Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grande Hotel da Povoa 3 stars

Largo do Passeio Alegre, nº 20, 4490-428 Póvoa de Varzim, Portugal

#28 of 38 hotels in Póvoa de Varzim

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 857 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside this looked to be a nice location. But the first room reminded me of a jail room. Either room I was in did not have hot or even warm water. All guests in the morning were complaining of the same problem.

    Restaurant on location served a very nice meal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower without vertical adjustment and fixed position very high. water in shower with very low pressure. one light in the ceiling at the entrance of the room is needed to see inside armoire.

    Decoration of the room was pleasant and color of walls was also pleasant. Breakfast was buffet and had good choices. Room and bathroom where very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    difficult to find but ok for parking - hotel dated needs a bit of improvement breakfast acceptable

    location - underground parking at casino next door @ 6.50 euro per night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast (included in price) was generous but not very exciting. Typical contintental breakfast choices and some hot food - availability of latter a bit random. And (machine) coffee not great.

    Great location, very close to beach, shops, restaurants - everything walkable. Facilities great (if slightly dated), all staff were delightful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dated

    Staff were fantastic- gave us windbreak and parasol for the beach, advised us of parking arrangements prior to arrival and always cheerful. Breakfast great too

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Destination was great! Hotel not so great, arrived at the hotel reception and downstairs is all very new and modern, unfortunately when we arrived to our room we was very disappointed, the room was absolutely Tiny and very very old fashioned. Carpets were very dirty, the whole room needed an update and to be refurbished, we spoke to reception about our room and was told the rooms are in the process of being updated in the next year. Breakfast was very good in the mornings, many different varieties to choose from. Towels were changed every day. Overall are stay wasn't to bad. Only thing I would say is our room definitely needs to be modernised and updated, it was really to small to bed a bedroom.

    Breakfast was very good and staff were also friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's time to do some refurbishment specially the carpet.

    The breakfast was very good. Location was perfect, awesome view from my room! Staff were friendly and helpful. Internet was excellent & free!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tattered and old with large stains on the carpet and appearance of not having cleaned the room. I was walking a pilgrimage and felt I was pigeonholed as a dirty backpacker and given a room to match.

    The location of the hotel was outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh coffee.A proper English breakfast.Fresh fruits.

    The only good thing about the breakfast was a choice or breads. The rest of it needs rethinking.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was on 4th floor and was lovely - new and very clean. And the receptionist albeit very, very busy with a huge amount of guests was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The passageway and room has carpets that gave the impression of not being very clean. the rooms allocated to us on the first floor are tired and old looking and did not correspond with the pictures on the website though I am assuming that they are undergoing some sort of makeover and the floor we were on had not yet been updated. We were there just for one nights sleep before heading to the airport for an early morning flight so it wasnt a big issue but if I had booked this hotel for a longer stay I would have been highly disappointed.

    The staff were friendly, polite and professional. The entrance lobby was comfortable and inviting. The location was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets and furnishings in corridors and room a little tired. Noisy bathroom fan but we shut the sliding door to reduce the noise.

    Beds were comfy, standard rooms spacious. Breakfast was simple, buffet style - we sort of managed to work out how to use the egg boiler! Parking is available at the nearby underground car park, but if that's full then you just pay 4 euros to park on the quayside which has a security gate to access. The hotel give you a pass to get through and you pay the hotel for this. Reception lady was very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress of the king size bed was extremely hard and the bed frame was shaking with every movement

    The renovated superior rooms are nice, the staff is really helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a kettle and cups in the room to make that early morning coffee or tea would be good

    The reception staff were exceptional efficient helpful and friendly especially the mature lady and the young man

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms outdated and dirty. Stains on carpet, dirty towels. Very old furniture. We had a room next to the casino. We could not sleep at night due to the lights of the casino flashing the whole night. Would not go here again. Not worth the money at all.

    Location okay, direct at boulevard

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La moqueta

    La situation

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Bathroom Reno. Bedroom Reno.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent price for a nice hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beautiful place

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice really good

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    convenient location on the promenade, underground parking close to hotel for the special price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Standard of food in restaurant

    Location and facilities. They gave us a room upgrade.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a superior room, it was rather small

    Great seafront location, close to shops and short walk to metro for airport, outlet shopping and Porto.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Service in the bar was slow, walked away twice without being served.

    Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and had a bad view.

    Perfect location, just in front of the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hairdryer in room needed replacing

    Great view over the resort from a sea view room plus a balcony

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable and hard to sleep.

    Staff and location is great

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Standard rooms need to be renovated as soon as possible Cleaning to be improved

    Breakfast and dinner very good Besides staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    All complaints were dismissed. I was called a liar by a staff member when I told them the towels were dirty. Overall customer service was non existent. Room smelt of cigarette smoke, bath towels were dirty. Mattress was very hard. Rug in room very dirty. Window left open by the cleaners so when we got in that night the room was freezing when I mentioned it to reception staff he shrugged his shoulders and with a small baby of 8 months is totally unacceptable and resulted in my son catching a cold. Breakfast was very poor and lack of variety.

    The view of the sea was nice.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Alcatifas do 5° piso degradadas e com manchas. Sugerem falta de higienizacao frequente.

    Pequeno almoco equilibrado. Localizacao central Vista para a praca e mar

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A member of the staff at the breakfast room was very rude towards a young couple ' cos they were arriving at 10H25 ! He was furious (!) with them and just refused to serve breakfast 'cos they were closing at 10H30 ! This atittude, on a sunday in winter with just two tables occupied !.The hotel management have to teach their staff what the business is all about ! Shocking !

    Location, just in front of the seaside; large comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpets were really stained, although cleaned everyday they gave the impression of being very dirty. The bedroom furniture(it looked like a child's) the bed and pillows were very hard.

    Location, staff very helpful and friendly

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you like Barbie pink, this is the hotel for you. Excessively pink inside and out! Room shabby and carpet dirty.

    Location. Reception staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Anna at front desk was wonderful. She recommended restaurant Bodegao. It was fabulous. Breakfast was spectacular!!!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room a bit grubby

    Just ok breakfast but eggs cold and not fluffy

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very small room.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful ocean view, a lovely breakfast, friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food

    Location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, location, location! Breakfast was the best we had in Portugal!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bed not comfortable.

    restaurant was excellent. staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    80's furniture , low quality I will never bring any friend to this hotel. Good staff service

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel restaurant relatively pricey for the area and also the food was not great

    Sea view, very modern, clean and bright rooms, new bikes to rent,

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast has room for improvement in variety and presentation.

    Location.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: