Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia

Poco Do Borratem 15, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-408 Lisbon, Portugal

#248 of 482 B&Bs and Inns in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1500 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    6.3
    Good location but the stairs are hell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to climb 16(not sure) steps to reach the landing for the reception. Then two flights of stairs to get to the very tiny elevator on the first floor. Very strenous for seniors with luggages. When we left, the elevator was stuck on the lower floor so my husband had to carry 2 luggages down to the reception and tell them that there's no elevator. Luckily they were able to make the elevator run, but not after my 70-year old husband had to catch his breathe and try to keep his heart rate down.

    The two twin beds were comfortable. We were expecting a full sized bed though.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.1
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first impression was not so great. It would be so much nicer if they just left the beds with the white covers and not those nasty old fashioned bed spreads. The lighting is very poor and makes it seems dingy. The beds were hard. It's a bit tired but we had a good stay.

    The location was great. The street looked a bit dodgy but we had no problems. The room was clean. On arrival we were not impressed but it turned out to be a very good spot. Wifi was repaired quite quickly. The staff were helpful. I would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    5.8
    It is not a very good deal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The elevator starts on the first floor, actually the second floor. That is you have to go up one flight of stairs to reception and then another flight to the first floor. My room was on first floor so I did not use the elevator. I had chosen the hotel because it had an elevator but I ended up having to go up 2 flights of stairs. Also in the middle of the hallway there 3 more steps in a narrow passage.

    Located just off the Figueira square in the center of Lisbon. Not the best neighburghood but safe. Restaurants and bars around are on the cheap side, not really nice. Easy access to all types of transportation within 3 minutes walk. Large room. Hard beds and old pillows. Good bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets on the stair could use replacing.

    We had the suite (501) on the top floor it was completely redone in a modern style . We had a large bedroom with a large bathroom and two alcoves with windows. We also had a chaise lounge in the room. We looked out on to St. Jorges Castle which was beautifully lit up at night. A great place to come home to each nigh (stayed 5 nights). The staff was very helpful. It is in a great area, close to everything and very safe. I would recommend it for single people as it is very close to the square with lots of activity and people around. 3 min walk to Rossio Metro and all trams and buses.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    The location, beds and linen were great. View of the city from the 4th floor was great. One drawback are the stairs getting to the reception and the first floor to the elevators. Also we were charged for the breakfast when it was included in our room rate. That was a bit disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    A very comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Reception is up one flight of stairs and the small lift is up another flight of stairs so heavy cases might be a problem.

    Our room on the 4th floor had a balcony and a good view of the Castle de St Jorge high above. The location is excellent in the heart of Lisbon within easy walking distance to many major attractions. There are several excellent restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    It is amazing place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is amazing place! The place where you want to be an owner. Great full view, cozy house, nearby parking. I’d like to spend more time there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Great location and modern room with nice views over Lisbon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our hire car was broken into in a nearby street...make sure you don’t leave inside the car to attract attention...obviously nothing to do with the accomodation

    Great location and modern room with nice views over Lisbon roof tops Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.9
    Ageing beauty in super central location. Not modern but reasonably comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No electric socket in the room (without unplugging the hair-dryer in the bathroom, or the TV on top of the wardrobe). Neighbourhood is super central but can therefore be a bit noisy. Not too bad though (A/C in the room allows to keep the windows closed).

    Not super modern but well kept and very clean. Super central location, almost everything in/around central Lisbon can easily be reached by foot. Metro station is literally around the corner. Breakfast was ok. Price is reasonable for the given level of comfort, but not cheap.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Good neighbourhood, close to cafes and trams.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a problem for my small suitcase but the lift is up 2 flights so don't bring a big/ heavy bag. We moved to the renovated section for 1 night- still on 4th floor, with city views- but I liked the older section more.

    The hotel's location was central Lisbon - so getting around was easy. The room was comfortable- 4th floor, view across roofs - in the older section. Hotel is older style, entry on the street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water, but several ammenities not working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to carry my luggage to the fourth floor. The lift (which only goes from the frst floor) would not work. Later I got trapped in the lift and had to use the emergency button. In my lovely room I could not get the air conditioner to work, nor the safe, nor the refrigerateor, and the plug in the bathroom would not stay down. It would have helped if management came up to explain/rectify these things.

    The room I was in was newly renovated, large and very comfortable. Unfortunately there were a few things that did not work. It was very central.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    The location was really good, just in the city centre!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi didn't work for me, the TV reception was awful, and the building was quite old so the lift started only at the 1st floor, which can be problematic for some people.

    The location was really good, just in the city centre! The breakfast was good, good variety although not amazing quality. Staff was quite nice and spoke English and Spanish fluently.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was very small and old and was in the 1st floor. Whilst the room was very dark with very minimal lighting. Staff were not very helpful and breakfast was definitely not impressive. No fresh products.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location downtown - close to everything you need.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms a bit dated but ok. Try to get a room on one of the higher floors with a balcony. Selection at breakfast could be better.

    Perfect location downtown - close to everything you need. Personell extremely helpful and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location. Victorian interior. Helpful staff. Great breakfast, optional at 6 euros.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was strong, but it shut down after an hour, and had to be re-booted. It looked like the hotel used a commercial WiFi package, one that lasted only an hour. It was very annoying at times.

    Location is great, near several metro stops and an easy walk to the harbor. Breakfast, optional at 6 euros, is wonderful, a full buffet with cereal, fruit, yogurt, and juices in addition to cheese and meats and the usual continental stuff. It's an older building, with considerable interior character, including an elegant spiral staircase. Our twin room was big enough, no more, with a pleasant Juliet balcony useful for drying clothes. Bathroom and shower worked fine. The bathroom had a curious half-tub, with a raised seat at one end. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff and breakfast room staff were also very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Central location very close to Rossio square
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little cramped and could do with an update Although location very accessible the area just in front of the hotel a little seedy

    Central location very close to Rossio square Easy access to public transport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Great position, decent place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Feeling of poor maintenance. Cleanness could be better.

    Good position, close to the city centre. Historical building, the style of furniture of the hall and of the common areas give to the place some charm. Possibility to store luggage in a closed room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    The hotel fell below expectations due to some maintenance issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One flight up to the elevator, which only fits one person at a time. At night only one staff person, who then cannot really leave the lobby to troubleshoot any problems.

    Quaint building. It retains some historical character.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Perfect location in the skirts of Castelo Sao Jorge, five...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the skirts of Castelo Sao Jorge, five minutes away from Rossio train station, five minutes away from Martim Moniz metro station and another five minute walk to Comercio Square, 20 minutes walk away to Alfama. The place is clean and tidy, the staff polite and welcoming. I am beyond pleased with my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    4.2
    Forget this place. For the same price take the subway out a few stops and stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old worn out Hotel, terrible bed, very noisy, my wife called it Hotel Horrible. On the bright side it forced us to get out and stay out for as long as possible which made us see more of Lisbon.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Very comforable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in room 412, which had the sun at the balcony afternoon and evening. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. This was our second time in Lisbon and would highly recommend this hotel, as it was very central.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for yor money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tiny elevator started on the first floor. There was no coffee with the water boiler, just tee.

    The room (double room superior) was fantastic and newly renovated. There was a water boiler in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Website photos were very misleading,disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation boasts of a lift but they neglect to say that the lift is tiny and is located at the top of three steep sets of stairs. We left after one night as our father was unable to handle the stairs. The rooms were moderately clean but did not look at all like the photos on the website. In our room there was only one broken socket and the air con had to be fixed for us. We were very disappointed as the location is very good.

    The location was very good and the beds were comfortable with crisp,clean sheets.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed this hoteland Lisbon. Would visit both again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fridge in room too overloaded with items. Necessary to remove some items to fit our bottles of water in. This overcrowding could have been the reason the temperature of the contents was limited. Only four coat hangers in the wardrobe. Insufficient for the number of items we had with us. Sink in bathroom drained quite slowly, probable that overflow needs clearing. None of the above points affected our enjoyment of our stay. Only written to help the hotel improve the experience for other guests.

    Room was very good. Bathroom excellent with large basin surround area. Large shower enclosure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location and clean room!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was unapproachable , no basic manners. I didn’t get the room I booked it on booking. He told me that is fully booked.

    Great location and clean room!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needed to renew wifi registration again and again. Steep stairs till 2nd floor elevator. Elevator holds only 2 persons or one person with suitcase.

    Excellent room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn’t find more than 2 energy outputs.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location in the heart of the historical and cultural life of Lisbon. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a little hard for us

    The location was excellent, close to the center and about 15 min walk to the river. room was clean and tidy. breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    2.5
    not recommended, poor quality and Rude receptionist and own there hiding rules and no vistor allowed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    i have to pay 105€ and hotel has their own rule that vistor not allowed and my business partner not allowed to come in the hotel . super disappointed and management also dont care about anything. i am highly recommended not to get this hotel . will waste of money......!

    i have to check out in 30 minutes bcz of Rude receptionist

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    You can do better. Bad hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tiny, far too small to be comfy. Felt like a bare monks cell. Window jammed in side wall was tiny and the whole room was just very depressing. Bathroom tub so narrow I had to stand sideways in it and try to use the shower. Horrid. Whole place is very worn down and nasty. Bed uncomfortable hard “foam”.

    Location is excellent close to tram28 and metro and easy walk to tourist areas. Room was quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay in the heart of Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasant smell started in the bathroom, ended up in the bedroom by morning. Was in the hallway by checkout.

    Excellent location, fair sized room, good breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    The location is fantastic, it's very good value for money, but you should not mind walking stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift is an issue; it is supposed to hold 4 people, but this is probably in the 1950s when it was first built. These days, it's one person with luggage and even then, it's struggling.

    The room we had was in excellent shape, very clean and quite new. This was on the top floor and it looks like this section of the hotel was just completed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    The location is good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was weird and under equipped. For example, there was only one electricity outlet - which was broken, so it was dangerous and hard to use.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    6.3
    I've stayed in much better accomodation for a similar price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very basic facilities, small and dark rooms, fittings in the room worn (decaying skirting boards, torn curtains) very basic amenities (e.g. no kettle for making tea/coffee). Tiny lift that only goes from the first floor upwards.

    Central location, helpful staff, decent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our short stay in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we had a room at the front on the 2nd floor. Was rather noisy for a one way street with local trams going down. Room on small side but we didnt spend much time in it.

    Central location in city.Good access to local public transport and some amenities. Able to walk around local area. Lots of restaurants in the locality. Not short on choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    What you can expect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was rather cold and you could hear everything from the corridor.

    The staff was very hospitable and everything went smoothly. The location is great. Wifi worked well on the second floor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice place. Great central location and very kind staff. Had a room with view to the Castle and a big bathroom with bathtub. Very nice breakfast. and the breakfast ladies was very kind and smiling. Easy to find from airport and trams just around the corner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The great view and amazing location! The hotel room was very clean and smelled good! I loved furniture here. Can say for sure that this hotel has a unique Lisbon style. I would rather prefer to stay here again if I came back)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location, and all you need to stay well as a tourist in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am not hard to satisfy and don't remember anything that bothered me. If you have a lot of luggage and are not very strong and hate walking stairs or are disabled, you might find the stairs up to the elevator an impediment.

    Location, location, location. At the head of Tram 28 and metro station to buy day pass you are where you need to be. Decent restaurant just next door. Walking distance to lots of things. (And don't wait in line for Tram 28 if you can take Tram 12 for a short round trip to the castle and back. The place has a decent price. (There is a cheaper place nearby, but that has bad management.) I liked both the new rooms and the more economic older rooms. It is all you need to stay and be out and about in Lisbon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Good Location and very nice view to Saint George Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes we hear noise from the street. Bad wifi in the room. Elevator is only for 1 person. Personal disrespects "do not disturb" sing. But location, view from roof room - compensate these "-".

    We stayed on the top floor in room with view to Saint George Castle. It is really nice view. Big and comfort double bed. Clean. Hotel is close (1 block) to Rossio subway station and few blocks from Rossio railway station (trains to/from Sintra). Taxi parking is just 150 m on Praça da Figueira. Taxi to airport ~ 11-13 EUR. Taxi from Monument of the Discoveries (Padrão dos Descobrimentos) to Saint George Castle ~8 EUR. Tuk-tuks are cheating with prices (can say price double to taxi then bargain) so better to take taxi. Small supermarket is just 50m from hotel - choice is pretty enough. Elevador de Santa Justa, Convento do Carmo, Praça do Comércio are in easy walk distance. Really good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.7
    Location good. Room good. But would research hotel details more thoroughly next to time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The condition of the hallway outside our room. Lots of building bits, very untidy. The hotel needs updating. Breakfast a bit basic. Cheap bread etc.

    The room. We booked a superior room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    The room was newly renovated, furnished in a modern style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was newly renovated, furnished in a modern style. It was very clean with everyday room service. The staff was very nice. The hotel is located close to city center but it wasn't noisy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.1
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Lack of an accessibility ramp - I was with my mom (67yo) and my niece (1yo). 2 flights of stairs till the lift. - WI-FI! OH MY GOD! THIS WAS THE MOST ANNOYING THING! We were at the first floor and the connection was dreadful. When I went to the reception to ask why the answer was: “IT IS WHAT IT IS. Sometimes the 3rd and 4th floor has the poorest connection (?) but usually the 1st ok.” Pity that the property knows the problem and don’t do anything. - Don’t go by by the first pics of the add. This modern and new look isn’t in every room. Our room we old fashion and dark. - We couldn’t find more than 2 energy outputs. - The breakfast is payed separately (€6, day) and there’s no Portuguese sweets available.

    Location is perfect. The beds are comfortable enough. Bathroom clean and big.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    8.8
    A place to rest after climbing up the St. George's castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The building is old and so the windows are small. Plus it shakes a little each time an underground train passes because the subway line is right beneath the hotel. There is no such trouble with the trams; they pass smoothly and are a pleasant sight of course.

    The location is just perfect - right in the city centre, next to the famous castle and close to Alfama. There is a lift on the 1st floor so you won't need to take many steps after a day walking around Lisbon. The rooms are big, it's always clean, and the staff is nice. (By the way, the tiles in the dining room are great.)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    So much enjoyed our stay here. Loved the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly challenged general room light, but bedside lamps ok to read by.

    Loved the location, and view of St Jorge Castle from bedroom. Liked the Faded Charm of this place...it had character and was still clean and comfy. Bed was very firm but we like that. Slightly noisy at night, being on 1st floor...but interesting watching the foot traffic.. Nice roomy bathroom (enclosed shower over bath) and heaps lovely hot water.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    Great central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problem with room (heater not working) that night staff couldnt help.

    Great central Location Day staff at front desk immediately changed our room when we told her about the problems with heating and bad odors.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    8.3
    The room was big and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to climb a flight of stairs to the reception and then another flight of stairs to the elevator. It was tough cause we had heavy luggage.

    The room was big and clean. The service was great, we had an issue with the shower and it was fixed on the same day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    Hotel has the best location possible in the center of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has the best location possible in the center of gorgeous Lisbon: main places of interests are in walking distance from the hotel. Rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Reseptionists friendly, giving directions, making you feel welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Not pretty, but serves all your needs at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It isn't an elegant hotel by any means. Some places the floor is uneven, but it serves it's purpose well.

    Great value, great location, 24 hour reception, comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    great location, good breakfast, comfy bed
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift should be improved (make it bigger and newer).

    It was a very good last offer for us, as we (me and my wife) had to change the hotel on the very last day (the day we arrived to Lisbon). Not so pricey, with a good breakfast and comfy bed. The stuff members were nice and helped us with all of our little requests (kettle in the room, leaving luggages after checkout because the late plane, etc). Great location, close to alfama, castle, etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    A great little find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room. No other issues.

    Excellent value for money. Near a tube station & tram stops so very easy to get around. Great view of the castle walls from the balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, gorgeous breakfast, super staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    absolute only drawback: bed a bit too hard.

    The attention to details in the furnishing and decoration of the room was great, even if the bed was a bit too hard for our liking. Huge room with private bathroom, extremely clean. Breakfast to die for! Unfortunately neither staff nor owner speak much English (or French) but they are attentive and eager to help. I thoroughly recommend this pension.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money I guess.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't realise that our breakfast wasn't included. I thought it was included from the wording on my booking. If I had known I would have avoided it because it was horrible. Ended up going out to get another one. It was all industrial.

    Good value for money I guess. It was clean and relatively quiet. The location is really convenient

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-fi in the room does not work. And the double bed is two single beds that are put together with separate sheets which results in separating beds if you accidentally come in the middle of the bed :) But I would stay here again.

    Location of this place is superb, it's just minutes away from downtown and the famous tram 28. Very polite and helpful personnel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    10
    The location is amazing - right in the city centre so...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stairs are quite high, with suitcases you have to clib one floor till reception and then one more floor to get to lift

    The location is amazing - right in the city centre so everything is right there: transportation, restaurants, shops, souvenirs etc. Big rooms lots of space and air + great view from and they have balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay in the old part of Lisbon at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work well in the room

    Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfortable and clean - we stayed in one of the newer rooms. Bathroom a little on the small size although fine for a few nights stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Friendly, clean, comfortable and perfect for what I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely staff at reception desk, very friendly and helpful, stored my luggage here for hours after I'd checked out, in a great location, bathroom was a good size and had a bath and shower combination, breakfast was nice, your usual continental buffet style of tea & coffee, breads, cereals, cakes, meats etc. only needed to stay for one night but would have been happy to stay longer.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is a Very friendly environment in the hotel, the hotel staff is always ready to help you and make your stay pleasant. Location is very convenient, easily access to other parts of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Hostel who know how to deal with problem, we have a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Poor breakfest, I know it is a "Portugese" style, but I don't like "sweet" breakfests. also no vegetables.

    Hostel who know how to deal with problem, we have a little one, but personel deal great job - that's way I do not write hat was the problem (those sometimes happenes) Also, Hostel has a great localization - great view for a Castle hill, and good comunication, comfortble bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    4.6
    WiFi doesn’t work in any of the rooms, they said it’s...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi doesn’t work in any of the rooms, they said it’s usually not a problem but the hotel has 5 floors. We were on floor 2. I saw multiple occupants in the lobby all night using WiFi and they said it didn’t work in their room either. Also the shower was broken when we were there. Terrible value for the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.9
    we were able to do a lot of sightseeing from this wonderful central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lots of street noise on lower floors from cars,streetcars and people. Not a lot of staff to help with luggage ect. The wifi in the room was not always working so had to go to the lobby downstairs.

    the location . central to transit and squares and old town. within walking distance of train stations. restaurants close by. bedding comfortable and linens changed daily. An old hotel with lots of character.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Good price and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Great location, easy check in and luggage drop off facility. Helpful staff. Room very nice and clean, large new bathroom. Great view of S Jorge castle from our window. Would have liked to stay longer, but they were fully booked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.1
    Perfect location, small and outdated room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They have 60 pictures on Booking of which the first 40 doesn't show the real room where we stayed. So check the rooms on picture 41 and after, this might be your room!

    Perfect location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Helpful staff on main desk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was a little too hard Air con a little too noisy

    Helpful staff on main desk Central location perfect Top floor room gave us a great view of the castle

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Totally satisfied. I would most definitely recommend it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although renovated the building still seems old. The lack of elevator to the 1st floor.

    The location was perfect. And the stuff was amazing and really helpful (even for post-trip queries).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant stay at a superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A modest old town hotel with a superb location. You can easily reach from the airport by metro, for it takes only a few minutes' walking from the Rossio metro station. Hotel seemed a bit worn and tired at first glance but our room was comfortable enough with an effective air conditioner, TV set, safe and a bed with clean sheets. Breakfast was average and served in a tiny room that one may find it frustrating, it was OK for us, though. Hotel is also close to Rossio train station from where you can easily travel to Sintra. Praça do Rossio, Praça da Figueira, lively Rua Augusta and many touristic attraction sites and fancy restaurants are all within short walking distance. I think Grande Pensao Alcobia is a good choice to explore Lisbon and its environment.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    Perfect location for exploring city center, but quality of services is far from presented in offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More than 40 steps up to the elevator was unexpected . Very small bathroom and room too small for three beds. Smell of DDT (chemical against bugs) in whole place, all the time ...

    location - perfect for explore city center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Bad smell is a big con over all other pros!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - The BAD SMELL! Bad smell coming through the toilet all day long. The staff told it is about the river but it is horrible to wake up to that smell every morning 5 days the same. May be general problem around.. - The room was an internal one, window facing the apartment space, so no fresh air. So this also means it is silent. - No minibar. Fridge is a need to keep things cold especially in summertime. - Poor wifi in the room. - After stairs to the reception and two more to the fist floor, you can get that smallest elevator I have ever seen. 2 person at a time or one person and a luggage. -That hair dryer does not fit the renovated room, waste of time, we deserve a normal better one.

    - The room and bathroom was renovated and clean enough. Simple but comfortable, enough space for luggages. - Comfortable bed, linens&towels are ok. - Location was very close to city center and Rossio square. Cafes and restaurants close by, within walking distance - There is ac and safe in the room. - Cleaning service everyday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Great location, but with bed bugs :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately, the level of cleanliness was tragic, there was dust in the room and BED BUGS! The hotel at all is very old and with an odd smell.

    The location was perfect, the view from the room was nice (directly looking to the fortress) and the staff was nice and understanding.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.5
    Cheap and cheerful, basic with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were quite thin so you could hear people in the next room. The floorboards ran under the wall from the hall into the room, so when someone ran down the hall the floor in our room shook.

    Location was great, and was really close to the famous E28 tram line. Area felt safe and was near pubs and restaurants. Room was very clean when we arrived.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    4.6
    Good location - Expensive for very low standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All the rest: room was small, dark, expensive, a sewage smell came from the bathroom, the towels were old and thin, the toilet seat was half broken and moved around. I didn't use the hairdryer because it was disgusting with hair sticking to it. The water pressure was flaky and the shower had to be used by hand because when you put it up, it sprayed water in a perfect horizontal line above your head! Our room was on the third floor and you have to walk up the first floor to take the elevator (which is ok), the elevator only fit one + luggage or 2 with no luggage, and on the first night, we walk up the first floor only to find the elevator is not working. It was working again next morning, but would you trust it again?

    The bed and the pillows were surprisingly comfy. It was good that the property had a luggage room. The staff was very nice. A/C could be kept on even when not in the room. Complimentary big bottle of water.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Be Aware : Stairs...and Noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs! And the outside noise. I had read in reviews about the stairs, even to get to reception...after traveling all day from USA, , and with luggage, the stairs were a bit much. Then all night, the young people with no where to go, were all outside, all night, lots of noise, loud music, etc.

    Good location for 1 night. Heading to Porto next day. Very good breakfast/Breakfast Rm Very nice market around corner...and tram #28 nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.2
    In the heart of Lisboa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there should be smth to help tourists to get the stairs in the hall cause the lift goes just from the first floor and it's difficult to get there with the huge luggage

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good location in the heart of the historical and cultural life of Lisbon. Clean rooms. Good wi-fi connection. Great view from the window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    The location of the hotel is very good, close to downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds are very narrow, uncomfortable for 2 persons. The view through the windows to the interior side of the building is really "poor" I would even use the words disgusting, dirty. The carpet at the entrance on the stairs is old and dirty. Better not to use any than a dirty one.

    The location of the hotel is very good, close to downtown / old town, close to tram and metro station. The recepőtion team is friednly, helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    6.7
    Well located overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed cover was stained. I dropped a tablet on the floor and when I tried to find it, noticed how unclean the floor was and under the bed was horrible. The view out of the window was of derelict buildings which is not the fault of the hotel but not pleasant all the same

    It took a while to locate the hotel but once I had, it was very central and close to the start of the tram line which runs to many of the major sights which was very convenient. Also, very close to the Metro and bus stops. On entry to the hotel, you must climb stairs to reach reception. There is an elevator on the first floor so you have to carry your luggage up a further flight of stairs to reach it. The room itself was basic and dated. A bottle of water was provided which was a nice touch. There was a large tv but with no channels worth watching in English. A large bathroom with bath was a bonus but I couldn't adjust the tap from shower to bath so had to run the bath water through the shower head. Plenty of hot water. Requested a wake up call which was received on time. Bed comfortable and it was good to have air conditioning. Staff friendly and helpful. Ok for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: