Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pinhalmar 3 stars

Estrada Marginal Sul, 2520-227 Peniche, Portugal

#8 of 13 hotels in Peniche

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1050 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ocean view from the room is fantastic. The bathroom is clean, nice tiles in the shower) The bed is extremely comfortable. The welcome traditional snacks are a good surprise. Thanks to the staff for everything.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very clean but a little Spartan - quite motel-ish. The view from the room is compromised by the semi industrial (sewage?) (Military?) Buildings.

    Location is isolated and only a short walk from a great restaurant. Room had a balcony with chairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very interesting hotel, a style of its own - great place to explore the area. Friendly staff with the opportunity to pre-book a very good dinner, which was very welcome and relaxing after a long journey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need a car. The hotel restaurant is closed on Sunday. Breakfast is rather standard (apart from pastel nata, which was very nice).

    Amazing place when you like being away from everything. Beautiful view from the balcony. Comfortable bed. Clean and quiet. Very friendly and helpful staff. You can get a decent wine for very friendly price at the reception (cold and with wine glasses). You can also order dinner in the hotel restaurant - different menu every day with 2 options - when you make a reservation. We did and it was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    The quietness, the kindness, the nice breakfast. We enjoyed the views, ths closeness to the sea. Very good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property is a little out of the way. Which makes the area quiet but it is not walkable to restaurants. Super friendly staff who could not have treated us better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stuff, very unpleasant guy at the reception, not willing to make compromise concerning our decision to leave the hotel.

    Only location nearby ocean coast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no entainment. It would have been nice at least 2 nights out of the 7 nights.

    My fiancee wanted to eggs everyday on his toast. This was no problem at all for hotel staff. The restaurant food was fabulous we only tried it on the last night. It was denfindley cruise ship standards on the food at the hotel restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more bedside power plugs. Boiled eggs would be the ultimate complement to the breakfast buffet (which was amazing as it was). The air conditioning outlet was right outside our window so it did get a bit noisy at times.

    The drive to the hotel was beautiful already. The sun was going down over the sea, the ocean was calm and the hotel as a wonderful view of the sun down, even better if you have a ocean side room. We were received by a kind gentleman at the reception who checked us in speedily and informed us about some close by places where we could have dinner. The room was clean and tidy, and there were some complementary pastries as well as a glass bottle of water standing ready, which added a homey touch to the accommodation. Well done! We'll definitely come back here with my partner if we're back in Peniche!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very thin walls between rooms. I could hear the guests in the next room talking. Luckily they weren't shouting and went to bed early!

    Nice location. Perfect for sunset watching. Staff were excellent and the room was fine. Breakfast was good (better than most in Peniche).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything.

    An excellent buffet breakfast where everyone found something delicious to eat. A benefit to staying here was having the national park and coastline within a 5 to 10 minute walk. We enjoyed that very much and took advantage of walking there for some exercise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee tasted like it was instant coffee. If you updated that you would have a 10 from me at breakfast.

    Stayed in Pinharmar 1 night on our way from Porto to Lisbon. A fantastic stay that I will do from now on on purpose. The hotel was fantastic price-quality. The bed was big, ocean cliff views, terrace, big bathroom and breakfast was very varied (Included in the price of the booking) with eggs, sausage, 3 different types of bred, the classic Portuguese pastries, fresh cut and whole fruit, cereal and muesli... Just perfect and way more complete than any other hotel we have been to with breakfast included. Location is perfect. Right at the top of the mountain and quiet. Your are 5 minutes away both direction right and left from the beach and the town. Perfect to walk and take a beautiful run in the morning along the ocean cliff. Thank you for this wonderful stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls. Earplugs are needed.

    Location. Great views from the veranda onto the lighthouse. Feel the Atlantic breeze waft into your room. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Had dinner one night, good food and service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    walls are very thin, we heard somebody snored, but you can open window and listen ocean and wind

    very nice hotel location (if you traveling by car) far from a city and very close to rocks on the shore, in nights everything around is in deep fog and very nice sea smell oh yep, breakfast was good too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was too far from the city center. I had to take a cab all the time. They should have a shuttle.

    The location is beautiful but you need either a car to travel everywhere or a taxi

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very dirty!! The first room smelled like mould. All floormats gad to go straight out because if the smell, under them - dirt, sand, leafs!? The first sraff menber was not very apologetic, the one the following day handled the sutuation much bettter!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nobody from the service to take care of the breakfast and to clean the other tables.

    Nice balcony where you can watch the stars. It's easy to reach the hotel by car and there is a big parking outside.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We where there last week December 2016. Amazing quite place, great view beautiful sunny days. All staff very helpful. Certainly we will come back next trip to Portugal.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Restauration

    Perfect location and excellent service. Smiling and helpful staff. From the suit we could contemplate the ocean and the Peniche phare.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could have wider variety for dinner - the food was good, though

    seclusive location, seaview, if you book one, pet seagull on the balcony of the restaurant, big room - big bathroom, everything comfortable, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would need a car to stay here as its more isolated

    Hotel seemed like some ones folly from another era. Nazare would be a better place to stay with more things to do.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were extremely helpful, friendly and professional. Rooms were spacious, and bed was very comfortable. View was amazing, with no overlooking buildings. Location whilst not in centre of town was perfect to venture out on day trips to surrounding beaches and other typical portuguese towns villages and tourist attractions. Disabled bathroom was spacious and easy to use. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice, special evening buffet for local festival Facilities had been recently renovated and once minor details are updated it will be all the nicer. A great place to get away from the normal tourist traps, authentically Portuguese.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was nothing fresh, only packed jam and cheese noisy in the morning because of a new built parking space you will need a car to get around

    big room, great sea view, comfortable beds, quiet and lonely on a cliff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were not very comfortable

    Interesting location, clean room and comfy bed, great breakfast. Highly recommendable for a stay in Peniche

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    good brekfast with an amazing view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea not brilliant

    Location and staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money

    The location is amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice Hotel! I will be back!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views! Very nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed our stay at pinhalmar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety at breakfast, more cleanliness in the bedroom .

    Great location, and nice room view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location near the faro and an excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi didnt work in our room at all(room 01)

    Nice and clean, very polite and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning could be a bit better. We found very few hairs laying around, and some towels had some stains on them.

    Overall it was perfect!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, room spece& bed, stuff, breakfast, parking. etc..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls. Could hear neighbors fighting

    Staff service excelleny

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm Water Shower & Breakfasts

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, near the sea; The room was big and comfortable; The continental breakfast was very good. A really good price/quality relation.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The presence of a kennel not far away the hotel

    Excellent location in the wild nature. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality and variety of breakfast. Price-quality of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathroom needed remodeling

    good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Absolutely gorgeous location!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant wasn't open. It was some distance to the nearest one.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extend wifi to the pool area.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful sharing directions and history of this amazing destination.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Da tranquilidade do local

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Forest View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities need updating and it's a bit too far from anything.

    The staff were great and very helpful!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like the location as we weren't on the beach or close to amenities ex) restaurants and stores.

    The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little too far out of town to walk, transport is a definite for staying here. Wouldn't rate it for children

    Lovely hotel and staff exceptional . Excellent location for walking along the coast line.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a great view of the sea. Breakfast food wasn't very good (coffee was really burned).

    Good in the restaurant for dinner was excellent. Size of room was great. Wi-Fi worked well.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No rejects.

    The staf was very welcoming inspite the late hour we arived, they treated us excelently even upgrated our romm to a sea view when was orderd to a forest view. Tprice was more then reasonable included a breakfast. The room was very clean and comfortable. The location is perfect neer the most important point that is recomended to visit (lighthouse). I recommend that hotel very much.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First issue was the thin walls hearing your neighbours conversations and when they do toilet. Next was the very hard lumpy pillows. Unable to put heat on when in bed as it blows directly on face.

    We liked the breakfast buffet with exception of coffee.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Solo traveller

    - The table in the room was a bit narrow - difficult to work. That's all I guess :))

    - The room was nice and very clean, everything was in a very good condition, despite the fact that some things weren't brand new (as I could tell). - The air conditioner worked well and it was always warm in the room, even without heating (it is awesome for Portugal in winter!). - A lot of towels in the bathroom, didn't even need to change them. - Location - VERY close to the IPL, if you're going there, this is the best place really, the institute is within seven minutes walking distance. - A very quiet neighbourhood, the only sound I heard was from the ocean (not loud), but I guess there's not much you can do with it, since the hotel is situated very close to the water. - The impeccably professional hotel staff!!! EVERYONE was very attentive, polite and ready to help. But the best manager is surely Jeffrey! He is really the most caring hotel manager I've ever seen and literally the kindest person. I will remember his help for a long time:)) Thanks Pinhalmar for making my stay at the Europe's end a bit happier!

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant doesn't have great ambience. Coffee bad at breakfast and hot water for tea not hot.

    Great staff, wonderful location overlooking beach. Food good in restaurant. Great breakfast spread. They have us immediate upgrade to sea view at no extra cost

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    perhaps a better sign post on entry to Peniche would help as we did get a little lost

    Pleasant place with friendly staff , a small menu for evening but the quality was excellent and a very very good choice for breakfast will certainly return

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I asked if we could have a room with a bath, they never told me they did not have any. Also on arrival we asked for a room with sea view, and they wanted to charge us about 30 Euros extra?! hey should have come back to e-mail requests before arrival so we could decide whether to take room or not....

    Nice breakfast, friendly staff, location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Understaffed when we arrived and the front desk guy manned the kitchen to deliver fairly sorry food for the price. Breakfast period short and crowded.

    Location is brilliant! Such an amazing spot! Place was clean, comfortable, spacious. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There is nothing at all to dislike about this hotel or the hospitality shown to guests.

    I initially booked a one night stay however on arriving changed the duration to two nights. After a look around the fishing village and lunch, I decided to stay three nights! What a wonderfully located hotel in such a beautiful town. I've already organised a return visit!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The extra bed which we required was very small for teenage girl.

    great location if you like peace and quiet (that is if the foghorn isn't used! Staff very helpful and great swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was very slow.

    The isolated location wouldn't suit everyone, but we really liked it. The view from our room of the wild landscape and Atlantic Ocean was spectacular.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    O quarto tinha um leve mau cheiro constante que tinha origem na canalização da casa de banho. Num dia de inverno em que não se possa utilizar o exterior (piscina, jardim), não existem opções de entretenimento dentro do hotel, excepto televisão e sofás...

    O staff é competente e simpático, há muito estacionamento gratuito, os quartos são limpos e confortáveis, a vista da varanda do quarto é muito boa (caso seja vista de Mar) e os preços são muito acessíveis.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice and clean hotel. Somewhat sterile, but very clean. Nice bed. Great location by lighthouse away from main part of town. This might be a negative, but perfect for us! Helpful staff! Nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Publicity regarding Swimming pool in no place indicated only open from May. Publicity regarding availability of bicycles was false. Only available from a shop in town at prices much higher than in hotel publicity.No minibar refrigerator in one room

    Friendly and cordial attention Also very clean

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All was good

    Location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice large room and wonderful outside sitting area with view of sea

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice location, Nice hotel, à lot of restaurant in village.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    Close to City and to water

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was nice and clean, with good sea view. Breakfast was OK.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    My favourite hotel in Peniche, location is great

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    We where offerred to change to a room with a sea view from a forrest view, very nice to sit outside watching the sun-set. Great staff by the way ?

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Need a car/ taxi to get there

    The view.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    weak light at the bathroom

    location; staff

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No international TV chanels

    spacious rooms, very comfortable bed, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    location

    window view

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Pinhalmar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: