Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Furnas Boutique Hotel - Thermal & Spa 4 stars

Avenida Dr. Manuel de Arriaga, 9675-000 Furnas, Portugal

#5 of 24 hotels in Furnas

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 828 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little uninspiring, however we did stay in the most basic one so the higher ones may be better furnished. However it was well designed and laid out.

    The staff were amazing from start to finish, very friendly and helpful! We ate in the hotel's restaurant on the first night and the food was absolutely fantastic, which was a real plus. The spa and pools were a welcome addition and were very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not that comfy since the beds are springy and the air is a bit off.

    The pool house and restaurant are excellent. Great attention to detail.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    An extremely pleasant stay. Great staff, very welcoming and efficient, fantastic restaurant, great thermal pool, very comfortable room, beautiful surroundings, etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little smaller than expected. When you shower all the water drips on the floor. Should you wish to order a welness treatment, I advise people to make a reservation on time. They were fully booked for the next two days when I was there.

    Sauna, bathing and swimming facilities were very nice :) The restaurant was incredibly good! Very comfortable bed/pillows. Free coffee or tea on demand in the lounge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is so calming. The pools are incredible especially after sigh seeing all day. The food and drinks are pricy but amazing so I found it worth it. Also I would recommend getting a spa treatment, it was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel in a sweet location with a helpful staff. The facilities are excellent and it is close by the town. The mineral pool and sauna, steambath and Jacuzzis are all great. Most importantly the staff deals with every concern with a sense of grace and professionalism. Furnas is beautiful but no gourmet destination. The restaurant at the hotel is certainly good enough, and keeping it simple will pay off. Easy walk to the caldeiras and the gardens at Terra Nostra. Their grounds are well cared for and quite lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Something minor - but umbrellas to rent would have been great. :)

    Amazing location amidst a lush green park area. The hotel has its own spa area with a thermal indoor and outdoor pool, which is lovely after a hiking day. The breakfast is super yummy and local foods are provided. The cleaning staff also came in in the evening, filled up the fridge, cleaned and offered cookies - home-made, everyday. We also received lovely cookies when we checked out. Great overall experience, would definitely recommend staying there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The moisture in room (some mould was seen on the carpet). The lack of hanging bar for wet cloths especially for a hotel with spa. the restaurant needs to be booked well in advance due to reduce capacity in the kitchen. (we were there in the low season in january)

    The spa is simple but very nice with an outdoor pool. The breaskfast is amazing, and the restaurant is really good although a bit expensive. The staff was very kind with a lot of small attentions such as a biscuit after diner time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Seeing flies on the uncovered elements of the breakfast buffet. The lobby Muzak filtering into our room when we were trying to sleep.

    Friendly staff; Excellent spa, with exceptional masseuses; Clean, comfortable rooms, complete with kettle and coffee machine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is super super clean!!But there were a few stains of mold on the curtains in room. Climat in furnas is this time of the year a bit humid, so this is probably normal though.

    I loved the pool and the sauna The staff was very very friendly and helpful Great WIFI The restaurant was superb The rooms were very comfortable Cookies each evening

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The restaurant food (evening) could have been better, It certainly was presented well, but fell down a bit on technical delivery.

    Breakfast, we really loved all the locally sourced food. Very comfy bed Pools Steam room / Sauna Rooms well equipped, complementary refreshments. Hotel is really well centrally located, much better than any other hotel in Furnas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We where women when we had do not disturb tag on door. I was told my USA drivers license was not good enough ID. I have stayed many times in Portugal never needed my passport for a hotel. I find that disrespectful, un necessary. I can drive in Portugal with my USA ID.

    The food was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clear but sometimes they should to clear better. Breakfast very poor . For SPA hotel they should work with it .More healthy food ,and one thing if you are vegetarian or vegan you will die there without food.it’s so easy to prepare even humus . Or baked beans for breakfast or more vegetables but ... In Menu mostly meat.

    Nice Hotel and SPA area also small fitness. Room was big enough .Very Professional Team.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cost of the taxi from the airport was a bit steep (though the driver was great and acted as a bit of a tour guide as we drove).

    The bed was fantastic. Great food at their hotel. Staff very friendly and accommodating. The town of Furnas is charming and I loved visiting the hot springs. The birthday brownie (at breakfast!) was a special treat!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most probably the newest place in Furnas and ok, but not what you expect from a "boutique" hotel. Our expectations where just a littel to high, most probably. But yes we do expect the room to be cleaned daily.... and the restaurant manager to be smarter....

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant, bad cooking and bad service. Few places to sit or lay down around the pools.

    Nice hot pools. They warned about bugs in the room but we didn't see any.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is far from the city and everything else. Staff was not very helpful as they didn’t offer any kind of guidance or information about the area

    Great breakfast and restaurant The swimming pool is great The surrounding is great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed with my wife at the hotel at Christmas Eve and in the evening around 20-00 came to the restaurant. However, the waiter refused to sit us at the table saying that the kitchen had been closed already and if we want to eat some desert or sandwiches we should go to the bar, where it will be served to all the hotel’s guests soon. We waited until 22-30 and no desert was served / offered.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel. Great choice to stay in São Miguel. Furnas is really nice with a lot to do and visit. The hotel is the spot to spend relaxing days surrounded by nature and pure exclusivity.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is great! The spa pools are amazing! The first hot tub pools we have found on the island so far! They are very relaxing. The restaurent has great food and the staff is great!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing (except that we had to go home)....

    This is a perfect place for proper relaxation: good facilities, friendly staff and excellent food! The little extras included with the room rate are great (coffee / tea and soft drinks in the room, late night snack and use of the spa facilities). No need to go anywhere! (although you do as the island is beautiful). Breakfast is the best we ever had in hotels. The evening menu food is great too. Being a vegetarian in Portugal / Azores is not so easy, but the hotel offered enough options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking space in front of the hotel was quite limited but it was not a big issue as the hotel was not full. It could be worse when more guests come.

    Very nice and modern hotel, the location is also perfect. Very good and cosy restaurant, good selection of food, everything was tasty and the prices were good for that kind of hotel. The best thing is the wellnes area, it is very nice, there are two steam rooms, one sauna, inside and outside hot pools - everything is free for guests and it is very relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My husband didn't like the temperature of the room. When the air conditioning was turned on the room would become too cold, and when it was turned off, the room would become too warm. This was not big issue for our entire stay though.

    My husband and I went there for our short last-minute honeymoon. The room was clean and big enough, staff was very kind, welcoming and warm, and they even offered us a bottle of sparkling wine in the room on our arrival. Spa was very good with the thermal water indoor and outdoor pools, very cozy and calm environment at night. The massage service was very good also, and very important: kids are not allowed into the spa on the afternoon/night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ban on children in indoor pool after 12pm - but at least there’s a heated outdoor pool that they can use. Maybe some covered shelter by the outdoor pool would be good to be able to,sit out there with kids even if it is raining?

    Staff were very friendly and helpful, restaurant was beautiful and food fantastic. Lovely thermal indoor and outdoor pools. Well located in Furnas, within easy walk of the caldeiras and the beautiful Terra Nostra Gardens

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking was tight Spa services booked quickly. Whirlpool services in the main pool were often not working. Some more material on local tourist sites and activities and restaurants/cafes would have been helpful

    Staff was very friendly and spoke English well. Restaurant was very good. Rooms were comfortable Pool was excellent. Exercise room was well equipped

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Above. Busy surrounding truck traffic.

    The suite was not a suite! Two adjoining rooms. One with a nicely appointed bed. The other with two unusable chaise couches facing a window and a tv.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was way too small, the outdoor pool area too close (right next) to the busy street for the price this hotel asks for. Breakfast has a good variety but would need some changes on daily offers, we were bored after a couple of days... It was, well strange, to watch this guy (likely GM or owner) to sit there and walk around all day, smoking next to the table where people had lunch or dinner...

    Great gym, realy nice indoor spa and pool area. Dinner in the restaurant was really really good and the price not higher than in the "city" restaurants that mostly offer average quality food. Furnas is the best place to stay on the island, nice surroundings (very green). Good housekeeping!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    General: Deception with Design and comfort. Bad lighting Restaurant: confuse interior design, bad lighting, some Staff not well trained Quality of food not at the expected level. Not a boutique Hotel neither a Design Hotel

    Staff at front desk. Housekeeping, room cleanless Location Room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was the only part we did not love. The food was ok but the service was really slow. Need to add more waitstaff for the number of tables.

    The hotel is Uber relaxing and the pool and spa are awesome. The area is quiet and beautiful with amazing volcanic features and close driving distance to many sites.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On the negative side, I would like to point out several things that justify a lower ranking in comparison to other luxury hotels we stayed at. First of all, the location of the room on the ground floor along the road which was quite noisy during the day. The insulation was not optimal since we still heard the cars even with the windows closed. The external pool is also located along the same road and we would expect some more isolation and noise protection with thicker vegetation and maybe panels. It felt that as we got a Booking deal for the room, we got the worst location. For such a hotel I was also surprised by the lack of attention to details: there was no conditioner in the amenities, the mirror in the bathroom had wear stain, the staff, was neither polite nor nice, we always had to greet first and we did not feel welcomed, the bed sheets had a strong smell of bleach.

    We spent two nights at the hotel and ate twice dinner at the A Terra restaurant. We liked the restaurant a lot, the food was excellent with local products and modern creative cuisine (ceviche, porc tight, ribs, burgers) while being value for money. The atmosphere, especially the terrace was pleasant, except for the flies. We also had breakfast there, the buffet was really diversified, also local food (cheese, ham), homemade cake and jams... We had a massage at the spa for an hour, we enjoyed it very much, it was professional, well executed and attentive. The facilities of the spa were also really good and perfectly clean, the pools, include thermal water, the Turkish bath and saunas... We appreciated that the spa was reserved for adults in the afternoon, it made it more quiet and easier to relax. The room was comfortable, I like the simplicity of the design.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A dounought ... Nothing not to like !

    Best butter I've had ever ... What's their secret ? Hotel staff giggling & free & easy but hard working & attentive. Hotel manager ... Successful fantastic business .. Missing it already :0

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honest review: -lack of tissues in the room. -not enough shelves or drawers in the room for clothes. -spa facilities were okay but not good enough for 4 star hotel. -spa was overcrowded - no deckchairs were available inside (between 17:30 hrs and 19:00 hrs) -staff nice but could be more welcoming, for example after checking out (we stayed 7 nights) nobody asked how our stay was or if we had a good time. -curtains in the room fell off the ceiling. (According to reception that happens very frequently as they are too heavy)

    Lovely location. Great breakfast - late breakfast possible. Very good. Relaxing massage. Big bathroom and comfy bed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering that lower cost of like and having spent for the hotel the same amount we would have spent for a 4 stars in Germany or Austria, we expected something more. The room was much smaller than expected. The part that I liked less is that at the swimming pool, the refreshing drinks where not offered but needed to be payed. In my other experiences in SpAs, the drinks and snacks at the recreation area where always free.

    The location is great and so the surrounding. The open calderas in the city are great. The swimming pools at the hotels are also great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dont take a massage, it's horrible. Mine was not strong but agressive and given by a grumpy lady. The rooms are noisy, you can hear every single word of your calm speaking neighbour plus toilet visits around the room.

    Very good breakfast, welness facilities, restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dinner service was slow.

    The breakfast was incredible... and the little dog (called Furnas) that the hotel recently adopted is very cute. He should be more often in freedom to get used to being with people!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    totally overprized. no concierge for the luggage to take it from the car. ridiculous wellcome by receptionist at arrival telling us, in case we take a stupid glass bottle for water along, we will be charged with 25 euros. spa area (turkishbath, sauna, tepidarium) were closed due to maintenance work for 3 days. far away from a four star hotel. room ground floor was facing the parking area , could not leave the curtains unclosed since everybody could see into the room. noisy street in the morning. un hygienic carpets in the room, always had to leave on shoes or flip flops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We got a room rate in advance through a phone reservation, but the front desk wouldn't honor it; the woman there indicated it was wrong and increased it to their standard rate. No apologies or concessions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't recommend because the room was very small and cramped and there was no balcony and the view was a wall. Asked to change room but nothing available. Spa treatments excellent Staff very friendly but sometimes service slow in restaurant perhaps because not enough staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all just perfect 👌

    The hotel, the setting, the facilities, the staff, the whole experience was top notch. Would hesitate to recommend Furnace Boutique Hotel for a beautifully relaxing stay - thank you so much 🤗

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room sizes too small. Restaurant overpriced fot sandwiches and meals.. Bathroom needed refurbishment - old fashioned style. Bed linen should have been changed more than once in fouur days

    location and surrounding area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -We had ants in our room and had to change the room. It was not done straight away, so we had to wait. It's unacceptable to have insects in a room! -The rooms are very average, nothing outstanding. -In the bathroom, they have only 2 big bottles of shampoo and gel attached to the wall!!! We felt like in a public bathroom. And on top of that it's not convenient at all if you want to cream your body and the bottle is attached to the wall. -It smells a lot of all this volcanic stuff, so if you want to open the window, don't! -Breakfast is good, but definetely not mind blowing. There is not much variety and after a couple of days, you are tired from the same. The pancakes are not freshly made, but just from the pack. They could make more effort. -It's bizzare that the Manage of the hotel (the dark haired man of around 65 years old) was taking ham from the breakfast bar and feeding his white dog!! Come one, no need to show this in front of all the residents. Also he was obviously leaving his dog outside on the terrace (exit from the breakfast room) at night and it was barking and crying. So we had to complaint. Not all people would appreciate the manager keep a dog at the hotel for his pleasure. -The reception staff is not too friendly at all. They look not bothered with anything. - The SPA is average and quite small.

    The nature around the hotel was really nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was not supportive enough, bathrobe was too small for me (which was disappointing in a spa hotel). Depending on the time of arrival parking may be full.

    Relaxing, quiet, excellent pools/saunas, nice room/bathroom/shower, beautiful garden, very clean, good service, good food, good location. We especially enjoyed the breakfast and the indoor pools.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit noisy late at night (garbage truck maybe)?

    LOVED the little town of Furnas - and this property was well located to take advantage of everything the town has to offer - plus GREAT to come back to the spa for a long soak after a full day of hiking! The spa facilities are very nice! Restaurant was good as well. Wish I could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inside pool could use some maintenance work on the ceiling and spa floor paint (nothing major)

    The breakfast was simple and delicious. The 4 pools are really nice to relax. One inside cold pool with clean water and 3 with thermal water: the main is inside at around 37°C, another inside at more than 40°C and a third at around 37°C outside. The rooms are very comfortable and with complimentary water, juices, coffee, tea and cookies.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast selection is limited. Avoid the bar: this hotel serves the worst Mojitos I've ever head. Just watery and not worth Euro 7,50.

    Beautiful hotel in nice area. Free parking near the hotel. Excellent innovative kitchen (diner) Great (free) spa facilities in the hotel. Free coffe, tea, juice and water in hotel room Airco.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly and hospitable, had a late flight but welcome to use spa until well after checkout time. Highly recommended for a brief getaway!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no balcony and the windows can barely be opened (small opening 10 centimeters). Cleaning of the room could be better. When we arrived there was tooth paste of the former customer on the tap. After spending a week, the same tooth paste was still on the tap. It is an easy thing to improve.

    Friendly staff. Restaurant was good. Nice fitness.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room and the bathroom were quite small.

    The location of this hotel is very good, the swimming pools with warm thermal water are fantastic ! Very clean hotel with an friendly staff at the reception and the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The thermal spa facilities, use of which was included in the room rate, are lovely Friendly and helpful staff Relaxed feel about the hotel Very good food in the restaurant, good range of breakfast and reasonably priced dinners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perhaps the indoor pool could open an hour earlier and stay open an hour later

    breakfast buffet was very extensive with very fluffy eggs, variety of fruits and cheeses, meats and breads...nothing missing ! Friendly, efficient service always in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Possibly the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The restaurant is outstanding, the staff very friendly, the rooms large and luxurious, and the pools with hot thermal water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old guy who works on reception (manager?) having a regular cigarette on the hotels front steps didn't give a great impression.

    Excellent spa and very clean hotel. Beautiful location and good food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have a bit of an insect problem. Had to change rooms twice to find one without ants. Understand it's a tropical environment but still they need to stay on top of this problem

    The breakfast buffet was out of this world. Best scrambled eggs I ever had!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms a bit short on drawers.

    Personal touches such as biscuit each night … but it was Easter. Free bottled water (from gym) Relaxing FREE spa … indoors, outdoors, cold and very hot plunge pools. Treatments seemed expensive to us, but we’d have happily paid for the spa and gym (which was well equipped, and fully working) Restaurant food all good, but depends on how you want to compare it … we had a couple of local meals out in village and they were cheaper but not as al la carte.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly but not always the most helpful. Communication in the hotel also seemed like an issue. We ordered special meals in advance and was assured it was not an issue and when we arrived at the restaurant the reception did not communicate this request with the kitchen. The chef assisted us and the meal was great, but it started off unpleasantly.

    Excellent breakfast with freshly baked breads, an array of local produce and fresh fruit (also soya milk for the vegan). A neat, clean and comfortable room with all day access to the beautiful spa. The garden in front of the hotel is beautifully kept and sets the tone for the environment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is either rude or so business like and barely smile. Mattresses sagged. Poor sound insulation.

    The thermal pools and spa facilities such as steam baths and sauna are relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    The hotel and staff fit right into the storybook tale that you get in Azores. Everything was Perfect and I mean everything was perfect. We will go back. Now added to the list of one of my top hotels in the world. (And I have stayed in many).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!

    Wonderful experience with a hotel staff that didn't miss a beat when it came to servicing needs. I would highly, highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the restaurant is not very good and service is very, very slow. It s irrittating that the chef service man is not talking nicely to his employees (in front of the guest's). Negative vibes. The hotel is too big, the atmophere is not so good.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast need to add green salad. The house cleaning didn't help to organise my room like folding my cloth.

    The thermal swimming pool outside and inside is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite pricey, services as well.

    Modern hotel and the pools and restaurant are the star attraction. Everything else while new is quite basic. Location is great in furnace as well and walkable to many sights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, mattress could be better. No balcony in rooms.

    Wonderfully nice staff in a renewed cozy design hotel. The pools are great, not big but enough for the size of the hotel. The restaurant serves great, simple and contemporary food inspired by the Azores cuisine. Breakfast is really good with lot of choices and fresh ingredients. Check out at 12 as usual for Portugal. Later check out also possible. Walks nearby eg to Furnas lake as the hotel is perfectly located. Spa/Massage are very good (thanks Márcia).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Swimming pool is not fit for pregnant ladies... This should be better informed on preperty details / website.

    Everything was absolutely perfect! Appreciated the fact that breakfast is served without time limitation.. meaning you can sleep or even go for a swim without rushing for breakfast. Felt like a luxurious :-))) home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were a bit on the small side and didnt isolate well the noise from the passing cars, luckily not much cars pass by.

    Spa was great, the outdoor heated pool by the geothermic waters was wonderfull. Excelent Breakfast and confy bed. The restaurant is top notch.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no umbrellas in the rooms of the hotel inspite of the fact that it rains often there. Hotel has two swimming pools but there are no places in the room where you can dry swimming suits after swimming pool. We had a dinner in the restaurant Tera and we stayed 30 minutes just waiting for the menu. They just forgot about us. Service for dinners is very slow. In the rules of the swimming pool usage it is mentioned that kids under 15 are allowed only from 9 till 12 a.m, but all kids of all ages are allowed to use swimming pools after midday till 9 p.m.

    Very beautiful places around the hotel. The swimming pools with thermal water are very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything was perfect

    Amazing place! Great location, beautiful hotel with amazing attention to detail. Super comfy beds, breakfast served until late so you can have a lie in, the best food ever and the most friendly staff! Absolutely perfect place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only suggestion for improvement is to prolong the spa and pool hours. And that is going to happen soon, as we were informed

    Modern and stylish hotel that offers extremely comfortable and pleasant staying. Our first impression was a great warm welcome. We also appreciated the appearance of the manager of the hotel in manner to greet new guests, he was also available throughout our stay. The hotel possesses an excellent restaurant, highly recommend! As well the breakfasts are simply delicious

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Somehow difficult to get a strong, hot cup of coffee! The bar could be a convivial place to gather but it always seemed empty possibly because the one drink we had there was extremely weak and the cocktail menu might benefit from some professional advice in using local ingredients. The chef is excellent and it would be much appreciated if he offered more than two specials per dinner which seemed to be mostly variations on the theme of items already on the regular menu.

    We were initially impressed by the buffet breakfast and the quality of our dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The local chicken is very flavorful and beautifully prepared as is the mackerel appetizer. After the third night, we felt that we tried most things on the menu and had wished the breakfast had a little more variety from day to day. We wish we had been told that it was possible to have breakfast in the lovely outdoor area as we noted some guests taking their settings out there on our last day. The staff is hardworking and overall extremely nice. Fabulous shower in the bathroom and thoughtful, aesthetic lighting in the bedroom. Loved the complimentary "infusions" at the front desk made with local lemongrass and pineapple. Perfect before partaking of the waters in the very appealing spa. We especially loved the warm outdoor pool. Overall, a well-run delightful place!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't get me wrong I like dogs but it wasn't a very 'boutique' experience to have the owner's dog jumping at the table licking my plate at breakfast nor biting my ankles walking to the pool nor biting my arm repeatedly whilst sat on the sun lounger nor drinking the pool water whilst swimming - I did ask the staff to keep the dog away but every morning it was there jumping up over and over and over and over and over.

    Overall I loved the hotel, the spa area and the breakfast. Nothing beats a warm morning swim under the palm trees and the hotel was overall a great place to relax.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can't find anything negative worth mentioning.

    Everything was fantastic! The food in the restaurant is great. Make sure you book at least a dinner! The breakfast is open until lunch, which was awesome. The swimming pools and sauna areas are open until 9pm, so it was great to enjoy it after a day visiting the island. Super super super friendly staff, very generous with all kinds of small gifts throughout our stay. I don't imagine me staying in any other place in Furnas. It was a short stay before going to Ponta Delgada and it was worth every cent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dislikes: honestly it is very hard to say any dislikes, the location is awesome if you want to visit some nature, the only thing that might bother some people is, there isn't really a big city near 10 km, wich is somehow a bonus though.

    Likes: The staff was excelente, they are very nice people, always available. The breakfast is really good, has some variety and really good quality, fresh. The facilities are great, we enjoyed the spa and the gym, it has everything you need to relax and train a little. The design was really great, beautiful place and good looking rooms. Bonus: there is a dog the staff adopted, he is being tamed, it was a nice little gesture from good people.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We had a very pleasant and comfortable stay at this hotel in a nice and relaxed atmosphere with very friendly personnel and accommodating service, very good food choice and quality.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    rooms very small bad noise isolation in the bath room great number of apartments have poor view on parking and cars too close to the windows no variation at all of menu,+ music several products in spa program and food menu not available service poor when hotel fully booked (lack of staff and organisation) hot waters relaxing but no medicinal value (but there are 2 better ones in the village) Furnas is a bad weather spot: always raining when sun elsewhere and at the coasts)

    Location close to thermal waters modern design hotel very clean room maids excellent good food good massage (Sra Carmen) Nice hot waters in 4 pools

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could be more amenities in the bathroom like hair conditioner and some cotton but the given ones are more than enough. The staff was friendly but could be a bit more professional. The rooms should have a room service list to help the ordering process. The swimming pool area should be open a little bit later than 21.00.

    The location is wonderful, the rooms are comfortable and very clean. The restaurant and bar are very good with a great service. The value for the food is really good. One of the things I valued the most was the fact that you can take breakfast at any time. This was a first time for me and it was amazing, thank you for this. The restaurante staff was very helpful and hardworking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Little noise from outside next to the busy road. Beds could be a bit better

    Great food, great spa, very nice helpful staff. Great company of hotel adpoted dog called Furnas

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Furnas Boutique Hotel - Thermal & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: