Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Golden Tulip Porto Gaia Hotel & SPA 4 stars

Rua Da Bélgica nº 86, 4400-044 Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal

#18 of 19 hotels in Vila Nova de Gaia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1142 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and location

    The staff was kind and helpful, perfect location. Breakfast really nice, the room was wide and decently clean! It was a pleasant experience!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Peaceful location by ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was not great. Pillows were sort of lumpy.

    Peaceful location by ocean. Big room with balcony and great view of beaches. Great 3 course lunch in hotel restaurant for 12.50 euros which included wine. Good location for walks along the seaside. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.1
    It is rated as 4 star but more like a 3 star otherwise staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is rated as 4 star but more like a 3 star otherwise staff friendly & helpful, room rather basic but lovely balcony with great sea view. Breakfast was typical continental and had good selection, self service so help yourself and plentiful. Location excellent and public transport on doorstep, takes you into Porto city centre for just 1.90€pp and regular throughout the day so you have the best of ocean front and city a bus ride away. If you are very energetic you can walk all the way along sea front and up river, approx 15km, well worth it and you can return by bus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    A great stay at a great hotel with great simply great staff! Many thanks to all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very slight smell when turning the air conditioning off, like drain smell. The tired pool area.

    We liked the location, the view, the staff who were all charming and very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good each morning particularly the fresh fruit. The cake was delicious!!! It was a shame we had to wear caps in the pool and jacuzzi. We did not make use of these facilities. We would have liked a sheltered outdoor pool and bar. But this is a great hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had low expectations due poor reviews. It is indeed a dated hotel. It is less a Spa hotel than a hotel with a pool, and with the beaches a stroll away you may as well swim in the Atlantic. The room could have been cleaner when I arrived, the cleaning staff were probably rushed. However, it was cleaned very well during my stay. If you aren’t too picky with decor, it’s a great base for exploring and enjoying a beautiful part of Porto.

    Perfect location. Lovely, friendly staff were very helpful. Bed was huge and comfy. View of the coast was beautiful. Close to cafes, shops and restaurants with great variety of food. Breakfast is simple and excellent; hot food, sweet fresh fruit, and especially mini Pastel de Natas! And if you’re timing is good, you’ll get warm ones fresh out of the oven. I had a great stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Everything was great, the staff was so nice !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, the staff was so nice !!! They always help when they can, they give good advices.. the restaurant of the hotel is also the best we tried in porto ! Fresh and nice food, affordable.. we even went twice !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Very nice location. Love Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reserved two rooms, one of them had an airconditioning malfunction , we reported this issue Several times without any response or solution. We ask for compensation in the end of the trip and they offered us 10% of the room. In the end after intense negotiation they agreed to return the total price of the room, as it should had been from the beginning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location if the goal is to spend time on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Classes in pool make the Pool inaccesible at times. It would help to know the times ahead of time. Difficult to reach via public transportation.

    Perfect location if the goal is to spend time on the beach. Within walking distance to many restaurants and several beaches. Good size rooms!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay in beautiful and very calm area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were not many facilities, like bars or restaurants, in the area. Also, the swimming pool and jacuzzi were quite disappointing.

    The hotel was comfortable and our room was very spacious. The staff did their very best to make our stay pleasant. I especially enjoyed the sea view and beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel stuff, very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the electric sockets were not working; hose of the shower was damaged and sharp enough to cut a finger.

    Great hotel stuff, very helpful. Location near the ocean is a plus and minus because it is far from the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    We changed hotel as soon as we where able!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this Hotel really needs to be totally renovated Rooms, restaurant and especially the “spa” is under all criticism.

    Front desk personnel really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    breakfast, employees solicitude, bed dimension
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    restaurant is closed on Monday, no rooms with sea view, only seaside view, Spa and pool are not accessible all the time due to organized activities.

    breakfast, employees solicitude, bed dimension

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.8
    The location in front of the sea with a good footpath for a...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old place, it needs to be renovated. Spa and Gym have working hours not good for a business trip

    The location in front of the sea with a good footpath for a running or walking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Not a good match to visit Porto unless you are looking for a low budget room for a beach holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms do not correspond with the superior room pictures on the booking.com website and there is no direct sea view from none of the rooms, only side (lateral) view from closed balconies.

    The attractive budget prices close to the sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    Staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too overpriced and insufficient refreshments in mini bar for 2 people. Only 1 beer and wasn't replaced next morning. Tv signal very bad. Room looked very run down

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Recommend others to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room which i preferred wasn’t ready while I was there. Even they handover the key of the room which wasn’t ready. When I enter the room I surprised to see the room unclean and unprepared. But the staff immediately arranged the other room, but that’s not I expected but the room was good enough and big.

    I like the location and the service of the staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Towels /bathmat in bathroom not changed/refolded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels /bathmat in bathroom not changed/refolded daily if left hanging. (Had to leave on the floor if wanted changed). Minibar not replenished unless asked. I think in this type of hotel one shouldn't have to ask, and it should be done automatically but this is so minor compared to how pleased we were with EVERYTHING else!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    Very good location about 4 miles outside Porto with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Looked very tired and not told restaurant was not open on a Mon and Tues.

    Very good location about 4 miles outside Porto with wonderful views over sea. On local bus route so able to bus into Porto , there was also a very good footpath to walk into Porto. Hotel looked very tired but rooms large with excellent bathrooms and good views. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Great stay at Gaia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My key/card did not work properly once. Every time I left the hotel, when I got back the key did not work anymore, which I only discovered when I was at the door of the room. I had to go downstairs to re-validate the card, and go up again.

    Good breakfast, highlighted by the warm and delicious bread. Wonderful and nice staff, always available and friendly. Nice room with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    great view, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist's english knowledge is not the best. On Monday the spa is closed for 7:30 pm (child training). I did not find information about it on booking.com. No cloak and slippers.

    The breakfast is abundant, delicious. The view is amazing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable but nothing fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna and steam room were cold and you had to wait for them to warm up which was disappointing, although we asked staff to preheat them the next morning which helped. Pool area seemed in need of renovation.

    View from room was very good. Balcony with windows that opened was great. Bed comfortable. Reception staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Staff an position of the hotel were very good. It is 3 miles from the town so transport is needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Opening times for the spa. WE like to swim before breakfast and it didn't open until 10am. The very good restaurant was closed on Sunday night which was disappointing.

    Breakfast was good but the hot choice of food was limited

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    The rooms and furnitures are very very old. The wardrobe was stinky
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked one king bed room and it was confirmed but when I went to check-in recepcionist says sorry we dont have available bed as I wanted. If that bed is not available why I was able to book?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a very relaxing stay. Slept well and were able to leave the world of work behind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom would have been appreciated.

    Great location, views of the sea amazing. Staff very helpful. Lovely indoor pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    It was in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    It was in a great location. Room and all public areas were spotless. Restaurant was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend and would love to visit again

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing, but the staff were very professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and proximity to the water were not in any way according to expectations. The room was more like a 1980s apartment than a suite, and the water, while visible from the enclosed patios, was farther away than expected. We learned that the only room with a true sea view is the Panorama Room, but they advertise as if the suites also have the same view. The breakfast was very poor - eggs and bacon were inedible. The room was really cold, even putting on two spaceheaters to sleep couldn't get the room cozy, and when we walked out of the bedroom into the living room or bathroom, it was freezing. There was only one hook for a towel, which was awkward. There were no robes in the room.

    I appreciated that the young lady at the front desk did not challenge us when we told her we would only stay at the property for one of the two nights originally anticipated because we were so disappointed. The staff, in general, were friendly and receptive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    The so called Spa, is not a Spa in my opinion. It's a pool in a "swimming house" environment, an empty gym and saunas separately in the locker rooms. We also booked special "romantic" package offering a welcome drink, chocolate on the room and a room with bathtub - which they forgot.. But was offered after request. An ok stay, but had higher expectations.

    The location was very good, with nice view! And the food in the restaurant was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.0
    It was freezing Cold in the rooms -
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was freezing Cold in the rooms - and there was only a thin bed cover - there was only one hanger in the closet The bathroom shower had a wronge angle and floodet the floor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice and relaxed stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning not good in our room.Beds were clean and freshly made but not floors.Toilet floor was bad.Diasppointed that there were no tea/coffee making facilities in room.Too expensive to buy from hotel

    Location,facilities including indoor swimming pool.Good selection for breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Fine. Served purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foyer needs redecorating. Bar area needs to be more welcoming.

    Room was basic but clean. The windows badly need cleaning to appreciate the view. Breakfast was ok. Things like the scrambled eggs could be hotter.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    6.7
    The 4th floor bedroom was large and clean with an enclosed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is showing its age and needs some renovations. The bar area never seemed to be open. The buffet breakfast was OK but the hot food was never hot only tepid! The restaurant is in a separate building overlooking the sea and looks nice (did not try) Our room was next to the lift so was a little noisy

    The 4th floor bedroom was large and clean with an enclosed balcony giving good view of the beach and river. Traditional furniture. Very large bathroom with good walk in shower. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Excellent and well recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rental car GPS was faulty getting to hotel so we ignored it and drove to hotel.

    Location was excellent. Included breakfast allowed a full view of ocean and selections were great !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable bed, very close to a beach promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was very noisy, just next to the elevator on the first floor; we asked twice to be moved to another room in our five night stay, but to no avail. During our stay the room was not vacuum-cleaned once, just tidied up (this was clearly noticeable after only a couple of days). The furniture, as well as most of the hotel, is out dated and could do with a revamp. Apparently there are no cork-screws to open bottles in the entire hotel, bar included...

    Proximity to the waterfront and beaches, with a nice and long walk/cycle path along the beach. The availability of parking was also good. Breakfast was fine although not exceptionally varied, with good coffee and bread. The bed was very comfortable. The hotel is a good base for day trips in Porto or the north of the country.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.6
    The hotel doesn't deserve the 4 stars. I am disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "spa" was terrible. Everything was old and dirty. The jacuzzi was too cold and the swim cap was mandatory for the swimming pool. How can we call this an "hotel and spa resort" ? The four stars are overrated. We were so disappointed.

    The room was clean, big and nicely decorated. The staff was nice and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.6
    I would come back there! This hotel has amazing view and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didnt like other people opinion about this hotel. That its old or dirty. Nonsense. Typical english style. If this hotel would be placed in GB - everyone would adore the tradition! This hotel is really fantastic and staff very helpful.

    This hotel is amazing! We had a king size bed with breath away taking view on the Ocean!!! We were in love with this room!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    2.5
    Worst experience of my life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel uses old pictures. In the reality it is very used hotel required renovation. Moreover they use pictures of the beach which is in 1,5 km distance. In fact they do not have their own beach at all, its 800 m walk. They have only one renovated room they use for pictures, the rest is a big lie (this particular room is very easy to identify on the picture!!)! When I demanded to return money they said they are not going to do it, cause using other pictures of this area is not prohibited!!! Conversation with the stuff was the worst experience of unpleasanty in my life. Instead of beach view they offer corner roof view in the direction of the ocean.

    That I considered my booking as lost money experience and made another online registration using booking in another hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    4.6
    Not good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa is dirty and old. The shower flooded the bathroom's floor. Too expensive. The room walls were dirty. Bathroom was dirty with used shower gel open from previous client. Not good value for money.

    The bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast in the morning has a lot of stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were here to relax for a few days after a busy work trip to London. We had a good time but we probably won't be back. Its definitely and area for locals. Not tourists. The pictures of the outside of the building is NOT what the property looks like. Not even a little. Not the same building. The hallway on our floor smelled like smoke and it was seeping into our room. It faded in and out so I am sure some inconsiderate guest was smoking in their room.

    Breakfast in the morning has a lot of stuff. We had a balcony in the room which was great. We brought back dinner and ate on the balcony with the windows open.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Very friendly and helpful staff, good bikes to rent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were looking for the lady who was responsible for SPA reception for more than 3 hours. When she finally arrived, turned out there were no free slots for anything until 5 in the evening next day.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, good bikes to rent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.6
    For such a good and idyllic location the hotel conditions should be much better, needs reshape.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ramp access to the baby's car, breakfast not included . The staff was really helpful and very professional.

    The Hotel is quite old, looks like apartment hotel rather than 4 stars , 90 eur per night with no breakfast included. It is definitely over priced. The swimming pool has this strange odor and it is really cold water, not cool for an inside pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    6.7
    Standard Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Gym didn't open until 10 - I prefer to do exercise before breakfast.

    Good views of beachfront, perfect location for walks along seafront and days at the beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Expensive for the value and needs renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Expensive for the value. It needs a lot of renovations and cleaning. A small silverfish bug showed in my room. The shower was leaking a lot of water. The pool had a lot of mold around. The walls seemed to be falling and even in the pool area there was a part cut off probably because it was dangerous. I can't see it as a 4 star hotel.

    Good Location near the beach and good breakfast with a lot of variety. Nice indoor pool and hot tub.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Good choice if you want to be near the ocean and walk a lot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant in the hotel doesn't work on sundays and Mondays. Closest restaurants are about 1,5 km walk. The swimming pool requires wearing a swimming cap.

    Very close to the ocean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    2.9
    Best case a 1 start hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rated as 4star hotel & spa, wouldnt rate as 1 star. Very old hotel, not well maintained, room did not feel clean, sink wasn't draining, bedding old. Overall would not recommend.

    location near the beach and not far from Porto

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    A relaxing, enjoyable place in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Housekeeping were slow on several days and although we did like to have our towels changed daily (as we needed to shower several times due to the heat) we found them put out to dry on the shower rail on one day. The rooms were also not cleaned until after 4pm on a couple of days which was inconvenient, despite having put the "please clean up our room" sign on the door before going out at 10am, however the cleanliness as a whole was good. The coffee machine at breakfast was not very clear how to operate and we preferred the old vacuum flasks!!! All the staff seem very young and although quite friendly it took a while for them to acknowledge us with a greeting in the mornings.

    We have stayed here many times in the last 10 years. Rooms had been recently refurbished and now have a lovely walk in shower. However, floor can be slippery so beware!! Staff very friendly and helpful especially Andrea on reception. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice, staff kept the items well topped up and the tables were cleaned promptly. Location is superb with easy access to a bus going to the town centre of Porto, but the journey can take 45 minutes. We did not avail of the pool or spa facilities so cannot comment. Useful small fridge in the room. We did not use the restaurant so again cannot comment. There are many local bars/restaurants in the area - we particularly like Cremosi on the seafront.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    Left a day early
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible breakfast. Broken shaving mirror. Safe did not work. Swimming pool ceiling in disrepair and rusting. Had to wear swim caps. Why would the pool not be available in the morning when most people like to do laps? Windows in bedroom worn and scratched or just needing to be cleaned. This is an old modern hotel which needs updating. Very little area to move around in the room. A bit claustrophobic. Only one desk space for two people. Music loud in Restaurant and throughout the hotel. Wifi was hopeless

    Lunch in Restaurant very good. Some interesting design features like a porch which has a glassed in day bed and the other half open to the air. The Staff were helpful in booking restaurants and spoke English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    3.3
    Never again!!!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carrying the luggage on the entrance stairs around 10 steps, Very old furniture, cheap plastic table and chairs, Booking.com offer breakfast included but we paid for it €15 and its badly poor.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.6
    not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they need to spend some money in CAPEX as the building is in bad shape, specially in the pool area. we booked two nights in a couple's bed, we got twin beds and no cleaning during our stay, no fresh towels nor made beds. money spent was clearly not worth it.

    great location and great massage

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    The location is very good, 5 min from the beach and nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awful breakfast, no iron and iron board (you can only order with the laundry service), there is a room service menu, but it does not work neither on evening nor on weekend (does it make sense to have it at all?..). Overall the hotel needs serious renovation. If you look for 4 stars hotel, you will not get anything of that level, except for sea view and clean room. It's a pity, since the location is really nice. SPA is inside, also very average.

    The location is very good, 5 min from the beach and nice walk by the ocean and then along the river to the old city. If you just need safe and clean place to spend the night, then it's OK. But it is not 4 stars hotel for sure. Very average 3 stars may be. Staff is very nice and helpful, I believe they do their best.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    My little bit of heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast would have been preferable to concentrated. Other than that, if you just asked, it was there!

    The Spa, Kara is excellent. The refurbished bedroom was very nice. I like the restaurant, even if it has too much fish for my liking ( but this IS Portugal), but I usually found something I liked. I found the staff very helpful and so kind. I am a bit biased as I have stayed there before, and would have no hesitation in staying there again. I LIKE IT!. It may not suit others who are very 'picky', but that is their choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    Increadible beaches, very good area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Hotel was very good, staff lovely, very polite and helpful, rooms clean and I had a nice ocean view but the hotel needs little updating, especially its exterior.

    Wonderful beaches around (areas of nice sand beaches but also lots of such areas with huge stones that can provide great privacy and also spectacular views of the ocean vawes breaking on them and creating increadible pictures- I loved them best). Not too crowded in May and I suspect all the time as there are not many hotels around. Lots of small restuarnts providing good food and for less money in comparison to Porto. I am coming back definitelly!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Recommend for a quick weekend in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barman was always missing, hotel is very outdated, , could use some work, no outdoor pool, sun terrace was just a piece of fake grass, i hope it looks better when open in season

    I booked the Panoramic room which was the only panoramic room in the hotel and was lovely. Staff very friendly and helpfull, great location, close to town Porto, just around the corner yet nice and quiet away from the noice, beach lovely and loooong, plenty of spots to eat, supermarket nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    I really enjoyed my stay at the The Golden Tulip hotel. I would say that I got value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I do have one comment. I do think that the room could be mordernised. The furniture and furnishing are a bit 70's or 80's. Need to be brought into the 21st centruy.

    The croissant was good enough. The bed was not very comfortable The staff are exceptionally helpful, courteous and friendly, very obliging. the welcome was great, Nice to have a little Port on arrival I really enjoyed my stay at the The Golden Tulip hotel. I would say that I got value for money and I would definitely go there again and would recommend this hotels to my friends. Thank you to the lovely staff on reception.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Location close to the seaside, good opportunities for summer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location close to the seaside, good opportunities for summer sports, esp. walking, cycling, inline skating etc. Well behaved staff, good restaurant, excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.3
    LOCATION LOCATION .... HUGE ROOMS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is cold ...... even whats supposed to be hot . Exact same breakfast every morning ... we were here for 5 nights .. we booked two rooms which werent conjoining ... so that was a bit of a pain ... other parts of hotel are tired ....

    Most Rooms are all recently refurbished ... the hotel is old but really nice . Biggest gripe is that you feel like your back in the 70 s with a little modern twist ... the location is EXCELLENT ... AMAZING BARS RESTAURANTS .... SHOPS SUPPERMARKETS .... the staff are exceptionally nice and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    Great huge room, with ocean vue. Don't use the dirty spa area !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The SPA and Pool were very dirty, we went into the whirlpool: the water was cold, the paint full of moisture, there were ants around the pool. Disgusting. So our suggestion: don't use the spa area!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    4.6
    Photos are much better than the reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise level high, carpet not clean, overall property not in great maintenance. The photos were much better than the real thing, which is quite disappointing.

    Bed was OK

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.8
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. The WIFI never worked during our 3 day stay and the staff seemed not to be interested in solving the problem. 2. The pictures on Booking.com did not correspond at all with what we received. 3. The room was outdated. 4. Construction on the property was a nuisance.

    The view was incredible and the proximity of the boardwalk and restaurants were within walking distance. The bus stop to go to Porto was 2mins walk and well positioned. The breakfast was very good with a great view and spacious. There was free and safe parking just across the street.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    7.1
    clean, comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was almost no internet, the wifi was very poor (one bar only), was getting interrupted in every minute, even sending an email was like a 20 minutes task, not at all suitable for business trip

    clean, comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful stay with lovely beach view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice location on the beach, but getting in there was a bit long on a straight but narrow road. Not much else to do there in cold stormy weather

    Lovely view of the waves crashing onto the beach from the balcony (which was enclosed by glass). Wi-fi worked nicely, comfy bed, decent loo

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    9.6
    Nice view, easy parking, nice staff, especially at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Malfunctioning key card, had to change the room, coffee at breakfast was horrendous, something wrong with the coffee machine, unpleasant chemical aftertaste.

    Nice view, easy parking, nice staff, especially at the restaurant, excellent food and portions for dinner at the restaurant, great wifi. Interesting decor and "British" hotel smell in the rooms and corridors.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    3.3
    One of the worst hotels we've stayed. Far from 4star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is worn out, everything is old and looks dirty. The rooms were rather dark and the view - not nice at all. The sound isolation was really bad, you could hear all the street noises and the music from the bar on a floor below. Shower faucet was leaking, there were holes everywhere in the bathroom. The pool smells incredibly and our kid broke in and fell in the water run off near the pool. The Wife is not working at all in the rooms and hardly working in the public areas. The restaurant is highly overpriced.

    Good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    6.3
    Great location. Need some improvement n
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is very oldfasion. You must to bend downto wash your haur. And i am not especially high . The breakfast coffee is awfull.must be improved. No vegetable in breakfast

    Location Sea view Staff was helpfull

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful seaside location for your visit to Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs to be refurbished especially the public areas.

    The location and sea views are magnificent. The Casa Branca restaurant serves delicious food. The 20m swimming pool, gym, sauna & spa.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    4.6
    Not great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For what is badged a SPA hotel - the facilities were awful. The pool area was in a poor state of decoration; the changing areas were appalling, the Sauna and steam areas were split into Male and Female and were within the changing area - neither worked, with no one around to ask. The Jacuzzi was good, but there was a hole in the ceiling above it, the tiles were covered in mildew, it was generally VERY poor. Breakfast wasn't great - you had to pay extra for boiled / fried eggs?? The room was dated and a bit dirty. Toilet seat kept falling off... Not great for somewhere that could be lovely... needs a tidy and a clean, and a re-vamp of the SPA if that is what it wants to sell itself as...

    Location was good for beach. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    5.4
    Hotel Golden Tulip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel very dated, in need of modernisation. Décor very dreary. No kettle or cups in room. Hotel pool and Jacuzzi in need of vital refurbishment.

    Breakfast good and bed comfortable. Staff very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.1
    Need to be renovated!
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The commum areas, the spa, restaurant need a renovation urgently!

    Our room was renovated and it was nice! Staff was nice and helpful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Hyvä sijainti
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not that what we hoped. It was not like in pictures. Need some upgrade.

    Sea view and location near beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Good ocean view.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated. Beds are not comfortable. Doesn’t feel like a 4-star hotel.

    Good ocean view. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Correct
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Établissement à renover

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great location close to the beach. Very clean comfortable staff helpful. Breakfast ok for the money paid. Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.8
    Big bed and near the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property very old and smelly. Bathroom needs renovation

    Big bed and near the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Quiet place close to Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not too far from Porto, directly at the sea shore, some nice bars and restaurants nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    High price, medium performance ..!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Choice of rooms was not possible, they were ready for the show. Medium breakfast, poor staff!

    Good location ..!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Tired hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired hotel no restaurant for supper Not really a spa hotel Staff doing their best

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: