Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dorisol Florasol 3 stars

Estrada Monumental, 306, Sao Martinho, 9004-535 Funchal, Portugal

#60 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 354 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet connection was too slow, bathroom was too old and not inviting.

    The hotel is a bit old-fashioned and worn down, but it's definitely corresponds with its price so nothing to complain about. Location is also excellent, just 3 minutes walk from the ocean side and within easy reach of public transport stops. Also not so far from Funchal downtown on foot, you can easily reach it within 30 minutes walk through scenic neighbourhoods.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Despite good breakfast, Bread are boring, no variations

    Big Room and its facilities, Personal/Rezeption, Good breakfast, Good Location, many restaurants nearby, 30 minutes to walk to the city. Rate is very cheap for this Hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    banging noise of renovations (unavoidable I expect - but could have started a bit later than 8am perhaps!!) distance from centre - but at least it kept us fit!!

    breakfast was great views from the terrace - great sun bathing facilities huge studios with big bed and lots of storage space and room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The hotel is going through some massive refurbishment when it is completed it will be very good. I

    It will be good when work is completed. t is a three star hotel and a will be a good one at that when the work is completed. I have seen a refurbished room room and it looks good. Very good location with buses near by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Work men all over the hotel and pool area, a lot of very loud noise. The hotel should have been closed whilst this work is going on. It was totally unacceptable. Even without these problems the hotel is poorly furnished and not at all comfortable or welcoming. We do not normally complain about things, but this was very bad. We had workmen above our room banging and drilling from 8am to 6pm. Their rubbish chute went past our window. On Friday the scaffolding was moved and the pool area was unbearable. Please check that the work is finished before booking anyone else in here.

    Staff and position

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Refurbisment works (noise, which cannot be avoided), almost always the same breakfast.

    The location, the view from the rooms (No 701 and 702), the spacious rooms (studios), the helpful staff etc. It was allowed to stay in the rooms until the evening of our leaving. Free parking was possible too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    air-condition would be really needed during hot periods. and minimal start-complect of stuff for kitchen like: soap/gel for washing of dishes, salt/pepper/oil.

    room was renovated, all new and extra clean and fresh, balcony with view on the ocean, own kitchen with all equipment. we liked everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel in reality looks not so good as in booking pictures. It definitely needs renovation in both private room and public restaurant areas. The room cleanliness strongly depends on the staff. Room was very clean on the first few days of one week stay. Remaining 5 of 7 days only bathroom towels were changed. Kitchen was simply closed to hide any left things to be cleaned, Kitchen towel had never been changed at all. Even the beds remained untouched! The staff in restaurant is also not very welcome (no smile or greetings at breakfast time) apart from one very nice and friendly young man.

    Superb location and astonishing sea view from the big balcony on the 10th floor! Many restaurants, food stores and travel agencies nearby. Rooms in practice have all the facilities needed including kitchen to prepare dinner on your own. Very nice, helpful and friendly reception staff. I believe it is still value for money, taking into account Madeira hotels price range.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    sea view almost non-existant, hotel could do with exterior redecoration

    breakfasts very good, pool area well looked after, good sized pool, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not very comfortable. Really hard beds.

    I loved staying at the dorissol, the staff are so friendly, the location is beautiful. Just loved every minute of staying there. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels were thin and could do with replacing.

    Great value for money hotel. Staff lovely,maid in every day, pool great and 10 euro 3 course buffet in evening good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There was very little comfort in the room, our beds were really hard and the 2 chairs in the room were very tatty and the springs had gone. There was no air conditioning and you couldn't leave the doors open onto the balcony as there was no way of fastening them securely. We asked if we could have 2 bowls for our room, as we like to have a late breakfast in our room and the receptionist was quite gruff in her response of "you only get what's in the room". It would have been so much more amenable if she had simply let us have a couple from the restaurant. The bathrooms were dated and the shower head sprayed everywhere. The hairdryer was very poor, I gave up trying to dry my hair with it and sat on the balcony instead.

    The location was great, really good bars and restaurants within a very short walk, on a bus route and close to 4 supermarkets. With one exception, the staff were really nice, very obliging and the rooms were very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows were terrible- flat and lumpy!! The security of the room could have been more secure as the patio sliding door did not even have a lock ( being on the 8th floor you would have needed to be spiderman to get to the balcony.) The hotel could do with a revamp - a fresh coat of paint would lift it enormously.

    The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean and the kitchen was small but functional with a fridge which was a bonus. Shower in the bath was good with excellent pressure. Pool area was clean comfortable and great pool which I used on most days. Breakfast was a good selection of hot and cold and varied throughout the week with fresh fruit available.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really major to mention. For what you pay is more than decent.

    Room size, room amenities and equipment allow for self-catering use. Friendly staff, close to public transport to Funchal city centre. Nice views for the sea-front rooms. Aerobus from the airport stops very close to the hotel. Adequate breakfast for a 3-star hotel and affordable restaurant on site. Good value for money overall.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Parking far and not enough space (received a fine, due to elsewhere parking, because no choice). The worst ice-cream ever (and expensive). Breakfast very odd. Chaotic movement of people. Terrible coffee, plus long queue for coffee. Not enough fruits or croissants. First come first serve, whereas not enough space in the eatery for all people to eat at once. Wi-Fi almost none. Please guys, it is 2017, it is as easy as 2+2=4 to provide good civilised wifi and civilised breakfast.

    The staff was super, the cleanliness was top, the location very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A bit noisy. The cleaners were spoke very load in the corridor in the morning.

    The room was very nice and equipped with kitchen things. Big with comfortable sofas in balcony.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest of the hotel was a bit shabby. The bar was not open much, the gym & spa were not open. Really glad we weren't on the upper floors as some of the balconies looked like they were going to fall down!

    We had newly refurbished rooms which were fantastic. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was little bit outdated. Housekeeping could've been better.

    Internet offer, 15€ for 7 days of unlimited interent. Excellent views from room balcony. Close to shops and town centre. Nice swimming pool. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts lacked inspiration and presentation but there was always enough. There was a bar but no service or regular availability. The hotel is old and tired and needs a complete revamp. Renovations are in progress but then again listening to drills and hammers and building site noises is not really conducive to relaxing by the pool! Can't have it both ways!!

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, very convenient and beautiful views. Lovely refurbished rooms, I believe we were upgraded to an apartment which was a great bonus! Lots of nice restaurants and other facilities nearby.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    asked for quiet room so put in one where the floor above was being gutted day and evening so noisy . moved to lovely top floor room where the bathroom drains were repulsive . moved again all OK . but repacking 3 times in 7 days is not acceptable. Booking .com gave me compensation. thank you. I always use Booking.com as they are reliable.

    breakfast was very good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Fortunately I had read previous reviews so I was aware that there is not a kettle in the kitchenette and I took a travel kettle with me. The bathroom did not appear to be cleaned very well.

    The view was wonderful. The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed. Plenty of hot water from the shower. Buffet breakfast with plenty to eat so we did not need to eat again until the evening. Very good value for the price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is tired and needs renovation. Rooms are terrible, old furniture. 1980 - the year !!! Armchairs was dirty and splotchy. Conditioners was really old, dirty, full of mold. God! This is a real bomb of bacteria! Breakfast was scanty.

    Perfect location, beautiful surroundings and garden, sea view, great pool, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi. In reality only available intermittently in the reception area.

    Although the hotel is dated and lacks some of the more modern must haves, these are being worked on. In the meanwhile the staff and location make up for any short comings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The wi-fi is intermittent at best and only available in the lobby.

    I've stayed at this hotel twice now in the last 3 years and both times it's been great. It's clean and excellent value for money. There's a good pool with lots of space for sun loungers. The 1 bed apartment I stayed in was large with 2 balconies and a great view. The staff are friendly, there wasn't a kettle in the kitchen but when we asked for one it was quickly provided. The location is close to Lido for swimming in the sea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    entire apartment is 70ies furnished, but nowadays could be a plus... not so nice taps and tiles, broken and not working enough...

    perfect location to visit Madeira, nice swimming pool very useful at the end of the day to have relax . All the staff has always shown great professionality and kindness...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The billiard table was worn down.

    The staff was very nice and helpful, our room was big and very practical with the kitchenette. I really liked the swimming pool and the sunbathing area at the hotel. The ocean, a supermarket and restaurants are very close. All in all was an excellent choice to stay there -specially for this price!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi didn't always work

    Great location near the beach and hotel areas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor wasn’t clean

    Beautiful view, nice apartment with a lot of space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place with nice swimmingpool and good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    work still going on all floors dust every where rooms hall ways lifts

    location and cleaning staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle in the room and renervations were to loud only a few doors away every morning started at 8:30 am no peace.

    Great location nice big pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfy in good location,nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous location in tourist zone of Madeira

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building needs updating

    Larger space than we expected, large bedroom and lounge area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights

    More comfortable pillows

    We were lucky we had 12th floor room facing sea, it was quiet and split into 2, plenty of room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    having to ask kitchin equipment

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Had a very comfortable stay at Florasol. Clean, rooms, friendly staff and amazing views overlooking the Lido Bay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was very spacious. Nice views from the balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bed was hard

    swimming pool good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard matress

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Food was poor quality

    Location...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi available only arround reception and pool area.

    Good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    we loved our stay this is the second time here for us breakfast very good

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa in hotel

    Airy aspect

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room-especially the bathroom- really need refurbishing.

    Nice view from the balcony.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast bit basic but adequate

    Newly returbed rooms 😃

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightes very disappointed

    Area was really good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a bit tired.

    Comfy bed and nice pool.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We tried the evening meal once and were very disappointed.

    The upgraded room was excellent The breakfast was good

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities could have been better.

    Friendly staff. Location. Spacious rooms and 2 balconies.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is older, rooms could use remodeling

    Nice pool, close to Funchal, restaurants, stores and near the sea

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con Pillows and bed uncomfortable

    Nice pool.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room. View.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen - no tea towel. Bathroom - needs new bath. Beds too hard.

    Balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like the noise in the night from the sourrounding hotels, from their ventiators; there was all the time a background noise created by these ventilators or refrigerators.

    We liked the breakfast , the big room,and the stuff.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A chest of drawers in the room would have been useful! One woman receptionist could do with some customer service training....

    The staff were lovely. The majority of the reception staff were very helpful. Room on eight floor was very nice with balcony overlooking sea. Breakfast was excellent. Good location- 30 minute walk to centre of Funchal, close to good restaurants and a great supermarket!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room we got .. Not as we requested.. Not as advertised.. Not very clean.. Overlooking subathing area and above dining area. Got moved the next day to a better room on top floor with great view( thanks Carlos!)A bit noisy with workmen on roof during entire stay. Not entirely happy.. Hotel in need of some upgrading. Spa non existent gym comprised of 2 ancient not working properly cycling machines and three big balls!. We used facilities once at sister hotel complex, psinters were at the pool area throughout the morning..

    2nd Room we got was spacious and had a great view. Great central location

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of facilities in kitchenette. Had to ask for a kettle which was supplied but a toaster which was not. Had to ask for wine glasses from the bar. The mugs were all crazed inside.

    Pleasant friendly staff , comfortable accomodation, cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was a bit cold for my friend and no extra blankets and we asked for one for last night but was told it was too late! Staff were fine helpful about getting to walks.

    The room was spacious plenty of room. Beds comfy and bathroom good, Hot showers. We stayed 3 nights my friend and I and came for the walking which was a problem to get to from Funchal to the mountains. Have to use buses or taxis (taxis expensive) and they pester you a lot. Our breakfast was fantastic plenty of fruit and everything we required. Very good value for money at this hotel, it was a bit away from Funchal centre but probably quieter. Nice restaurants near to our hotel.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Needs new pillows old and lumpy , bed ok sheets clean. Kitchen needs more utensils not much you can do with a ladle and a whisk.Kettle would be a welcome addition as would some coat hooks by door.

    Location excellent. Staff very helpful and friendly .Breakfast good choice something for all tastes.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The people on the next balcony were smokers so their smoke drifted into our room if we left the balcony door open - and at times couldn't use the balcony - it would be helpful to identify some rooms as for smokers.

    Really enjoyed being able to cook meals for ourselves in the kitchen in the rooms. It is close enough to walk into town, but far enough away to be able to enjoy the promenade. Breakfasts were great, with a good variety on offer.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    Location ideal (3 kms Centre); Facilities, tired but functional; adequate -ferry bus to Funchal. Excellent breakfasts. Clean. No steps or slope to reception.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All very basic. We were looking forward to self-catering for a couple,of nights but in the end preferred to eat out. Hot water in kitchenette & bathroom sinks took ages to warm up (shower OK though) - no tea towel, no wine glasses, the bare minimum.

    We liked the reception staff (who were very helpful when we were not happy with our original room) & the lovely breakfast staff, who cooked delicious fried eggs to order! Pool & roof terrace with sun loungers were nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The access to the car park hasn't access to disables or babies cars

    Many thanks to Mr Santos. It is a lovely gentleman. I will definitely comeback

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a lot, the breakfast was a bit limited & the decor ready for an upgrade. No wifi in the rooms was a small drawback.

    For my budget this was a perfect hotel, the whole family had gone to Madeira for Christmas, I wanted to be in a separate place & was very happy with my choice.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience ... just one day apartment not cleaned ... overlooked ...

    Nice apartment a little eighties. .. would have preferred a better view ... but next time I would prefer to stay in Funchal ... because it's a little out of town but Lindo area is very beautiful ... would be nice if thy had late shuttle back to hotel from town

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lounge not very comfortable, settee was a 3ft bed and the other chair was very low and not ideal for older people. Very little equipment, had to ask for kettle and toaster

    area. lovely maid

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    crap food ,pay for safe lock and wifi in room oterwise on 4th floor where everybody was downloading ,so bad receptionthe gym was a mat and a ball with a wall chart on exercises lol

    the room had kitchen.balcony josalino on reception went above and beyond to help me out with certain issues i had hes is a credit to the hotel and the madeiran people

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen is small, but we managed

    Our room had a magnificent view over the ocean and the outside seating on the balcony is sublime. Bus service to city centre a bonus and close proximity to promenade with great walkways and sundowner bars. Room was very spacious

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This Hotel has no air conditioners... Apparently only a few rooms do have a/c. The weather was hot and humid; Sleeping without air conditioning was not easy. Very uncomfortable. The Hotel was probably very good 30 years ago. It needs lots of updating in all aspects. The Hotel has more than 200 beds and has only 4 parking spaces. If you rent a car chose another Hotel that has Parking guaranteed because parking in the area is not available. Most of the rooms do not have a Queen bed size; Only 2 small beds.. Lack of Wi-Fi in the rooms made our daily trip plan difficult. We would need Internet to plan where to go next day. That was a frustration. Nowadays only few people can live without consulting the Internet. They have a Router in the 4th Floor and near the Reception Office in the 1st Floor.. You always get what you pay for...

    Extremely helpful workers.... Very kind and always ready for helping. Very nice people. This Hotel has a very good location... The upper rooms have a very nice view... The Breakfast was good and it is included in the daily price. Not bad...

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms were quite aged. The decor and furnishing was very aged, and faded. It would have been nice to have an iron, and ironing board in the rooms.

    The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. The location of the hotel was ideally placed. The reception area was bright and airy. Maid service was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Accommodation is very dated and in need of total refurbishment, brief problems with water supply.

    location good, friendly staff, good standard of cleanliness, nice pool area.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dorisol Florasol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: