Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Herdade Do Touril

Herdade Do Touril (Turismo Rural), 7630-734 Zambujeira do Mar, Portugal

#4 of 11 hotels in Zambujeira do Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 230 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 59

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing except we wish we would stay there longer!

    Beautiful house in an amazing location in the middle of naturean close yo great walks and a deserted beach. The team was very welcoming, prone to help and full of great tips of the area. The rooms are great with nice details, great big showers. Finally breakfast is not to miss!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Herdade Do Touril was purely a dream location and accommodation. I fell in love with HDT and its surroundings. My only regret is that I did not stay longer. The staff was friendly and available but not intrusive. The breakfast was fresh with extensive options. The pool and sun loungers were beautiful. It was like a dream.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The standard room is basic for the price we paid. Tea and coffee making facilities and a small fridge would help. Walk to the cliff top was further than we expected.

    Staff were very helpful and keen to make our stay enjoyable. There was plenty of breakfast and of good quality. Beautiful beaches a short car ride away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was so friendly and helpful, bikes for riding, wonderful pool, beautiful breakfast, and meals by the pool, clean rooms, comfortable beds, views of the sea, private patio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was nice but could use an update. they seem to be in different levels.

    free bikes for a wonderful tour along the coastline. nice hiking and wonderful empty beaches close by. perfect alternative programm to algarve coast. we stayed one night longer than planed. perfect breakfast in very nice settings to start a active day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Set on a farm, lose to the ocean. Beautiful, clean rooms with private patios, all walking out onto pool area. Friendly, helpful staff, good food at own restaurant (set menu). Short distance from fisherman's harbour and more restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deck area a bit sparse for sunset enjoyment

    Nice property.. access to ocean walk fantastic.. lovely rooms and bathrooms.. a coffee table would be nice , at least on the outside deck area ..

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They charge €1 per cup of Nesspresso coffee in the room, and then served instant at breakfast. That´s really a pisser for a coffee lover like me. But a great stay ...

    Location, for the Rota Vincentinha is great, buts its 2 km from the coastline. Breakfast was really good, exc the coffe, bed was comfortable. It was the best choice for the area, and for hiking the Rota.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dinner party on saturday (with loud music that we could also hear in the room), but luckily they stopped at 10pm. Pool did not seemed to be cleaned at all during our stay, wanted to swim, but there were so many ants and bugs floating around in there that I decided against it. Water cookers in rooms would be nice (the staff was very friendly though and gave us hot water when we asked at no extra charge).

    Great location, free bikes and plenty of spectacular paths (right next to cliffs) to bike on. Beautiful grounds with idyllic view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic place ! Room is simple but very well designed , clean and comfortable with nice touch. Free bikes are essential benefit - 15 km track along the ocean is just stunning . Unfortunately stayed here only one night - would be better to spend here more time

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Fireplace and Kitchennette
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wonderfull apartment layout. Fantastic scenery. Great location and excellent staff. Amazing beaches nearby. A super hideout to rest and recharge your 'battery'.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Fireplace and Kitchennette
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt very lucky to have found Herdade do Touril. Not only is it in a perfect spot, they have hit the mark with the atmosphere - comfy, laid back and they look after you very well. Liked it so much were considering coming back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in the beginning was slightly smallish, we took off the connecting door, which greatly improved the perception of space. The room could use a dehumidifier.

    The location is a dream come true;the hidden beach almost to ourselves; the pool and the bikes freely available for quick (or longer) tours around the estate and along the coastline; the great food (both in the morning and evening); the staff, very nice and yet not intrusive. A quiet feeling of intimate restfulness pervades the place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved absolutely everything except the food in the poolside bar. If you are looking for a design focused, rural escape this place is perfect. Breakfasts are fantastic

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was reasonable, but not reaching the level of accommodation

    Design, Quality bed, heated Floor bathroom, hospitality, swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place! Beautifull view and a nice stattingpoint to use the probided mountainbikes or start a hike. Defenitly worth it!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Fireplace and Kitchennette
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location. Staff. Food. In-house donkey.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast room a bit small

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous walk to and along the cliffs. Spectacular ocean views and storks nesting.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (mainly the bathroom a little bit old).

    Location, Farm, houses, free bikes, swimming pool, bar, breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good!

    Super friendly staff. Amazing breakfast with local products. Beautiful typical Alentejo property.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place. Comfortable, clean. Well organised.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we loved getting on the property's available bikes and cycle to the coast, absolutely gorgeous!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of the houses is in the back property, separated by a road from the main building

    Extremelly peaceful place with a great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pleasant helpful staff Lovely property

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only negative thing I can say, and even that is stretching it, is that the bed was a little hard. Lol.

    The staff were gracious, welcoming and so accomodating. Our room was not booked again the day we were leaving so we were invited to stay as long as we wanted in order to experience the area. We had planned to take the bikes for a ride but it was raining, so we toured around by car. The breakfast was delicious as was the dinner, best cod I had in Portugal. The gift of home made bread on departure was a wonderful surprise and so delicious..I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived late afternoon and it would have been good to be able to get a snack after cycling so far. Dinner was okay but a (small) choice of menu would be useful.

    Very warm welcome on arrival, we had cycled all day in the pouring rain and all we wanted to do was get out our wet cloths. The staff instantly took over and showed us to our accommodation which already had warm heaters on. The staff took care of the bikes. The accommodation was very clean and warm! The lounge area for guests was very comfortable and the real fire was a bonus for us. The breakfast was delicious especially the Portuguese tarts ! Its a charming location with some amazing coastal areas around. Would have liked to have stayed longer.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was Easter and the cottage was a little cold as the blow air heating took time to warm up and we didn't have time to light the fire. Otherwise perfect. Would have been nice to have been able to eat dinner there in the evening.

    Peaceful, spacious surroundings and the comfort of this stylishly converted hacienda. In a world of its own. Loved our little cottage with it's blue and white terrace, a 5 minute walk from the main house. We didn't want to leave. Very helpful service, welcoming us with fresh Orange juice after a hard day on the fisherman a trail and organizing the transport of our rucksacks and a restaurant in the village. Breakfast was perfect and they adapted the packed lunch to our needs. Would definately return.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complains.

    We could not be more pleased with our holidays in Touril. Everything was clean and beautiful. It's perfect for a peaceful weekend nearby the sea :) The staff is truly kind, and provide us a cosy environment along our stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful room with extremely comfortable bed and shower. Gorgeous view from our front patio. The grounds are beautiful, as is the common area with cozy fireplace and self-serve bar. Delicous, hearty breakfast. Free bikes to ride the 3K into town. One of the members of staff gave us a ride to a nearby restaurant for dinner and arranged for a taxi to bring us back to the guesthouse. We only wish we could have been there in the summer to enjoy the poolside bar, which wasn't open in February. A perfect stopover on our hike of the Fisherman's Trail.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    What a lovely welcome from Angela when we arrived! She showed us around and explained everything. My brother stayed in the main building and me, my husband and son had a room in one of the beautifully converted farm buildings. We used the bikes for a short cycle to the stunning coastline, relaxed in the lounge and generally enjoyed the peaceful ambience. Breakfast was substantial so we were ready for a days walking on the Rota Vicentina.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some insects might be able to find their way into your room, but it is to be expected since you are in the middle of the countryside.

    The staff was very friendly and polite and we had a wonderful time exploring the nearby coast on the bikes provided by Herdade do Touril. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This tranquil farm surrounded by sunflowers, with a view of the sea, is near-perfect, and our three days here went by all too quickly. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and dinners outdoors, went swimming in the lovely pool, rode bikes (supplied by the owners) on a path along the ocean, and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. The staff was delightful and we were given a gift of bread upon leaving. Highly recommended. We plan on returning!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great rural place surrounded by Sun flower fields. Charming and large bungalows away from the main building. Good breakfast/fast WiFi/good pool/friendly staff/value for monney!

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    it would be nice to have tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    the attractiveness and comfort of the little house; the tranquillity of the setting and the free bikes.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Slight tidy up of outside space around property we stayed in. A few cigarette butts around. Shower head could be cleaned.

    Location was very tranquil & picturesque. Great space for a little one to run around.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not good value for money if staying in the 'suites' - these are not luxury suites as advertised but more like basic self catering properties; the furniture is tired and old, the 'furnished private patio' of suite 15 feels more like an empty swimming pool due to the high walls all around it (no view) and the old hosepipe coiled in the corner! The sun loungers are old with damaged covers. The shower will not go past 38 degrees. There is no sound proofing between chalets - you can hear everything from next door. Staff are polite but do not go out of their way to offer help or recommendations for the area or restaurants - more keen to encourage you to book into the hotel restaurant for dinner. Breakfast is not 'delivered to your suite' as advertised but the ingredients for a basic breakfast are left in the fridge and fresh bread delivered each morning. This breakfast is not the same quality as what is served in the hotel - nowhere near the same choice and range. The main hotel rooms may be better, I cannot comment - but I would not recommend the 'suites' for the price. They should be just self catering chalets with the appropriate price - trying to sell them as luxury suites is misleading.

    Location, it is close to some lovely beaches and coastal hikes The pool is large and well maintained Pool bar area very nice with good service Main areas nicely decorated and clean Close to farm animals (lambs and calves, lovely!) Free mountain bikes (but no puncture repair kit provided...) Complimentary fresh bread on departure

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location was great. Beautiful small hotel near many lovely beaches. Staff were amazingly nice and helpful. Would highly recommend it and go back there in the future. Loved it!

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was amazing and the rooms comfortable. The use of free Bicycles to tour the cliffs was great. The staff was friendly and helpful and the value was outstanding

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was that we should've not underestimated this wonderful place, and stayed there for at least 4 days.. Although we live half way across the other side of the world, we decided we will definitely want to come back to this lovely farm house!

    We had the junior suite one bed room cottage, and it was so immaculately equipped! Although the hotel offers breakfast, the kitchen was still equipped with cereal, milk, olive oil, vinegar, and full kitchen equipment. What we did was buy some cheese and bread and a bottle of wine from the village and had a wonderful cosy dinner in the backyard, using the candles they had in the room, and since the kitchen had full equipment. Upon check out, the hotel gave us a freshly baked lot of bread as a gift, a really nice gesture. The Praia do tonel next to the hotel was the most wonderful lovely secluded beach I ever saw, despite the cliff climb we had to do, which was a lot easier than we thought. There are bikes that you can borrow and roam around the farm, and really nice hiking paths. Finally, please take a moment to enjoy the wonderful sound of the cow bells on the sunset, such a soothing and a wonderful experience.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Thoroughly enjoyed relaxing by the spectacular pool and biking to the light house along the cliff trail. Dramatic coast and fun restaurants all right there!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weather

    Natural beauty and simple comforts

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing :)

    Amazing surroundings, room and staff. Breakfast was amazing as well.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great scenery and views, great breakfast, great staff!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great experience, i will definitely come back!

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little too firm. Room was cold in off season.

    Great breakfast. Room was comfortable. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location (close to sea), really nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Few ants in our room. Nothing to worry about though...

    Nice staff, great location, wonderful scenery, truly amazing.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I liked everything

    Set up in the old farm

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Amazing property

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Beautiful property. Very friendly and helpful staff. Loved exploring the area both with the bikes and on foot.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location, pool, free borrow of bike's, friendly atmosphere.....lovely place

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean quiet and left to yourself but helpful if you required anything

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ideal location for sightseeing and visiting superb beaches in area

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff, the silence of the surroundings, the pool and the breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom smelled of drains occasionally

    General location

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Awesome location. Loved the private walking/biking trails.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 59

Guests also reviewed these properties: