Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fundador 3 stars

Av. D. Afonso Henriques, 740, 4810-912 Guimarães, Portugal

#13 of 27 hotels in Guimarães

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1678 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit if a walk to old town centre

    huge room. High rise hotel offers panorama view from lounge/resto on 11th floor. Free parking, but limited spaces

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, no fruits, no vegetables, pastries not fresh, no refill at 9, but just 10 minutes before closing time.

    Huge room, wonderful view, nice personnel at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was right next to the train station, but we came with a car and the hotel was a little far from the center on foot (15mins).

    The underground parking was appreciated, the room spacious, the view from the room was magnificent. We came in May but it was 15 degrees outside and quite cold inside, but the staff provided us with an electric heater - which was even better than the noisy air conditioning alternative.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Fundador for filled more than all my expectations; nice welcome by a very professional staff! The room was great, silent (even the railway station is at the other side of a busy street) and with an unforgettable view! The view “offered” at the breakfast room is even larger, wider and more impressive. The breakfast buffet has “warm and cold” food, very tasteful and good variation; don’t forget to try the delicious homemade cake! It was my second stay at Guimaraes and when I go back to visit this beautiful city, I will stay at no other place than Fundator; For me a 5 on 5 and highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit of walk to the central area.

    Our room was very large and quiet. We had a corner room with an extensive view of the central area and the hills.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't really have any complaints.

    We had a super short stay, but the staff made a good impression, happy to help us with our early check out. Also, the bed had the best pillow I've had in Portugal. Recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of constant running water. It was like someone was showering all night in a room next to me or something, good job I was too tired to care

    Great location, friendly staff and good food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is starting to show some age, and lack of refurbishment. The central heating is not good, and the curtains are too dark. The price is too high for the quality.

    The view from the bar and breakfast room is really impressive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the 11th floor restaurant is not quite as advertised within the property but this is nitpicking. Guimarães is a town best explored on foot rather than from the restaurant at Hotel Fundador.

    The hotel was in a quiet location and staff were friendly and helpful. Access was easy and the basement carpark had free spaces on our arrival. It was excellent value during the time of our stay for this standard of property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could be better, didn't like the coffee, we prefer the old coffee systems in any hotel, this self service coffee machine don't have quality coffee.

    The hotel is close to the center and staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great

    The location was great. Our bedroom overlooked the old city and castle. It couldn't have been better. Enjoyed the bar and food on the 11th floor. Great place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast.the walls were so thin that when people nextdoor were taking a shower it was as if an aeroplane took off.i slept only 4 hours the whole night

    The man we met at the reception on our arrival was one of the kindest and most helpful receptionist we have ever met in our trips

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were only the 8th floor of 11 and we were able to slide our windows open fully, i.e., enough to get a person out. Alarming enough with only adults in the room, but with children - very worrying, as it was a LONG way down! Luckily, our child didn't see or try the window catches, and needless to say, we kept the windows firmly shut.

    Commanding location, with excellent views out over the old town and castle and the cable car and sanctuary on top of the mountain. For travellers arriving by train, the station is 5 mins walk. The town centre was only 10-15 mins walk, so easy to get to and explore (and well worth it!). Our room had fabulous views, but those from the bar/restaurant on the 11th floor were even nicer. Good-sized triple room with air-con and a bathroom with a large bath, as well as a shower. Good breakfast Pre-bookable on-site parking (at additional cost) or street parking very close by. Helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is outdated. The don't follow Fire security rules. Breakfast was bellow average. Parking don't accommodate all guests.

    Hotel was a great view over the City

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cons: Bed was very hard and uncomfortable. I assume there were old pipes for the bath as you had to run the water for a while before each use to get rid of the discolored water.

    Pros: Location was perfect. Staff friendly. Air conditioning and wifi worked very well. High chairs available for breakfast, and a decent continental breakfast that left you satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great choice considering its star rating and price range. Easy indoor parking, the staff was helpful and friendly, the room was spacious, clean and well appointed, with a fantastic view of the city. Breakfast was plentiful. Three blocks away from the main plaza, six from the plaza where most restaurants and entertainment are located.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was great value for money which is why we chose it and also had a fantastic view from our room on the 4th floor. It feels like a business hotel though rather than the lovely little places we have stayed in so far, but for somewhere excellent value for money it was fantastic and we loved the view and great breakfast. It was about a 10 minute easy walk into the old city - downhill on the way there, slighly uphill on the way back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was very weird and didn't last until we checked out. It was a complicated user name and password - and it had to be re-entered every time. Very frustrating. The breakfast was really bad. I've lived in Portugal for almost two years - and this was only bad coffee I've encountered.

    The beds were comfortable and it was clean. The parking was a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a simple room, breakfast was really good with a great view. The furnishings and equipment was rather old style. We could park in the underground car park. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central location. Great view over the city from the 11th floor restaurant Ten minute walk from the old city centre. The softest sheets I have ever slept on!! Ever!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking could be better marked indicated, wifi with login with limited timeframe is annoying and unpractical, reception a bit curtly

    good bed, 10 min walk from center, good beds

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The usage of wi-fi is a little cumbersome and a different account for each device (two smartphone + 1PC, three accounts) is required. Maybe it could be simplified. The bathroom should be a little revamped.

    The location and the room at a high floor are really rewarding. It is classified 3*, but the hotel is at the upper end of the ranking. Clean and spacious. The free private garage is a plus.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing i can think of.

    The breakfast and withgoing view is nice. The beds are good(hard). The staff is professional and helpful. Carparking available on bottom Floor. About 600 meters walk from center. At a moderate price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Everything was perfect. We have received what we asked for at a very reasonable price. Free parking in the garage, proximity to the old city centre and very efficient front desk were all to be commended.Many thanks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head is a bit old.

    Big room, lots of space, mini fridge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park difficult to find

    Very nice staff that spoke French

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    avg., no complaints

    Parking was a plus. Easy walk into old centre. Breakfast room view 11th floor is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    The view from the bar on the 11 th floor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no cooling a/c

    Very clean and staff was very friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    comfort bed..very good breakfast..nice view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    un peu plus de modernite

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money, attentive staff, free parking onsite, good internet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff very absent.

    Excellent rooms, free parking and the view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be earlier than 7.30am for those that want to hit the road/town early

    great location. great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money. Nothing to complain

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walking distance from the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location ! 50m from train station. good view in the room. breakfast delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not too many choices in the breakfast, definitely need better quality/choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor was a little dated.

    Staff were very helpful. Free parking and located a short walk from the centre. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable and well-equipped room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beautiful view over the town, close to centre and station, friendly staff, spaceous room with refridgerator

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was souless

    Good room, free parking,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathtub was rather old (but clean).

    The room (triple) was very spacious and the beds comfy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    overall flawless, very good room, high standard facility, good location, good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best steak sandwich place ever just up the road, worth going back for that 😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    I enjoyed everything. Nice food and nice staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to re-type three different WIFI passwords for 3 devices

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location and good value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Small traces of dust in the room but nothing concerning.

    Good access to the Hotel and parking available for free. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfeast at top of building. Beautifull seightview. All room with a city/mountain view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant to speak of only a limited snack bar

    Location/ Parking

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Big rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Beautiful view from room and dining room. Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - close to the old town. Underground parking. Good breakfast selection. Nice view from the room on the 10th floor.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great room, large bed, nice staff, fab views, free parking, decent breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view and cozy room. Sky lounge bar view was excellent during breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient, very good value for money

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Probably one of the ugliest buildings in Guimarães. Extremely slow lift.

    Fantastic views from the breakfast room. Well sized and confortable room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean & comfortable rooms. Well located & friendly staff. Recommended

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was right.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decoration may be improved

    Nice breakfast in a collective room with a splendid view over the town (11th floor)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location great staff great room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Clean. Comfortable. Near to center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Right in front of the Venue i had to go!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    view!!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous view; lovely room 4 star quality

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can't remember anything I didn't like.

    Clean comfortable bed, spacious room, excellent breakfast. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful view of the city and very nice personal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the bed in a triple room is next to the washroom. The one sleeping there can always hear toilet flushing in other floor.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking insuficiente

    Todo en general

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and helpful staff. Good location and hearty bfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good location (on foot 3 min from train station, 10 min from historic city centre, 15-20 min from bus station), good value for money with very spacious room. Correct breakfast at top floor with nice panorama. Friendly and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    THERE ARE NO SLIPPERS. BATHROOM IS VERY OLD. BUT THE BIG PROBLEM IS THE STAFF NEVER SMILE. BREAKFAST IS VERY VERY VERY POOR. ALWAYS SCRAMBLED EGGS AND BREAD. THERE IS NOTHING TO EAT!!!

    PLACE OF THE HOTEL IS GREAT. IT IS NEXT TO THE GUIMARAES TRAIN STATION. ROOMS ARE BIG AND COMFORTABLE.

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Fundador traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: