Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of H2otel Congress & Medical SPA 4 stars

Av. Das Termas, 6215 - 604 Unhais da Serra, Portugal

#3 of 5 hotels in Unhais da Serra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1415 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat inside all parts of the property and the smell of cloro. The closing time of breakfast. Do we need to put an alarm clock to wake up in time not to loose breakfast? Really? I thought I had come to take a rest...

    Employee were outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you don´t have kids, prepara that there are a lot of them.

    The Hotel is very nice and relaxing. Has alot of spaces for relaxation. The Wire-less is very good in all places. The pool is very well thought of. And the massage SPA is excelente. Just loved it,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price/quality ratio of the dinner could be better.

    Great location with a wonderful mountain view; Wonderful swimming pools with warm water even in the outside. The SPA is amazing with great treatments. Employees are very kind. Breakfast with great variety (bread and cheese are great in this region).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel rooms are not great. Air conditioning cannot be regulated (pre-set in the entire building) and the walls between rooms are thin! For such a health-conscious facility, the bed, pillows, temperature and noise level (in the rooms) are not adequate.

    The hotel overall is great. The Aquadome is beautiful, great pool, spa, etc. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could be better for a 5 star hotel, don't get me wrong the good is good, but not up to a 5 star hotel.

    Fantástico hotel (imperdível) com piscina interior/exterior aquecida com muita oferta de jacuzzis e saunas.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The climatisation of the bedroom. It was a bit too hot and too humid and the AC wasn't easy to navigate.

    The swimming pool is extraordinary and the breakfast is one of the best I have ever had.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff’s english was limited but they were very friendly Food was expensive The pools should have more varied temperatures (there was t hot jacuzzi) Sauna were not hot (37-40 degrees) A long drive to get to it Very family oriented

    Great location if you are looking for something in the middle of nowhere Food was very good (but buffet could be slightly cheaper)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's very new and on my top recommendation hotel, back your Windows is unhas de serra and the swimming pool is thermal water so kids won't be feel cold!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the pool is nice but needs to be warmer in the winter (30c did not feel warm especially inside). I found it interesting that the guests of the hotel had to buy a 5euros cap for a hotel pool. I've been in several hotels and never had to buy a cap to go to the pool - for the price of the room I think this would be a given as part of the toilette package which the room should have. The hotel activities were very limited for couples (except the spas). Also, the system to request towels is kind of unique! They give 2 cards which then you exchange by towels - I mean, I like the idea of guests only use one towel but I forgot couple times the cards in the room; using the room would have saved me couple trips :) Overall it feels to me the hotel leans towards being a fancy hotel but it's just missing a lot of the details: - there was a bottle of water but no glasses in the room; - there was nobody at the door to receive the guests; - everything needed to enjoy the facilities should be given by the hotel and not obligate the guests to buy; - the room could be equipped with some low-cost tech which greatly improves guest experience: have a Bluetooth speaker so we can connect Spotify and/or a chromecast so guests can stream to the tv! - they could even beyond and have a sweet to the couples or something else for the families waiting in the room :) Hope this feedback makes sense and the hotel only gets better from here.

    The staff was amazing. Initially got a room with twin beds but I asked for a room w/king size and the reception lady was prompt to address my request and give me even a better room. Also, the spa people were nice and very careful about our session. The hotel is located in a rural area which may have its pros and cons but personally, I liked it because I was looking for a quiet and peaceful place. Around the hotel, there is a restaurant I strongly advise: "A Lenda do Viriato". Overall I liked the hotel but I think is a bit expensive for what it's. If you have kids it may be a good option since they have a nice aqua park inside of hotel which extends to the exterior with heated water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price range is high for the hotel room fee and it lacks a little bit of charm and a personal touch. The expectations were high and I didn’t quite understood the target market, Family or romantic spot? Obviously it depends on your personal situation but for me it’s not clear and we were there to relax and with a lot of kids running around crying not the spot I would choose for a romantic weekend again.

    The bed it was really comfortable and the staff was very helpfull. The aquadome is really nice and relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa/pool is accessible daily for a fee, which means that if you are staying at the hotel and checking in only at 16H00, as per their rules, once you arrive at the pool it is completely full since people who pay the daily fee go there earlier. This means that we paid for hundreds of euros only to arrive and not have a single bed available at the pool. We had to stay in the inside facilities the whole time. It is also not advisable for couples since it is targeted to families and there are mostly children at the pool.

    Nice pools, but extremely overcrowded.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough towels in the room for a luxury hotel and no English translation in literature No iron or ironing board in room. As an older couple we like to be well dressed and look forward to pressing our garments

    Quiet setting with rugged mountain view which would be spectacular in winter. Indoor/outdoor thermal pool was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need a larger and with more options "lunch restaurant" by the pool.

    Almost everything was pleasant as expected. The Hotel concept is a in door /out door water park with Spa and Hotel included and deliver all that. Water temperature above 30º. Nice. Good dinning restaurant with "A la Carte" and Buffet options.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Everything was great!

    Great experience. Very competent staff and lovely facilities. Great breakfast and the buffet dinner was good too. I will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The musician on the bar at night....

    the location, tranquility, the views,. The bufet for dinner us good., and a good breakfast. The swimming pool an all the space around was very god and clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the price is high and the temperature off the rooms was very warm, is impossible to low the temperature, you have to open the room window to cool down.

    The thing I liked more was the pools complex, the water are warm and is great to use the outside pool. The breakfast is good and have a lot off vaerity

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi signal is poor to none in the room. Which makes it very good to rest.

    The thermal pools are great. The hotel restaurant has very good offering and staff is very kind. The view of the surrounding mountains during the winter is amazing.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given the price, the breakfast could be enhanced.

    Excellent location with a amazing facilities, particularly in relation to the water park and SPA. Great for families. Will definitely go back!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cost of meals is a bit excessive. The wireless internet doesn't work and there's poor mobile signal. (I believe they are improving their wireless)

    The Hotel itself is excellent. The SPA is excellent as well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, it's a very good hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As piscinas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great decor. Great location. Amazing spa. Friendly staff. It’s always a great place to relax.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excelente local

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The concept is different and nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    .

    .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy room keepers.

    Clean, big and comfortable room. Great SPA facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have booked a longer stay

    Plenty of things to do.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better

    Confort, decorations, staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of accommodation

    Pool -room - food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, it's a bit pricey, however it's worth it for the service provided.

    Everything, from accommodation to spa facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast starts too late.

    This is wonderful location in the middle of nature. Excellent facilities for leisure and relaxation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place, great staff and lovely dinner and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air-conditioning in room

    Excellent pool with hydro-massage

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from saturday evenings event that lasted until 1:30 am !!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    piscina

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piscinas e spa

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service : alfaces mal lavadas !

    SPA. PISCINAS. ZONAS DE ESTAR. LOCALIZAÇÃO. PÈQUENO ALMOÇO. SIMPATIA DO STAFF

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible Wifi network, room unprepared, poor buffets especially deserts (never got to taste strawberry they always run out before I reach the desert). If you have two babies this is not the best place to be in, had to upgrade to a suite and could only have one extra baby bed...

    Swimming pool is great, that is what the hotel has to offer

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food, the staff, the acquadome, the rooms, everything is just great! Me and my wife, we honestly wonder how this hotel isn't already 5 star graded. We consider ourselves a bit picky when it comes to hotels, so this being our second time here, it makes this a very special place. Our favorite hotel in Portugal! And we intent to come here more often!

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Family with young children

    I like all except the concept to some persons go to the meals without normal clothes. The smell in rooms wasn't pleasant they have humidity and seems the hotel need a maintenance Food isn't Good for the price

    I like the swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The temperature of the rooms is too high. I had to ask twice to disassociate the heater. The cleaning of the pools and all the SPA utilities fall short. I did not see daily maintenance happening in the pools. The occupancy rate is so high that cleaning the floor loungers should be a priority, should be constant. the breakfast contrasts negatively with night dinner buffé.

    Overall I enjoyed that. I want to emphasize the friendliness of the staff. The buffé dinner is very good. The hotel's atmosphere is fantastic highlighting the nature of the Serra da Estrela.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For this kind of hotel the breakfast should have more healthy options. The restaurant menu should also have more of this kind of options. The envirement of the hotel should be more explored with walks

    Staff simpathy, the amazing facilities

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast should have had more Fresh fruit & coffee was not a great quality. A-la-cart salads great, but the main courses fine but not as great as the hotel. Buffets good & good price but ok quality. Restaurant & front desk staff good but could offer more info. To 1st time guests

    Huge indoor/outdoor pools with 3 story windows to mountain scene. Full service medical thermal spa-take the free tour before choosing fr a large menu of massages or therapy. Comfortably warm water. The Vishy with 4 hands is an intense delight! Well trained caring spa staff! Beautiful, comfortable rooms with equally beautiful views. Upper floors have even better views & balconies. Spa staff great. Buy your "mandatory" bathing cap there reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had lunch in the hotel and were a bit disappointed with the buffet.

    The location and aqua dome. Also the spa was good with excellent massages and really kind staff.

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The jacuzzi is not hot and apparently they keep it at 33 degrees. I found the saunas also not hot enough so the spa was a bit disappointing even though it physically is an amazing place.

    The view was beautiful, the design of the building gave one views from all angles. The staff was great, I felt very welcomed. The breakfast was fantastic with good healthy options of brown breads.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet signal not good and lightening in room very dim.

    Everything was great! Spa, relaxation, breakfast, Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personal belonging desapear in the room

    SPA

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The price is too high in my opinion. I ususally stay in 5* hotels and I'm used to pay reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Aqua Dome

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    jornais do dia tardios dress code ao jantar demasiado informal

    tranquilidade

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Não gostei da música na piscina, num local tão sossegado.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Piscinas fantásticas!

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Muitas crianças, muito barulho, pequeno almoço fraco e em que a partir das 9h não repõem o que acaba... Staff pouco amistoso.

    Localização e SPA

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    SPA was fabulous. Breakfast with great variety. Friendly staff. Location. Facilities. Decoration.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water is too cold sometimes such as the common areas and the ambience.

    Great facilities, staff and food.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    High price.

    Everything.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: