Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herdade da Matinha Country House & Restaurant

Cercal Do Alentejo, 7555-231 Cercal, Portugal

#1 of 5 hotels in Cercal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 339 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 57

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was going through some construction works. Improvements in the room would be valued.

    The dinner was great. Good breakfast. Children friendly. Nice staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sink leaked and our wet towels were left in the room with no extras given. Swimming pool out of use for some of the day because of photo shoot. Dining and lounge areas chilly. No bread for 8 am breakfast.

    Location was good. Decor was very attractive and unusual. Staff were attentive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Exceptional Boutique Hotel, a lot of charm and elegance, with unique style and design. A refreshing atmosphere, more like a private place, with a lot of taste and convenience. Congratulations also to the team, which made our stay a memorable event.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I honestly cant think of anything.

    This place ticked all our boxes! We loved its remote location, the pool, breakfast, dinner, staff, our little 'cottage' and its proximity to beaches and villages. Martha and Joao were ever so helpful and al other staff members were so attentive. Our girls loved looking after the horses and chickens and the pick-your-own oranges. Staff were so nicw with our girls (6 and 7). We would definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unpaved, potholed road, not good on a winter, rainy, day. The room was in one of the older, renovated houses and, despite the AC at full power, it was not comfortable in the cold weather. The room could be cleaner.

    Excellent lounge area in the main building, and the restaurant is very good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is a dream. If you're looking for a quiet country retreat, this is your spot. It is beautifully decorated -- the art is colorful, the decorations unique and tasteful, all the bedding is comfortable. Easily the best breakfast I had in Europe. I can't wait to come back to this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We had a wonderful time in the tastefully decorated Matinha Country House. The breakfast was amazing, the staff super friendly and the dinner delicious. It's a very quite spot in Alentejo with nice beaches nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is waaaay out there and would take 20 minutes by car to get anywhere and an extra 15-20 minutes to get to beach towns around. It is not close to anything. You will need to drive a long, bumpy dirt road to even get on the property. It is quite sleepy when you do. There are no real activities, so you'd better be willing to drive to do anything that doesn't involve paying for a yoga session or a massage. There were apparently picnics, but we didn't bother. When you drive from the airport, there isn't much scenery and not many bigger towns around. We chose this place because it was close to beaches. They're pretty beaches, but all towns around there are pretty sleepy. The plus side is that the restaurant on site is gourmet, but you'd have to be willing to pay the price for only two options each night. Quite expensive lodging and dinner for the area when you can get gourmet meals at restaurants in Lisbon for half the price.

    If you are looking for a retreat, this would be a good place to meditate. Staff was amazingly friendly and the breakfasts were some of the best we've had at a hotel on the flip side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rental car is absolutely mandatory to discover the region, we drove a lot during our stay - don't be afraid of dusty paths!

    Small heaven on earth - everything is perfect : room, nature, staff, wine, breakfast, swimming pool. Time literally stops there - highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The road to the Herdade is a bit of a challenge and I was a bit worried to get a flat tire, should have a heads-up for the choice of vehicle or the additional insurance at the rental car :) Also the times for serving dinner could be a bit more flexible as there were a couple of families with small children and not everybody is on Portuguese dinner schedule. Maybe dinner from 7-7:30 could be helpful...

    The mood and vibe of the Herdade da Matinha is fantastic. We were traveling with a small child (3years) and asked for a king size bed which we got thanks to the nice staff. You can enjoy the beautiful Alentejo sunset from the room (at least the one we had), go see some horses and enjoy nature at it's best.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at dinner time wasn't great, AND it was expensive. We loved everything else.

    The house is a peaceful haven, its creative, colourful and a pleasure to be in. The bed was very comfortable too. There were great activities to do (yoga and horse riding for example) but unfortunately we didn't have the pleasure of doing any of them as we explored the area by car instead. The pool looked lovely but it was a little too cool in the morning to go in. We were disappointed with the food at dinner time, it just wasn't delicious so neither my friend or I finished our meals. Breakfast on the other hand was one of the best spreads I've ever seen. It was all laid out so beautifully, even the juices were all freshly squeezed. The breakfast was more than a 10 out of 10. All in all it was an amazing experience, I would highly recommend it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was far too high for the small box of a room we had. The level of service in the room wasn't really high enough for the price we paid either. Rooms weren't turned over until late afternoon, bathroom supplies weren't always replenished, rubbish not taken away etc. Little things you'd expect when paying 250€ a night.

    The staff at reception were extremely friendly & helpful - this really made our stay enjoyable. We also loved the big breakfast and the communal areas. It's nice that they offer activities like yoga & horse riding and the location makes for a peaceful, relaxing stay (you definitely need a car though).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The size, shape and facilities of each room really, really differed. Had our room been a bit bigger or with more window space, it could have been a very different stay for us.

    The breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner is not included but available. The food was good, but could have been better. Restaurants are a bit of a drive. Also, the nicest beaches in the area are about an hour by car.

    Exceptionally beautiful inn where they go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable. Since I told them in advance that I was gluten and lactose-free, they had freshly baked bread along with cereals and soy yogurt available—that was in addition to the cheeses, meats, jams, etc. that are included with the daily breakfast spread. Guest rooms are tasteful and immaculate. Lots of indoor and outdoor living rooms and places to lounge.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At this rate level charging extra for a baby cot and mineral water in the bedroom.

    The facilities and the breakfast. Nature contact (horses) and quietness. The library and pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's a quirky place, but the negatives largely depend on your expectations. Our room was quite small and basic with little natural light unless the front door was open, but that made for some very long and restful sleep (despite slightly lumpy pillows). We only ate dinner at Herdade once, and thought it was on the expensive side for what it was, but the staff are happy to recommend restaurants if you fancy a trip out - A Choupana in Vila Nova Milfontes was fantastic. It's a very family-friendly place, so ideal if you have small children - perhaps less so if you're bothered by the occasionally very noisy breakfast time!

    Herdade da Matinha is set in incredible Alentejo countryside. We spent four days unwinding after Lisbon, surrounded by wild rolling hills, rock roses, fragrant eucalyptus, lavender, fig trees, birds and the hum of insects - you might want to pack anti-histamines if you're a hayfever sufferer! The staff were extremely helpful (providing some great suggestions and a parasol for the beach), breakfast was great and we loved our evening horse ride on the property's expansive grounds. The Herdade is well-located for trips to the nearby coastal towns and beaches and the long private road was absolutely fine even in our tiny hire car...we didn't tire of the view and evening light.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Wonderful place, amazing setting off the beaten path. Excellent food at their own restaurant (set menu), great breakfast. Friendly and very helpful staff. I'll definitely go back!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, and this is a first for us.

    If you are looking to relax in the middle of nature and you want to enjoy the best service then this is the place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfully relaxing retreat in a country setting, 15 minutes from an absolutely beautiful beach. Delightful rustic charm. Cozy rooms, awesome breakfast and food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Portugal has excellent food and wine to offer for an incredible value compared to the rest of europe It was our last evening in Portugal and we did not ask the price of the menu. The food was delicious but I was not so hungry so I just wanted a starter. My husband had the menu which was 38 euros, starter main and dessert. I was happy with just my starter but the server insisted that I take a dessert, I said I do not want it, but if you insist I will give it to my husband. We did not want to insult her either. In the end my starter and the extra dessert thst I did not want but that my husband ate was 28 euros. Next time it would be best if they just tell you the price of the menu and the starters, this way there is no misunderstanding. The place was beautiful and the food was good but we were just surprised!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I couldn't stay longer:(.

    This is a quiet retreat in the country side. It is a place to relax, read a book, hike, do some yoga, or take a dip in the pool. Also, if you like to horseback ride, this is paradise as they have beautiful trails and an amazing guide/ instructor for kids. The owners have clearly put lots of thought into every detail. The artwork is wonderful. Nice places to sit and relax everywhere. Fantastic breakfasts. A wonderful place to unwind relax and enjoy the sights, sounds, and beautiful smells of nature all around.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small room. Internet pictures much more beautiful compared to actual site. Food overpriced. Rooms pricey for quality/ cleanliness/ service.

    Nice garden. Great hiking trails directly at the property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To have to leave...

    The property is awesome. The family rooms are spacy and have wonderful terraces to chill outside. Every corner is carefully thought to be welcoming and comfy. There is much love and effort put into it. The staff are incredible welcoming and friendly and super available. Tiago, Sónia and entire staff exceed themselves. There is a horseriding teacher for a workshop with the kids and horseriding up the hills available for adults. The pool is big enough for the guests and it was fully booked. There is plenty of outdoor space for kids to enjoy the pleasure of playing outside. Food options in the property also very good but my favourite was the breakfast. The smell of the oranges in the garden is just blissful. We must come back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything.

    This amazing place is like stepping inside a Matisse painting but with all the comforts of a luxury hotel and the nourishment of a top foodie restaurant. They have thought of everything here and added whimsy, charm and beauty by the truckload. There is no other place like it in the world, and I cannot wait to return. It's the kind of place you will want to stay longer, so make sure you give yourself some time to linger. There is yoga, horses, a pool, hiking, and did I mention the food? The bed was like a dreamy cloud, and there were books and magazines everywhere and common rooms in the main house where you can lounge and relax. I will be thinking about this place for the rest of my life and waiting for the next time I can return.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small It's on a looooong and bumpy gravel track - quite a journey to the beach Yoga expensive

    Lovely design Super relaxed vibe Amazing pool Beautiful gardens Lovely breakfast & awesome salads Comfy bed Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was honestly perfect

    A sanctuary for those wanting to escape into nature, feed your soul with the surroundings and eat the most delicious food. Wish we didn't have to leave!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled very bad because of humidity, when I complained the owner said she was sorry but since it's a old house she couldn't do anything about it!it was like sleeping in a garage and definitely didn't look like a 150€/night room!

    Amazing breakfast.Common areas beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture and decoration, most from Ikea, thus not showing the Alentejo’s typical patterns.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms need to be renovated

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Simple but authentic

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Breakfast and lunches, the art work, layout, public rooms, pool, proximity to walking trails

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3km dirt road, room too small

    Staff, decor, peaceful, great breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, beautiful surroundings, very unique, fabulous food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact you can book and secure a reservation with an AMEX card and then on the location they don't accept AMEX.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - wish we'd stayed longer

    Beautiful and peaceful place, high quality finish and very friendly staff - lovely place to escape the world

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, but I loved the birds singing all the time I feel in peace

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy big beds, great showers. Lovely staff & excellent food

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plenty of space, beautiful,peaceful location and a very friendly welcome.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners of this hotel have given a lot of care about every detail of this property. What a great place!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower not working for 2 days. Food mediocre for price (39euro for dinner pP). internet sloooooow.

    Nice area/hiking trails

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horse walk! Amazing view!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner was great but expensive.

    Decoration was fantastic; common areas were confortable and cosy. Lots of nice paths to walk around the area!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plush. Walked there along the Rota Vicentina. Top quality meals Terrific bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is ammazing, the food is really good and the staff is like family!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing!!

    everything from the facilities to the staff to the food was superb.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything is perfect. Beautiful location and area, very good breakfast and diner and best service (many thanks to Anne). We really enjoy every minute of our stay. The kids love the horses and the lovely dog.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Too expensive for the offer. The dinner was delicious (very expensive) but when we left the room, we were smelling food. Our room was smelling humidity. The breakfast was weak, missing more fresh fruit options and some healthy cereals, soya milk.

    Location. Very pleasant farm.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Too long access (>3Km) without adequate road; no Wi-Fi in most rooms and no TV in the rooms Breakfast very very good, but diner is not excellent

    Quietness, comfort and sympathy of the owners and all the personal Good taste in the decoration of the ambience

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rather overpriced for what you get - really targeted at the moneyed classes who want some peace and quite. Better for families with older children rather than toddlers. The access road - a 3km rough track through forms and woods - is a joke - don't bring a low-slung sports car!

    Great staff and ambience. Genuine attempt to have a 'designer' accommodation in a secluded, peaceful retreat. Real communal atmosphere, nice facilities. Food and the wine list outstanding. The owner is a wine enthusiast and this shows in the wine list he has created. Swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not having enough time for a horse ride

    What an incredibly beautiful place! Super stylish comfort and such an oasis of calm you can't help but slip into a coma! A perfect mix of a chic boutique hotel and a nature reserve.

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked almost everything at this proeprty out in the Country. Both active and relaxing pursuits on offer. The staff were excellent. Will stay here again for definite !

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast good, dinner dissapointing, not as it advertises on the website, which gives an expectation of a gourmet experience. This is not, food preparation lacking in basic skills,needs to be much much better.

    Quiet, peaceful, natural surroundings.Sounds of the birds and goatbells.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything. We were treated like family. (In the best way.) The host and hostess and all the other fantastic employees could not have been kinder or more interested in our comfort. The setting is gorgeous, the room very comfortable, and the food delicious. We hope to visit again some day.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderfull staff, warm and cozy decoration, excellent food and good wine selection. Perfect to enjoy the nature.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Amazing breakfast, all very well decorated, horses and the teacher

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 57

Guests also reviewed these properties: