still bit higher for received standard.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Excelsior traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: