Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Galo Resort Hotel Galosol 4 stars

Rua Francisco Santana, 9125-031 Caniço, Portugal

#17 of 62 hotels in Caniço

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife is pregnant and we were with a 3 years old child, we were promised a late check in for the kid to sleep till 16h, was agreed in reception 2 days before. I was out of the hotel and would come back at 16h, my wife called me at 13h45 saying that she had to woke up the kid cause they had to leave after the hotel insisted, VERY BAD! AWFUL customer service.

    breakfast was nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the Fitness installations and teachers , interior swimming pool and sauna area are great the Atlantic restaurant near the hotel has a great view and very good fish the agency near the hotel is very convenient to do outdoor activities like hiking

    Great location between Funchal and the airport , and nice view from the terrace but there was building construction near the hotel with noise and that will make in the future the place a bit crowded of hotels , the beach was not very easy to access and too cold and too windy at that time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The shower water pressure was a bit low .

    Excellent service! The staff was very kind and helpful, the room clean and quite spacious. I really appreciated the fact that we had a smart TV with Netflix and Youtube. The breakfast was delicious and quite diversified. I really recommend it !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were not bathrobe and no slippers.......you wouldn't expect something like this. The mattress was uncomfortable, with poor quality pillows. The prices should be lower.

    The location is excellent. Very, but very, very nice staff. All of them were kind, warm and helpful. The view from the room is spectacular. The room was very clean. Every morning, despite the clouds, I watched the sunrise, from the balcony.....and every time I was rewarded! The breakfast is excellent. Full of choices. In the proximity there were some good restaurant with excellent food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Please spell Pizzeria with the letter E (i.e. not Pizzaria). The construction works on the adjacent plot, which should be over by mid-2018, bothered some of the guests who wanted to sleep in. We did not notice: our children woke us up before work started. The lounge areas were quiet and were not affected by noise.

    Despite the wind and rain that caused widespread damage the hotel was an oasis of peace, and offered much to do (swim, sauna, gym, reading room, ...) even when it was not possible to go out. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious, and had well arranged closets to make unpacking and the selection of clothes easy. The hotel restaurant was also exquisite (we had sea food and risotto). It was a pleasure to sleep with the window open in February: an overhanging balcony kept the rain out. Please ask the reception what is going on: they receive fresh information each morning by the tourism board, and are ready to tell you if there are any situations that may disturb your day trip plans.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a weird smell in the room. I don't know if it was a cleaning liquid or just the area... the breakfast was the same all week. When we arrived they gave us the worse room in hotel - small and with pile of rubbish from the construction site - only after intervention they gave the proper bigger room, the one that we paid for.

    The hotel is located in hotel area in Canico de Baixo, 10 km from Funchal. Bus stop is 100m from the hotel. The hotel has nice swimming pool and sauna and the best gym/fitness area I've seen in the hotel - it's big and has a lot of equipment (including crossfit area). It serves as a commercial gym (people come to train from outside). The rooms have a view on the ocean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fruit juices at breakfast were bad, from concentrate, either too diluted ("colored water") or too dense. One could imagine fresh juices at a hotel of this level.

    Very kind staff. Nice cocktails, even for our kids (virgin ones for them :-) Nice sea view from balcony and during breakfast at the terrace. Breakfast was in general good with wide selection of food. Indoor pool, sauna and training facilities were just great for the whole family.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not (completely) ready at 7:30 am; beds are to soft and shift easily; room was overheated (due to the fridge) and air conditioning was not working so well; room cleaning was sloppy; considering the price all points are negletible

    Sauna/pool was great; the price was amazing (low season/construction work special, around 60 EUR for a double room per night)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It said 'heated pool,' but it was rather cold the three days we used it. My partner and I are both swim daily but it was on the chilly side. On the other hand it was next door to a lovely sauna & spa.

    Lovely room tastefully decorated and comfy bed. Breakfast was to a high standard and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Coffee and juices at breakfast were not of the same excellent quality as most other things at this hotel.

    Beds were comfortable and even the extra bed for our child was a proper bed. Indoor pool and sauna was great, as in winter the outdoor was a bit chilly on most days. Excellent gym, great activities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this property is very good. Far but not too far from busy Funchal. In fact you get there in 15 minutes by expresso bus anytime you want. As a guest you can enjoy the indoor pool, saunas and a good gym. The breakfast is the same every day but you have enough to choose from.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bear in mind you're away from Funchal but it's very easy to pop down to town via the Express bus... The only thing is that there isn't a huge amount of variety and choice in local restaurants.

    Beds and rooms very comfortable. It's a cosy feeling place... Whilst being a big resort Galo Resort retains a welcoming but not overbearing vibe, friendly staff and excellent gym, pools, sauna and classes! Breakfast room is beautiful right by the Atlantic with a great buffet and omelette station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the gastro pub wasnt so gastro. Naked men in the saunas.

    Very clean and tidy, excellent staff, good breakfast. Good setting with easy access to Funchal. Excellent facilities and good area for other places to eat. Overall a great package.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is very nice but Caniço is rather quiet with a very limited choice of bars and restaurants. Funchal has more to offer.

    The breakfast buffet is excellent, with a wide choice of fresh and cooked foods catering for both meat eaters and vegetarians/vegans. The same can be said of the dinner buffet.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The usage of the safe is charged additionally with 1,5 EUR per day. Not a big amount but according to my opinion this should be included in a 4 star hotel. As stated there is no beach and the access to the sea is at another hotel some minutes walk away.

    The staff is very friendly and always helpful. They speak lots of languages and very well. The hotel offers nice and clean rooms and the facilities include an excellent gym. Wifi connection was always available also in the pool area and the hotel restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a little bit quiet. In the evening there is not much to do.

    It is a good place to stay. We booked a room with seaview. There was no seaview instead we looked over a large balcony wich was not ours. We had fantastic help from Maria, she is a intern. We got another room and this was more than good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Resort Beaches are nice, but need to walk outside to the next door resort Galomar. Also, the beaches are not "accessible" - need to use the stairs to get to the water. A bit noisy at night as this is popular place for weddings and other events. In this case, there could be problems with parking on site. But we were able to find place on a streets. Did not like Dive Shop (Manta Diving).

    The resort itself is very nice, beautiful sea views, excellent breakfast. Only 15 minutes drive to Machico with sandy beach. 15 minutes drive to Funchal. Clean, modern, helpful staff. Convenient store nearby. There are other resorts nearby that can be visited, nice promenade and beach with natural wave stoppers. Need swim shoes though.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would've been good if they had a concierge or someone like that to provide information about what to do on the island.

    Protected ocean swimming; access to Canico.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First od all your request have not been accepted so every single day me and my husband had to lift buggy with our baby and with all items and walk like that using stairs + sometimes car was parked just next to our entrance so We had to lift buggy above it!! We asked for late check out when we made booking and that was not accepted as well. So we had to check out at 12 noon and till 6 pm we had to walk with 8 months old baby! Not relaxing at all! Next thing - we have a feeling of being overcharge - we booked extra dinners and on our arrival we saw an offer for dinners 20% cheaper. We asked for cancellation but again been refused. Again we ask for WiFi box when we went to discover island ( as recommended on the advert they will give you box with WiFi so you can use internet around island). I been told that I have many free WiFi spots around island and I can use them. Dissapointing! Had other things but long story short - we were very disappointing with level of the service and was expecting much more from 4star hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Naked men in the sauna, dinner buffet (tried once)

    Breakfast, pillow menu, gym, gym classes, space for all, local restaurants, bus stop nearby, cleanliness, BBQ, staff, Lokoloko activities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -~90% of the guests were german speaking people (From Germany,Austria, etc) and between 50-70 years old. That made difficult to experience the local culture. -No running path > that 2 km around the hotel (you will have to do loops or/and hills down the see and up the highway) -The hotel (or the information office) do not really offer information about hikes that you can do independently from a tour. -No welcome drink for genius members

    -The fish and italian restaurant have excellent atmospheres (although the food was much better in the fish one!). Excellent prices as well. I would highly recommend to go to these restaurants instead of taking the evening buffet at the hotel. -The capoeira bar is very nice, again with great atmosphere, good prices and in some evenings also nice live music -The massages and services at the spa were very good and people were really professional and welcoming -The hotel guess have access to a very big gym with machines and activities -The hotel room was big and confortable -the breakfast was very good and very varied

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved room was not available and we had tp pay the same price (120€) for a room in an old building / no soundisolation at all/ bad smell in the room/ lavabo sticky

    Terras

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds :(

    Very good buffet breakfasts. Lovely terraced area around the pool and overlooking the sea. Staff ok, not surly but not overly friendly either. Limited restaurants nearby but fair. Easy bus ride into Funchal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent accommodation and infrastructure. Very pleasant and helpful staff throughout the hotel complex. Easy bus transport to and from Funchal. Some good restaurants close by to hotel, too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Buffet dinner price was 23 euro on the door so I dont understand why I was charged 24 euro on booking.com. Also we chose to eat in the pizza restaurant one night and were only given a 16 euro credit (and the pizza was average). There are plenty of restaurants nearby so I would not book half board again.

    Very nice buffet dinner. Hotel activities were only 1 euro (e.g. yoga and running). Good gym facilities.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conflicting info given at different times about late checkout times, too much "come back later" rather than "this is what we can do and this is what it costs"

    Quality and cleanliness very high. Lovely pool, gym and leisure area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel Galosol is great place to relax, always fresh, lovely staff who make you welcome and delicious food. Comfortable rooms with beautifull view on Sea. Me and my wife have stayed in this hotel for 7 days. It was awesome and next time if We will be on madera we'll chose this hotel again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing bad to say about the hotel. When weather was cool it was sometimes difficult to get a table inside and the breakfast room can get a bit crowded. My daughter (8) would liked to have had more kids to play with. There was just 1 other near her age. Very few kids over Xmas. You do need transport if you want to go anywhere unless you really like hiking. Even the local village is a hard walk up a steep hill. BTW Don't bother with the wicker sledging on the hill above Funchal. Complete rip-off and they abandon you to the mercy of taxi drivers who likewise will try to rip you off to get back to the town centre (you're kicked out half way down).

    Very good *** hotel. No complaints. Breakfasts were nice. Staff friendly and obliging. Lovely view over the sea. Dive centre nearby and tours can be arranged easily. Nice hotel restaurants with variety. Lots to do and see on the island (but no real bargains price wise).

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a really nice resort but I felt isolated and needed more life around. I felt much happier on the second half of my holiday when I was in Funchal.

    nice place, comfortable, value and lots of good facilities, decent gym, squash courts, pool jacuzzi, sauna. Big and with really nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No early chek-in for Genius guests as advertised on Booking

    The hotel was clean, staff prompt, breakfast was healthy and varied, sports facilities are above any compliments.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Offer
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of the very stormy conditions we could not use many of the external facilities.

    A stormy day when we arrive. Simple room but it has a balcony and seaview. Spacious shower and no bath. Bed and bathroom are decorated with petals as part the romantic package we ordered. An icebucket with bubbles is also waiting for us. In the evening a romantic candlelight dinner, again on a decorated table and fully a la carte. With half a bottle of wine and coffee we even don't have to pay any extra! In the morning a simple spa treatment to close our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During our fivedays of stay there was three strange calls from reception when we were sleeping: first that we make noise and bother our neighbours and second thet we press alarm button. At first sight it is food that they were making rest of guests, but it was a discomfortable feeling as we are criminals.

    Big resort with three hotels at the south coast of Madeira. A lot of enterteinment. Fitness club, diving, bar with live music, restaraunts, mini-market, beach which you can achieve with lift. Not so far from busstop to Caniso and Funshal. Taxi from airport 16€. At breakfast there is healthy corner with healthy food.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room 4101 did have a great sea view but over the top of the solar panels and there was fan noise from the kitchen. Choose a different one! Hotel facilities are spread out across several sites, down the cliff. Lower bathing area was quite stark but understood why when storm washed over it!

    It was peaceful and relaxed. Staff were all helpful and friendly. Lots of facilities. Efficient pick up to/from airport. Great sunrise breakfasts beside the pool. Excellent choice of food. Eco friendly. Public transport to Funchal near to hotel. Did all it said in the blurb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    all was perfect, maybe a little bit weak wifi

    quite and lovely place with all facilities, a great place to swim and snorchel, great location, amazing breakfast (loved the omelet!)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in is very confusing. You park the car in one place only to find out that your hotel in the resort is far away and you have to move the car after having taken all the luggage out. The reception is not clearly marked at all. The people in reception are either untrained or aloof. There was a woman there who seemed to be in charge and was able to check us in. One male receptionist didn't even acknowledge our presence much less say welcome or hello. We reserved an ocean view room. The ocean was indeed there after we looked out over a wall and an abandoned unkempt veranda. The furniture on the veranda was cheap and flimsy. The corner of the veranda was infested with ants. I called and asked for another room and was informed that the only room they had available would be a downgrade. They should have given an upgrade! They did spray the veranda but it left a really bad impression and with that view it felt like we were in an intercity hotel. The breakfast is in a room totally inadequate for the number of people in the resort. It is crowded with people constantly banging into each other.

    The saving grace for this resort is the sports facilities.It is first class and really well equipped. The staff at the gym is attentive and efficient. The rooms at the hotel are a real nice large size and the bathroom is enormous for some reason.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flight in was delayed by 12 hours so missed 1st night, no compensation of any kind like even a cool drink, reception got a message wrong that nearly made a paid fishing trip missed no airport shuttle. Diving center very busy

    Great breakfast, swimming areas were perfect, views just amazing all resturtant staff lovely and filling meals rooms clean and comfy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looking at the cranes and the building site

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worn out towels and bathrobe

    Spacious room, nice huge bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for kids to get distracted with!

    Everything was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking might have been a bit bigger

    Tasty, healthy breakfast served with ocean view. Nice and friendly personel, hot sauna, fantastic gym, and pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of construction around facility

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, good breakfast. Nice seaview from seaview rooms. The spa and sports center was a nice add-on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Friendly, helpful and caring staff. The room was very quiet and clean. We can't say enough good things about this wonderful hotel!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    healthy breakfast! omellettes made fresh by Cook. swimming pool jacuzzi gym! loved it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only inconvenience was the fact that the rooms were very noisy with people speaking shouting etc in the public spaces

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The indoor swimming pool was kinda small and use mainly for sports. But the jacuzzi was great! ^_^

    Everything!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    10 parking spaces for the whole hotel, very poor. Broken TV and intermittent Wifi access.

    Good food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the place .. second time there was fantastic once again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location outstanding, everything you need is really close

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what I wanted too busy a location but great room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was bad Noise from building works

    Bed was bad

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Separate pizzeria in the complex sold me the worst pizza I have ever tasted

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The changing facilities at the indoor pool were quite basic. No private cubicles for changing and no shampoo in showers.

    Views of the ocean

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the newest building

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to do in Canico Baixo

    Great healthy breakfast, whole place was impeccably clean, fabulous lido and restaurant choice, great sports facilities

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool bar shut at 8.30pm

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening buffet ran out of variety and pool too small if keen to do any serious swimming

    Excellent breakfast choice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location, location, location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very good hotel: lots of facilities. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Outstanding fish restaurant! Beautiful location!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved the location and all facilities at the resort. Staff amazing and friendly. Im definately coming back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and helpfull personel, clean room, swimming pool, goos breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good location, great facilities such as swimming pool close to Atlantic Ocean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather indifferent staff, just do the necessary. Breakfast very boring. Cleaning staff should knock before they storm into the room.

    Location!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to mention in this section. I can not even complain about the Wi-Fi, which worked 100%. Big thumbs up for this

    Great location with a spectacular view.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was fine, would be nice though if you could order coffee after your choice instead of just normal filter coffee. Rooms comfortable and spacious with nice balcony.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints at all except a slow toaster. (And if that puts you off then you're too picky!)

    Hotel has lots of facilities but is still very peaceful. Staff and management go the extra mile all the time. Lovely warm indoor pool. (Please don't change it!)

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Longer indoor pool would be nice!

    Very good variety of exercise classes on offer and great sports facilities. V friendly staff. Bathrooms have been nicely refurbished.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were 150% impressed and already planning our next stay!

    The staff were excellent and very helpful! The cleaning staff were amazing...they don't usually get a rating but I really felt I needed to say something about them!! I really feel that everyone went above and beyond to accommodate us! We had no problems with WIFI inside or outside our room!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hard to think of anything that could be improved, but maybe some fish products at breakfast.

    Really great place, fantastic room, excellent staff,( especially you, Max! :-)) , nice entertainment in the evening and a gorgeous location at the cliffs of Madeira, we will for sure return here! Real value for money at one of the nicest locations in Europe.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We could not change manually and start the air con. It was really hot during the night and we did not manage to sleep well during our 3 nights there

    We really liked the room, the pool, the view and location.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    misleading descriptions on the internet about location of hotel (suggested directly by the ocean which is not true), kids service (which is only available for a limited time a year and was not provided during our stay in october.. expensive alternative baby sitter had to be organized), etc staff at breakfast was amazingly nice and helpful, however, unfriendly staff with only rudimental knowledge and little effort for support at the reception outside pool too cold, ondoor pool ok, jacuzzi too cold

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quite anonymous hotel world, big(er) tourist groups, european breakfast offer (broad offer but "standard"). No wifi in our room. Bad service staff in a hotel (pool) bar. About 5min by a car to a speedway.

    We had a very nice room with a view on an outdoor pool and ocean. Indoor&outdoor pools, spa, fittness. Several restaurants not so far from the hotel. Bus stop to Funchal about 50m far from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet was okay but nothing special.

    The fact that the gymnasium and sauna were included in the price, the wifi was pretty good and the immediate area was a marine natural reserve. Fish restaurant was pretty good too.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were nor satisfied by the quality of floor washing in the room

    Good location. All restorants and bars are perfect. Friendly staff. It was our honeymoon vacation and the room was specially decorated with flowers, fruits and a bottle of vine. Hotel is located in a calm town near seaside, between Funchal and airport.

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Galo Resort Hotel Galosol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: