Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Farol Hotel 5 stars

Avenida Rei Humberto II de Itália, 7, 2750-461 Cascais, Portugal

#10 of 34 hotels in Cascais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 501 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Our Happy Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I marked it down for family friendly because it is essentially a quiet adult hotel. People relax around the pool and read. It is popular for Hen stays - I can understand why, but their chatter grates occasionally. Best for couples and small groups. I felt sorry for the young boy staying with his parents - the pool is not conducive to playing - nor were there any other children.

    This is a Happy Place for my 19 year old daughter and me. It was our third visit. Heaven for sunbathing by a pool looking at the sea - in fact like being on a boat without the rocking. We love walking to Cascais for grilled fish dinners. Totally relaxing and lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Great food and location but hotel itself ad service are not up to a 5 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor, amenities, rooms. all looking cheap not up to a 5 stars and not worth the price. Staff not very friendly and badly organised.

    The hotel is not really luxury or at least cheap looking luxury, not worth 5 stars. Service and staff needs improvement Food is very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was lovely. However there was a sewage smell from our bathroom which we did complain about. We believe they attended to this but the smell came back the following day. Also when we checked into our room there were some open shower gels in the shower area which wasn't nice as these were from the people before us. Also there were two glasses next to the sink - one was covered in a plastic bag and the other one wasn't. Again I complained about this but no one followed it up or said anything. I removed the half empty bottles and put them next to the sink but they weren't thrown away by the staff I had to get rid of them. They took a long time to refill breakfast items when they were running low.

    The room was spacious and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was had a smell from a bad working sink or so. Restaurant area was cold during dinner. People were in jackets or had to ask for blankets.

    Great view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful elegant hotel, excellent staff, beautiful surroundings, wonderful food and atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee at breakfast was from a Nespresso machine, personally, I like 'real' freshly brewed coffee. Otherwise everything was fantastic. Wonderful breakfast.

    Spectacular location, we were upgraded on arrival to a room with a little terrace and an amazing view of the sea. Beautiful room, decor, lovely staff, very friendly and attentive. Beautiful decor throughout the hotel, very special place. We had a wonderful meal in the main restaurant and I would especially complement the staff, our waiter really knew how to find out what we liked and made excellent suggestions. Wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Amazing hotel in simply the best location in Cascais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a slight lack of ambience in the bar and it was understaffed

    The pillows were simply outstanding, the location is absolutely the best in Cascais, the sushi restaurant is superb, the views are breathtaking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Really lovely design hotel in the beautiful location of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A pool! Which is pretty expected for a hotel that's described as having one.

    Really lovely design hotel in the beautiful location of Cascais on the see. Food was amazing. Service good. Shower didn't work so we were moved rooms after we'd already unpacked and the delay was longer than it should have been. Also, at no point did the hotel or Booking.com advise that the pool would be empty (ie unusable) or that half of the pool area would be out of bounds or that some work would be carried out on the first day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    The stay was really gud they really try to make ur stay comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should mix foods becoz every one is coming from different region and in there showers they should get some racks where u could keep ur cosmetic n towel and one last thing they should appoint ppl who can speak in English it’s really difficult to make them understand

    The staff was very feixble

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Ideal for a few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the coffee in the morning was not filter and you had to help yourself from the Nespresso machine the fruit was OK but could have had more variety and better quality. the hotel is also only a short walk into the town and in the other direction a walk along the water takes you to several good restaurants.

    the situation is good as it is actually on the water and it is great to watch the waves. in the summer I think that the swimming pool will be small. Out room was adequate in size, the bathroom for one at a time and an excellent shower.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    The Atlantic Ocean at your feet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the second time that I have visited The Farol hotel. It is a truly amazing experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. The sea view rooms were amazing, we could hear the Atlantic Ocean from our rooms. The breakfast was fabulous, the rooms were smart and fresh and I will be visiting again in the future.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.2
    We stayed 9 days & felt pampered the whole time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't excited about the use of black paint, (but it is a design hotel.) The stairway upstairs to our room was dark and blinding after the sunshine coming in to the Oceanside rooms.

    Breakfasts were amazing. Smoked salmon, eggs any style to order, champagne for the orange juice. Management & staff efficient, friendly & helpful, especially Michael in the dining room and Teresa who gave us advice on what to see. The view of the ocean & lighthouse from the bedroom balcony, bar & dining room. Parking for the car.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is 5 star downstairs but sadly has three star...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 5 star downstairs but sadly has three star rooms and bath and shower facilities. It could be the most outstanding hotel but needs new bathrooms and better air conditioning. Rooms let down a stunning hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    5.8
    Location is stunning in front of sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was contemporary but a touch dated, asked for sea views (and paid them) and got room with lateral sea view only (111), was almost kicked out of breakfast 5 mins after the buffet closed... been at Farol 4 times now... needs some re-thinking! In my opinion it lives from the location and investment made several years ago.

    Location is stunning in front of sea

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.2
    hotel very well located and if you're lucky, amazing sea view right.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed little smaller Room a little noisy, you hear the rooms next door. The decorative style is strange

    Breakfast magnifique, seaview fantastique, perfect location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good choice for a relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of the bar was very slow. We waited more than 45min for 2 scones and fruit. Also, the floor outside (close to the swimming pool) is a little bit damaged for a 5 stars hotel.

    The room is very nice for a romantic night (Miguel Viera room) and the view from the hotel is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    We'll be back for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    --

    Friendly staff, amazing location! Restaurants are superb and the view is unimaginable! We loved the fact that we were given a free bottle of champagne and strawberries because of our anniversary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxed, sunny, great seafood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great breakfast and staff at restaurant makes you very comfortable and relaxed with sea view at breakfast. Good size swimming pool (seawater) and bed comfortable. We stayed in the garden view room in the old house (not the extension) with high ceiling and spacious bathroom, very good overall. The hotel is walkable distance from Cascais train station (20 mins) along the coast, and train from Lisbon to Cascais is about 40 mins (frequent service, every 20 mins).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location for a weekend get away ,yet close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom small and no shelving for toilet bags etc Huge beam through the centre of the room impeded movement and meant likely banging of head getting off the bed.

    Great location and sea views over a beautiful pool area. Quiet setting yet close to town Restaurant was good and fair value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Great location and pool area. Inexperienced service and tiny room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was lacking. All staff from front desk to pool boys and restaurant staff were very inexperienced and clearly lacked training and guidance. The room was tiny, overlooking the parking lot and road. Bathroom seen better days. Overall not worth the EUR 380 per night we paid to stay here

    Location is great, only a short walk to the center of Cascais. The sea view from the pool area and restaurant is stunning. Pool area is very nice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Gorgeous Sea Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The showers ..... they are a bit old - fashioned , positioned inside a "whirlpool/jacuzzi "styled large bath- and is in the bedroom area separated by a shower curtain from the room , the basin & toilet are in the lounge area of the suite , so it is a bit impractical!

    Wonderful site in Cascais. Hotel has a superb pool area , sheltered from the wind , overlooking the sea. Staff were friendly & attentive. We had an excellent dinner at the MIX /Med restaurant, our lunches were at the pool restaurant /bar where we had an excellent choice of drinks & food, since you could also order from the Sushi restaurant. The Sushi was excellent & well-priced. Beautiful sea view from our suite , also from our daughter's bedroom. Hotel is also close to town & excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice design and extreme beauty view at the sea coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the swimming pool bed lodges are reserved for guest from suites even if nobody is using them..

    Great location, really helpful staff, beautiful surrounding.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    The Farol is a truly luxurious oasis, perfect for an escape yet close to the heart of Cascais.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The table service by the pool is quite slow. The staff do their best but they seem a bit overwhelmed sometimes and the wait can be long for food (45 minutes plus). The only other thing I would say is that the music played in the bar in the evening didn't seem in keeping with the really cool, design theme. It was mostly 80's hits played a little too loud for a cool setting like the Farol.

    This is a little paradise!! Fantastic location and the size of the hotel makes it feel very personal. The staff are super friendly and helpful and they get to know you very quickly. The food was fantastic - great breakfast and the sushi was amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Fabulous pool area-
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were allocated was extremely dark due to a dark red decor and their was an overpowering perfume sprayed throughout. The breakfasts weren't our favourite although the hotel did give Us a lovely champagne and strawberry surprise the morning after our wedding The rooms are small compared to similarly priced properties in the area.

    The front of house staff were very professional. The pool area and setting was STUNNING The sea view from our room was unobstructed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff looked a bit distracted. We booked with romantic pack but we had to ask for it a few hours after arrival.

    Beautiful hotel in a wonderful location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use the hotel facilites with our dogs. The dogs are only allowed in reception and our room. If you want a drink in the outside bar the dogs have to stay in our room or in the car. This is not dog friendly it is dog tolarant.

    Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    7.5
    Interior decorating nice, but too expensive for what you get offered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decoration was not nice. Small room. No paintings on the wall. Much too expensive for what you get offered. The hotel looks much, much nicer on the photos of the website than live. The pool area looked neglected and not nice, the floor around the pool dirty.

    Nice location. Small and trendy hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.8
    Excellent breakfast, very helpful and nice staff , amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi in the room, hard to adjust water temperature of shower, sound proofing could be better

    Excellent breakfast, very helpful and nice staff , amazing location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Perfect spot on the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction at the site which I knew but on a Sunday night at 11pm! Had to adk them to stop, which they did immediately.

    The people at the restaurant went the extra mile to make gluten free cakes, helped me back to my roomas I fell ill, etc...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    7.9
    Good views and staff but very expensive
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the massage my partner fell ill after this and he did not leave the room much after. As he spent a lot of the time in bed the bed was not comfortable as it was two twins and there was a lot of noice from the building works and we had to pay an extra 19 euros for this room per day. This was an expensive stay and The breakfast did not cater for vegetarians as I only eat bread and cheese. I requested beans on one day but the staff said we don't do beans today and did not help for an alternative. We are planning our wedding in Portugal and wanted our 20 guest to stay here but from our experience we will not be staying here again

    We like the food and the views. Staff very helpful. We like the location and the taxi transportation.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    8.8
    A fantastic view into the sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the sea view, and the extremely confy bed, we felt that the price was a bit steep for what was offered. The bathtub seemed bigger on the pictures. The room also offered a minibar but the prices of the consumables were also a bit high.

    As for the good points, the hotel's sights are excellent, especially if you stay in a room with sea view. You can literally wake up, open the window and just be amazed by watching the sea. The staff is extremely friendly and always ready to help in whatever you may need. The morning breakfast is also something to look forward for.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    Unforgettable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exquisite hotel. The staff is very pleasant. The surroundings are just perfect: the ocean, lighthouse, vawy paths. The restaurant was beyond our expectations: amazing european cuisine, delicious sushi, ocean view, could not ask for more. One night is surely not enough but made our stay here unforgettable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel, bathed in sunlight and situated right on the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an annoying, low level, constant fan noise in the bathroom, and we couldn't work out if it was possible to turn it off. But forgot to mention it to the staff on leaving!

    The view... and the breakfast... with excellent (Nespresso) coffee. The sun streaming into the restaurant at breakfast time. Dinner in the restaurant was very good, too. We stayed off-season so good value for money. On leaving we discovered that Cascais is a really good place - we'd have stayed longer if we'd realised before booking another hotel much further south.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    6.7
    Go there to drink a coffe or to eat something on the terrace ! But don t go there to sleep!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not for a 5 stars hotel at all!!! No Gym no spa nothing! Rooms are very noisy u can hear all from others room and pepole stuff when they make up room in the morning are talking very loudly on the corridor to eachother!!!

    I think this Hotel Has the fortune to be located in a great place just beside faro and wonderful view!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    The best place to stay in Cascais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This place was absolute heaven. Or room had an amazing private terrace with an awesome view of the ocean. The breakfast was wonderful and we even got to see dolphins from our view outside the hotel. We will definitely be back!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    5.8
    Disappointing for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is too expensive for the quality they offer. The room was small and awkward. The bathroom was tiny with a minuscule basin and no space to put the toiletries on. Breakfast was basic at best - poor choice of everything, not a single slice of vegetable on the table, bad cereals, yesterday's fruits - bad breakfast to say the least. It's not a 5-star hotel. Not by any stretch of imagination

    The location was good and staff was welcoming

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    What an amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not used to people smoking inside but i guess its the culture in Portugal so can't really complain about it, however it did bother us. Also the menu was a little slim in pickings if i had to find something to pick on

    What as there not to like. It was the perfect location and perfect hotel. It was AMAZING. Beyond what i have ever seen. What a place and what service.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    8.8
    Excellent waterfront location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creeky floors because the building is old; heard people above us up and down all night! Maybe add more rugs or carpeting to absorb the sound.

    Best waterfront location in Cascais. Beautiful grounds. Top notch restaurant on site. Excellent breakfast! Outstanding staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.2
    A good choice for Cascais
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is beautifully designed and the position is perfect. All staff in the hotel were excellent - helpful, welcoming and polite. We generally stay in hotels on a B&B basis, preferring to go out for dinner so I cannot comment on the restaurant other than breakfast which was very good. The pool area is lovely but the pool a little on the small side for somebody wanting to swim for exercise.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location directly on sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beds are not as good a quality as one would expect also thought the bathrooms were a bit below what one would expect compared to the rest of the hotel

    location directly on sea uis unbeatable and quite like the very quirky furnishing and artwork ... bar is also top class

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Great seaside hotel with lots of personality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a little dated & tired - the rooms could do with a refurb.

    The sea view rooms were fantastic - opening out onto private balconies that overlooked a little inlet. Falling asleep to the sound of waves crashing. High ceilings & big comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Overall we had a very enjoyable week. Don't know what we would have done on a wet week?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No newspapers. Restricted facilities. Dark and only few public sitting areas.

    Location on Ocean and excellent choice for breakfast. Perfect distance from town. Care and attention of staff - would like to compliment Joanna in the pool area for her constant care - full marks.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.3
    Give it a try if you want great food and amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really small rooms, tiny baths, double rooms not suitable for two people unfortunately.

    Loved the view, their pool is amazing, a must try definitely, food is great and super fresh.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel and location but lacking as a 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing with everything self service, even tea and coffee and gaps in the service causing us to stand around for eggs,ham,butter. Outdoor seating very trendy but very uncomfortable if you're past 45

    The location and the room were lovely with beautiful views of the coastline and walking distance to the town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    If you are considering this hotel you are in for a treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect boutique hotel. Very stylish and comfortable with stunning views. Service and restaurants outstanding (sushi, beautiful breakfast, bar food as well as main restaurant). Amazing location on sea front - pool area is like being on the deck of a boat (no other hotel we saw was on sea side of the road) - we couldn't peel ourselves away from four-poster sunbed. Particularly exceptional service around the pool where 2 young servers were always anticipating our needs (Nuno and Xavier). Beautiful bikes at €10 per day - take cycle route into national park next door along beautiful coast. It's a little gem. Nicest place we've stayed in for a long time and so relaxing!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with quirky art great location and fab views you can also enjoy while having a massa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't say didn't like breakfast just thought it was boring and could be more interesting also it was totally self service down to the coffee

    bed and pillows fab

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    9.6
    The place has a boutique atmosphere unfortunatly the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place has a boutique atmosphere unfortunatly the rooms are started to get a little dated especially the bathrooms probably because the decor in black starts to look a little grey. The service is great and they have a fantastic sushi restaurant. It is just a 10 minutes walk fron down town. For some of the sunbeds close to the pool it is unfortunatly not possible to change the backparty so you have to stay in the same position all the time.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    10
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great!

    What a beautiful place - lovely location, oceanfront with quick walk to town, classy facility, great food and drinks, kind and courteous staff. Highly reccommend!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Great base with a fantastic view and a welcoming feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a double with sea view for 4 nights. If staying longer with an extra child's bed room is a little small.

    Breakfast choice was great. Staff very helpful and friendly. Travelled with 3 year old daughter and this was not a problem. Very accomadating. Can walk into town easily. Staff friendly. Pool child friendly.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    7.5
    DESIGN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE ROOM WAS TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE PRICE WE PAID. A SIMPLE SMALL WINDOW FOR SEAVIEW IS NOT ENOUGH. BATHROOM TOO SMALL AND NOT 5 STAR VALID ! ON THE TERRACE AND SWIMMING POOL THERE ARE NOT ENOUGH BEDS AND UMBRELLAS TO SATISFY ALL HOTEL GUESTS..THE HOTEL SHOULD AVOID CHILDREN BELOW 14 YEARS OLD SINCE HOTEL FOCUSSES ON CHARM AND QUIETNESS....ALSO PUTTING SWIMMING TOWELS ON THE BEDS IN THE MORNING AND SHOWING UP IN AFTERNOON ONLY SHOULD NOT BE ACCEPTABLE... THE HOTEL IS TOO EXPENSIVE FOR IT OVERALL AND SHOULD ALLOW A DIFFRENT SYSTEM...

    THE VIEW AND LOCATION ARE GREAT. THE 2 RESTAURANTS INSIDE THE HOTEL ARE OF VERY GOOD QUALITY AND OFFER THE FINER PORTUGESE CUISINE.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    4.6
    Farol superior room , sea view .
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bathroom , dirty scratched small bath , bad quality towels , safe not working , poor blackout curtains , no luggage rack .

    Ok breakfast , nice view , very good sushi restaurant

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Very well situated wit helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Third floor rooms may be small or have historic structural timber a bit obtrusive

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing in old rooms is poor

    Location, staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say.

    We loved the room, the view, the service(concierge) and breakfast, pool area. And all employees were terrific.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    The staff is absolutely wonderful!
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is absolutely wonderful! The view over the ocean amazing! I will come back for sure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Superb oceanfront location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Superb oceanfront location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, shame about pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was closed & we were not informed when booking

    Location, decor & staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee facility in room as would be a nice gesture.

    Great ocean views, walking distance to every thing. Great service and food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Excellent close to Lisbon 5 star with sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't shut balcony door from outside. (Not essential)

    Position, value for money February booking, excellent friendly staff and facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed my time at Farol Design, the staff was very nice and the bedroom amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic views, lucky with the weather. Breakfast on private balcony was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Sea view restaurant food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sea view restaurant food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star hotel Amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Internet access in our designated room. The Sushi Design Restaurant was CLOSED over Christmas.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Completely unwound
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad odour from bathroom throughout stay

    Staff great. Facilities fantastic

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic breakfast with an ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic breakfast with an ocean view. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Workmen dancing the floor

    Best smelling hotel ever, just gorgeous

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Did the trick
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee in the room

    Great staff, lovely views, location is excellent. My second visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Best Vacation Ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every little thing...the attention, the grounds, the food, the staff from front desk to housekeeping....We loved it all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold swimming pool. Exposed pool area so wind from the Atlantic can be a problem.

    The quietness of the hotel rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    Lying by the pool in those beautiful beds was heavenly. They afforded comfort , privacy & shade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch menu

    Big beds at the pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    on the water setting was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    would be nice to have steps into the sea but may be too dangerous

    on the water setting was stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Relax and enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was bit cold

    Very friendly staff lovely breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grossly overpriced Decoration Pool/Beach/Garden furniture

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    SPECTACULAR!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely beautiful hotel. Great service

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Farol Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: