Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HF Fenix Porto 4 stars

Rua Gonçalo Sampaio, 282, Lordelo do Ouro e Massarelos, 4150-365 Porto, Portugal

#62 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3860 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.5
    Nice, large, clean rooms for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far from the historical centre of the city. Many good quality fruits and pastries for breakfast, however the variety of salty choices (sausages or eggs) were poor and of worse quality.

    Nice, large, clean rooms for a good price. Broad selection of foods for breakfast, many fruits and pastries.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Decent option
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cleaners didn't do a throughout job, leaving some unreplaced soap for example. Huge disclaimer is that the hotel garage is horrible, super tight and won't fit larger cars!

    Hotel has nice vibe to it, it looks focused for young people and couples without children. It has a nice bar, but no restaurant. The breakfast was really good, specially for the price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    3.8
    Fellow travelers, beware the den of thieves and organized...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fellow travelers, beware the den of thieves and organized small thefts. We were robbed from inside the room’s old tiny and faulty safe locker. Smart enough not to take all your money in hope you won’t notice. Management didn’t bother to attend or even call while a receptionist and a bellboy lead the investigation before Police arriving. Poor procedure in place for maintenance team to get hold of the safe’s master key with obvious lack of hotel management’s approval and close monitoring. Both hotel management and higher management refused to take responsibility and left it to Police investigation which is not going to move anywhere beyond taking your statement. Upon arrival, mini fridge and TV were out of order. Besides that, cleanliness and food are little above average and not worthy to take your chances. Location is too far from touristic main attractions. Hop-on hop-off busses pass nearby but on their one-way route and you’ll have to make a long trip before arriving to main attractions which is nearby against way. Nevertheless, nearby market place is a nice place to visit. It’s a pity for a beautiful country and city to have such a poorly handled hotel and we were unlucky to have chosen it ... lesson learnt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was really good and the room is very big for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really good and the room is very big for the price we paid. It is 20 minutes walking to the center of the city. It has private parking in the hotel so it is a good option if you are travelling by car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    2.9
    Nothing was as described.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are not helpful and rude Breakfast : few choice and not great quality Location : if you don’t have a car forget it Not good value for money Business hotel Cleaning is not well done. Our towels were not changed everyday, some part of the room were still dirty after cleaning Not recommend this hotel

    Nothing was as described. We didn’t like anything during our stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel if you would like peace from the city, comfort and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Casa Musica metro is nearer than the one recommended on the Booking.com site, would have been easier knowing this on our late night arrival.

    Very comfortable beds, a powerful hot shower, beautifully cleaned rooms and a quality, varied breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is car park available but what nobody told us that the car park is for 9 euros for 1 day. Pretty expensive especially when there is nobody to look after the cars and no security cameras... So better without car here.

    The rooms have perfect view on the city. We had standard two bed rooms with bathrooms. Everything was clean so there was no problem. You can make your own tea or coffee in your room, there is kettle and tea bags available for you. The hotel has 13 floors so be prepared that sometimes you can find a lot of people in the lift especially when everybody is heading to breakfast. Speaking of breakfast they were amazing! So much delicious food!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel with a real nice and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It says on the site that the hotel is 0.6 miles From downtown but it is actually a lot more further away so they need to correct that on the site. Metro station is a little far away if you are traveling with kids.

    Nice hotel with a real nice and helpful staff. Breakfast buffet with a lot of choices, Comfy bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Good, but Not-enviornmental friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whenever we left with the window open for ventilation and to make the fresh air enter, the maid shut the window and turned on the air-conditioner. When we returned 9 hrs later, the room was always ice-cold. I don't know such thing is necessary. Too much energy just being lost and wasted with no reason while we are not even staying in our room. Also, they switch towels even if I show my intention to re-use the big shower towel one more day by putting on the rack.

    The price is okay, and the room is spacious and luxurious. The floor without carpet was especially the best part. Parking is certainly available for about 9 euro each day. The breakfast starts from 7 am for those who need to leave early.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Overall, great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like, we just weren't sure our communication was always clear with the staff. Otherwise, everything was great

    We liked that the hotel was close enough to the historic center that we could easily get there with public transportation in a short while but just far enough from all the noise. We also had great dinner and shopping options very close by. Try Churrasqueria Boavista, it was great. Don't do the Barcadouro cruise with the return by train. The cruise was great except for the breakfast and the train ride were terrible.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.8
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel in general was very good. I would have liked to stay closer to the centre, but I guess I should have checked better. Nicely decorated, very clean and the breakfast was wonderful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Clean and tidy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really good but every day the same.

    Clean and tidy hotel. Felt very welcome and me and my girlfriend were treated to the highest standards.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    will recommend to friends and my tourist agent daughter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    more flexibility when a late check out needed

    the room, the breakfast, the parking and the location were excellent, the front desk give a first class service always helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Leisure holiday with a friend
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace could have more areas of shade during the day. For such a big hotel could use a few more lifts.

    Good location near some nice places to eat. Less than 10min walk from a main metro station. Clean comfortable hotel. Good breakfast. Quiet rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast was good with lots of variety
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from city centre 30 minutes to train station Beds are awful ! Reception staff tend to be a little unaccomodating and inconsistent with information given to you Aircon in the room was hard to regulate either too hot or too cold

    Breakfast was good with lots of variety Some good restaurants within short walking distance

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Breakfast is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is fantastic. Some rooms have now hardfloor. I prefer to have carpet so that you can walk on your bare foots. Not on cold tiles/hardfloor....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Our stay would been much better if this unpleasant incident had not been betrayed our impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safedoor in the room 811 was not blocked on the first time. We didn't know about this fact, and did not checked if the door was blocked, but someone of the staff knew, and checked how well the safe was closed... in the end we "lost" 250€. It was the first time in our life, when money were taken in hotel regardless of there safety (sometimes we leave money in the bag in room). The hotel have 2 elevators, but only 1 was worked. It's not good, when the hotel has 130-160 (we think) rooms.

    The room was specious, bright and clean. The room was cleaned and towels were changed daily, despite the fact that we did not insist on this by throwing towels on the floor or hanging the appropriate label on the door handle. Breakfast was good. Getting to the centre was relatively simple albeit long enough.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Size of the rooms is great, big rooms with plenty of space.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not that close from downtown, however it is in a very nice neighborhood with shopping centers next door and subway station.3 miles away.

    Size of the rooms is great, big rooms with plenty of space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Fenix is a great hotel especially because of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe I'm too picky but it would be cool to have a gym or sauna.

    Fenix is a great hotel especially because of the staff. Very helpfull and smiled. Big thanks to Piedro for the pencils for my daughter ;) Ladies at breakfast also very helpfull. Apart of this... great food, amazing location, amazing city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel with professional staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The original room was not ready when the room was released to us to go up. Beds still had linen from previous guess. It was the wrong type room also on the business floor a suit with a conference room attached...not the room we requested but we did changed rooms.

    Clean hotel with professional staff. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    We had a large room with a confortable king size bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a large, tourist and business oriented hotel. It was crowded during working days.

    We had a large room with a confortable king size bed. The breakfast is plentiful offering fruits, pies, hot food and Nespresso. It is right beside the Mercado Bom Sucesso, a perfect place for a lunch or a casual dinner. The reception is gentle and gives tourist info.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.8
    The Wi-Fi was bad it was unusable in the rooms you had to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wi-Fi was bad it was unusable in the rooms you had to set the coffee pot on the floor to find a place to plug it in. There was not but one plug in in the rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    awesome location great room excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    service was a little on the slow side

    the room was spacious however had to ask numerous of times for milk and coffee and when I did only 1 milk was brought up

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was good, room was large and had a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit worn down, which we noticed especially in the bathroom. Not a big problem, though. The tea is terrible.

    Breakfast was good, room was large and had a nice view. Staff was always helpful. Location is a bit away from the center, but there’s metro, restaurants and shops nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel to avoid noisy city center only 3 stops away from city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd just add a sofa instead of 2 chairs in the room. There was enough space. More lights needed also.

    Clean rooms, great hotel staff, good location near Rotonda da Boavista and Casa da Musica.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Plus Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, plenty to choose from. The room was spacious and clean. Toiletries were added every day. Our nightwear was arranged neatly on the bed! The lighting in the hotel was funky. The food Hall next to the hotel has plenty to offer at reasonable prices, worth a visit. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Next to the Bom Successo market which is a great place to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of a walk to the old town, but the nearby metro gets you there for €1.20

    Next to the Bom Successo market which is a great place to eat a modem hotel in a good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely location, superb staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air con was very difficult to regulate and therefore too warm or too cold at night.

    comfortable bedding, large room, very friendly and helpful front desk

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view in our room was not the best.

    The bed was very cozy and the room very clean. What we really enjoyed the best was the bathroom. The staff was very kind and helpfull. The breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The glass wall in the shower was too short. Water sprayed everywhere. Small bathrobes.

    Spacious rooms. Amazing water pressure in the shower. Really good breakfast. Nice view. Shopping mall next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel and location would definately stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As above

    The bed was a little hard and the breakfast verity was a little small for me as i like meat and veterinarian sausages in the morning but only had pork options available. The scrambled eggs where a little rubbery but overall the selection of pastries and fruits was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Clean hotel, DO NOT USE THE PHONE
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not explicit information in the room regarding phone charges, at check out I wanna charged €35 for a local 2 minute phone call. The staff was unapologetic and indifferent.

    The breakfast was nice with many choices

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    Excellent time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast....would have liked fried eggs available for breakfast not scrambled or boiled. But that did not put me of our stay

    Overall decor of the property

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Huge rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no dinner options onsite although you could go next door to their sister hotel. Different room types were advertised at the same price but reception were unable to explain the difference to me

    The room was huge..biggest standard room I've stayed in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a kettle in the room to make your own hot drinks. Also the coffee at breakfast wasn't particularly good. We tried one of the machines to the right and the filter jug that was available, but the other machine that was to the left was popular so we couldn't get near - maybe this is where the good coffee was.

    It was a very clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and had a fridge which was handy. There is a supermarket vertually next door to buy snacks and drinks. The breakfast was good and had a variety of food on offer. The orange juice was freshly squeezed and the fresh fruit delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    I had a very nice stay and would visit again, and recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe English tea bags and coffee in the room, there’s nothing else I didn’t like.i

    I found the bed a little hard, the choice of breakfast was very good. All staff I met were very accommodating and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.9
    Good comfortable base for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of been nice to be able to get a drink during day if you wanted one. Shame the hotel didn’t do meals in the eveni g

    Staff very friendly and helpful full of useful information hotel clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable sad about the weather
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception very dim lift was slow and breakfast room needs help it appears tired and in need of rejuvenation

    Staff very helpful and accommodating hotel in a nice location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, well kept hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is old and very dark inside, with black carpets and dark flooring. Rooms have been partially refurbished, bathrooms have the typical european bathtub with a partial baffle door which is definitely not nice and allows for water flooding everywhere

    Room is large room and clean, attentive staff, excellent location, right next to a well known shopping mall and a market with plenty of eating choices, breakfast is good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.3
    Room was spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Expect this in a 4star hotel. Not convenient to the Ribiera tourist area so we used the metro. Check in not particularly welcoming

    Room was spacious and comfortable. Excellent breakfast. Situated next door to a shopping centre and Bom Successo which is a centre with restaurants and cafes. Excellent Internet provision.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.1
    The room was spacious and convenient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit worn out, there was a strange smell in the room. The floor carpet was stained and needed replacement. It was impossible to regulate heating.

    The room was spacious and convenient. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice. Polite and helpful staff at the reception desk. Wifi fast and reliable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue with the room, bathroom wasn't working correctly. Gentleman at the counter had us waiting in the lobby. Had to speak with the manager, she was definitely helpful, changed our room.

    Manager/ she was very helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Good, I will go back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that there is no restaurant, Xmas dinner was served at Tuela. Internet remains "tricky".

    Has restaurant? As far as I know just breakfast is served. It was a good surprised to have the minibar furnished in my room, at last. It was unacceptable in a 4 star Hotel to have an empty minibar and have to go , out of your room, with coins, in the middle of the night . if you need something to drink.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    We always stay at this hotel when we go to Porto.
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No problems of any kind!

    Large, comfortable, well-equipped quiet room. Reasonable price for a 4-star property. Friendly, helpful multi-lingual staff. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.1
    Clean hotel but outdated
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the hotel would be newer based on the pictures, but it was outdated. Main sightseeing areas can be accessed by metro, but it is a far walk.

    Room was very big and clean. Staff were friendly. Bed was comfortable. Close to Mercado bom Successo, which has great food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Convinient comfortable stay just a bit outside of busy city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was online order which was very confusing to complete online so we didn’t risk it and went to food court instead

    Great location - 5 min walk to metro, next door to shopping centre with big food supermarket, blue tourist bus stops at the hotel entrance and right next to a massive food court! Taxi rank across the road - very convenient

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall good hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good that there was parking for our rental car, but very tight for big cars.. Too far to walk to city centre, but there in 10min with uber.

    Spacious room Friendly staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay for me and my wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Plus Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ordering meals from the room was difficult! The hotel does't have this service, you have to call an outside restaurant and pay for the call🙄🙄

    The room and the toilette were very good, the restaurant is large and nice, the loby is also quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, position could have been better (very personal viewpoint).
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to the river was a fair walk. But taxis were reasonably priced so not a major issue.

    Bed comfy Breakfast very good. Bar prices very reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    8.3
    Overall hotel was very clean and well maintained, staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Public areas in the hotel were renovated but rooms seemed were not updated for a while. The worst was very poor sound isolation. If upstairs neighbours would be using bathroom, you'd better not stand in yours. We were woken up by coughing neighbours from not next but 2nd after room! Would advise to avoid room next to elevators as well for non early birds. The view from the room (10th floor) was to cemetary

    Overall hotel was very clean and well maintained, staff very helpful and friendly, room spacious, interior made you feel uplifted. Hotel located 20 - 30 mins by foot to city centre, next to shopping mall and multiple great restaurants, calm region. 10 mins to metro station from where 35 - 40 mins by metro to airport. Very nicely arranged bar and outside terras. Always multiple cabs available by the hotel entrance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Breakfast was standard.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was standard. Nice staff! Beds were comfy and rooms were clean. I liked the location being so close to an indoor food market. Walk to other attractions we’re about 20-30 mins. Rooms are very large. Our room didn’t have the best views but didn’t bother me. Overall it was good and clean, nothing extraordinary.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Arriving by car was difficult, and we usually prefer to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Arriving by car was difficult, and we usually prefer to be walking distance to the center. However, we knew this and our selection was based on having secure and reserved parking for our car and taxis were plentiful and inexpensive .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location, close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a weird smell coming from the closet where the safe was located, like the wood is really old and rotting.

    Breakfast buffet was good and substantial! Location, location, location. Staff and service was incredible. It was fairly clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    Ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House urgently needs a Facelift! breakfast room underground!, decoration, furniture, bathroom, light concept must have at least twenty years of age. safety box in the room too small (no tablet fits in). Rooms at 5th floor not very quiet(schoolyard, Main Street) No 4 -Star -Hotel!

    Bed Comfy, Location good, breakfast good, price deal ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Extraordinary find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing....

    Extremely pleasant staff, multilingual. Extraordinary buffet breakfast. Coffee out-of-this world. A nice 40 minute walk from downtown Porto. Next to shopping centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    The hotel was nice and the room was quite spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom sink didn't drain well. The location was a bit far from the main attractions.

    The hotel was nice and the room was quite spacious. The air conditioning was very powerful. The breakfast was quite good. The shower was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel charged me 3 months in advance. However, the staff claimed there was no record when I checked in. Fortunately, I requested a receipt beforehand. Make sure you bring along with your receipt.

    Spacious room. 10 mins drive from airport

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Room was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk on the next day for my booking checkin was extremely rude and I would have 2nd thoughts about staying in Porto again at this hotel.

    Room was very good. First night was booked under another name & the 3 nights for this booking were in my name which should have required a room change however front desk called us to say we wouldn't need to change rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no problem with anything at the hotel, the service was great.

    We were very happy with everything at the hotel from staff,location,ability to get all over Porto from this location.Had a great visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Taxis very available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby lighting poor difficult to read. Staff very helpful with questions. Holes in sidewalk caused me to fall and injure my elbow and knee but the staff in surrounding cafe very helpful. No ice available in room

    Taxis very available. Breakfast good but crowded some days. Good selection of food. There was pharmacy and grocery and shopping center next to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Large hotel catering for fast tourist turnover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor quality breakfast food, although choice was very wide. Bedroom not very clean - the same things were on the carpet from when we checked in until 4 days later. Room needed redecoration.

    Huge bedroom & bathroom. Good quality bed linen. Comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel facilitiesand staff, convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel is actually convenient. It's close to metro, and taxis / Uber cars are abundant in Porto. Hotel is comfortable and staff very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.3
    Great place to base yourself good local amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive mini bar, a little transfer of noise from other rooms/ floors. But nor excessive.

    Location was good, bed comfortable and clean, bathroom well appointed. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    Excellent. Go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one thing. They had sparkling water at breakfast only once in 4 days. But that's not a big deal.

    Excellent breakfast choice. They had prosecco as well (although we didn't taste that). But, overall, one of the greatest breakfast experiences.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    Great family place to stay to explore Porto, particularly with car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Club Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 12 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great place to stay with children. Excellent breakfast included with room. Bunk beds in room for kids. Good location for accessing all around Porto and suburbs with car. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.4
    Space of room as they are bigger then most rooms in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurants, further from city center then described. Room service is scheduled for 7am-11pm but doesn't start til 1930. Had to leave property to go next for food only to wait close to an hour after ordering do to lack of employees. And there computer system tends to crash often as experienced when checking in.

    Space of room as they are bigger then most rooms in Europe

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.8
    the hotel is not in the old center of the city but very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel is not in the old center of the city but very good location neer shphing center we came with a car soo there was no problam taxi to the old center is 5-7 euro in the weekend the parking is free on the street (sat,san) very good breakfast what can i say a good hotel !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Great Value and Great Breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast each morning was fabulous. Such a great selection and something for everyone. I would highly recommend including the breakfast when booking. This hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the Ribeira, so certainly walkable. A taxi stand is right outside the hotel, so very convenient and a short and cheap ride to where all the action is. The rooms were very spacious and clean. We would stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.8
    Overall a good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Metro is quite far away. Airco in the room was noisy. Even though nice materials were used, the bathroom didn’t look very nice. The marble was cracked, bathtub dull... When walking to the hotel, we encountered multiple times some drunk guys, shouting to themselves, which didn’t make us feel safe at times.

    The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good. Nespresso at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable, helpful & cheerfull & thankyou.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee or tea facilities, in a four star hotel, bedroom ?? Very disappointing.

    The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable, the location , for us was, was great & taxis were in easy reach & we were pleased with the price we paid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    The staff was very kind, the room was nice and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast space is a bit small for the amount of guests, but the staff cleaned up the tables fast and made sure that all types of food are constantly available.

    The staff was very kind, the room was nice and spacious. Great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast rich both in salty and sweet food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be cleaner, rooms are not vacuum-cleaned every day. Bathrooms need renovation. Noise insulation insufficient.

    Excellent breakfast rich both in salty and sweet food. Big comfortable rooms with high-quality beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.3
    Our experience was good only a coiple things we found to bring it down. Staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard tiny beds Their was no restraunt for dinner Had a noisy floor of people Bar staff very slow

    Desk staff were very friendly were very helpful with any questions and were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    The most spacious room we have ever had in hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine :)

    The most spacious room we have ever had in hotel. The bed was so so comfortable!!! Breaktfast was absolutely ok; every morning they served a different portuguese specialty and they even had Nespresso machines ;). The staff was enormously friendly and hospitable. One of the best fish restaurants is just around the corner. Although the historic center is a bit far (the connection is very good! By bus its quicker than by metro.. any bus at the bus stop that is nearer to the bus station at the shopping center - there are 2 bus stops on the street). We would go back there :)!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Go to Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is great. A bit out of the way if you don't like a walk to get to the city centre etc.

    Rooms are huge. Staff were extremely helpful with any questions we had. If we went back to Porto, we would look at this hotel again

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse HF Fenix Porto traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: