Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grande Hotel de Paris 3 stars

Rua da Fábrica, 27/29, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4050-247 Porto, Portugal

#82 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1549 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise at night but probably because the Portuguese are passionate about their football.

    Quirky old hotel but lovely. Everything was old but suited the style of the place. Breakfast well worth the money. Nice garden area to eat in

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location on side street but close to one of the main plazas with tour buses. View from some rooms was wonderful. Old world charm. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tiny- have to turn sideways to get past the small rock hard bed. Plumbing old fashioned too.

    The olde-worldly feel of the property is very charming. You could set Poirot here? It is close enough to walk into the interesting old town shops & restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bath/shower switch broke on day 1 and wasn't replaced for the rest of our trip breakfast was a bit basic - chopped fruit instead of whole and more choice of meat and cheese would be good

    quirky older hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff requested the advance payment of the stay, and then they proposed rooms or with malfunctioning systems, all without air conditioning, dirty and broken curtains, without fridge or safe, nevertheless they have provided, following long insistence, to the duty substitutions of the two worst rooms. The breakfast offered is not rich, it is not varied and always identical. The elevator for 3 of our 5 days stay was broken, and even at the start we had to carry our luggage from the 2nd floor to the exit without assistance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rehanging of the curtain of rail, asked 3 times for it to be sorted. Never done. No choice of milk, unable to handle full fat milk

    Breakfast was excellent, very fresh breads,rolls etc . Only moan lack of herbal teas. Room clean and tidy, comfortable beds, bags of hot water The toasted cheese sandwiches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could use some talc—decor was kind of dreary and the parquet floor came up—literally stuck to your feet if you’re y walked on floor barefoot :-(

    The breakfast was good but was the exact same every day. Not even different muffins. The linens were very good and the bed was comfortable. Plenty of hot water and nice toiletries.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is so old that you can't imagine - the floor is broken, the elevator isn't working, there is dampness on all over the walls, the room's door can't be locked, the air conditioning isn't working, and so on. The breakfast is poor - no vegetables, no eggs, no cappuccino etc. This is the first hotel in my life that charged me in advance before my staying (and I've been staying in hundreds of hotels).

    The stuff was amazing - so king and good people. The location is perfect - it's close to the main attractions in Porto.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bathroom needed updating

    Staff friendly and helpful and position of hotel was very central.Also the decor in public areas was original and charming and breakfast was very good, I woke up to the smell of croissants , nata tarts etc cooked on the premises. The bedroom had a little balcony which was fun but it was in itself featureless and sparse and I expected a bit more for the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is old and quirky, with historical photos and items as well as a lovely classical interior. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the breakfast was varied and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The house keeping could have been better. They did not replace the plastic glasses in the bathroom or the paper cups for the coffee maker. The plastic glasses were very thin and cracked and leaked water. There was a coffee maker in the room but no place to plug it in. The internet was not available in the room during our three night stay. The floor was slopped so much that when you got into bed your head was lower than the rest of your body so I had to sleep with my head at the foot of the bed. The breakfast was not worth the 7 euros they charged. When we checked out they did not ask if your stay was ok. They just took your key and said thank you. It was not anything like the reviews.

    The location was central to everything we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room on street side was ridiculously noisy from bar patrons until dawn, had to resort to noise-cancelling headphones to sleep

    some of the front desk staff were very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room: - small (as described in room description) - lack of electric sockets (there was a coffee/tea set, but the bathroom was the only place where we could plug-in a kettle) - very acoustic, narrow street works as an amplifier, at night sounds from the street disturbed us, on Sunday early morning we were waked-up by horrible noise of street-cleaning machine. Breakfast is served in a nice but very cold room. When in winter I recommend to dress warm. Only cold breakfast, no vegetables, limited selection of meat and cheese.

    It is an old (they claim that the oldest in Porto) hotel with its own soul, decor and furnitures. Location: very good, walking distance to S. Bento train station, city bus stops at Praca da Liberdade and most of tourist attractions, including Ribeira (old port district). Many restaurants around. Room: small (in line with description) but warm (important as we stayed in winter), central heating + additional electric heater (we didn't use it) Bathroom: relatively large, despite small room Bed: comfortable WiFi worked well. Breakfast: excellent if you like sweet breakfast, large selection of sweets, you may squeeze fresh orange juice (self-service)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was VERY cold, almost as if we were sitting outside... which would be nice in case of better weather. Not enough places to charge phoned in the room. There is a kettle but if you want to boil water, you must do it close to the door ofthe room, in the entrance... No possibility close to where it is located...

    location - from Sao Bento on foot, a few steps from Lello bookshop, Clerigos Tower - you can get there right after breakfast, early morning, so you do not wait in long queues later... Same for evening walk - you get to Ponte Joao 1 in no time... Furniture & decor - great, stylish. Superb pics not very much different from Lello... Warmth in the room. Even view from the room in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an unpleasant smell eminating from the bathroom, probably from the drains. It did disappear if you left the extractor on and the bedroom window open.

    Quirky old fashioned hotel, full of character. Breakfast OK but no hot options. Room and bathroom clean. Perfect location, central to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try to get a room away from the street as it can be a little noisy with all those late night celebrations.

    First trip to Porto and wanted to stay in a unique, historical hotel near cafes, sites, restaurants. The Grand Hotel de Paris was all that and more. While the hotel has been around for a long time, it retains a wonderful patina but delivers on modern conveniences. Great WI-Fi. Very helpful, young staff. The area is obviously very happening with new clubs, tapas restaurants. Close to main square with excellent bus tours. The San Bento train station is a work of art. The hotel has a cozy, well stocked bar for a nice nightcap.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom and general 'musty' odour.

    a little tired and in need of refurb. Bathroom not up to scratch - shower didn't work so had to take bath, after chasing out the ants that seemed to live there!!! however staff were very friendly and helpful. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything and the hotel was the icing on the cake of our trip!

    The wonderful dining room. The history of the building and interesting artefacts. The bar area and library were wonderful places to sit. The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked a double bed. It was a twin with a small shower. Very limited coverage on the T.V. The hotel needs some T.L.C. Faded carpets. No information in the room for tourists, no information in the room about the hotel.

    All the staff were very helpful and the location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first room had ants in it. When we asked to be moved, they offered us a twin room with mould in the bathroom. We were on our honeymoon. When we kicked up a bit of a fuss they were belatedly apologetic and moved us to a nicer room.

    The room with the balcony, the period decor, the cosy communal areas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A small thing, but when I wanted to phone the front desk, the number could not easily be found (= not in English).

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They even took lots of extra time to book tickets for a concert for us. We also liked the design/ ambiance, the delicious breakfast, the interesting extra rooms in the hotel (the library!) - staying here was a real 'experience'.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only two plug sockets in the room, neither in a good place to plug in the kettle.

    Loved the old fashioned feel to the place. The term "faded grandeur" applies very much to the Hotel de Paris, and I mean that in a very affectionate way. The staff were efficient, friendly, and spoke excellent English.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy room. Could hear the neighbours on all sides through the walls. Cleaners very noisy in the morning despite my hanging do not disturb on the door. They were chatting with each other so loudly and bashing the vacuum all over the place. Very unpleasant. Breakfast selection was also not very good.

    Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the city centre, next to the City Hall square and just behind many cozy places to chill out in the evening ( Rua Galeria de Paris). It’s an old structure (some intervention to some rooms is needed), boast a delicious lavish breakfast with fresh food to be enjoyed also in their garden on summer, available books and super helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located in a street full of bar and pub. This is cool if you are a party animal, but is uncool if you are a boring person like me and want to go to bed early.

    Very close to everything you need to see in Porto. Staff was extremely friendly and nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was rather poor: they could offer something hot, there was generally little to choose from and what there was didn't look very attractive either.

    Great location and the hotel definitely has an old style atmosphere about it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small rooms and small shower.

    Nice old hotel with a comfortable bed and good staff with a great location. Close to train station and lots of restaurants.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the electricity ! only one plug situated behind a fixed headboard. it meant you had to move the kettle across the room and rest on the bed. a uk adaptor could n't be fitted to the plug because of the headboard. this mattered because i need to use a breathing machine at night for my sleep apnoeia which meant i had to run the lead into the bathroom which was both dangerous and inconvenient. we never worked out how the mains light actually came on (not immediately with the switch) . fiddling with the fusebox seemed to work with a delayed effect.

    location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    AC was not functioning well, so needs to be considered if traveling in summer.

    Excellent location very close to Sao Bento main station , beautiful and friendly neighborhood, central and close to all main tourist attractions. Hard rock cafe is few steps away.It is the oldest functioning hotel in Porto, very well maintained and with a vintage and charming look.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to leave the keys every time before leaving. My stuff was removed from the bedroom because of a miscommunication issue from the hotel's side, the stuff was prompt to fix it. There weren't many plugs.

    The staff was nice. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were hundreds of ants in the room. Yes, it was our fault that we left out a snack, but the ants were obviously living in the walls. Also, there was mold in the shower and the paint was peeling on the ceiling.

    The staff was very helpful. The location was terrific-- we could walk easily from the train station, to restaurants, to the waterfront.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was avarage, modern and boring not at all in the style of the rest of the old charming hotel. The breakfast in the magnificent diningroom was deadboring.

    The reception, starecases and interior of the hotel are great. A feeling of being in the old colonies. Very charming and good value for the money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was a bit 'tired' and the lighting in the bedroom was not really adequate but it did not affect the holiday at all. Some noise from the street as the bars close.

    Friendly busy little hotel right bang in the middle of town with stuff to see and restaurants in every direction. We loved the staff, a young team full of life. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be crowded, but the hotel cannot help everyone coming down at the same time, although I would imagine during warmer months breakfast could be taken outside

    Lots of antiques within the hotel, great location very helpful staff. Bathroom a little small but ok for our short stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a twin room and we were told it was to be a double room. We had written confirmation of our twin booking and we were then given a family room. The beds and pillows were incredibly uncomfortable, there was no tea or coffee making facilities. Breakfast was very basic and was not good value for even €7 per person.

    Staff were friendly and the decor of the building was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was kind of simple. And the hotel could benefit from some renovation work.

    It was a charming old hotel with very friendly and professional staff. The location is excellent. Great place to start your walk around Porto.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast understaffed, no set tables, uncleared tables, shortage of food. Curtains hanging off rails, ceiling paint peeling, tiles missing on bathroom floor.

    Quaint old hotel with lots of memorabilia in hallways but not as good as the photos. reception staff young helpful and enthusiastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely loved our stay in this wonderful old world hotel in the old town close to san Bento station. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we felt very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because it was warm, we had our windows open and the street noise was annoying. The birds were also loud. Although the room showed signs of wear, it was clean and everything worked.

    We loved the antique charm of the hotel. The breakfast room and courtyard were lovely. The breakfast offerings were varied and good. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The location was convenient for access to public transportation and the area seemed safe.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom very cramped, no coffee in room just one tea bag and one cammomile tea. Hotel very shabby, really only 2 star. Very noisy from other guests and washing machine.Food at breakfast just tipped on plate still with paper in cheese slices, no hot breakfast and fruit looked like it was put out day before. Curtains hanging off rail, a lot could be done to improve the hotel very easily. Lot of interesting old objects but well past its sell by date.

    Location was very good for old town and staff were friendly. Place was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More heterogeneous breakfast

    Very very very nice and helpfull staff, excellent location (everything you have to see is on walking distance), very interesting (old fashioned) interior design.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not as comfortable as I would have liked.

    We loved the view from our window, which included a charming bell tower, & lovely sounding chimes. We enjoyed sitting in the garden patio for breakfast. We were very pleased with the young, enthusiastic, friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was small with not much storage.

    Am amazing, quirky old building, kind and helpful staff and plenty of choice at breakfast. This is a lovely, quiet and beautifully maintained old guest house in the centre of Porto, convenient for sightseeing in the city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel though grand was sad and in great need of an update! It could be fabulous. The beds were hard and old! Slept okay! Bathroom clean but needs refit!

    I liked the old fashioned grandure of the hotel. I liked its situation I liked the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked the family room with 4 beds, there are two rooms with two beds in each which is nice, but one of the rooms has a window to the corridor with lights the kept on during the night even though the staff said they would be turned off. Since the curtain does not block the light we had to move the mattress to the other room in order to be able to sleep. A simple light blocking curtain would have fixed this. The hotel seems very old and there is a strange fish smell in our room, though eventually you get used to it.

    The location is really good. We parked the car at a public Garagem only a short walk from the hotel. The breakfast is excellent, really woth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly tired decor. You can tell the term grande applied to it many years ago but not now but at least it isn't a plastic modern hotel and has a bit of character to it. Breakfast was disappointing. The view from our room was pretty aweful but we were at the back so didn't get night time noise.

    Really good location. Comfortable bed. The desk staff were amazing. It's quirkiness. The orange juicer at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was expensive and not on sight. No discount through the hotel. Cost stated through booking at 12 euros was incorrect. Super hard bed. Difficult to find even with a gps we had a lot of problems location it.

    Convient location close to major sights and transportation. Charming decor. Elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rather faded, not particularly good value for money (nearly twice the price of the other two places we stayed in which were both better).

    Good location, splendid dining room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The street noise was very loud, loud enough to wake you up at night

    I liked that it was an historic hotel well furnished with antiques. Breakfast was very good with decent coffee. Location was very convenient, although that created problems. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our children had a room with airconditioning. However, our room DID NOT. Would definately request a room with an airconditioner next time.

    The staff were very friendly. The location was superb. Very pretty hotel. Outdoor area and garden was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in room, some rooms did not have air conditioning, and very noisy if your room is at the front of the building

    The ambience and the staff, and location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could do with additional choices on cereals, fresh fruit salad. Staff was under pressure to keep coffee, water filled up ( seemed to be one person only)Continental breakfast, no hot foods.

    Hotel is very old, full of character period furniture. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good location for exploring on foot. Unusual for central hotel they had a lovely garden off breakfast room. Hotel decor would be dated but this is part of period features.Not your usual modern faceless facility. Breakfast had juicer to make fresh orange juice and a good espresso maker. Dine in the garden outside for breakfast or just have a glass of wine in the evening time under the lime tress.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has seen better days and needs some money spent to freshen the decor. We couldn't get our TV to work and despite reporting this on 2 separate days nothing happened

    Reception staff friendly and pleasant, the only member of staff in the breakfast room worked non-stop

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average.

    Lovely historic quirky hotel in the old part of Porto. The building and decore themselves are an attraction. Really helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The free wifi promised on the booking simply didn't happen. On enquiring twice I was given totally unbelievable reasons. Not happy! The room and shower stall were very small and the bed not very comfortable.

    The staff were good on the whole

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in room and bathroom Floor not very clean Shower did not function well 2 out of three electric sockets loose & unsafe Tables not laid for breakfast Limited range of breakfast food, nothing cooked Garden breakfast tables filthy

    Location is good and it has a garden available to guests

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was far too small and claustrophobic and this resulted in a titchy bed with room for one person not two. The bathroom was so small you had to negotiate your way to the loo by moving the door to avoid the sink, the shower so tiny you could only get in sideaways and with considerable effort. When we arrived the curtains were hanging off the rail, we reported it but it was never repaired. The biggest problem was the hotel is in the middle of town and party goers raved and fought with each other every night and as there is no air conditioning it was either suffocate in the heat or lie awake all night listening to the drunken brawling from the street below. The courtesy car to and from the airport has been withdrawn although when we booked still advertised and one of the main reasons we booked the place. The hotel is very old so interesting architectural features but in need of total refurbishment.

    The staff were friendly and informative and did a great job.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    No AC or facilities. Heard 3 different clients ask for room changes as too hot to sleep without windows open and no rooms available away from busy street. Noise through late in the night. Get a room away from noise or be prepared for a warm room. Think prices have increased a good deal in last two years. Staff was very nice but had few options.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room on the street side of the hotel, which was rather noisy at night.

    The hotel is a nice property with old world charm, and could do with some updating. The location cannot be beat, and the staff is very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was very ordinary and they would not provide gluten free as other hotels did during our months in Portugal. the lift was very dodgy and kept breaking down..they fixed it with a piece of wood. the outside breakfast area was always full of dirty ashtrays and fallen leaves-it never seemed to be cleaned.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms, beds and mattresses not comfortable at all. Everything is very basic. No AC, no fridge. Very thin walls, could hear everything. poor value

    Location and staff are the positive points

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came by car, but the hotel didn't have an offer for a public parking, nor any information about the best place to park. After our stay, it turned out we had to pay a fortune for the parking we chose, of which the reception had said that it was "probably a good option" when we arrived. Any hotel could try to make a deal with a public parking, or at least provide some insight information on them to its guests. The service on this point was below minimum and caused us a large expense.

    Very stylish hotel, grand old chique. Beautiful garden for breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    ( Not the hotels Fault!) Our room fronted the street and there was noise through the night from seagulls and pedestrians. There was however no music noise. This is good in a city where many bars stay open until 6am. Seagulls are obviously just as noisy throughout the city.

    The front of house staff are outstanding. Always pleasant and most helpful and always there. (24 hours I suspect as the hotel prides itself on providing a 24hr. bar in lobby.) The generous breakfast time from 6.30 to 12.00. Late checkout granted as soon as I asked the day before departure (not kept waiting for the decision which is usually the case in most hotels). Good location near restaurants and bars and several attractions including Sao Bento station. Very pleasant building with interesting interior features and furnishing. Relaxing garden (with tables and chairs for dining on terrace.)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very disappointing breakfast, no cooked breakfast at all, no eggs , limited fruit

    Location although need to bring earplugs as if you have a room at the front it can be noisy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift felt very tired..always felt it was about to stop!

    The staff were very friendly, although the building is very old and authentic, everything worked! Hotel within easy walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff could be more attentive/informative

    Old world charm - the oldest hotel in Porto steeped in history, fabulous garden and breakfast room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service from the cleaners and they should have irons to lend out to the guests

    I loved the character of the place. It felt like a big old house. I had a great view from my balcony and the staff were very nice. The service was not that good. There was no iron and the cleaners kept forgetting to replace things in the room, but it was rectified when I asked. I really loved the place. It's close to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could receive better mantainance. The doors of the rooms are not adequate Passing the noise from the corridor to the apartments. Air conditioning is not good and lift could be improved. You can keep the original shape of the hotel, but it needs restauration.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I doubt I got the double room I paid for (one glass and two tea bags in four nights). Noisy between midnight and 6am.

    The breakfasts were fine and it was nice to have lounges and other places to relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Old world charm, close to centre of town. Many restaurants and bars nearby. Comfortable room. Enjoyed breakfast, especially the freshly squeezed orange juice. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room we were given was very disappointing. On first floor with no AC. We had to leave windows open through night and our room was directly above very noisy street. No tea/coffee making facilities. Very expensive for an average hotel with no breakfast included!

    The friendly, helpful reception staff. Location was good, close to old town and many restaurants, shops and attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive Bedroom choice was without window/with AC or with window/without AC (my choice) - too hot to sleep with windows closed, too noisy to sleep with windows open - abandoned the hotel after one night of two.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff in the breakfast room could have been more efficient. While we were there they ran out of milk and butter, there was a 10 minute delay before more arrived. There was only tepid water for making tea and the coffee from the urn was luke warm. We would have preferred ready made orange juice instead of the messy job of squeezing our own. Also the spread of the breakfast buffet bore no resemblance to the website photo.

    Location was good for accessing lots of sites.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Building is old. Facilities in the room and bathroom need renovation.

    - Location is excellent. We could easyly reach the hotel by metro from the airport. Metro station is only couple of minutes away and people can walk easyly. Additionally everywhere in Porto is almost within walking distance as well. (in case if you like walking !!!) - Breakfast is served as buffet type in very big hall . It is very well furnished with old style decoration. Really very good and people can find several tasty foods on the buffet. Do not miss it. - There are several bars , cafes and restaurants around the hotel . ''night-life'' street is just on the corner. This could be considered as advantage for the people who spends whole night in the area. Otherwise it is considered as disadvantage especially for the people who stays in the rooms on the front -street side of the building. It was quite noisy area even at the midnight.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door has some problem, could not open so we had to get some help from the hotel front staff

    This hotel has been more than 100years and it's still well managed, so much lovely!! The breakfast is also great, much better than expected, staffs are friendly, and the recommended restaurant by the staff was also wonderful. Highly recommended!!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: