Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Grao Vasco 4 stars

Rua Gaspar Barreiros, 3510-032 Viseu, Portugal

#9 of 16 hotels in Viseu

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 832 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    An enjoyable and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee poor, I would expect a hotel of this quality to be able to serve a fresh pots of coffee and tea on request rather than warmed over coffee in an urn and and tea bags to make tea in a cup.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Great outdoor pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Chiq hotel with a good room, breakfast and diner in the centre of Viseu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Prices at the bar (room service) were very high: 4 euros for a coca cola, while you could buy it around the corner for 1,20.

    The location was great, in the centre of Viseu with a lot parking spots. Breakfast was good, a lot of choices and also the diner buffet was amazing. A good place to drive to Sera da Estrela, very nice place to visit. On walking distance to the monthly festival in August: Feira da Sao Matheus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a 60’s design but a very good one and the character of the design was well preserved. A very large hotel with a beautiful foyer and restaurant. The food was excellent and well presented.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay with my daughter. Close to the Palacio do Gelo (large shopping mall)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All very good. Nothing negative!

    Everything perfect thank you. Staff were very helpful, room was lovely, breakfasts good. Very close to Viseu city centre and old town, excellent location for exploring and Palacio do Gelo (very popular with families & children).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very good breakfast (included in the price).very well located, with convenient parking. Nice rooms and common areas. Altogether good value for mkney.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    7.9
    Central, good amenities and everything we needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the room a bit noisy in the morning. We had a very late night and were woken by people in the corridor.

    Very comfortable bed. Extra pillows. Very nice public areas to sit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.2
    An experienced I don't want to repeat. I will check out the rooms first.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The minute I opened the door the bad smells hit me. But late at night one hopes it would go. Not so. Room 213 was shoddy to say the least awful curtains like plastic. Headboard of the bed awful. And all this only became evident after I got in to one of the twin beds!?! ... the one bed made a hole as you lay on. The sheets smelled, were old worn out and all the bedding when inspected was of same old,old. The pillows had feathers or whatever and the pillowcases were ancient not proper. Needless to say I never slept a wink. Then the bathroom. When showering and letting out the water, water came spurtting out of a hole which was in front of the toilet. Next day when I complained the manager allocated a different room and the lady at the reception was very nice friendly and accommodating which helped when I told her about the air conditioning that was so loud all night. I developed an headache. Breakfast was poor. What saved the breakfast was the settings those spacious and lovely spaces. Coffee was cold as there is no proper machine etc. I would fire the whole team of designers and decorators and spend real money in making the rooms to look fresh and light clean perhaps like the passages leading to the room. Those are great.Attention to detail for I was then moved to room 240 and it stunned me the decor again very cheap looking the bathroom's finishing touches were lacking. But the double bed had decent and clean linen bonus were the clean pillows puffed up and all. The shampoos were not pleasing either. Grão Vasco is by far the worse hotel I have visited in Viseu. It was a shocker. Lack of staff is very obvious.

    I loved the entrance of the hotel the lovely staircases and the wide spaces. A hotel with loads of potential not managed up to its potential. In the right hands could be excellent with little changes. But even though pleasing that the passages of the hotel with its large windows and light gave anyone the impression that the rooms would be same.well! No.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    For a hotel like this one, not having natural orange juice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel like this one, not having natural orange juice for breakfast and for yogurts having only coconut flavour is not in line with the hotel standards

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    6.3
    OK for an overnight stay on the way through town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a so called superior hotel, it needs some refreshing; soiled carpets and some walls in hallways. Insonorisation in bathroom was poor; we could hear people talking and dishes rattling in group kitchen below our room

    Good location, good parking facilities, close to local attractions and very good breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended for families with small children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children up to 15 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool area could be improved with more shaded areas and chairs.

    The staff was extraordinary, they really cared about making our stay as enjoyable as possible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    reasonably priced, comfortable if not very high end accomodation, attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking isn't really adequate when they have function rooms booked out to non resident guests

    dinner buffet variety was good. staff very attentive generally.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.6
    Very Very nice! Would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The inner spa had the sauna and turkish bath were offline :(

    Amazing employee attitude! We arrived by bike and they mostly helpfull! Very nice hotel centrally situated in Viseu!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Affordable hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not very glamorous, but we weren't surprised.

    If you travel with senior people it is nice to park your car just in front of the reception. The hotel is in the city center, very convenient to small walks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice clean old fashion hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower stand was broken and we could only hold the shower head.

    Close to city center! Lots of stores and restorants, Also walking distance to Viseu holspital!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.3
    Hotel in Viseu center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was kind of small, so the beds. The a/c was a bit noisy. The closet was located behind the room door in a darker place. The parking system is a bit complicated.

    Not a new hotel but in general is well kept. Very clean. The common areas are beautifully decorated. The floor carpets are new. The restaurant has a nice veranda overlooking the garden. Nice breakfast with fresh fruits and a variety of cheeses. The rooms insonorisation is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    The hotel, the room, the pool, the restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel, the room, the pool, the restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    needs bathroom restoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    needs bathroom restoration

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Loved staying there,really good.
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved staying there,really good.Everyone was very polite and professional,the amenities were really good.Will be back that’s for sure

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    great location, good breakfast,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Comfortabele and Classic
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom thiny

    Nice hotel with character and history in center of Viseu

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location, comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very disappointing... poor selection, poor service.

    Great location, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    The room and bed was comfortable and location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bed was comfortable and location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated rooms. A little bit noisy, thin walls.

    Great location!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.8
    Do conforto e da amplitude do hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Do conforto e da amplitude do hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Saw lots of interesting things in Viseu
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were content

    Hotel very central,staff very nice and helpful,we really had a great time

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Great breakfast in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Everything you need when travelling for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The gardens ,pool and location. It was a very nice old world hotel which made for an enjoyable stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, just in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, just in the city centre. Large enough pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Staff where very professional, location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very poor and not testy

    Staff where very professional, location very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.6
    Viseu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The exterior isn't beautiful.

    Traditional style. Lots of interesting furniture. Very good facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Nice place to visit the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very good, the location close to the city center, the cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Very pleasant
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was fine

    All was fine

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Second visit to this hotel we will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Close to city

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    6.7
    Good location
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs definitive a better clean hair in bath the tiles dirty

    Rest all good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    7.1
    The bed was hard has I like it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom wasn't properly clean the days that I staid and the bathroom was very old and the shower curtain smeld 😞.

    The bed was hard has I like it. Breakfast was well served and the staff very nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    8.8
    I like the location and the atmosphere in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I didn't like the service in the restaurant. The gentleman should be able to speak to the guest.

    I like the location and the atmosphere in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    8.3
    It is central and functions well with minimal number of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    You feel a bit inconvenient asking for things because there are so few staff doing the work. Breakfast is old-school.

    It is central and functions well with minimal number of staff. The building is beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    7.1
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Parking spaces are limited. I had to park on the street. Luckily it was the weekend so there was no problem finding a spot. But during the week this could be a problem.

    Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    8.3
    Location and view from my window into a peaceful garden
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Lack of wifi in rooms. It gives a poor impression of a hotel boasting 4stars when one has to pay so much for wifi access. I was also somewhat surprised by how remote the reception staff was behind the high counter ...it makes for a unwelcoming first impression, a pity because they are helpful when you can make contact but their function seems not to welcome guests but to conduct business away from 'troublesome' guests.

    Location and view from my window into a peaceful garden

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.3
    Nice staff, attentive and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast can be improved.

    Nice staff, attentive and kind.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    7.9
    Location and price was very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location and price was very good!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel.clean,great location,and staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Spa/workout room was closed.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    It was great last minute good price and I loved the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    It was great last minute good price and I loved the location

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.3
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    bathroom bit dated

    breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Very central, clean and confortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very central, clean and confortable

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.5
    large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    large room

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    The garden areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The garden areas

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    8.3
    Modern rooms, the staff is very kind, the location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The lobby and common areas need a renovation. Looks very old!

    Modern rooms, the staff is very kind, the location is perfect

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Guests also reviewed these properties: