Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golda Sol

Goncinha E. N. 125-4 8100-221, Alfarrobeira, Loulé, 8100-221 Loulé, Portugal

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 65

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed with the high cost/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not good maintained. Dirty rooms, uncomfortable beds and high price for all of these. It was a last moment decision and there was no more option around.

    A regular pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Will stay again definitely
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Pool was clean Staff lovely everything in the booking was spot on cheap stay over.we went on a hen party but no room in the villa so 2 of us stayed at Gold a Sol shower was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable clean and safe for a woman travelling alone.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more protein for breakfast there was only sliced cheese. ..I paid seventy plus euro for one person and would have expected better breakfast

    Clean pleasant. ..very secure...organised..good showers kitchen facilities and coffee..also bottled water clean towels good shower comfortable bed...spacious traditional building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    4.6
    Didn't meet my expectation at all, with some improvements could be more attractive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pictures look much better than the reality. The building is right at the road and has very, very simple and outdated furniture. The tiles from the wall of the bathroom were missing and it left untidy feeling.

    The reception was quite nice, spoke good english, property was easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    It was okay but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness in the bathroom wasn't satisfactory and neither was the size of the bedroom. Three adults in a tiny room and mini bathroom. The pool was dirty and had dead and alive insects in it and i didn't want to bathe.

    some of the staff are super friendly, helpful and kind, i loved the coffee and hot chocolate from the machines and breakfast was amazing. They have good things for excercise and to play i.e: snooker, pingpong etc.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Pretty run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pretty run down. Doors were jamming pretty much all through the night due them being in bad condition. There was also only a linen covering the duvet. Ok for the price, but don't expect a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms need updating - very old. Need sound proofing Whole hotel needs updating - very old fashioned! Very basic no frills

    Cleanliness very good! Quaint B&B - Nice pool area- an breakfast on the outdoor balcony! Very hard working owners always present! Clean an adequate for a couple of days.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    Clean an comfortable..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacked wifi in rooms - not really a problem for me but kids weren't happy. Bathrooms need to be updated! Very old. Whole place very old fashioned .. but quaint in nice way. Didn't pay a lot so can overlook the furnishings. Beware - you can hear everthing! Noise travels through ducts in bathrooms. Can hear those ascoss the corridor as if they are in the room .

    Ideal location to visit the stadium. Hotel was very clean Good water pressure in bathrooms. Nice pool area - need more sun beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    nice and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    not much going on around the hotel so ideally would need a car

    Family run place, was really good to just sit and chill, not much going on around so ideally would need a car, local buses are good and staff were friendly. ideal if you like football as stadium not to far.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    The outstanding friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outstanding friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The pool area is a great place to relax with family and friends. Excellent location if you are going to the local football stadium.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Good for a cheap price, but don't pay too much for this!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was way too expensive for the accommodations. Around $180 per night (mid AUG), and the shower was cold sometimes, there was a hole in the shower wall, a sewer smell in the room, and with the 3 beds, and no room to move around. We also had to pay extra for the AC and breakfast. Also, paper thin walls (I felt bad for the other patrons when my son was upset, although he wasn't the only one).

    The woman who owns it was very nice. The place is very clean, and the breakfast is minimal, but adequate

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Overall an excellent stay, would visit Faro again although might stay a little more in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been more comfy and would have done better with an extra pillow as we only had one

    Croissants were really nice, loved the orange juice, room, hotel and grounds were clean and well presented

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    A lovely small hotel. Good staff. Very clean. Good pool. Ideal for a quite holiday hide away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for air conditioning.1 Pillow very little filling. Shower cubicle small and leaked.Not many restaurants in area in walking distance. No evening meals. Bus service from faro finished at 7.15 pm.

    Fresh towels every day.Bed remade every day.Staff helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was the typical rural Portuguese style breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the typical rural Portuguese style breakfast. Simple and nice. Croissants were really nice and flaky. The hotel was very well kept, very clean and felt very homely. Value for money and an ideal hotel for short stays. Very accessible to nearby areas such as football stadium which is just 5 minutes away in car. Excellent wifi signal.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, great staff, we will be back in October
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real bar or restaurant but there is one located approximately 100m away. However it closed at 2300hrs n food finished before that.

    Third time friends and I have stayed. Great helpful people always willing to assist. Ideal location for our purpose as the football stadium is approximately 3ks away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.4
    Cheap,not so much cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in the triple room, too basic, just beds, wardrobe and a desk. The bathroom was not to a great standard, holes in the wall where pipes use to be. Shower head detached from wall. Swimming pool not clean. Hotel linning washing hanging outside beside the pool. Games room full of junk. Breakfast was a few rolls and crossiants nothing else. Staff hardly around to get bottles of water. Not suitable when travelling with babies.

    The price. Location for what we needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a private party downstairs on the night we stayed. Was very noisy in our room.

    The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly. Close to faro airport which is why we stayed after driving down from Lisbon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.3
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located outside Faro so you need to take a bus to town centre and to the beach. However it's not a problem if you have a car.

    Very nice and comfortable room. The receptionist were very friendly and helpful. Good value for your money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Convenient for Faro airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle & the means to make a hot drink, as there was a whole kitchen area.

    15 mins from the airport so it was a good overnight stop. The apartment was spacious and clean, in an annexe next to the main hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    7.1
    Lovely setting but noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night. We could hear the quests next door clearly and there were animals and poultry making noise outside at night and in the morning. Also the self catering facilities were basic so not ideal for a long stay.

    Nice clean apartment with large terrace. Beautiful view of the sea. The pool was also in a lovely setting and was not too busy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    8.3
    Breakfast on the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dogs barking nearby especially on my last night. Light in bedroom was dim. The presence of just a few people, especially if noisy, is enough to 'overwhelm' the pool area. I know it was August but it was expensive for what is on offer.

    Breakfast on the terrace. Swimming in the pool. When it was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    A little gem of a small local hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have more variety and also if travelling alone as I was it would be nice to get a sandwich or some light food during the day /early evening. Road outside a bit noisy

    Lovely family who owned the hotel- very welcoming and friendly throughout my stay Pool area lovely, small but lovely garden As a single older female whose has well travelled this is a lovely little gem of a hotel, safe and secure with great owners.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    9.6
    We enjoyed a lot staying in this quiet and nice place .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would liked to have a fridge.

    I liked the staff ,they were kind and nice ,the room is nice and was cleaned every day ,the bed was very comfortable and the linen were good quality.The swimming pool is amazing .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    3.8
    A big deception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please avoid rooms 1 and 2 which are outside the hotel building in the garden. We had room 1 under the swimming pool. It stank due to humidity, there was hardly any daylight and the airco made the noice of an airplane. These rooms should not be rented because they are absolutely not what you expect from a hotel room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.4
    We checked out early as it was too hot
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No a/c (if you open the window there are mosquitos)! Ac is installed but they don’t give the remote even in summer!

    Price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.0
    Room from non smoking with a strong smoking smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room from non smoking with a strong smoking smell.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were v helpful and friendly. Very clean. Break fast was very nice too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    Handy calm place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy check in, close to Faro, plenty of car parking, nice little pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.3
    Friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. Well located for our visit and economical.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.8
    bad choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms really small, lot's of noise from the road, very low quality in relation to the cost, after one noisy night, we left asap from this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    4.6
    Boring,more of a D.I.Y. Hotel,full of contract workers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refused to open door when we arrived on a late flight.Had to sleep on streets.!!!!!Everywhere else full.

    Lovely fresh rolls in morning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    lovely place, amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff is lovely

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice and quiet. very helpful reception.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Pleasant and well located stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dim lighting in room.

    Helpful staff and a Good breakfast with lovely outside terrace area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Best sleep ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly the beds were amazing best sleep i have had

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need your car to go to eat

    Quiet place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Did not have breakfazt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Did not have breakfazt

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    the swimming pool and the garden were beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no extra bed provided for my child

    the swimming pool and the garden were beautiful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.8
    Wonderful family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reading lights - had to use torch to read my book in our room

    Wonderful family run hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    4.2
    Room very hot ac poor and only in one of the bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very hot ac poor and only in one of the bedrooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    7.5
    Really friendly staff, made to feel very welcome.
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly staff, made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    5.8
    Could meet customer requirements more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked food was not available. No means of making coffee / tea in room. Bar closed ealy at night - "Quite please after 22.00"!?

    Clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    7.5
    All great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All great

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.8
    the owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the owners

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    8.3
    We arrived 1am because of a hold up on our flight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    We arrived 1am because of a hold up on our flight. The owner welcomed us lovely man. The room was very clean the balcony overlooked the pool area great stop of for the airport if arriving late we left at 6 am again the owner was awake for or departure can't fault the room but for extra pillows would have been good comfortable bed hot water would have loved to have had time for breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    4.6
    Our room was clean and the garden was a pleasant place for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was small with no facilities for a cup,of coffee in your room. All drinks and snacks were available only in the on site Cafe.

    Our room was clean and the garden was a pleasant place for a walk.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.8
    2nd time there near football stadium.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Prob more choice at breakfast n maybe few bottle of spirits rather that just beer n wine

    2nd time there near football stadium. Staff are outstanding, go the extra mile. Ok not top hotel but value for money and somewhere to get your head down what more do you want

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    Family hotel , all members worked really hard , yet were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not as close to the sea as we had thought .

    Family hotel , all members worked really hard , yet were always available to solve any of the travel difficulties we encountered .

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    9.6
    Its the third year we have stayed here,the villa is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    NOTHING

    Its the third year we have stayed here,the villa is very spacious and comfortable. The staff are very friendly,lovely pool,nice location. Overall a fantastic time was had by all.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    6.7
    The staff was very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel was very near a big road, You can only get some breakfast and drinks, nothing more to eat..

    The staff was very nice and helpful. Good Wi-FI..

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    5.4
    I liked the fact it had a pool and that it was just of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A single line women traveller it was too far out of the way to be alone as away from main attractions, especially not having own transport. if you are a light sleeper it is next to a main road and local dogs kept me awake all night. I left after one night and lost my monies already paid. To remote for me.

    I liked the fact it had a pool and that it was just of the local bus route.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    Looked like a film set it was so beautiful there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There was nothing to complain about. If you want to see a lot of attractions and go on day trips there's a bus that runs & stops directly outside. Or id recommend hiring a car. The location is lovely and peaceful and rural, but a couple of mins on a bus/ car and you're in Loulé town or Faro.

    Looked like a film set it was so beautiful there. Very peaceful and relaxing. Couldn't believe my luck when we arrived! We stayed in the two bed villa, it was gorgeous and very spacious. The family who run the hotel were so lovely to us. Very kind and welcoming, travelling alone with two young children to a country I've never visited before I was very nervous. They made us feel so at home. They booked cabs, checked bus times, and recommend the best value attractions for us. They were very patient with my children and even made them sandwiches when we were out by the pool. They answered all my questions and offered help whenever we needed it. My children were crying when it was time to leave! I've booked to return next year! The pool and grounds are beautiful. Definitely recommend this hotel for location, staff and price!! The villa was perfect for us, we felt special staying there.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    9.2
    We chose this accommodation on our last night before flying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing. Just consider that you need a car if you stay there.

    We chose this accommodation on our last night before flying back from Faro. The location was perfect because we could reach the airport in a very easy 10 minutes drive. The villa was very spacious and nicely furnished. The owners are very nice and helpful people.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    8.8
    Represented good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Requested more than one pillow each which we received with no fuss but the quality and comfort of the pillows were below average.

    Represented good value. Good water pressure for the shower and plenty of hot water.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed mattress

    The location

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    Nice Swimming pool and very kind staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice Swimming pool and very kind staff. There is also space for biljarts and table tennis.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.4
    bus stop outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    no buses after 8pm, needed taxi. breakfast extra

    bus stop outside. pool. staff

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.9
    convenient from airport, though you do need a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi very slow

    convenient from airport, though you do need a car. helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    9.2
    the staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the staff were friendly. the hotel was very clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Nice view, nice stuff, nice bar and pool, good value for my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra fee for air condition

    Nice view, nice stuff, nice bar and pool, good value for my money

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.9
    Localization
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Localization Swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    7.5
    Staff friendly and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff friendly and helpfull

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    8.8
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    8.8
    Great value for money, convenient for A22
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value for money, convenient for A22

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 65

Browse Golda Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: