Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Funchal Design Hotel 4 stars

Rua Da Alegria, 2 E 2A, Se, 9000-040 Funchal, Portugal

#52 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Restaurant is very small and breakfast offering could be much better: terrible coffe, no real fruit juices, tasteless bread! Besides, the very loud music during breakfast time is a nightmare! Bathroom is only separated by a transparent glass with zero privacy! This could be changed!

    Great location and neighborhood; nice and friendly people at the reception, specially Favio !!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very trivial, but larger mugs and glasses in the kitchen would be nice, as there were only very small coffee cups, not so good for the English tea drinking contingent.

    Loved the location near the City Centre and great restaurants , so many hotels there are up steep hills. Really pleased the room had a mini kitchen which was a nice surprise so we didn’t have to eat out every night. Great bathroom with a rain shower.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet in full view of the room, a very small dark room. Staff did upgrade us when we suggested it was wrong to be seen on the toilet with no cover. Though a design style hotel more thought was needed for the customers. Being on the 4th floor the walls were sloping making shaving or applying makeup very difficult with the sloping mirror. Lighting was poor and the landing was miserable. Windows outside were very dirty. Did not like having a very obvious plastic sheet on the bed.

    Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good with freshly cooked hot food

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is funky, our room was large and peaceful. It is a very short, reasonably level walk (this is a seriously hilly island) into the town and harbour/marina. It's great value for money. Would I stay there again? Absolutely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no iron available throughout the hotel. The rooms design & furniture was very strange. The bathroom had no privacy as had all glass panels. Shower leaked onto floor due to its design. Hotel was quite small in general.

    The room had a great view of the hill. Hotel was well located within minutes walk to main shops, casino and water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was leaking to the bathroom floor, would also appreciate a tea/coffee set in the room.

    Very good location - 400m from the bus terminal and 500m away from the first restaurants of the historical center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern boutique hotel, good location, great staff especially Iolanda. Yes the shower did leak a little and the bed had a rubber sheet on which moved about and the pillows weren't great but it's so easy to be super critical, I had an enjoyable stay and thought it was good value for money. Would recommend.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool or outdoor areas - restaurant/bar is small and closed from 10-6. No room service available despite listing on the facilities. Room safe not working and staff not interested in getting it fixed. Slippers wee provided after asking but no bathrobe despite being listed in facilities. Some of the pillows were smelly and unclean but were changed when mentioned. Reception on the two TVs was poor - many channels unwatchable and no channel guide provided. Street noise from cars outside annoying. No terrace and room was dark - kitchenette has no natural light.

    Location is excellent in centre of Funchal - kitchenette very useful - room/apartment was good size and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The lack of a lounge within the hotel was to us a drawback, as we could only sit in the room if we did not want to go out.

    hotel was in an excellent location for exploring the city, rooms were well appointed although we did have to be moved during our stay because of noises and subsequent failure in their hot water system.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrive late at night is not easy to find the hotel because there is no indication on the street

    Position: next to everything Design Wi-Fi : strong signal Breakfast: if you needed anything more , hotel is close to many shops and fruit stalls

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception desk is really desk, area in reception is small even smaller than small. Some of the times there is no receptionist and restourant ladies dealing with new visitors and this could cause issues. For my special case; I have asked to the receptionist guy to prepare my receipt for my company name but it still created for my name and I am having issues with my company now. Even the receptionist promised me to send the receipt with my company name right after I leave. I still didnt hear anythin from the hotel.

    Hotel wi-fi connection is perfect for business travals and those have to work during night. Hotel location is great close to old city and good facilities. Rooms are pretty good. Kitchen in the room contains a lot of tools and this really helps you to prepare your own food if you fed up with eating outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In some areas of the hotel it is too dark (corridors). No mini-bar.

    Excelent wifi connection. My special thanks to the team working on the night of the 9th and morning of the 10th of August. You were very amazing despite the conditions (wildfires in Madeira).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room in the fairst nighat!!!! The service waz bad. The staf traying to be nice but ,its look like no traning. Air condition slowely

    Good location Nice placel Stuff fray to be nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning system poor. Although booking.com site mentioned the availability of a courtesy bus to the airport this was not available.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The friendly people at reception, the view from the room and the uniqueness of this property!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where to just sit and have a drink.

    Perfect location for the centre of town and sea. Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very comfortable beds..

    Interesting design and very friendly staff. Good location near old town and bus station. The dancers pictures are amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was a problem with the seal on the shower door, such that it was hard to use without creating a mess. I would have expected a refrigerator/mini bar in a hotel with 4 stars. Had to ask for the safe to be unlocked before I could use it.

    Very warm, friendly staff; efficient WiFi; and a well stocked breakfast buffet. The location was also convenient - around 10 minutes walk to the cathedral, and about 20 to the cable car terminal for Monte. The room was clean, spacious, and the air conditioning seemed to do its job.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We did not get a room with a kitchenette so don't think that all rooms have this included. We also did not find bathrobes or slippers, however the room was perfect for our needs.

    Excellent location within easy walking distance of all amenities & the centre of Funchal. Clean, modern & very comfortable. Great breakfast choice too. Staff pleasant. Good value for money. Could not fault our stay here at all & would definitely stay again if we return to Madeira.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thought the bathroom too dark and shower wooden slats unhygienic !! Lack of comfy chair in room!

    We liked being close to the centre of Funchal! Also the modern feel!!

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel in great location. Central, clean, good facilities; a bit different in design. Good view from room Linked to another hotel in Monte for additional facilities.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel room is fully equipped with cooking utensils, so if you buy some wine and food you can easily deal with it. It is very comfortable. The wifi signal was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I booked two rooms on the same reservation but apparently when you do so using booking.com it shows as 2 independent bookings so we're given rooms in two different floors. Choice of food for breakfast was very limited.

    The hotel is modern and the room is very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fashion design of the rooms results in a not so comfortable stay: tab too little, shower leaking water all around and the toilet not really separated from the bedroom (transparent thin glass door??) . Not so fashion for me.

    Good place and good meals. Professional and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A very long wait in the restaurant for evening meal even though there were very people there. However, saying that, the meal was very tasty and well presented.

    Elevator, close to Dolce Vita Shopping which has a supermarket. Friendly and helpful staff at reception. Walk in shower. Good water pressure in shower. Good range if television channels. Excellent WiFi

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, it was a pleasure to stay, even booking an extra night after our flight was cancelled.

    The hotel is right in the heart of the city, close enough to stroll to the busier areas yet far enough away to be quiet and free from crowds. The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a great modern feel. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and cleaned everyday which was great after a long day exploring the wonderful island. All the staff were very friendly and always had a smile, especially Ricardo who always greeted us with a warm welcome when we arrived in after dinner.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No WiFi in rooms. Bed was a tad narrow and had mattress cover so a bit warm and noisy. Little things missing like bedside table on both sides of bed, kettle.

    Location was great. Very clean. Good style. Friendly staff. Breakfast was OK. Nice and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception is a bit cramped, but who wants to sit around in the reception? There is no WiFi in the rooms, just in the restaurant.

    Very clean friendly Hotel close to all the action in Funchal. Delightful decor and excellent food. The staff are attentive and friendly. The use of the Spa and pool in the sister hotel is a real bonus and means you can have a day relaxing if you choose to as there are no leisure facilities in the Design Hotel. I have used the Hotel twice and been delighted on both occasions. Breakfast is excellent!

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent customer service, beautiful rooms, basic breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Great location,good breakfast, good staff, inexpensive,nothing not to like

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, Sophie, Sarah and Vito were always pleasant and helpful. The food was very good too.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location Comfortable firm bed Great value for money Helpful staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Funchal Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: