Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gat Rossio 3 stars

Rua Jardim Do Regedor 27-35, Santa Maria Maior, 1150-193 Lisbon, Portugal

#140 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3137 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were short on irons. Whenever we requested for one it was on loan to another guest so it was difficult to get one. Had to wait for hours for one.

    Hotel was good. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Efficient. Bit souless, but staff were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi policy. Unmarked small steps from corridors onto stair case landing.

    Quirky accommodation, A lot of space saving ( not much hanging space) and eco ideas ( lights etc.) but the toilet had only one flush ( not a quick or a long). Bed comfortable and decent size room 410 at the back of the hotel. Noise from vehicles arriving and leaving late at night and early morning (5.30am)> may be staff of the many other hotels and restaurants in the area. The front desk staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was ok. It was a buffet bar and all the food was quickly replenished if running low. Coffee and tea and fresh squeezed orange juice were excellent. Good hotel for 1/2 nights but for a longer stay I would probably seek a more traditional hotel. A strange policy on wifi. If you provide a Facebook or other social media login you get higher speed internet than if you don't have or choose not to accept the hotel marketing promotions you get really slow connections.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Efficient. Bit souless, but staff were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi policy. Unmarked small steps from corridors onto stair case landing.

    Quirky accommodation, A lot of space saving ( not much hanging space) and eco ideas ( lights etc.) but the toilet had only one flush ( not a quick or a long). Bed comfortable and decent size room 410 at the back of the hotel. Noise from vehicles arriving and leaving late at night and early morning (5.30am)> may be staff of the many other hotels and restaurants in the area. The front desk staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was ok. It was a buffet bar and all the food was quickly replenished if running low. Coffee and tea and fresh squeezed orange juice were excellent. Good hotel for 1/2 nights but for a longer stay I would probably seek a more traditional hotel. A strange policy on wifi. If you provide a Facebook or other social media login you get higher speed internet than if you don't have or choose not to accept the hotel marketing promotions you get really slow connections.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Quirky accommodation, A lot of space saving ( not much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi policy. Unmarked small steps from corridors onto stair case landing.

    Quirky accommodation, A lot of space saving ( not much hanging space) and eco ideas ( lights etc.) but the toilet had only one flush ( not a quick or a long). Bed comfortable and decent size room 410 at the back of the hotel. Noise from vehicles arriving and leaving late at night and early morning (5.30am)> may be staff of the many other hotels and restaurants in the area. The front desk staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was ok. It was a buffet bar and all the food was quickly replenished if running low. Coffee and tea and fresh squeezed orange juice were excellent. Good hotel for 1/2 nights but for a longer stay I would probably seek a more traditional hotel. A strange policy on wifi. If you provide a Facebook or other social media login you get higher speed internet than if you don't have or choose not to accept the hotel marketing promotions you get really slow connections.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Great breakfast in the morning, vending machine was well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small

    Great breakfast in the morning, vending machine was well stocked. Staff were helpful. Air con was nice. Loved the seating areas around the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything but the the fact the tv was not centered and by that i mean it on the corner of the 2 walls lol, the bathroom could have better space to put my bathroom bag or stuf and the fact that it got super hot unless i left my card in all day.

    Loved the hotel and its design, loved the staff, my mattress was super comfy, perfect pillows (2 choices), good towels, liquid bath soap (thank God), i got a quiet room (217), water in room every day, breakfast was pretty good too and the hotel is a quieter street. Best was how nice the front desk staff was every day. They all knew my name and they we also super helpful when i arrived and realized my reservation was for the next month. Thanks guys!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Great central location and also very close to a Metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sink in bedroom rather than in bathroom.

    Great central location and also very close to a Metro station. Hotel is on a busy street with many restaurants but room at the back of the property was quiet. Clean, modern building. Friendly, helpful staff. Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    It was a business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was at the fourth level looking at a main pedestrian street, which is quite noisy. In addition, very very early in the day, a close-by fresh supermarket is bringing in pushing trolleys all sorts of goods and supplies. This is really noisy and disturbing.

    It was a business trip. The hotel is very well located. The staff was very helpful and let me use the meeting room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    very friendly, quiet hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The single room is a bit too small, not that bad but could be nice to be able to open your suitcase properly.

    very friendly, quiet hotel. nice breakfast. overall enjoyed my staying there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Fantastic service. Cool rooms. Amazing breakfast. I was there on a forced layover flying home but I'm returning here for a longer stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Nice and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room, our room was very very small and the view was horrible.

    The hotel is very nice, located in a great location and very friendly stuff. Nice areas where you can hang out with friends, read a book and have a drink. The room we stayed in was clean and nice but very very small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet floors aren't very good choice even they seemed to be well cleaned. I had a room on the first floor, on the street side. Some noice late in the evening and early in the morning. Lyckily I had ear plugs.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Very conformtable bed (even tho a little smallish for 2 grown ups, I was alone so to me it was a perfect size) Breakfast was a nice way to start the day. Vending machine with cold drinks and snacks. Great location very nearby a metro station and therefor an easy access to the airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Inexpensive little Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front rooms do have street noise -however this is part of the character

    The Cleanliness of rooms and eating areas was excellant , the staff were always diligent in keeping these areas clean. Breakfast is fresh and simple and lets you kick start your day. The location is perfect - you are in the middle of the restaurant area - easy acess by airport bus to Rossio at $4 Euro and a 1 minute walk to rail and 5 minutes to the water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    An excellent funky little hotel in the heart of Baixa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A very funky little hotel in the heart of Baixa near Rossio, with a great outdoor terrace and cool indoor sitting area with fire. Our balcony room was very comfortable with a good bed and pillows, functional but unusual storage and air conditioning that worked very well. It had separate toilet and shower room. The breakfast, in a clever breakfast room with large benches, was fantastic and the staff were extremely attentive to clearing up and replenishing food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Stayed only one night and it was great. Had another hotel to go to otherwise would have stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - due to narrow crowded street and ongoing construction! Will be better when construction completed

    Breakfast was excellent and breakfast young staff were super efficient and extremely friendly. Bedroom comfortable and bed great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    9/10 overall ftw
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were ashtrays in the halls next to the elevator. But it's a non-smoking hotel. But the halls smell like cigarettes. Because there's ashtrays in the halls. With cigarettes in them. What part of NON-SMOKING does GAT not GET?

    Great breakfast,, friendly and helpful staff, location, location, location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.8
    It's ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a green light outside the room window that would turn off only at 1 am, keeping the room bright, and there is no way to tuning it off but to call someone to come to your room and do it. The breakfast is ok, room quite small.

    The location is very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They compromised to organise a shuttle from the airport to the hotel but didn’t do it, with no previous notification. My parents arrived at the airport, looked for the shuttle for 2 hours and no one came! They had to go to the hotel by bus, with 4 big luggages.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.3
    clean and good staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Supermarket in the same street making a big noise from 6 to 9 pm, impossible to sleep. Place for breakfast too small for that many people.

    clean and good staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Altogether not an unpleasant experience and the location makes up for everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room we had was quite/very small, the toilet was crammed with the WC jammed between the wall and sink so that lowering the toilet seat actually hit the toilet roll. The shower however was spacious but lacked fittings to place soap or shampoo although a filled dispenser is provided. The room furnishing is spartan but is cleverly made to look as part of the scene/design, which is not unpleasant but takes getting used to. Breakfast is not a relaxing experience. The seating arrangment is poor and although also seemingly part of the scene is actually unpleasant with everyone far too close for comfort in a refectory style arrangement. Guests are made to sit on unwieldy stools which given the crammed spaces make it difficult to move around

    This hotel is in a great location bang in the centre of the city, close to everything, and even accessible on foot for most popular areas. The hotel is squeaky clean and the staff extra friendly and helpful. Fresh towels (of course) and sheets daily. The breakfast is good and plentiful and staff compliment sufficient and well organised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A modern, friendly hotel in the heart of Lisbon's cafe district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrific location in the Rossio, surrounded by cafes, restaurants, and shops. The room was modern, clean, and nice-looking with a big openable window and adjustable thermostat. Bathroom was modern and very clean, with a tiled walk-in shower. I'd describe breakfast as "expanded Continental." The receptionists were extremely helpful. All in all, we really enjoyed our 4-night stay at the Gat Rossio and would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Not only was the location perfect, the room itself was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not only was the location perfect, the room itself was stellar clean with very comfortable sleeping. After a long and exhausting conference in another country, my overnight layover in Lisbon at this hotel was perfect as I was able to cover a lot of great landmarks in a short period of time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.5
    Bed very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at the front, and too hot with the windows closed, no air con. Luckily we were able to change after a night and staff helpful in facilitating this.

    Bed very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    The location, and the exceptional helpfulness and competence...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most rooms are tiny. We were lucky to get one of the few larger ones, but it had a sloped ceiling that was hard to avoid; it was right over the bed, and lots of little bumps to the head ensued.

    The location, and the exceptional helpfulness and competence of the reception staff. We also enjoyed the whimsical decor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside the room from the hotel I couldn’t sleep well Breakfast is poor and there were flys in the cafeteria

    The location of the hotel was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    6.7
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside the room , anyone walking was as if is walking inside my room also the toilet flush of the other rooms were so loud I could here them clearly Breakfast was so poor and their were flys in the cafeteria

    The location is very good it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Quite a convenient location, small room, pleasant staff. For two nights, it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tiny and the wash basin was in the main room at the foot of the bed!

    The staff were very helpful and friendly even when we left at 4.30am!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.1
    Actually, a very cozy hotel in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was epecting a room a bit more large, with a better view and with elevetor on the floor (However the staff was ready to change our room the day after)

    The Hotel was recently restored, the position is excellent and the staff is super friendlly, room was well cleaned, also the breackfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    My new address in Lisbon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Cleaned, modern, recently remodelled with taste, staff was great, easy to walk everywhere. Choose a more spacious superior room and ask not to be exposed to the road where the entrance to the hotel is, because the supermarket downstairs opens at 6am and it's noisy. Other than than it's Perfect:)))

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Comfortable hotel in ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being close to restaurants, there was some noise from bins being moved late at night and very early in the morning.

    Comfortable bed, friendly staff, clean (though compact) room, excellent location for metro, trams, buses, train and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    One of the nicest places I've stayed at in 55 years of traveling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff grumpy, but still did their job. Our room was quiet, but it was in the back. I could imagine that in high season, a front room could be noisy.

    Location, walk anywhere downtown Comfort: brilliant design of rooms, fine facilities Value: moderate price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    The location was amazing and the breakfast was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was a bit small and little room for personal toiletries, but that wasn't much of problem at all.

    The location was amazing and the breakfast was great! I would stay here again if I was visiting Lisbon!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great value for money, comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to hotel can be better.. had a bit of difficulty looking for the hotel and the cobblestones roads didn’t help at all.

    Staff were extremely helpful friendly and informative. Check-in was fast and fuss free. Thumbs up for all your staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely staff, wonderful breakfast, great location! Definetely, a very good choice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was really lovely and the breakfast among the best I've ever had! It was a wonderful weekend at the Gat Rossio. Next time I will visit Lisbon I will certainly stay there!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast eating area was okay if there was just a few guests -but at popular times the facilties were inadequate and cramped

    The room and en suite were good and adequate ( the shower in particular was excellent ) The breakfast was good - The welcome was excellent and we were able to leave our bags at the front desk having checked in early

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    The hotel fit the bill -- great location, clean, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't like the view from my room, but since I didn't spend much time there, it was ok.

    The location was fantastic. The clerks when both checking in and checking out were very helpful. I arrived early and could not check in, so the clerk directed me to locations on the first floor where I could freshen up, if necessary. The room was clean, the breakfast was fine. The room was quite small, which was ok as I was alone.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Bed was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant layout of bench eating/seating. I suffer from a social anxiety which prevented me taking breakfasts (that I had paid for) in these close circumstances...and there were no coffee making, or other facilities in the room.

    Bed was comfortable. A/C worked efficiently. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Perfect central location with easy access to Metro and Airport Bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We have already had a pleasure to stay at this hotel some time ago and we liked it so much that we came back. It is very comfortable, visitors friendly, price friendly, modern, clean, with very nice healthy breakfast with fresh tomato snack, eggs, and fresh orange juice - which was so lovely. The location of the hotel is just perfect to explore Lisboa as well as to go to the airport. The staff is extremely nice, they make you feel at home with attentiveness and care and nice smiles. Especially we would like to thank Jual for his recommendations and help in any way. And the staff during breakfast - usually at hotels you do not find such helpful, friendly, fast and huge smiles people, Gat Rossio breakfast staff - amazing!!!!! Thank you so much for making us feel great from the start of the day! We will definitely come back :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location for attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Great location, in front of the subway, walking distance to many attractions. Room and bathroom were small but very functional and clean. Breakfast was great, with fresh fruit juice and famous custard tarts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I booked this stay last minute. The staff were amazing. They helped me with everything. The rooms are a little small but I loved the design. Great location. Definately would stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty squeaky floors and walls, could hear movements from above all the time which would have been quite disturbing had I not brought earplugs..

    Great breakfast, comfortable bed, clean room, excellent location (wouldn't need a better spot for sightseeing), nice hotel staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Once again an excellent stay here in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once again an excellent stay here in Lisbon. The staff ,throughout this hotel are both friendly and efficient and I am looking forward to another visit. The proximity to travel links,including airport link are also very useful .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    The location was nice, the room was small but clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to give your email to use the wifi, and it is only valid for 24h, also rather slow, unless you give your Facebook account to them (then you get faster wifi). I value privacy so I did not like this part. Also, they did not have access to parking, which was rather inconvinient for us (if you come by car I would recommend you take a hotel with access to parking)

    The location was nice, the room was small but clean and comfy. Fresh and newly renovated. Loved the castel bel gel/shampoo!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    The location of the hotel was fantastic near to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was great

    The location of the hotel was fantastic near to public transport and interesting places around city of Lisbon. It's in walking distance to restaurants and centres. The breakfasts at the hotel was great lots of variety and healthy. The staff were very helpful concerning the transport to Belem, Sintra and Alfama for the Fados. I will definitely stay at Hotel Gat Rossio when in Lisbon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    4.6
    Bad from the beginning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What it is shown in photos it's not what I got.. the bed is a single bed.. I had better options for the same price .. I am just impressed that booking.com allowed this hotel to upload photos of a single room as if it was a bigger and doubled bed size room ...

    The breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.3
    Poor value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and did not have standard amenities. Bathroom floor was sticky and grimey, was not cleaned despite my request to the front desk. the towels and toiletries were of poor quality. Also the room does not have a locker for storing valuables or documents. There are far superior hotels for the same price in better locations in Lisbon.

    Location was convenient

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Super! Easy to reach everything, location is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind receptionists, fresh orange juice & good coffee for breakfast, cleaning every day, close to metro and railway station. Modern style in old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Overall the staff are pleasant and friendly

    Bed v comfortable with great pillows. Small but adequate double room. Lighting good Breakfast is good once you get used to making a "toastie". Fresh orange juice, good coffee and eggs It would be nice if there was s fruit salad

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    We enjoyed Lisbon and Gat Rossio. But next time we won't go in december: very, very busy in town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not like the trendy green light in the room. That was switched off every nigth at 1 am. We are early sleepers and prefer to sleep in darkness.

    The room is rather small, but it has got everything one could possibly need. Clean! Breakfast very good and well organized. Location perfect near Metro and all touristy things nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.3
    Superb location,good breakfast,nice staff,good central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room is very very small,twin bed is too short/small,no space for luggages...Mixed feelings with hotel.

    Superb location,good breakfast,nice staff,good central heating system.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    I will not even look for another hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing that I didn't like. I had a small room, but not too small; the location is excellent, the staff is terrific, the cleanliness is absolute, and there patio is simply amazing. Perhaps the weather could be better, there were some clouds.

    The breakfast is transcedental - it has typical continental and Iberian breakfast elements. The most impressive thing is that every single thing is fresh: from the excellent espresso machine that grinds the beans at will, to the pasteis de nata and panettone and the tostadas! Excellent breakfast, the best I've had in a hotel for many years.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excelent location, really welcoming staf.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent location, really welcoming staf. Slightly modern interior. Loved the fireplace in the common sitting room and definetly would take breakfast to terrace, if not the weather.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.9
    Reception and breakfast is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is so small about 12 sq.m and the basin is not at bathroom,is at bedroom. Then it s unconveniene.

    Reception and breakfast is good.and locaation is near the rossio train station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    The breakfast was very complete.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very complete. The staff were delightful and helpful. The cleaning lady ran to give us back somethings we were forgetting in our room. I am very grateful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Great for a night or two to explore Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really great bed with nice linens and a great a/c we could control for our comfort. Excellent location - without a car as it is in pedestrian zone. Really helpful staff. The hotel is new and has quality windows shutting out the city noise. Rooms are tiny! Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.9
    Well run and very conveniently located budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room was very small (this was obvious from the pictures on hotel web site) and there was no place to sit down other than the beds. Reminded me a bit rooms on the cruise ships. Overall, it had everything necessary but one thing that really bugged me was absence of covers on the beds. Considering there was no other place to sit on I ended up allocating one of the towels for this purpose so I could sit in my streets clothes and pack/unpack our suitcases.

    Location couldn't be any better. It was off Praça Restauradores so everything that tourists need was right there (metro station, tram stops to go around the town and to Belem, Rossio train station to go to Sintra, bus to the airport). Plenty of places to eat for any budget. Breakfast room was busy around 9 am but everything was very well organized. It was budget hotel but well run and in good condition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    I liked the modular but very comfortable room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hand basin didn't drain well the first night but was fixed without my even having to ask.

    I liked the modular but very comfortable room. Perfect for me as a lone academic traveller. The refectory tables for breakfast were also a great idea. Felt very collegial.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Original design and logo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a bit too small. Overall cleanliness is ok, but still there were minor flaws in the daily cleaning procedure.

    Original design and logo. Friendly staff, nice breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly ground coffee, charcuterie and pastries. Perfect central location - close to sightseeing attractions, restaurants and all sorts of transportation means.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    The location is fantastic, the staff is helpful and it has a...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it a bit overpriced for what we got: the room and bathroom was rather small, the breakfast wasn't really amazing and the breakfast room could be really crowded

    The location is fantastic, the staff is helpful and it has a nice and calm terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Location! Location! Location! This hotel was in the perfect place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of this hotel made the couple little downsides seem to be not such a big deal. Small rooms, but we were only there to shower and sleep, so we were fine with that. The bathroom has no space to put your toiletries, but I probabaly travel with too much anyway. The toilet area was super tiny, but the shower area was more than sufficient. Air conditioning worked excellent, and the shutters on the windows perfectly blocked the neon green lights that flank the outside of the windows. Breakfast was great and the staff did an excellent job replenishing the items as they ran low. Meats, cheeses, yogurt, fresh orange juice, panini maker, rolls, and a machine to cook your hard boiled eggs are just a few of the items everyday at breakfast. Housekeeping did a good job, too, with cleaning our room, but on our last night, we realized she did not supply us with a top sheet. We were so exhausted, we just went to bed without it. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel. This location is definitely the best! Train stop within a minute’s walk and just a block from the square.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    4.5/5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a bit small, but it is Europe. The staff was very, very nice! The free breakfast was a nice bonus. The location of the hotel was also a nice surprise. I would recommend the Hotel Gat Rossio.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast, good design, good positiom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, at the first floor, was very noisy because of the street full of tourists till late in the night and, in the early morning, by workers of the restaurants and not only.

    Good breakfast, good design, good positiom

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice concept hotel - but serious light & noise pollution issues to street side rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smaller than expected + rooms at front impacted by green glare from illuminated hotel signage. Rooms to front impacted by noise almost all night, as soon as restaurants close, street & bin clearance occurs, followed almost immediately by trucks serving loading bay of supermarket opposite.... Smoking should be banned on terrace adjacent to dining room

    Professional but friendly staff + design & management style of hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Visit beautiful Lisbon for culture, history, vibrant street life, and good cheap food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although breakfast is excellent, don't expect any privacy, but it's fine if you like rubbing shoulders (literally) with other travellers. Unfortunately, we were robbed of a purse and phone on the street. Our own carelessness, but do guard your belongings in this district. Otherwise it feels safe enough here. The tourist police station is beside the train/metro station.

    Gat Rossio is just 2 minutes walk from the Restauradores metro station and Rossio train station. You can travel between airport and hotel by metro with one easy change, its virtually door to door. The hotel is on a pedestrian precinct full of traditional Portuguese restaurants and cafes, and is the main fish restaurant district of Lisbon. You couldn't find a more central location, with more than half of Lisbon's main sights within walking distance. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location despite some late-night noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed room circulation space was tight but the shower was generous! Some neighbourhood noise at first floor level at the front.

    Very good central location with a Metro stop and Rossio Station just around the corner. Good breakfast buffet and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.2
    Total rip-off: worst price comfort ratio ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In their defense, at the moment of my booking, the occupation rate in Lisbon was high, so in general it was not easy to find affordable lodging. However, this usually implies that the cheap standard rooms are gone and that you are forced to go upper range. Not so with Gat Rossio. For the price of 175€ a night, I was given a room so small that I could almost literally touch the two parallel walls by stretching my arms. Pushed against one wall was a single person bed, against the other wall the sink, like a prison cell. No desk (laptop used sitting on the bed), no chair, no wardrobe, just a small shower, which could only be accessed if you almost stepped over the toilet. Not the slightest resemblance with the pictures they show online, forget the goodies, privat coffee machine, fruit baskets, which are exposed on them, nothing of all that is offered, not even a small bottle of water. But then again, where would they put it? The hotel has very cracking floors, being particularly noisy, as is the airco. Breakfast is alright, but nothing to get excited about, no scrambled eggs, cheap machine coffee, one type of jam and yoghurt. Overall, they provide youth hostel facilities at 4 star hotel prices. It felt a bit like theft, as a night here is clearly worth less than half of what they charge, even if you take good location and high season into consideration. The staff, very young, some of them really helpful, hides behind the rules and decisions of Gat hotel group and they argue “that is what you signed for”. Not cool at all!

    Good location, clean bed, nice inner terrace, wifi worked (also on the terrace)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Would confidently recommend Gat Rooms Lisbon for good, convenient accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfasts, very good service from all staff, congenial atmosphere and convenient location. Very helpful in providing gluten and lactose free dietary needs. Recommended great walking tour.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    The pillows on the bed were more than plentiful and pluffy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed were more than plentiful and pluffy. The room was small but just about enough for us. The space utilization of amenties, there's no closet, was innovative. Bathtoom was very clean but just about right although could have a bit more counter space on the lavatory.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice location and staff, tiny room and expensive
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid 750€ for 4 nights for claustrophopically tiny single room, not even chair or desk in the room. The sink was in the room because there was not room for it in the toilet. There was no hook near the sink to hang the towel. No place for your shampoo and soap in the shower, only the floor. I think I never paid so much for so little in Europe apart from London.

    Ĺocation was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean. Breakdast average, very good coffee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    We'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a bit scared of the stairs. I had to make sure I was fully awake before using the stairs.

    Very good breakfast, very helpful, friendly and honest staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are smallish. The bathroom is really small. The items in the breakfast was nor replenished adequately.

    Great location. Walking distance to everything. Stylish decoration. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Very convenient for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice if there is a desk in the room.

    Amazing location, small but clean room, helpful staff, good breakfast (especially the fresh orange juice!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Modern hotel in central Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not get the room I viewed and booked on line. I was apparently upgraded to a room with an extra bed ( we did not need ) and ridiculous access to the main bed via a " ladder" on a mezzanine. Access to our room with a heavy suitcase was also quite difficult.

    The property is in an excellent location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was travelling alone and felt that for that, the room was a little snug. Luckily I was only ever in the room to shower and sleep so wasn't really that bothered. Based on the room that I stayed in, it is unlikely I would bring my family here.

    The location is great. Walking distance to most of the sites in Lisbon and right next to the metro station for any that need it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.9
    great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the batroom was so small - a tall person canot stand there. the bed was tiny for 2 big people like us.

    great location! very nice stuff. the decoration was cool.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gat Rossio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: