Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Refuge in Santa Marta

Rua De Santa Marta 45, 4 Dto, Santo Antonio, 1150-293 Lisbon, Portugal

#105 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 704 hostel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast started quite late for me - after 8:00

    Room was nice and clean. Stable WiFi connection. Kind and helpful stuff. Close to restaurant. Close to public transport - metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Owner came on time to check us in when we phoned once we returned rental car. Owner friendly and helpful with local info. He also patiently helped online check-in for our flight to Madeira. Close to restaurants and to Metro & buses . Convenient location. No traffic noise. Reasonable price for taxi to airport .If U want aerobus to airport, locate stops in advance as there is 2 different aerobus routes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be better. Acoustics - we were fine as not too many people in May but you can hear everything from the corridor

    Location, 20 mins walk to main attractions. Clean room, nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms had bad ventilation and it smelled a bit mouldy.

    The staff was super friendly. I especially liked the map we got. It had all kinds of tips and suggestions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Women Restroom seemed in better condition than Men.

    Considering the cost you will not find a better accomodation, very worth the rate. Room was clean and had the essentials.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No Hairdryer had to ask for it did not see an iron either but I did not ask so I am sure there is one there. It is on the 4th floor but there is a lift. Overall there was nothing I did not like about this place it is a great place to stay and great value for money

    Room was spacious and bright and clean. Lots of nice restaurants around. Very close to Marques du Pompal metro only about 30 min to airport by metro you have to change once. Sel fish and Taberna Santa marta great restaurants close by. Great walk at top of Marques du pompal keep walking up and go thru park and you can find a walkway and keep walking and there is also a fab restaurant by the park with views over the pond. Breakfast was fine nice pancakes with a chutney jam which was delicious. Manager was very helpful and very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with External Private Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms were adequate but could do with some updates.

    The staff were excellent. They provided really good info prior to arrival and also when we checked in. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Location is near transport and within easy walking distance to the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy. Only two shower cabins for women, which was not enough.

    Staff was good and helpful. Good size of the room, small breakfast was nice. Internet was good. Access to metro. Good price for what we received.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly nice and helpful. Really nice property in a great location. The room we had was a great size and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Overall, we know where we're staying next time we visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold in the room as there is no heating

    Very friendly hosts, they provided a map and gave us information about what to see, very close to old city center, breakfast ok, kept our luggage after check out :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice stay, great atmosphere, calm place. Breakfast included, not a big variety of food to choose but all tasty and enough. Fresh pancakes every morning 😊 Great place for this price. Location perfect. Owner very helpful. All crew very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a mom with a small child I wasn't keen on smoking area next to kitchen. For me would have been better as no smoking.

    Staff really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the locks were all a little wonky but once you got used to it, its fine.

    beds were comfy! toilets were clean. easily accessible, and the morning breakfast was good as well :)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jose and the staff were incredibly nice and helpful. The double room we had was a great size and comfy, the bathrooms were very clean and the breakfast was yummy. Overall, we know where we're staying next time we visit!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really nice property in a great location. Staff are very nice. Breakfast is good. Rooms are nicely decorated. Hot water in shower. Quiet at night. Safe area around the property. I would stay here again!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy but that's because of the old building.

    Good breakfast, excellent coffee, clean bathrooms and great staff! The center is just 15min walk away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing that I didn't like about the place, but maybe as a future renovation idea, they could put proper locks on the toilet doors, although it is a common toilet so I understand the way it functions right now.

    Great staff, awesome wifi, pretty much every facility you can think of, good breakfast options, and the best thing was that there's a small area within the property where you can sit down, drink some tea and smoke a cigarette in peace, without having to get out of the building everytime. All in all, superb!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The friendly, easy efficient communication, easy check-in, attentiveness of staff (always asking if I was ok and comfortable), the room was large, very clean throughout, breakfast was great, wifi very fast, fantastic location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my opinion too expensive for what it offers. There are many places with better value for money in Lisbon. The bathrooms should be renovated and made nicer if you ask the price you are asking.

    Well decorated room and common spaces. Big kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not pleasant getting an email from the hostel, telling me to pay more & get a hotel next time after they 'thought' I'd left a poor review on booking.com. Charming! As it happens, the next place I stayed in Lisbon was better & cheaper, so better options are out there. What lets this hostel down are the frankly grotty communal bathrooms. I also found the wi-fi slow but had good cellular coverage so used that instead.

    I'd rate it as very good, not fabulous. Nice building & decor. Breakfast was simple but good - the homemade pancakes were a nice touch. The location was super - easy access to tourist areas without being on the main tourist drag. Some great local restuarants closeby where they don't speak a word of English (good sign)!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Amazing experience! The nicest, most helpful welcome ever! A huge thank you to Jose as well as the wonderful staff from Brazil and Nepal. From the second I stepped inside until I sadly had to leave - only kind, helpful words and action! I luved my single room and this gorgeous refuge was spotlessly clean, safe and in one of the best possible locations Lisbon has to offer. Thank you for loaning me a safety pin for the Marathon! Thank you for offering me a large bag on day I had to leave Jose! Thank you for the incredibly detailed map, super helpful information and simply - for one of the BEST stays ever thanks to the WONDERFUL staff! Jose in particular - make this refuge a truly unique, absolutely perfect place to stay in Lisbon! Muchas gracias, vielen lieben Dank, MUITO Obrigado, thank you so much for an unforgettable stay! Oops - almost forgot to mention the "complimentary" breakfast!!! What a feast! How delicious - homemade pancakes, delicious jam! All prepared each single morning with friendly SMILES! Great coffee, too! THANK YOU again so much!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn‘t care, but you can hear your neighbors in other rooms a bit. So if you come to bang with your noisy girlfriend/boyfriend, that could be embarrassing;-)

    Very friendly staff. Simple but good breakfast. It‘s like 10 minutes to walk to plaça Rossio, close to bus and metro and to various miradores. For me it was perfect, like living in a flat with other people.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were mosquitos in the room and they did not let me sleep. They should provide something to keep them away from the room. Also did not like the common bathrooms. The individual toilet/shower area is very very small, a bit dirty and only separated from the rest of the bathroom by some wooden panel.

    It s not expensive at all - you even get a small breakfast in the morning. My room was large and the bed confortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a really nice stay with my mother. I would easily recommend the place to anyone going to Lisbon with family for a relatively low budget. Friendly staff, great location, elevator access and a small breakfast also.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We just were in hostel for sleeping and have some breakfast for three days. It was clean, they had a small, good breakfast and we were immediately in city centre by feet. Everything we've needed for our trip.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would mention only two little downsides (that are not issues at all). The lock of my door was not the best one (the door always tended to be opened) and the size of the bathroom is a quite small (for a bigger person it might be an issue to take the shower which was not my case though).

    I stayed at the hostel for only 2 nights but wouldn't mind staying there longer. It's situated in a quiet area close to the metro station. My room was quite spacious, clean and very comfortable. Every morning a good breakfast is served in the kitchen. I'd definitely recommend this hostel for my friends and would love to stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was lovely, comfy bed, characterful room, wooden floors. Comfy lounge, access to kitchen, simple but tasty breakfast. Staff helpful. Shared bathroom, shower cubicle quite small but perfectly fine, clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the matrice on bed needed replacing. Very thin in areas little uncomfortable.

    Great location. Arty querky decoration. Welcome homely place felt very comfortable as solo traveller. Good simple breakfast. Quiet. Light airy place. Very good value. Use of living room and kitchen. Good size rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The woman who checked me in at night and the guy who worked there, during the day were both GREAT ! This is a great place to stay IMHO a wonderful city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was a bit of air-con in the rooms it would have helped with sleeping during the sweltering month of July.

    Helpful friendly staff,Jose was great!Lovely small hotel on a quiet street just a few mins from centre of city.Spotless bathrooms and nice breakfast.Will definitely be back on next trip to Lisbon.Really reasonable price.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast doesnt have so much variety.. My room was close by to the bathroom and in the morning it was a bit noisy.

    Liked the room facilities and the location .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet facilities are a bit cramped as are the breakfast facilities. Access to my room was through the sitting room, which was a bit strange. Despite all of these, I would go back.

    Great location, good value. I had lovely single room at the front, ornate ceiling and two windows. Fan supplied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, really ...

    Quaint little place, easy to reach via metro (stop: Marques de Pombal, exit Libertad/Santa Marta, first on the left and then 2 streets down before you turn right). It has an elevator, but you will have to manage a couple of stairs first. Living room was very comfortable, my single room fairly big, with a nice sofa. There are 2 bathrooms, one for each sex. Each contains 2 toilets and 2 showers. There is a designated smoking area behind the kitchen. I stayed 2 nights, but had to leave before breakfast both times, so I can't comment on the breakfast. I will post pictures on Tripadvisor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with External Private Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its quite hard to find parking place in the near. Would be really good to have air conditioning in hot days...

    Quite good location - walking distance from the city center. Very good breakfast (we've got pancakes!!).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with External Private Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was in Refuge in Santa Marta with a group of five people, and I was good option. The refuge is quiet and clean. Breakfast is good. Host is nice person. Thank you for the gift for our daughter!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful, typical Portugeese building. Nice and clean space to take a rest after whole day. Great, helpful and friendly staff. Fresh bread and pancakes every day. Delicious apples and oranges. Owner tell you where you can go but also where you should not to go. Hostel is in the heart of Lisbon. On the right you have one part of the city with the best attractions and on the left second part with the best attractions. Close to the metro. Hostel is like a home. One big table for everybody on breakfasts. Really good quality in this price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shared bathroom is very clean but shower stalls are small and a bit awkward for putting your things. A small negative in an overwhelming majority of positives. Great place to stay!

    Wonderful hostel in great area. Staff was super nice and helpful. i was only there for a short night, but it was easy and convenient to get to with the metro from the airport and also a good location for heading towards downtown to see the sights.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not soundproof (noises from the street despite being on the 4th floor )

    For the price, compared to the high ones in Lisbon, it was a pleasant stay. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was exceptional - thank you!

    The original features of the building, clean and hot showers, quietness, helpful staff, breakfast was wonderful, colour scheme - all really was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    little more variety for breakfast ( some vegetable would be awesome!):)

    Host is very helpful and nice person :) He was answering us every question and helping us with sightseeing plan. Place is nice and clean. Our room was quite spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious but unfortunately only sweet version. Generally, place is highly recommendable. Value for money is excellent :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room cannot access wifi so no internet on bed... even there is elevator u have to get on some stairs, no good for heavy suitcases like us as in old building, locks on doors are all in old style which u have to lock every time going in and out with the key, and not good sound insulation at all it can be better if there is a hair dryer in bathroom~

    we were supposed to be in double room, but at last having a 4-ppl room for two of us! nice breakfast with nice lady's handmade pancakes :) hot water for shower though only two showers and toilets together for all rooms close to metro station although it was a bit hard to find the entrance at first nice owner!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Check out is at 11, but ok, that's the way it is.

    Absolutely nice place to stay. It's a hostel that is more like a big cosy house, very clean, quiet (even though there are quite a lot of rooms), bathrooms and the kitchen are super clean. Breakfast is also very good, nothing special but good to start the day. It's not in the touristy Chiado, and close enough to visit the city on foot and that is a big plus. People who work there are very friendly, welcoming, recommending great restaurants and places to visit...Just perfect Portuguese experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host of this hostel is the worst nightmare ever... i travel a lot ... almost every month i stay in some kind of hotel or hostel and its the first time i met with such a hostile owner. I booked it one day in advance and let the owner know i may arrive around midnight... i had a plane landong at 23... in mail i was told i can accomodate till midnight and in other case i must write mail... so... at the some time my card was charged and i got mail back: sorry u cant accomodate after midnight, please choose another hostel, we wont gove your money back...it was a bit of surprise... it was not a lot of money but the idea that its not fair really drove me mad... we had changed our flight! To come earlier and i told host we would arrive late afternoon so he could wait... of course he didnt... we had to call him and wait almost obe hour tired at the door... but the best part comes now... after checking in i asked about wifi password... he told me its not working... but i knew it was a lie. I confonted him about it and get response : i dont want u to use my wifi! Lol... stay away!!!

    Nice big room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    -----

    Very nice view from the window, a wonderful breakfast, kind and responsive owner of the hostel, we arrived very late to be occupied, at exactly 12pm .. but we were allowed and given the room) very good bed, great double room) And of course there is wi fi)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfest was quite poor

    Location is perfect, nice walking distance to the old town!!! Staff was extremely helpful and caring - helped with advices what and how to see/visit... Room was as shown in the booking.com website.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the shared bathroom. It was like one room where the toilets and showers were separated by a thin wall that didn't reach the ceiling, i.e. it was more like a screen, so you can hear everything that happens in the adjoining toilet. The showers were too small and there was no shelf or hanger.

    Generally the hostel is very good - clean and well kept. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished. The location is also very convenient for exploring Lisbon. The breakfast was good - freshly made pancakes every day! The host was hospitable and gave us useful information about the city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hostel Refuge in Santa Marta is excellent. People who works there are amazing and helpful in everything. They waited for us because we arrived very late, gave us all information, ordered taxi for us and Anita's breakfast and staying there made feeling like we at home. The best hostel I've ever been. Thanks guys for everything!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom / showers had a hostel feel to them but wasn't a problem.

    Only 5 mins from metro (Marquis da Pombal) and enough away from main tourist area for bars / cafes to be more local than touristy. Welcoming and friendly staff. Breakfast was basic but good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with External Private Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hospitable staff, as they understood that we needed to enter earlier and tried their best to help us in everything during our stay, even after :) the most delicious pancakes for the breakfast:)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toillet are not comfortable, just a small area with toilet and box for shower, no place to stand comfortably or hang clothes and towel. Broken box door could be fixed as the hanger for the shower. Tea or any other drink could be offered at breakfast for those who don´t drink coffee.

    Location was good, close to underground and about 10-15 minuts walk to the center. The owner was very nice, he gave us good tips of the city and provided all information we asked for. Simple breakfast but ok to start the day (2 fruits, coffee, pancakes and bread). Room was simple but pleasant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..

    Very clean and spacious room Clean bathroom and it is seperate for man and woman Location is good , you can reach Rossio easily by walking. Close to metro station. Secure neighbourhood Decoration of house is really perfect and Jose said that he decorated it Jose is a really wonderful host and cares about people staying here He gave good advices about places to see, visit and eat traditional foods.It was good to meet him. Breakfast was better than other places that we stayed in Portugal. There were little pancakes in addition to usual breakfast. We do not give 10 for places that we stay, this is our first 10 as a review. If you are coming to Lisbon, you will not be sad after staying here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable, mattress was way too thin. The woman, who made the breakfast, seemed to hate us without having a reason for.

    The Owner was top notch, super friendly, answered all desires. Location is perfect, not far from city center but still far away to not be in the very touristic area (with the bad & expensive restaurants and the street dealers). "Feel Good"-Atmosphere & very good cost effectiveness. The restaurants next door (Luzzo & Honorato) were the best we had in whole lisbon!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower doors came off rails :-(

    Portuguese pancakes at breakfast were amazing! The staff were extremely courteous and helpful and the location superb! My room, just off the communal living room, had two windows and a fan- a treat in the early September heatwave!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with External Private Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very nice and gave us a lot of info about transports, places to be visited, car park and so on. The room was clean and the bathroom as well, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a lot of noise at night outside in the streets. There's nothing to do in the area. There's no vegan milk for cereals.

    The room was fine Beds slept fine Bathroom and kitchen were clean and tidy Free breakfast was simple but nothing to complain about. The host was very kind and gave us lots of tips

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff could smile or be more cheerful and not make us feel that there are different treatment for different ethnic.

    Nice place .good breakfast .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a negative point but the toilets and showers are remodeled in an apartment setting. So there is not a lot of privacy and more a gym changing room feel. Paper towels to dry hands after washing in the basin are not provided so please bring your own towel.

    Mr. Jose is a terrific host and will take care of all your needs. I felt very welcome there and would definitely visit again. I had a private room and it was the best room I have had in a hostel. Large windows and lovely decoration and a comfortable bed. The common areas are very cozy, the place has an intimate feel and perfect for solo travelers or smaller groups as the entire property is located within a residential building and guests must maintain peace and quiet for an enjoyable experience. Separate bathroom/showers for men and women and very clean. A nice kitchen too and a balcony too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with External Private Bathroom (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi in our room was weak - we had to go to the lounge to access it, which is a bit of an inconvenience.

    The bed was comfy! I loved the breakfast with the pancakes & Portuguese bread - plus the coffee was great (not exaggerating). Honestly, it was best value for money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom

    Quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in after midnight in not possible

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom, we could have our own as family.

    The location was great and jOse, the owner was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I left too early to have breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locks of the doors were little bit tricky

    Great location, easy to walk to the city center

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a disadvantage but no 24h reception at this property

    Great location and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can always hear noises next door.

    The location is perfect, nice and helpful staff. A simple breakfast is offered.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    good location.Friendly staff.Regards to Jose

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom/shower room could be improved.

    Check-in with warm welcome and details about the city. Good breakfast, varied and tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good stay overall. Friendly staff, good location and value for money. Warm breakfast would have been appreciated

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast time could be early. The room doesn't have the heater, its cold at the night in the winter.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus was that is very cold in the room. No heating but it seems that is a typical thing in Lisbon

    Staff, breakfast, good value for the money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful host

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was poor.

    Decoration and cleanliness were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, spacious room, clean bathrooms and nice breakfast. Really good stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nightly street noise from the shaft

    cleanness, friendly attitude, convenient location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect!

    Really nice hostel, quiet, comfortable, close to the center of Lisbon. Great breakfast! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Refuge in Santa Marta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: