Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herdade De Vale Covo - AgroTurismo

Cx Postal 1348 Corte Sines, 7750-311 Corte Sines, Portugal

#1 of 1 hotels in Corte Sines

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 32 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 9

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Recommended for energetic walkers who are happy to be surrounded by nature.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was perfect for getting away from it all, a real off the beaten track retreat. The bumpy, dusty track to the house is well worth it. The house stands high surrounded by the slopes that are farmed for aromatic herbs and shrubs - lavendar, rock roses, fennel, rosemary, thyme. When we were there in mid May a lot of the herbs and wild flowers were in full bloom. (Make sure you remember your anti-histamines if you get hay fever.) Plenty of uninterrupted tracks for walking, some quite steep so you get a good work out whilst enjoying the views. Great if you're into wildlife photography, plenty of butterflies attracted to the herbs as well as quite a number of birds. You might want to stock up on picnic stuff at the supermarket before heading into the hills, the nearest one is at Mertola (about 12km). Francois made us feel very welcome and at home, taking time to show us the distillation process etc. We are already thinking about our next visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Happy doing nothing in natural surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing ....

    A truly peaceful place with magnificent views of the surrounding countryside. The owner couldn't have been more helpful and made our stay an excellent experience. Don't expect a load of facilities, this isn't a high rise apartment block. But enjoy the breakfast, wander around the paths leading to the river and make sure you take a dip in the swimming pool where you can float amongst hills and sky. If you're the sort of person who doesn't like the adventure of driving down a 4 kilometer dirt road (with wonderful views all round) then Herdade de Vale Covo isn't for you: but if you enjoy wild flowers, birds and complete relaxation in peaceful surroundings then don't miss it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    Francois was a wonderful host. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Francois was a fabulous host. He was so calm, helpful, interesting & made our stay wonderful. The setting is so peaceful, tranquil & quiet. We loved it, wish we'd stayed longer & would definitely return! The property is very secluded so a car & arriving in daylight would be recommended. Everything was spotless, refreshing pool & breakfast lovely simple local produce. Francois has done amazing things to his land & is quite an inspiration. We loved the honey from his beehives & essential oils from the plants/trees that he also produces. You can take the long walk down the road (he built!) to the river/water supply & take a swim. This is a simple, calm & understated B&B in the middle of the country.........so yes down dirt tracks with wildlife! This all adds to it's character & charm. Our family thank you Francois & we hope to see you again in the future!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    9.2
    Gorgeous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accomodation is an agro tourism place. This means that you have to understand that it is a farm! It is a really great place to stay if you want to be in the nature off of any noise. You accept some kilometers of a dirty and bumpy road to see the stars clear at night.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Best travelling experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staying at Herdade De Vale Covo was like to be in paradise in the middle of mountains and picturesque nature. Not only the surroundings and perfect equipment, but also the owners hospitality and cordiality will make your visit a moment to remember. If you don´t want to miss the best of Portugal you should definitely go to this place. It was the best travelling experience for us. We also highly appreciate the local products, that are served to breakfast. In addition guests can also buy home made honey and other local medicinal preparations. We have already tried them and we do recommend them. The owner speaks fluently english, he also gave us an interesting tip, which places are worth to visit and he also provided us interesting information about Portugal.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    A little paradise but, thank god, not for everybody
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little paradise but, thank god, not for everybody

    Stayed in March 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    9.2
    The hotel is situated on a hill with a fantastic view over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is situated on a hill with a fantastic view over the nature park, It is absolutely quiet and peaceful. The rooms and the house are tastefully furnished and the pool is beautifully located. From the house you can stroll though the hills and herb fields. In the nearby river you can swim. The owner is very nice and helpful. We learnt a lot about the production and use of essential oils and the life in rural Portugal.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    5.8
    the very quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast with old bread and no fruit the narrowest shower cabin on earth no place to sit in the shade around the house no fridge for the guests lots of cat hairs on the seats in the breakfast room

    the very quiet location the birding the rich smell of aromatic plants around beautiful walks around

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.2
    great walks on the property, beautiful views, very quiet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great walks on the property, beautiful views, very quiet, lots of birds

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 9

Browse Herdade De Vale Covo - AgroTurismo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: