Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Folgosa Douro 3 stars

Estrada Nacional 222, Folgosa, 5110-204 Armamar, Portugal

#7 of 9 hotels in Armamar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 400 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money, with few improvements to make.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms should have a small fridge. The water heating system was not working properly and we had to wait a lot to get hot water in the shower. Towels were quite old and not changed with the desired frequency.

    Very nice staff; Upgraded room; Location; The hotel had just changed for a new owner, so many improvements were on-going. The staff was very kind and nice, and they helped a lot with the practicalities for the baby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    This went from a blind shot to a treasure of a stay within minutes of arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ATM out front (and really not their responsibility) was not working.

    The connection with the Pacheca Winery was fantastic. The front desk made a (free) tasting reservation for the same afternoon as we enquired about local wineries. We were treated as family, snuck into the tasting room between tours and allowed free reign of the winery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Gorgeous location right on the Douro River.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous location right on the Douro River. Balcony at night had a pretty view. Staff was really friendly and gave lots of great information about the area and restaurants nearby, she even helped me with my luggage up to my room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, the staff were friendly and extremely helpful, even going well beyond our expectations in organising a specialised tour at short notice, the room was exceptionally clean (the bed was comfy and gigantic!!), the view was magnificent, and the breakfast was fresh with a good variety. Couldn’t have chosen a better hotel for our trip to the Douro valley. Would recommend to anyone visiting this area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Outstanding!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely with a patio overlooking the Douro River. The staff recommended a “Quinta” for Port tasting. In the evening, we walked across the street to DOC for an amazing meal. A perfect day!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is in the perfect location close to several...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the perfect location close to several wineries. We got a complimentary bottle of port in the room and the hotel has a deal with one of the local wineries for a free tasting. The view from the room was spectacular overlooking the river. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child ) - Douro View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is poor...Besides, the Hotel kitchen was closed on Sunday evening. So it was impossible to have anything to eat at the hotel. The problem was that the staff does not tell you that... Nearby restaurants are about 10 km away from the hotel (apart from DOC restaurant, which is extremely overpriced - across the road). Overall, the hotel is fair, probably value for money. However, in my next stay in the Douro valley I will look for accommodation either in Peso da Regua or Pinhão.

    The staff is very friendly. The rooms are new and clean. The area view of the Douro River is beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.8
    The river view from our room are terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not always someone there at receptionist. It doesn't bother us at all. One thing we felt upset was that morning we're there for breakfast but no staff there. We picked up the table which we shouldn't have taken, after a while a lady came and gave us a bad look with Portuguese. murmur.. something she doesn't speak English. We either! We don't speak Portuguese as well. It's just a kind of inappropriate service.

    The river view from our room are terrific. I could stay that balcony for a whole day long. Beds is very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Good choice for a transit accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not easy to find if you follow the GPS-instruction.

    The hotel itself is very nice, it has a modern decoration. Comfortable beds, large and bright bathroom with nice tiles.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    A very practical layover hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast needs some hot plates. No warm meals. The restaurant should have a larger variety on the menu.

    This hotel had everything, location, room size, very new accommodations, friendly staff, and Of course price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location of the property is superb. The room on the 2nd floor was very comfortable and had beautiful views but no balcony. The breakfast was good but not excellent and the staff could have been friendlier. The receptionists on both arrival and departure were very friendly and courteous. All in all a good hotel to stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location overseeing Douro river and valley, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect location overseeing Douro river and valley, very friendly staff always ready to be helpful. warm and friendly exactly what expected from a small family owned hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel to explore the Douro Valley!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Internet connection could be improved. Very week signal in the room. Breakfast could offer more options like eggs and fresh juice. More vegetarian options at the restaurant would be nice as well.

    Very good location to explore the Douro Valley. Panoramic room offers a nice view of the river. AC (heat and cool) in the room. Outstanding Staff. They gave us excellent advices where, when and how to visit some places in the region and even booked tours for us. The hotel has its own restaurant, which is very practical, especially if you want to drink alcoholic beverages. The restaurant offers a great variety of wines from the region (not only ports).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    Peaceful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really haven't anything negative to say here!

    Lovely room with balcony overlooking river. Excellent evening meal in restaurant and good breakfast. A good base to tour the area and not too far to Regua station to board the train that runs along the Douro and provides beautiful views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable accomodation at the bank of the River Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Before 15 minutes of the breakfast's end, ran out of a lot of food, and the staff didn't fill it in.

    The bed was comfortable. The air condition was quiet. We could make suitable dark for sleeping. The breakfast was copious and delicious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.5
    Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Staff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    6.3
    Average hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was advertised but this was not available in the rooms - very frustrating

    the hotel is on the river

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    easy access and parking, modern, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no restaurant on property for dinner, in case one arrives late

    good breakfast choices, nice view from room facing river, easy parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great helpful family owning and running the hotel. They were refreshing and all delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.6
    Location top, on the bank of the Douro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electric things were not so safe in the room.

    Location top, on the bank of the Douro. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    We didn't like hotels restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We didn't like hotels restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child ) - Douro View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Peaceful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great place for peace and quite. Lovely views. Great drive through the hillside vineyards of the Douro region. Nice dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Nice accamodatios and reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alll was good and a good standard

    Nice accamodatios and reasonable price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast but sparse on last day

    Room very clean and comfy and amazing view

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location overlooking the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location overlooking the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    perfect location with good comfort and food after a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect location with good comfort and food after a very long day cycling.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Location great right on the douro river - great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting was poor in room and bathroom

    Location great right on the douro river - great view

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.6
    Great location. What a view. Modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clients should be warned that parking has to be on street across road. No way of getting to hotel from the rear.

    Location modern restaurant good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    Great Little Hotel in The Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The service was exceptional. Our host Ruben was very kind and informative.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    10
    Great value and perfect view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family atmosphere Very cosy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    9.6
    An excellent view in the Restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything.

    An excellent view in the Restaurant. Very quiet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel in fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor issue, corridor lighting didn't work

    The location was fabulous, and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    We were greeted with a glass of port, and that set the tone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast, while varied, was uneven in quality. 'Orange juice' was made from a powder and while it was nice to have ham and sliced cheese available they were not very tasty. On the other hand the coffee, apple tart, fruits and jams were really good.

    We were greeted with a glass of port, and that set the tone. Staff went out of their way to be helpful, bringing us an ice bucket and ice with glasses for a bottle of rose and booking a river trip for us. The beds were very comfortable, the view of the river encouraged sitting around just to enjoy it.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    8.8
    The beds were comfortable and the room had a direct view to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast could be a bit more diverse. For instance, lack of additional natural juices (there was only orange), and no bacon and eggs. The bed, although big and with a single sheet, it was assembled with two single mattresses. So, it's not perfect, but not a turn off for couples :)

    The beds were comfortable and the room had a direct view to Douro river. Might sound weird, but the towels were big and very good. Average breakfast. The location for who wishes to visit the Douro region, is very good :)

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    10
    The hotel is situated in a beautiful location in Alto Douro,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to dislike.

    The hotel is situated in a beautiful location in Alto Douro, the views and the drive here are spectacular. The service we have received is faultless. I'm hoping to come back here again and would highly recommend staying here.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    8.8
    The staff were extraordinarily kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were extraordinarily kind and helpful. The receptionist who was celebrating her 19th birthday gave each of us a piece of her birthday cake and volunteered to organise a day of sightseeing. It was delightful!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Lovely modern, comfortable hotel, and wonderfully situated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to carry suitcase up steep slope/stairs to reception (though how else would the view be as good?!). Tip: to halve this journey, go up the stairs, cut through the restaurant then take the lift up to the hotel.

    Lovely modern, comfortable hotel, and wonderfully situated overlooking the Douro. We were welcomed with a glass of the proprietor's own port! Parking free on both sides of the main road. ATM machine at hand. Very convenient for the prestigious DOC restaurant, though the hotel's own restaurant looked excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    We stayed 4 days and chose to dine each night at Folgosa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 4 days and chose to dine each night at Folgosa (despite other recommended venues) because of the wonderful effort of the staff and the food was lovely. We even tried a regional dish which didn't disappoint. Every afternoon and evening our host, Augusto, treated us to a special regional delicacy to try. We were sad to leave behind this lovely place.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.8
    Great quiet location overlooking the river .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great quiet location overlooking the river . Very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    view was outstanding, location excellent for our travels,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    weather , it rained

    view was outstanding, location excellent for our travels, staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    10
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location. Nice new establishment in heart of Douro

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    8.8
    Nice hotel with everything needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice hotel with everything needed. View on river is good. Breakfast is quite good.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.6
    Advised on good vineyards and took us to local vineyard to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Advised on good vineyards and took us to local vineyard to purchase

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: