Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Girassol - Suite Hotel 4 stars

Estrada Monumental, 256, Sao Martinho, 9004-539 Funchal, Portugal

#47 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    EXCELLENT HOTEL VERY NICE STAFF, JUST MAKE BREAKFAST A LITTLE QUIETER!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    ONLY ONE THING, RAP MUSIC, LOUD DURING BREAKFAST!!! DIDN'T GO WELL WITH BACON AND EGGS.

    EVERYTHING WAS JUST PERFECT FOR OUR ONE NIGHT STAY IN OUR ROOM. NICE TO HAVE BOWL OF FRUIT IN THE ROOM TOO.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    The beds were very comfortable and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I enjoyed the breakfast buffet, but I would have liked to see some more variety of foods there. Maybe some different breakfast cereals, nuts etc. The coffee wasn't great, but everything else was good.

    The beds were very comfortable and the staff were very friendly, helpful and courteous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Elisabete at the reception was really helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff could be more friendly, some of them seemed really annoyed by the guests. The couch in the room could be exchanged for a more modern one, it doesn't match the rest of the room and its not comfortable either.

    Elisabete at the reception was really helpful and friendly. We had a nice suit with a lovely view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel visited mostly by eldary and retaired people, What means peace and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather humble breakfast. Very limitem choice of vegetables (cucamber with Very tough skin, and tomatos).

    In Poland The similar hotel has rather 3 stars. I Liked our view and The neighbourhood.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Ask for room 1110
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is basic (ham, cheese, and English breakfast) and it's the same everyday. It will be nice if they include some local food. The pool is not so nice but it's ok for a quick swim.

    Nice hotel with big suites. The bad is large and comfortable. Ask for upper floors (1101 or 1110) as you will get a spectacular view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant stay at Girassol Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I felt the decoration of the rooms and corridors was a bit outdated, when compared to the very modern style of the back building pool for instance. Nevertheless I give a lot more value to cleanliness than decoration, and the hotel is very clean. The decor might depend on the type of clients the hotel is marketing for.

    The Hotel is very well located in Lido, the guest facilities (hall, restaurants, bar, pool) and rooms were very clean, the back pool was wonderful. The suites had very good space, with a living room and a nice inviting balcony, the beds were comfortable and bathroom clean. The staff was exceptional, very professional but also extremely friendly and willing to help you. The lucky guests who are attributed with rooms facing the main street might have a great relaxing view of the Atlantic Ocean. In terms of food, we only had breakfast there, and it was very well served with plenty to choose from. I will definitely recommend it to my friends going to Funchal.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Clean and quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sir con in the room The fan was a little loud Entertainment was not available at the hotel

    It was a clean quiet room staff were happy to help with any questions about the local area etc

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    Average hotel with good location, ok for spending a couple of nights but not 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was quite basic and low quality, especially considering the price of the room. Rooms look a bit dated.

    Location is good and the sea view was great. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.6
    Contemporary, comfortable and welcoming hotel in a great location. Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay at the Girassol, just returned from a short trip and cannot recommend this hotel enough. We were upgraded to a high floor with a stunning view, the suite was spacious and comfortable, staff extremely polite and friendly. Breakfast was included buffet style, lots of fruit, continental options and cooked. Great value for money. Pool areas were clean, contemporary in style with a lovely relaxing vibe. We will be returning! Thank you all at the Girassol 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.7
    Accommodation good but service not up to scratch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff responses and attention to guests' requirements. Staff did as asked but did not atiocipate needs - needed to be asked and were not always available to ask.

    Accommodation was very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No milk in the room so did not drink any tea or coffee. Pillows on the bed were not very comfortable.

    Lovely balcony with a sea view. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    5.0
    We were actually going to move to another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast buffet left a lot to be desired. Attention to detail distinctly lacking. Empty food trays too frequent. Toaster machine needs updating. Lighting was very poor around the Hot water and Coffee urns which made things very difficult for my partially sighted wife. The restaurant staff need to be better trained in communicating with guests. Disinterested and Dispassionate staff spoiled our experience here. Pool man on Saturday /Sunday was abrupt, discourteous, and interfered with even the smallest thing guests did, e.g. he seemed to regard moving a sun lounger as a personal affront and actually insisted guests did move the beds, despite the wishes of the guest. He actually told me that I should put my bed back as it was also sunny over there! I was trying to move out of a chill wind! This guy has the wrong job! The other Pool Man (older gentleman) was helpful, courteous and wanted to make sure that he ASSISTED guests to enjoy the facility. The heated outdoor pool was located behind the hotel and was almost in complete shade of the building. Useless design! What is the sense of putting a heated pool in the shade? A very annoying aspect of this stay was the reconstruction work going on while we were there. We were not informed about the work during the booking process, and only informed after we arrived that there was work going on around the sauna, pool etc. etc. The message was delivered in a very offhand manner which we took to mean that we could take it or leave it. Appalling treatment to paying guests. The room was spacious, and needs a facelift and some improvement to the aesthetics. Very dull and and lacking a lovely feel - uninspiring. The beds were comfortable but the pillows seemed to be an afterthought and pathetic. We did not get a good feeling as soon as we walked into the place. There is a lot of work needed here both in terms of the building, the decoration, and the attitude training of some of the staff! We would not recommend this...

    Chambermaid was the hardest working hotel staff member I have ever known. Tireless and efficient, and very good. Bar Staff generally were very pleasant and hardworking. Young Man on reception was also helpful and made us feel that we were important. Otherwise, a very impersonal experience

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    4.6
    Never book that place - pay a bit more and get a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not recommend that place at all: - the interior is very old and old fashion - the Hotel floor stinks - the carpet is in the room is very old and stinks - the breakfast is very basic

    The location is good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    Comfy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to pay for sachets of tea & coffee, which is usually standard in most hotels these days. It was only a small niggle as we did just pop to the shop to get some as i was not prepared to pay the price of sachets 1 euro for 2 sachets of coffee and tea. Stairwell was locked so couldn't use the stairs to 11th floor. Wanted not to use the lift all the time!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    hotel in great location with lovely views looking forward to seeing results of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom had a ceiling fan which was not very effective as it was very warm at night. Downside room faced very busy main road which was very noisy at night. Bathroom was a bit small compared to the rest of the suite but functional. Lack of toiletries (only small sachets). Breakfast was ok however no chef's cooking station, the restaurant wasnt particularly bright and airy and looked tired. Gym was under the pool and not great, very warm with very little light.

    Room was lovely, it was a large suite on top floor facing out to sea with fantastic views east beautiful sunrises, views of marina and views over to west. Room was always clean when we came back from day at pool, no noise from cleaning trollies early in morning which was good. The lounge faced out to sea and was very spacious with air con and with use of fridge. Kettle and cups for tea and coffee, there was a small charge for tea and coffee. The bedroom was spacious with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space, could have done with more hangers though. It was my husbands birthday while we were away and the hotel put a lovely bowl of fruit, with plates, knives and serviettes in the lounge which was a lovely touch. Pool area was lovely, clean and tidy, plenty of beds and pool towels and pool was good size for swimmimg. Pool toilets and showers were clean. Pool bar was nice and good choice of food which was reasonably priced for a hotel. We chose the hotel for the location which was perfect, plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. It was lovely to walk down to lido area in evening. The marina was about 30 mins walk downhill but steep walk back. I would choose to stay at this hotel again and look forward to seeing the results of the refurbishment.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Great experience in Madeira, stayed in hotel Girassol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Spacious rooms, great view, separate area for watching TV and "SEA".

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Will definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Courteous, friendly, helpful staff. Good location, clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Great breakfast too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was quite good but wouldn't stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the pool area was a let down not many beds available

    The accommodation was very good plenty of room and storage.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice clean Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was poor and restaurant was not very nice

    Friendly receptionist

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable just unhappy with the gym
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym was in bad repair so would have liked that to have been better

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    7.5
    Room is big, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems that the hotel is old.... Light is weak...

    Room is big, nice location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very dated and there could be way more light. the rooms have very little lighting. Many things could be updated

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location couldn't better, right in the heart of the tourist are. We were on a high floor with great views and everything is very clean. The pool was very nice too.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.4
    Our room especially the view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A sunshade blew over and hit me on the nose as I laid on the sunbed. All the sunshades round the pool were very unstable and could not stand up to a strong breeze so are totally unsafe.

    Our room especially the view from the balcony.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no refrigerator in the room. 3 days I was waiting for the refrigerator. I believe that when there are the hot days, a pool can be crowded.

    Location. Furnished Junior Suites (separate living and sleeping areas, an electric kettle). Ocean View. Benevolence staff. Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    3.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It suposse to be a four start, but it's not even a three. The staff were rude, the facilites were old, the bed and pillows were awful. For the same price, you could stay in a better hotel in the same area. I don't recommend at all this hotel

    The location

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    8.3
    Tranquilidad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Moqueta. Amenities

    Tranquilidad

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2015

    7.5
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very limited breakfast buffet

    good location

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    10
    Very quiet, nice breakfast , sauna and swimming pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very quiet, nice breakfast , sauna and swimming pool!

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    9.2
    Superb room and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool and restaurant need refreshment

    Superb room and view.nice reception staff.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    7.9
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    shower place was too short

    location However, in this price this is very good.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    7.9
    Wonderful staff, location and breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful staff, location and breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    9.2
    The location was perfect for strolling around in the evening...
    • Couple

    The location was perfect for strolling around in the evening plenty of places to eat

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    A very quiet hotel with very spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A very quiet hotel with very spacious rooms.

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Browse Hotel Girassol - Suite Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: