Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grande Hotel do Porto 3 stars

Rua de Santa Catarina, 197, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-450 Porto, Portugal

#69 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1442 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    3.8
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel had been partly refurbed. Shower did not drain and water went everywhere in the bathroom, meaning we could not shower. It appeared this was not a unique problem, other rooms and guests experienced exactly the same problem. When we complained to the reception we got a look of "so whats new" We also had to pay for room on arrival, guess they knew we would have problems with the shower. Never again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room was small with no view - we should have booked on the first floor at the front.

    This is a wonderful old style hotel right in the middle of the best part of Porto. Close to everything. Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall ok for price just needs a bit updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was poor, we did asked to be moved which they did with no problem to a slightly better room, but very tired, they are in process of updating, but the bedrooms didn’t reflect how lovley the hotel is. Reception staff not very happy but very polite and efficient, just need to smile a bit more.

    Concierge were very helpful and friendly. The reception areas of hotel stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great Location, Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration of the room was very basic, the floorboards creaked a lot, and every time my neighbor went to their room floorboards creaked a lot also, It felt like they were going to walk into my room. Not the most supportive staff but not bad either.

    Charming lobby Hotel, Perfect Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    This hotel was so cool, they just redid a bunch of the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small and some of the hotel is still under construction. I tried to take a nap during the day when I was still jet-lagged but there were people hammering constantly.

    This hotel was so cool, they just redid a bunch of the rooms and they were beautifully decorated. They are a bit small but that’s okay. Hotel was centrally located and the staff was friendly. Free breakfast was also a plus!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Excellent choice for location and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Light switch behind the sliding door of the bathroom. Standard room slightly small but adequate for short stay.

    Great location and excellent restaurant. Lots of electrical sockets in room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    This is a beautiful old hotel right in the center of the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    This is a beautiful old hotel right in the center of the old town and within walking distance to all the sights. The staff were extremely helpful, especially as we were driving and had to unpack the car and park it elsewhere. We had a renovated room which was lovely and we really enjoyed the breakfast. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, walking distance to all the old town attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You definitely needed the air-conditioning on during the night as the heat rose and was stifling in the bedroom.

    The room was quirky - it was a mezzanine with the bed above the lounge/ bathroom. The room was clean and the hotel itself was quaint and full of history. The hotel staff were very helpful. The location was excellent not only for the fact that it was in the heart of the shopping area with several cafe's etc nearby but also it was an easy walk to the old part of town and various attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small bedroom, tiny bathroom with almost impossible to use shower.

    Excellent location. Some very helpful staff, including Joao at the desk and the porter, Antonio Public areas very attractive, but reading room was too dark to read in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Historical beautiful old upgraded hotel! All staff amazing! Rooms clean and comfortable and nicely decorated! Breakfast was excellent and the room spectacular with classical music playing in the background... no CNN so peaceful and lovely 👍👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful lobby, hall, Windsor Bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately next door building is doing major refurbishment and from 8 am they were quite loud with building works.

    Beautiful lobby, hall, Windsor Bar and restaurant. Very nice and super clean room, lovely breakfast too. Really enjoyed my stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    If you get a renovated room, this will be a good choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I understand the rooms are under renovation floor by floor. Unfortunately, we had a room which hadn't been renovated and it wasn't especially nice. Spacious enough and reasonably clean, but very tired (visible rot/mould staining on wall!) and rather spartanly furnished, which contrasted rather too obviously with the lavishly appointed foyer and common parts.

    The common parts of the hotel are very plush and richly appointed in an old-school "grand hotel" style, which is appealing. The staff were friendly and helpful. The central location is excellent and there is convenient and cheap parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    I like the fact that the hotel is in the Portuguese tradition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were too large for us as we prefer flat pillows.

    The breakfast was excellent. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and that was delicious, the staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Located in the center of Porto, on a pedestrian street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The equipments of the room are a little old.

    Located in the center of Porto, on a pedestrian street. Near metro station and easily access to some tourist sites by walking. There are many choices in breakfast which is delicious. Really like the decoration of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    A grand and elegant setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed and the pillows were a bit too firm but we changed rooms for a different reason and the beds were much better.

    The breakfast and all meals are served in the grand dining room, a very elegant setting. There are many choices for breakfast and the fresh fruit was especially good. The rooms are old and plain but with updated new bathrooms that are very good. The hotel sitting rooms and the bar are traditional and simply elegant. You can feel you have gone back in time perhaps 100 years ago. We sat for several hours and read books and the newspapers, watching guests come and go in a wonderful setting---on a rainy day. The rooms were warm enough for cooler temperatures. The location is fantastic, close to many good restaurants and walking areas. But the food service in the grand dining room is quite good especially on a rainy day.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    The staff looked after us very well when we had our flight cancelled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Extremely poor Wifi. The system went down every 30 seconds at times. The longest time that the system lastest was about 2 minutes. It was extremely frustrating and made it impossible to work. The bed was very hard

    Excellent location and extremely helpful staff. Good food and interesting public rooms.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a lovely stay in an ideal location and enjoyed our evening meals in the grand dining room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are functional but could do with a refurbishment

    Perfect location, comfortable beds, grand dining room with good breakfast. Superb evening food but beware it is nouvelle cuisine style so don't skip courses! Staff were helpful and friendly and bar drinks and evening wine were very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Central and classy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb suite - five rooms! Excellent value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Easy to reach the hotel on a direct metro line from the airport. Good food too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    The hotel is in a great central location to explore all Porto has to offer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel feels a little dated, decor is a little shabby in places. There was slight mould in bathroom as there was no fan in there.

    Central location, good breakfast choice, comfy bed. Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    5.8
    Hard bed, hard pillow, indifferent staff, excellent location and lovely city of Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff. They were not friendly or professional. We arrived at one in the afternoon and due to an early flight and driving 145km to the airport we had been up 36 hours. It was quite evident we were tired yet the senior staff member let us wait until 2pm for the room. We were on the 2nd floor which was painted dark brown unlike the ground floor and 1st floor which were highly decorated. A couple of days into our stay we were without water for quite some time and subsequent to that no hot water. When it was turned back on it was brown (which matched the decor:). We understand works must be carried out but a courtesy call would have been appreciated. The front of house staff would avail of a hospitality course in how to treat guests. We were barely acknowledged when paying our bill. However the breakfast room staff were pleasant and the lady who cleaned our room was excellent. We left her a gift to thank her. The Grand Hotel could be brought back to its former glory with much needed renovations and decorations and staff better trained to ensure returning trade. I would at this point in time recommend The Grand Hotel for location only and personally would stay elsewhere on my next visit.

    The location was excellent. It was central to many places of interest. Trams, buses and the metro were all walking distance for day trips etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    An excellent place to stay a night before leaving Portugal by air the next morning.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were generally excellent, but there was no welcome or explanation at breakfast.

    Location was great. I was able to walk from Sao Bento station on arrival and to nearby Metro station on departure. Friendly and helpful welcome on arrival. The nearby Taberna Douro was great for a simple but delicious meal.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Porto remains our favourite destination and, if anything, it is getting even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the hotel is very convenient as the nearest Metro station is just a couple of minutes walk and it is on the same line as the airport. The buffet dinner was good and extremely good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Very central location with pedestrianised street outside and...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    heating, although we were there at an unusually cold period

    Very central location with pedestrianised street outside and very busy shopping area, good access to main tourist venues and facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Porto is beautiful. Good hotel for a sightseeing base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very noisy with the window open but really really hot with the window shut.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast pastries were delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    very good would of been excellent if the grande dining/ breakfast room was open!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the Grande dining/breakfast room was closed for our duration as this was a main reason for me booking this beautiful hotel and we did not get to see it or eat in this venue. Would of been nice to be notified prior to arrival of the closure of this room!?

    A beautiful lovely traditional Hotel in the heart of the City so convenient for everything. The staff are very welcoming and helpful especially Nelson who gave us plenty of advise of places too visit and traditional places too eat Portuguese food with the locals. The Natas fresh warm and crispy at breakfast just beautiful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Hotel in Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was, no extractor fan in the bathroom and bathroom got steamed up while showering

    The layout of the room, the bed was on a mezzanine level accessed by a staircase creating a good living room space also the roof terrace was a bonus

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    It was most satisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There's nothing that can be done about it, but the bi-level nature of the suite presented access and convenience problems.

    The staff were remarkably accommodating, gracious and generous with their time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    We booked at a bargain price and had a comfortable stay in a beautiful ciity good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were on -1 level where the décor was in a 1970s time-warp. The bathroom was clean and appeared to have a modern basin, but the décor had seen better days. However, we booked at a bargain price, and did not expect to have the best room.

    Conveniently situated for walking to all the sites, but also good public transport if you aren't so energetic. The public areas of the hotel are very opulent. There was a good selection of continental-style food at breakfast, plus some hot food. Well-lit bedroom with plenty of cupboard space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is one of the nicest to stay while in Porto.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that there is no possibility for an early breakfast is sad. If you charge higher pricer there should be some flexibility.

    The hotel is one of the nicest to stay while in Porto.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    Most enjoyable, just need to bring room facilities up to date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV and Wi fi was not working due to a problem for the whole of our stay No tea/coffee facilities in room No way of getting a drink/breakfast if you have an early morning departure (0630) so first opportunity to get a drink was at the airport at 0800 after check-in and security procedures.

    Very helpful staff Traditional style of the hotel Buffet dinner was excellent value

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    The reception staff were extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception staff were extremely helpful. The location was fantastic although not ideal for bringing a car. There were favourable rates at the hotel organised parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Yhe breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was talking on the phone ignoring their customer arrived late in the night with tired face and she kept talking for at least 15 min and i am pretty sure it ia not anything related to work. The wifi inside of building was not stable all the time!

    Yhe breakfast was amazing! The location is perfect! Close to metro station and shopping mall!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff at check in helpful on checking . Dining room staff did not appear happy or smiling
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was closed for duration as was the sunroof terrace !! Requested wine glasses for our room told there would be a cost of £5.00 in case of breakage !!

    Location .cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    4.6
    Expensive mediocre quality stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic and noisy rooms (and we even got an upgrade....). All in all this hotel is really over the hill, but if you want that experience then it surely should not cost 160 euro, which I had expected a lot more elegance for. In summary: I would not recommend it.....

    Location is good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    This hotel is in the centre of all things good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is in the centre of all things good! Restaurants, shopping & wine bars. The hotel itself is very elegant with a reception and bar area that is simply gorgeous. The rooms are small but nice!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Restaurant where we had breakfast it is just amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom is like from 3*hotel. Very basic like for the price we paid. You just wanna go to bed there but not spend time. We actually went for an hour to lobby with laptop, rather than stay in the depressin room (not much day light)

    Restaurant where we had breakfast it is just amazing!!!! Like from the luxury 5* hotel. Very good breakfast. Central location, shops aroud, fames 'Majestic Cafe' accros the street. Helpful staff at the reception desk. You can pick parking in the hotel for 10€ or they have deal with other place 6€/24h

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    It's a rather tired nice hotel, they've maintained...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too tired and pillows far too large

    It's a rather tired nice hotel, they've maintained the main areas and the staff were nice but the room was tiny, poorly decorated and very worn out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.8
    Overpriced. Porto has far better for far less.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelling with carry-on only, I was more than happy to take it to the room myself (on the same floor as, and scarcely a 20m walk from, the front desk). That was not to be. The staff at the desk insisted the porter would bring the bag to me, never mind that I wanted things in it, and that it was *right there*. And so I waited. For 20 minutes. Until I went to get the bag myself, at which point the porter wouldn't hand it over, and insisted on walking up the corridor with me, coming into the room, and putting it on the suitcase stand. There's service, then there's stupidity and inconvenience. Two of the pillow cases on the bed were dirty (not just used, there was visible dirt). The bathrooms are dated and not enormously functional. The shower plug was blocked, and the shower was enclosed by a cheap and dysfunctional shower curtain. The room itself was a bizarre split floor room. On the lower level was the bathroom, a sofa and wardrobe. On the upper level was the bed. As a result the room was very spacious (because the ceiling is double height for 60% of the floor space) but not in a particularly useful way. The ceiling and walls were thin. From early morning (~6 am) I could hear people moving about on the level above, and pipes in the walls (including immediately behind th bedhead) ran all night. Rooms 1-7 run along the corridor to the breakfast room, and so from 7am there's noise from people making their way to breakfast, too. I reserved the day of my stay at a discounted rate (or so Booking.com would have me believe, but I'd be surprised if this place ever sold at its standard rates). At that discounted rate I was disappointed. Had I paid the rack-rate, I would be livid. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless you're paying ~€110 > for a standard room. Anything more than that and there are far better options out there.

    The hotel is well decorated (if slightly garish) and conveniently located on a main street (pedestrian access only). The breakfast options were decent (unless you like cereal, then you'd be disappointed).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Tranquil Oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one coffee machine at breakfast is a bit frustrating when there are lots of customers

    Very good location in the centre of a busy shopping and dining area. Despite this as soon as you enter the hotel it's very tranquil and cool with old world style and charm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in room! I know you rarely get this on the continent but it would be nice. Also, it is pricey.

    Lovely hotel that lives up to its name; beautiful lounge & breakfast room, very pleasant & helpful staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.3
    Welcome friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room at the end of corridor, window opening on backside area, smaller than expected (as described on web site) Basic comfort. Not at the level of the cost.

    Welcome friendly. thanks to reception team.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay and would probably stay at the hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The choice at breakfast was satisfactory, but there were queues at busy times, especially for the single hot drinks machine. Not a very relaxing start to the day!

    We enjoyed the sumptuous public rooms, the helpfulness of the staff and our bathroom in particular. The location was good, as the rua de Santa Caterina is traffic free and has many shops, restaurants and cafes. We enjoyed our dinners in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect base for exploring Porto and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an excellent location. The foyer, lounge and bar areas are lovely. Loved the history attached to the hotel. A good breakfast selection is available in the beautiful dining room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Nice and elegant place in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the soundproofing of the engineering pipes is very poor - we have always heard the guest above us using the bathroom's facility.

    we have got a freshly refurbished two-storey room, which was quite cool. the atmosphere of the hotel is also individual.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.5
    Great position .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wasted gym to small it would have been better if was joined up to the out side to make a really nice roof garden

    Great position . Has history . Beeing Renavated while we were there

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Great Hotel and Street to be in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing.

    This is the second time at this hotel located at Rua Santa Catarina, it's close to everything from public transportation to restaurants, shopping and sites to visit. It's located on a closed to traffic street filled with shops. If you go to Porto take the hop on hop off yellow bus combo with the river cruise and wine tasting it's worth it you get to see a good portion of Porto.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Historic hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are very small but functional

    The location of this hotel is excellent as you are in a thriving area of Porto with shops, restaurants and bars, but without being directly in the most tourist-y part of town. The hotel is historic and has a really great ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is so beautiful in the main areas. Our room, though, surprisingly looked like a Motel 6 room. Nothing at all like the ornate lobbies and lounges in the hotel. But, comfortable and well priced!

    Breakfast was good. The beds were comfortable and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    5.4
    Hotel which have had its best time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Promises about parking where not kept. Some of the staff where really helpfull others did not care or they did not now what to do. It seems like lack of good management. I am not takinge a large group there again.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small but comfortable. Having only a short stay ... but the bonus is we will have to return.

    The location to everything. Great staff ... friendly and helpful. The hotel has a sense of history and nostalgia ... wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful surroundings and a welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows.

    Breakfast was great. The location is very good. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The staff was very accommodating to changes in our reservation when our daughter decided to join us for the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.2
    Great location but not so great as hotels go. Rooms quite small and dark. B/fast poor & limited.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny rooms and poor decor. 2nd floor painted dark brown which Made the place dark and depressing. Rooms painted brown too and minuscule. Breakfast quite limited and food of poor quality with limited choice. Staff at reception moronic and not helpful when enquired about room and a possible change due to its size and decor.

    Location. Very central and near restaurants and shops

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    5.0
    Pay A Little More and Stay at Another Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Horrible bed...awake first night with pain. Mattress topper added but was king size on a double or queen bed and hung over the side right to the floor making it dangerous to trip over during the night as it took up all the space between the bed and the wall.....very small room. Ugly renovation of floors above entrance rooms (which are very nice and very grand) Bath and shower combo meant climbing into tub for a shower. Awful tv reception and channels. Internet below par.

    Breakfast included and was very good, lots of choice of hot and cold, fresh fruit and juices, baked goods, eggs etc. Handy location opposite Majestic Cafe

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    nice central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room a little small but i knew that when i booked

    great central location shops and resteraunts right outside the door underground stop a few hundred meters

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was no available parking in the the hotel, we needed to park in other place. Our room was small and faces to noisy street.

    Great location in the city centre, walking distance to everything. Very clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    7.1
    A good location but not without its niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room on lower floor under dining room, constant noise of people moving around above. Hotel insists all our devices are a problem only later to discover their internet has failed. No apology for the false claim or advice the problem fixed despite promising the same.

    Older style character and central location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.8
    Good location in Porto, close to shops, restaurants, metro and local sights.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As others mention, this hotel is quite grand downstairs, but the rooms are quite standard and basic - but it's not expensive so you can't expect grandeur throughout! Staff were helpful. I didn't try the restaurant, menu was fairly short. Some refurbishments ongoing on ground floor and above 2nd floor, but I didn't hear any noise from these. If you arrive by metro take a while to orientate yourself - maps and street names aren't abundant and I took a somewhat circuitous route! Breakfast was good, fairly standard buffet style.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.1
    Mixed feelings about this hotel. Not worth the money but all credit to friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grand stops on ground floor. Expensive. Not 4 star when compared to other hotels we stayed in.Room allocated small and dingy and had a lot of noise from floor above. Hotel under renovation which I wasn't aware of. Was moved upon request to newer room ( loft style) but bed bed only a small double so not sure what was worse. Stairs to bed which may not suit a lot of people.

    Hotel entrance, front desk, and ground floor impressive. Grand and historic in appearance. Staff at reception friendly and helpful. Moved rooms without a fuss to a quieter room. 3rd floor better if you are a light sleeper. Location good if you like shopping but about a 15/20min steep walk to waterfront which may not suit everyone. Taxis are cheap and plentiful though. Plenty of cafes, restaurants etc nearby. Breakfast ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.4
    Awful hotel. OK staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to move twice. Electric in one room kept turning off. Shower water cycled ice cold to blazing hot while in use. Whatever you do do not take their loft room and make sure you don't book their standard room which is hardly bigger than the bed.

    Tried to resolve problems. They did deduct one night cost. Scrambled eggs were good. Nice breakfast. Zara is across the street.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Old 19th century classic at best possible location in Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a step in the corridor of the 3rd floor which is not very apparent because of the dark brown colour of the carpet and the lighting. I was alert but someone, someday, will fall there. I understand people can't be protected from their own carelessness, but if the step had a lighter band of carpeting only on top, it would be much safer.

    Location best possible - not only on center but only a 6 minute walk from/to the Sao Bento train station - and I got one of the duplex rooms which was an extra attraction.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    The position and interior of the hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room lighting is very poor. No coffee or tea facilities in the room. Breakfast to be improved.

    The position and interior of the hotel, Easy walk to Sao Bento railway station, cruise boats,restaurants and specially close to the Majestic Cafe.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Great value historic hotel in centre of Porto and extremely good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location for exploring Porto in a grand old hotel, which has kept its character The Front Desk staff were particularly helpful The breakfast was excellent Extremely good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Good breakfast selection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although staff always answered any questions and were informative then did not come across as friendly, did not smile and little sense of homour

    Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.9
    Great character in a historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had only minimal furnishings. No comfortable place to sit.

    Great old classic hotel, at least in the public areas. Room was quiet, the bed and shower were good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Period Grande Hotel in a 1st Class Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel location right in the heart of Porto, shops,bars & restarants/cafes start right outside the door.Hotel period decor and atmosphere fantastic.Bedrooms,restaurant, bar and public areas lovely. Staff excellent - received a bottle of bubbly & Chocolates for my Birthday on arrival.Bar & mini-bar prices also very reasonable for a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.5
    Good location and surprisingly cheap food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little let down with dated room/ bathroom plastic flowers etc. Felt like it's trying to be a classy joint on the cheap but I would stay again.

    Good location and surprisingly cheap food and drink. As Porto is a very hilly city. Top tip if you stay here is do all the tourist stuff heading down hill. Get the funicular at the side of the bridge and it's a gentle stroll in a wiggly line back to the hotel without the many steep streets

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    10
    It was a dream.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Due to a remodelling in the building some noise coming from workers next door could disturb guest in the early morning, sometimes beforeb 8.

    Breakfast is superb! The staff and facilities excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location in the centre of Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were some renovations going on that disturbed our sleep in the morning. Would have been better if one had told us upon arrival.

    Perfect location in the centre of Porto.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic location and amazing hotel staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Really good value for money especially considering excellent central location. Ideal based to explore Porto.

    Excellent central location and amazing staff. Extremely helpful and polite. Lovely breakfast and great little bar. Vintage decor, evokes a sense of old fashioned glamour and style. I have now stayed here 3 times and never been disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful stay in a wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a bit more savory choice at breakfast, but that's just an idea.

    Location is absolutely great, not a very big room but very complete! Lovely fresh pineapple as a choice of breakfast; would defnitely stay here again

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place with pleasent stuff. Location is really in the center of Porto but rooms are quiet, no noise from outside. Public transport near the hotel so you can travel around Porto without any problem.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Staff extremely helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room. Only 3 things on offer for hot breakfast - beans, scrambled eggs, bacon or mini sausages, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, otherwise breakfast adequate.

    Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful historical place, complicated wifi...
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big but not very comfortable. It needed some renovations and comparing with the common areas it was quite poor and disappointing. Wifi didn't work at all.

    The decoration of the common areas and the breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel pity about the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate in the hotel restaurant on our first night . Regrettably this was a mistake as it took 1 hour 30 mins for our main courses to arrive with only ten other people in the restaurant . When the food came it was cold and we sent it back . On top of this the Maitre 'd spent at least 45 minutes constantly dragging tables and chairs around the room

    Bedrooms are functional , tidy and clean . The public rooms are lavishly decorated in a Victorian style . Staff extremely helpful and obliging with nothing too much trouble .Good breakfast with plenty of choices available. Hotel well situated in a main pedestrian shopping street with easy access to the Ribiera , port and historic districts.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel in the old centre for a fair price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the TV was a little bit to small and at breakfast we missed only boiled eggs! The rest was great

    Very good located, super friendly staff and nice rooms And of course the price, surely related to what you get

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: