Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fortaleza do Guincho 5 stars

Estrada do Guincho, 2750-642 Cascais, Portugal

#8 of 37 hotels in Cascais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 678 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The regular coffee for breakfast is not really good. But thats the only negative thing to mention.

    the people at the reception were extremely friendly & helpful The location of the hotel is amazing with the beautiful ocean view, the beach next to the hotel is beautiful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Definitely going back and would not hesitate to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not much to criticise ... the beach towels which the hotel provides could have been larger and it was not possible to book the complimentary bikes, although neither created a problem for us.

    This hotel is located between two beaches with a direct view over the Atlantic Ocean ... what is there not to like! Exquisite sunsets, dramatic coastline, a very tastefully converted coastline fortress would seem like the best ingredients for a great holiday ... but the food ... absolutely incredible. We are very keen on quality dining but this certainly left us speechless! We did not know you could do so many interesting and culinary variances with fish! Why this restaurant only has one Michelin star is beyond our understanding. Cannot recommend this experience enough for those looking for an incredible culinary experience.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Hope to go for our 50th anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hope to go for our 50th anniversary. Actually hopefully before the 50th. Very nice and comfortable staff. The hotel was wonderful and the food awesome. I wish we could have stayed an entire week.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    My wife and I felt very relaxed after our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    English tea. Why does Liptons dominate?

    Room was very comfortable and clean. The staff were attentive and friendly; especially the waiting staff at breakast. Good bar menu. If you want to eat in the restaurant you need to book early - many disappointed. Beaware this hotel is located some 8Km west of Cascais - taxi(Aug 2018) 8 euro. Receiption staff outstanding. If you prefer draught beer you need to be precise as the default is bottled beer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    The bed was like heaven, the location of the hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was overall a very enjoyable experience despite the continuous wind due to the hotel location. The food menu could have been more varied for people with special needs

    The bed was like heaven, the location of the hotel was exceptional, very clean, the staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet was concise but of good quality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Everything the service/location and the dinner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything the service/location and the dinner and service in the restaurant was the best we have ever experienced we could not recommend this enough!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Amazing location but lacking 5 star comfort and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the air conditioning was not working in our room and we could not sleep.

    The bar was fantastic with friendly staff and a great wine list.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Go if you love surfing and can afford this hotel. Portugal is a beautiful country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We felt breakfast could be better. The fruit was nice but the bread and coffee were frankly poor. The hotel has a Michelin star dining room. We stayed for 8 days so couldn't eat at that level at whole time - there was no bistro or lesser standard of dining available. Bar menu was limited and service in the bar area difficult.

    This hotel occuplies a spectacular position above Guincho beach. We were able to open the windows onto our room (yes this hotel actually has windows that open) and the room filled with the sound of the Atlantic. Reception staff were exceptional, pointing out local places of interests, sorting car hire for us etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.8
    Excellent position at the beach but remote and tired hotel seeking a deep makeover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The property is tired and beds uncomfortable the hotel needs a makeover and is far from 5 star rating in our view. For a 5 star property the only real facility is a bar/lounge/restaurant - which apart from the Michelin star is relatively small, lacking any atmosphere and lifeless. Given the beach postion if it rains or is terribly windy as it happens to be with the windsurfers and kite surfers who frequent this area there is not much to do other than drive to CasCais or explore further afield. The Hotel experience left us underwhelmed such that we looked to fly home early.

    Excellent position in the middle of two surfing beaches, if you like it remote and a beach holiday this is a reasonable hotel. However, outside the hotel is a number of camper vans also having broadly the same experience for considerably less price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Sundowners over the Atlantic and sublime view of coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No pool, protected building as old fort so unable to add one beside the building and room was on smallish size Thought the pricing for bar restaurant was too high really

    The location was stunning, and cocktails at sunset just topped it. The views from the terrace and the staff! The Restaurant was a great experience, expensive as Michelin 1 star. Breakfast lovely

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Unique hotel on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small selection for breakfast for a pricy 5 star hotel. Outdoor areas a bit dull, old furniture in sunarea and terass. Doesnt look like a luxury hotel at all, a lot of ashtrays everywhere.

    Lovely small hotel in a old fort direct between two fantastic beaches. Maybe not 5 star but a very good 4 star. Brakfast ok but not great for 5 stars. The social areas in the hotel are really small, lobby and small bar restaurant and terasse. Nice Staff. Great seaview from all locations.Our room was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    Fort between two beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very restaurant oriented and the hotel seemed of secondary importance. The Michelin starred restaurant is of high quality and price but as a hotel guest it would have been nice to have had a more varied set of options. Probably fine for all adult guests but we had teenaged boys, so a little lacking.

    Location was beautiful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Outstanding and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We unfortunately do not eat seafood, and the on-site restaurant and bar were almost exclusively seafood options. Of course, this is very true for most of Portugal, as there are multiple restaurants near-by that offered almost only seafood choices. It would have been so nice if there was a pool.

    The location is just beautiful. The hotel is perfectly situated on the cliffs and multiple beaches are an easy walk away. It was wonderful to stay in a building that was so old and which retained it's authentic design, but also to have the amenities that you appreciate. Our room was large and provided everything we needed. The robes and slippers were much appreciated, as was having an in-room refrigerator. They also provide a phone that you can use during your stay to make phone calls and use the internet (unexpected!). The shower was wonderful and the bathroom amenities were nice as well. Breakfast was very nice. Egg dishes are made to order and there is a nice variety of complements available. They offered bikes for our use and towels and water to take to the beach. All of the staff that we met were very helpful and friendly. There is plenty of easy parking available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    A good hotel next to a lovely beach - brilliant for wind surfers but too rough for small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    limited outside space to relax Dinner menu in the restaurant was limited to an amazing set menu, but this meant that dinner from the bar menu had to be taken in the sitting rooms or small terrace

    Lovely cliff top setting outside of Cascais. Nice place to stay when visiting Lisbon if you do not want the business of the city

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    The most memorable experience on everything here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great place to be! Most gracious staff, very comfortable room with great bad, the dinner is fatantastic with most beautiful views. The beach is absolutely wonderful . A truly exceptional experience to be there. Will come back,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Memorable stay in a military fortress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I disliked having to leave.

    Memorable stay. Wonderful location. Impeccable service and hospitality. Michelin rated restaurant with seaside view lived up to the hype. Every dish was delicious and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Nothing to say - EVERYTHING IS FANTASTIC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say - EVERYTHING IS FANTASTIC!!! Location, room, food, personal - all is perfect. Thanks for fantastic 3 days! If we go to Lisboa this hotel will be our choice for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    The location is superb: on the shore of the ocean in front...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be a bit richer

    The location is superb: on the shore of the ocean in front of sand dunes and nearby Sintra and Caceis - great place to stay to discover this part of the country. The building itself is a true castle, well furnished, stylish and well kept. A nice surprise to find Hermès cosmetics in the bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    When we pulled up at the hotel we were blown away by the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we pulled up at the hotel we were blown away by the spectacular location. It was a beautiful sunny afternoon that we spent by the beach. Drinks on the terrace are a special treat. We did not eat in the restaurant but the view from there is beautiful at breakfast. There are several places to walk to eat as well as a nature trail along the beach. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Love the sun set
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms on the ground floor on one side of the hotel are based near to the air con exit so a bit noisy and unpleasant, especially when you like sleeping with your window open. The room has been changed when requested, everybody very helpful and friendly - thank you for free drinks!

    Amazing place, amazing hotel, amazing stuff, amazing views, great breakfasts, great bar - absolutely stunning! Make sure you try local frizzante pink wine. If you leave early you can ask for special breakfast and it was totally great! Thank you for making our stay so exceptional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Everything was so great , celebrate my birthday there .
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was so great , celebrate my birthday there . The dinner at the 1 * Michelin was amazing. I received a bottle of Taittinger for my birthday

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    A True Relais et Chateaux Experience, Great Value for Euro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Very atmospheric but also comfortable. The glassed in porch with sea view was great for enjoying the stunning view. The restaurant was fabulous - extremely creative, beautiful presentations, very tasty. The plate with three homemade breads and three different butters is a simple idea that lives strong in my memory! The place was calm, ocean view, and service attentive. Our waiter spoke at least 3 languages well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    A disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Way over priced, dated rooms, especially dinner was a poor value. But then if one likes a very pricey wine list, hovering waiters, ho-hum food, then this may be the place for you!

    The location was OK, town was a long drive away, but the winds that blow on this coast can make walking on the beach difficult. We estimated that winds reached 50 mph during our visit and we were told that during summer months this was not unusual. Rooms were strangely arranged with a sitting room. Dated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    nice hotel , fantastic staff shame about thr view from the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was advertised view on the ocean we got very very partisl view of a piece of sea and a great view of camping area!

    fantastic location great breakfast nice rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    The property was absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The property was absolutely stunning. This is by far the best hotel that we’ve stayed in. The staff was very accommodating and ensured that our every need was met. They greeted us outside, took our bags to our room, and more amazing they knew our name. Every staff member in the complex was was extremely and exceedingly professional and nice....we travel a lot and this is the first time we’ve seen this combination of the building and the personnel that’s great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Great place, although not really 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not really a 5 start, more like a 4. Simply does not have the expected features.

    Great location, professional personnel, altogether a pleasant trip. The views are unbeatable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Everything about this property is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing. I would stay in junior suite next time, I saw it had amazing views.

    Everything about this property is amazing. Superb location with rugged beaches around, dunes, running and biking paths. Absolutely beautiful. Property is small and very relaxing and staff makes every effort to make it so. Restaurant is outstanding, recommend dinner experience and wines pairing. There is so much to do around, Arrabida, Sintra , Cascais. We stayed in Lisbon for half of the trip but I would consider staying at Fortaleza and just Uber to city for a day or two. We had 2 connecting rooms with small children, Comfortable and clean, great details in decor. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Relax stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to refresh the property for a 5 star. And the food at the bar is a little expensive but was good. Its necessary to have a car to really enjoy around the hotel in 100% because is really a beautiful place to go!

    The hotel was really nice and the staff really friendly, breakfast was really good and fresh. room was comfortable, tidy and clean. The location are really good just in front of the ocean, so it was really relaxing and quite !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Larger tub! My husband could barely get out! Drinks too pricey in bar. $14 for a gin tonic is more than we paid in whole country elsewhere.

    Room, staff, breakfast(wonderful attention to gluten allergy)....whole vibe of place. The view is probably why we stay there. Robes were THE BEST...thick and thirsty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    I would go back any time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful ocean view from our room, first class breakfast. You must eat a dinner in the Michelin Star restaurant, it's a real gastronomic pleasure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately ,as everything made with such care, the price is a little high... but the experience is divine!!!!

    This was one of the greatest hotel experience i’ve already had ... everything was precious... the room with ocean view at sunset... the amenities with a wine Porto bottle... bed extremely confortable! Restaurant was above expectations ... both breakfast and dinner were perfect!!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    4.6
    Definitively not worth the money. There are better choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was tricked by the booking App to buy a non refundable booking. Both booking and Hotel did not return my money, just credit for future stay. Beware of Booking App on Mobiles and of Properties abusing it!

    Location and view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Overall the stay was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Christmas dinner was not up to expectations but this would not put us off staying there again.

    The hotel is beautiful with stunning sea views. The staff were excellent and the service was very good. We look forward to staying there again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    9.6
    Everything is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing ! don't change anything please !!!

    Everything is perfect. Very smiling, welcoming and well educated staff, wonderful place with a long history, beautiful view and sunny Terrace. Breakfast is very fresh and very tasty. We wish, we could have stayed a few more days or at least, hours! We warmly recommend this " relais et châteaux" hotel !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They offered one bottle of complementary water for the first day only. Our room was above the kitchen and the smell came in when windows were opened.

    Stunning location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    It is absolutely gorgeous hotel in wonderful place near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is absolutely gorgeous hotel in wonderful place near the beach. Forget about other options, rent a car and stay here. You'll easily have access to Cascais, Sintra, Cabo da Roca and other places nearby, and will return here as to you home harbor

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    The staff were great, the location is stunning, definitely not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard rooms are terrible for a hotel of this standard, very small and dark with no view. We complained and were "upgraded" But were charged an extra 50 Euro. We wanted to have dinner but the prices were outrageous , more than 3 times what we experienced at top restaurants close by. The bath towels are far too small, never experienced this from a 5 star hotel before.

    The omelettes were strange and almost rubbery , other than that the breakfast was excellent especially the black bread, which was never enough as every morning those that did not arrive early for breakfast went without.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    a lovely brwa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu is very limited though excellent food. However there is a decent bar menu and also several local restaurants within walking distance as well as Cascais a short taxi ride away.

    Fabulous location right over the sea. Beautifully decorated and furnished in appropriate style for the property. Very nice staff. Wonderfully appointed dining room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location - former military fort at the ocean cost,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was close to hotel air conditions and its sound interfered in ocean breeze. I would recommend fresh vegetables for breakfasts

    Fantastic location - former military fort at the ocean cost, perfect beach nearby, reasonable price for such accomofation

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    View of sea from dining room sumptuous furnishings in public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High bar price of soft drinks especially mineral water that is essential because no good supply complimentary in bedroom Relais and Chateau hotels in past years that I have experienced, gave a more pampered feel,which is the cost justification for this brand

    View of sea from dining room sumptuous furnishings in public areas

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Stunning setting by the sea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some miscommunication about the hours of food service. Once the dining room was closed, we were told the bar would offer some light fare. As it turned out, this was not the case. We had to drive 10+ minutes to the nearest town in order to find an open restaurant. Although not pleased in the moment, it turned out well as the town of Cascais was quite lively late at night and we were able to have a delicious meal!

    We were treated very well with "gifts" at our arrival. We had informed the hotel that we were celebrating our anniversary so we do not know whether all guests are treated to the same array of food. However, we were presented with a bottle of port, a fruit tray and a lovely assortment of specialty baked cookies. The room was luxurious with leather trimmed closet doors and super comfortable bed and bedding. Elegant bathroom with all the trimmings. The setting is gorgeous with outstanding views of the ocean and beach from the dining room, terrace and some guest rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    That's a nice experience to stay in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived into the hotel after a long trip by 9 pm and wanted to go for dinner to the hotel's restaurant, however we were refused as we didn't make the reservation in advance. It were some free tables at the restaurant throughout the dinner time - we could see it while having the food at the bar, but hostess insisted that all the tables were reserved. Since the hotel is built in a pretty old construction, the smell in the room is very dusty, so it's absolutely necessary to open the window while staying there. The bathrooms are clean, but not comfortable as they are old fashioned

    This is a very stylish hotel. The beaches near by are very beautiful, While staying in Fortaleza the guests have a great opportunity to have a wonderful scenic walks or bicycle riding along one of the most beautiful coasts of Portugal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Dinner was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was excellent. Very unusual, interesting presentation. Pricey.You must like seafood. Breakfast delicious. Beach beautiful, but very windy when we were there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    I'll be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware- the water is cold and the waves are high- not for a swimming vacation!

    Scenic views of the Atlantic ocean from the old fort refurnished to the hotel, so do not anticipate for the large rooms, though the historic place and spirit will overweight it. Nice sand dune nature trail starting across the road. The Michele star restaurant is an additional bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant. The room however needs to be upgraded considering the hotel promotes itself as 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room pretty poor however it did not take away from our time there. Will return in the future

    Location excellent, staff extremely helpful, food brilliant however room somewhat cramped and was not up to 5 star standard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    7.5
    It was overall a very pleasant stay. The original charm of the hotel is strking. In addition, it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was in one occassion when we sit in the bar area waiting for service for over 20 minutes until one guy finally came and took our order. but then he disappeared again. After he finally came back for another 10 minutes, he forgot our order! We were very disappointed and left.

    My son left his jackets at the hotel after we checked out. We contacted the staff and they immediately arranged to post it back to us. We are really grateful of it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    A pleasant and relaxing few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a room with partial sea view however on arrival the room did have a part sea view but couldn't hear the sea due to the air con units right outside the window. The room was okay however it was quite small.

    Amazing location and fabulous dinner at the restaurant. Great terrace for sunset drinks and close taxi ride to Sintra and Cascais.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful but slightly strange ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is the windy Atlantic coast. Unfortunately I did not feel that the beach was safe enough to swim in, although there were surfers in the sea. But we drove to Cascais, which was about 15 minutes drive away to get our swim, but parking was tricky.

    Very high standard of accommodation, decor, and it is a classy and stylish Hotel. To me it seemed slightly incongruous - you were in from the wild and windy beaches, wind swept and slightly bedraggled to be greeted by very formal staff in dark suits, where any speck of sand would seem an intrusion. We loved the views. Our room, which was a superior double with sea view, was slightly smaller than expected and with a sofa in a small separate area where you could sit to look at the view - it was quite nice but the window is also not that large in keeping with the style of the hotel. The Hotel looks a bit of a blob from the road as you approach, but it is beautiful inside. I would recommend eating in the Hotel restaurant, it was an amazing experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    8.3
    great location !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms on the ground flor are noisy. Food options are limited and pricey (quick snack or gastronomic).

    great location ! directly located on the top of a cliff with the beaches below. Be aware that those beaches arent swimmers friendly due to the waves and current. Bikes are available free of charge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.8
    The location is exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The acrylic bath. The terrace and outside areas are functional and have fantastic views but do not have the same attention to detail as the hotel interior.

    The location is exceptional. The hotel provides bikes- essential for exploring the area if you haven't got a car as the location is remote. The rooms are very good- super comfy beds and crisp bed linen.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.8
    We feld very rich. Very romantic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were there in july. We were told that the wind always blows very strong in kuly & august. At one time we couldn't get to the hotel because the road was covered with sand from the beach. Because of the wind you couldn't swim in the ocean. And also: our bathroom was a bit moist.

    The view on the beach is magnificant. The interior of the hotel is very luxerious. The hotel has a Michelin star restaurant. The time we ate there was quite an experience. Of course not very cheap but it was well worth it. Every course was like a beautiful painting. And we made nice trips to Cascais & Sintra and a beautiful walk along the coast. It's a perfect place for that.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    great location, disappointing facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointing that a five star Relais Chateaux hotel didn't have ANY facilities other than the accommodation and restaurant ... no pool, no spa, no other facilities? Odd for 5 stars?

    great location, disappointing facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.8
    Friendly & helpful personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some rooms are next to the ventilation of the kitchen, so impossible to open the windows. In general the hotel lacks facilities to relax and enjoy the exceptionallocation between 2 beaches. Our room was not clean.

    Friendly & helpful personnel. The restaurant is top.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Both the location and the rooms are beautiful the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing but maybe a couple more choices of wine by the glass at the bar/terrace

    Both the location and the rooms are beautiful the location spectacular staff is so friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Room, facilities, and food all very high quality and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room, facilities, and food all very high quality and thoughtfully organized, Bravo! Access and parking easy. Ambiance totally relaxing. Location in harmony with nature. Amazingly beautiful beaches immediately North and South of the hotel, a nature walking park immediately to the East, and of course the amazing Atlantic ocean immediately to the West. Wish we were still there...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was super comfy. The staff were so wonderfully helpful and attentive. Beautiful decor. Would definitely stay there again. They gave complimentary treats daily in your room. Which was s great touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    N/A
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cancellation rule interpretation. Stayed 4 days out of 6 booked so 2 rooms making 8 days and I was charged one day for each room for deciding to move to a hotel in town center for the remaining 2 days. Actually asked hotel to find affiliate hotel.

    Architecture, staff and food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Unique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beyond the restaurant and bar not much else to do at the hotel. Rooms on north side have great views of Guincho Beach but also have smell from kitchen exhaust if window is open.

    Unique hotel. Hard to categorize but depends more on its Michelin starred restaurant than the hotel facilities. Staff all very professional. Excellent surfing beaches on either side. The view at sunset from the bar or restaurant is beautiful. Very good if not overly expansive breakfast buffet with custom egg orders.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Happy Stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have a coffee machine in the room. Leaving to the airport we asked the hotel for a taxi and it seems they sent us a driver instead and the price to the airport was 60€.

    The design of the hotel is very nice and the beach is beautiful. The food is good but we did not have enough time to try their Michelin restaurant. Rooms are close to the lobby but we did not hear any noise. I like to think we slept well with the calming sounds of the ocean. The staff was very kind and the outside bar was perfect for us with our dog but the weather was not super during our stay so hopefully next time it will be better!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    A taste of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shuttle service into the town has been discontinued and the quality of the bath towels and the toiletries were not as good as on our previous visit some 5 years ago. Apart from that (and the annoying little bird in the reception area!) we could not have had a more enjoyable stay.

    the staff were fantastic - they were so helpful (even to going to the chemist a distance away for us as we didn't have our own transport). They are friendly and attentive but not obsequious and strike just the right balance. the rooms are superb and the 'little' touches in the rooms make the stay one of real luxury. The breakfast was wonderful - the choices plentiful and unlimited and morning tea and scones on the terrace a real pleasure.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic Views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sitting area outside was not inviting. The sun loungers were the old wooden type. The sitting area needs upgrading. A glass wind break to be able to see the fantastic views and some comfortable chairs are needed. This is after all a 5 star hotel.

    The location of the hotel is fantastic. The best views ever. The staff were most helpful and friendly. The room was cleaned every day. It was my husbands birthday whilst we were there and a bottle of champagne was left in our room, with the compliments of the staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.2
    The restaurant was a knock-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much, obviously it costs to get this type of hotel. but we splurged.

    The restaurant was a knock-out. Absolutely excellent in terms of ambience, staff and superior food. I wouldn't want to be waited on as if we were movie stars every night but that's how it felt. There was a beautiful view of the Atlantic from the restaurant and the bar and probably from many rooms. We booked too late for this. There's access to the beach from the hotel but it's not a swimming beach. The old fort which the hotel is built on juts out giving a wonderul environment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    excellent as a Relais and Chateau should be, however you pay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, all good

    excellent as a Relais and Chateau should be, however you pay to receive this so 10/10 is tough because it would require superhuman efforts to balance price and quality, best omelette ever though!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Excellent, friendly and stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where to start! This was our first time to Portugal and We'll definately be back!! All the staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful- nothing was too much trouble. The food was amazing! Not to mention the attention to detail, with our stay being over Easter, we returned after a day out to a lovely handmade chocolate chick in a nest!! A really nice (and delicious) gesture- thank you! The location was stunning and the town of Cascais equally lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    4.6
    Hotel thinks a lot of itself but isnt that good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff either unfriendly or nervous. There was nobody at reception when we arrived and we had to wait some time to check in. The concierge then tried to show us around the hotel and would have left another couple waiting even longer to check in. Booked with breakfast and the hotel claimed this wasn't included and were quite rude about it. They backed down when i showed them the booking but unnecessary officiousness. Location was quite far from town centre and not much in between.

    Breakfast omelette was excellent, rest of breakfast average

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location and exceptional view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the location at the edge of a cape, it was extremely windy and could hardly walk from the parking in front of the hotel to the hotel building and the car got covered with salt overnight. But that was also an exceptional experience and became a good memory.

    Fantastic location and exceptional view. Particularly breakfast at the restaurant with Cape Roca view was something special. Needless to say, quality of food and services were very good. If you like small size and classical type of hotel, it is a place to go. There are good seafood restaurants in 10min drive from the hotel as well.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.6
    An amazing place to go to close to Lisbon right at the Atlantic Coast in the Cascais - Sintra area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing, we had a perfect time.

    The location is magic - an old fortress from roughly 1650. You can hear the Ocean in your room, especially the superior rooms in the oldest part are stunning, staff is very friendly and the Michelin star restaurant the best I have ever been to. The hotel is very family friendly as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic refuge by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been even better! There is need for a better cheese section!

    Wonderful localtion, the chaise long at the balcony overlooking the sea is fantastic! Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Was in this hotel second time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was in this hotel second time. Everything is fine! Very Creative and charismatic restaurant! A huge thank you to the staff for helping in the celebration of the birthday of my husband!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Our stay was an amazing experience for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything.

    I loved the food, the service and the beautiful location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Having celebrated a memorable Birthday here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having celebrated a memorable Birthday here.Everything was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect, wonderful staff - competent and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic view of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view of the beach. Professional staffs. Nice foods in the bar and breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    A little jewel on the Adriatic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved the hotel interior. Food is very fresh and tasty. Staff are courteous and friendly. The surrounding beaches are glorious.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    O charme!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Beach View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    O local é mais afastado, mas é lindo

    O charme!!

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: