Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hospedaria Por Do Sol

Calçada Da Cabouqueira, 48, Sao Pedro, 9000-171 Funchal, Portugal

#30 of 35 B&Bs and Inns in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this is oldstyle b&b with small rooms and oldstyle furniture inside, small bed and tight inside the room. not a complain, just not what expected

    location, nice receptionist (maybe owner), common terrace

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms should be updated as they have mould and are dusty,if this gets addressed it would be an excellent place to stay as staff is very attentive

    Staff was very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only socket was the only inconvenience :) And the audibility.

    Close to the city centre and the airport bus stop, excellent window view, shared kitchen, friendly and helpul stuff, and authentic atmosphere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower head , old and needed replacement. rooms little cold as there is no heating.

    Single room was small but cosy and had all that was required for a short stay. Bed was comfortable including pillows, towels were changed everyday and room was clean. Bathroom small but adequate, Shower could have been better, shower head old and required replacement. Staff were very friendly and bus stop for airport very close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to sleep: thin walls so you really need earplugs, also a bit uncomfortable and small bed. If you sleep very well naturally, these may not be problems.

    Prime location, friendly staff, well cleaned room, good value 4 your money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hostel sounded and looked reasonable on the booking site. We have stayed in many cheap hostels in the past around Spain and Portugal but this was the worst. On arrival the public areas seemed clean and fairly welcoming although they were worn and basic. We were given a choice of 2 rooms. The one on the lower floor was dark and smelled of cigarette smoke. The one on the top floor was brighter with views over the roof tops and also smelled of cigarette smoke. We were not enthusiastic but decided to book in a see how we felt. Our impressions were as follows. The bedding was old and worn, there were tears in the sheets. The ceiling was polystyrene tiles under what seemed like a corrugated plastic roof. The place felt grubby and depressing. The shower basin comprised of 2 pieces of plastic sealed to the floor and the shower could not have been used mounted on its wall fixing without flooding the floor. We felt that it was the equivalent of a DSS hostel and felt that the building was crumbling and unsafe. For a similar rate or slightly more there are far better hotels/ hostels to be found closer to the centre of the city.

    The lady staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entire top floor smelled damp and I heard water dripping - I'm pretty sure they had a water leak. Also, the electric socket in the room wasn't connected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the hotel was inexpensive and it was in a good location with cafes/bars on the street with local prices. In the day we could hit the tourist hotspot paying tourist money and at night we could go to the local bar and pay 1 euro for a bottle of beer. Cheapest was 50 cents. There is a bus stop just at the end of the road for the airport bus (bus stop number 8). The lady at the hotel also gave us free maderian liquers over the christmas period. The breakfast was simple but adequate. You had a choice of cereal/toast/rolls ham cheese or jam and butter, tea, coffee, orange juice. The walk down into Funchal if you take the back roads opposite the dual carriageway as pleasant. There was lots of bars/restaurants (local prices), super markets etc.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A simple, clean room with a private bathroom, a kettle and a microwave in a shared kitchen. The property has a terrace with a view of a castle, the city of Funchal, the ocean - a beautiful view especially in the night. Very close to the city center (walking distance), but quiet enough during a night. I can recommend it to travellers without a car, because of the location in a small one way street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was old/uncomfortable. Room was dirty. Had the same sheets on the bed for the whole stay (a week). Shower was broken. There was a water waste pipe that ran through our room that was very noisy every time someone ran water/flushed toilet etc. It even trickled constantly all night and day at one point. Breakfast was bread or cereal and coffee was left on warm all morning.

    Lady at the desk was polite.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is skimpy, poor quality juice and coffee, but for the price, to be expected. Breakfast room a bit cramped but there was a nice saloon with books and terrace outside. Luckily I had an alarm as my early morning call (to get the ferry) never materialised.

    The Hospederia is right next to the Airport Shuttle stop no. 8, only some 30/40 metres away. It's also only a 10 minute walk from the centre along a noisy street, a little longer going down a very pleasant side street. It's also only a 20 min walk, over the hill, to the Porto Santo ferry port. If your room is at the front, the view is magnificent, I even had a balcony on my 2nd visit. Great value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean, but the mattress old and worn. The walls were paper thin and the bathroom smelt like stagnant water. Smoke from other peoples rooms was coming in when they were smoking and making the room smell of tobacco.

    The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall we are very happy about the place, considering the price. Good location, walking distance from everything in town. Atmospheric old building, panoramic views. Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast we tried just once and we decided to not risk it again.

    The hotel room was clean, basic equipt, but it was enough. Stuff was nice willing to help. Location is close by to the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no information about the steep stairs as soon as you enter the hotel. We did manage but it wasn't ideal as my husband had a knee operation in June.There was no information about breakfast or use of the kettle in the basic kitchen.There was nothing in the room not even a glass for water.The bed was basic.there was one hard chair.the bathroom was tiny.The hand basin badley cracked.the shower temperature was impossible to get and the shower didn't hook up.

    I It was very clean,but in desperate need of repair everywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    From time to time, someone were smoking in the house and though you couldn't smell it in the room itself, it was heavily smelling in the public areas.

    Hospederia Por do Sol is a nice, solid guesthouse with very friendly and welcoming people. It is an olderly house, but in good shape, but in some places you can see it. Nevertheless, this is not a complain at all. Be aware off, that this house has no elevator and that you have to go up a steep staircase from the front door to the rest of the house. If you are someone with bigger luggages - well, you'll get a good workout. Are you arriving by plain, you can take the Aerobus from Funchal Airport and jump off at SAM (main bus station). From there it is just a short walk up the hill. Ask the bus driver if you're not sure. They are very knowledgeable about where the different hotels and guesthouses are. My room was nice and clean, with bathroom and a little balcony. I had a nice view over the city and out to the ocean. It can get a bit noise from the streets during the evening hours (the locals love there motorbikes), but to get your sleep during the night should not be a problem. The bed I had was okay, but the mattress is done and should be replaced soon. WiFi worked well. The breakfast is simple but good, ham 'n cheese, some cereals, bread or rolls. If you prefer something else, you should take a walk down to the city. This will take you 5-10 minutes and there you can find a couple of bakeries, restaurants etc. So, what you get for your money, is a good accommodation for the price you pay. If you are a budget traveler or don't like the bigger hotels, Hospederia Por do Sol is a good choise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very small pillows, breakfast was very basic.

    24 hours reception, clean, easy to get from the airport and close to bus terminal (SAM) and 10 minutes walking to city center.Also close to pingo doce supermarket.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole experience wasn't as bad, but the thing that I trully didn't like is that the door got stuck and you couldn't leave the room; once the other guest helped us coming out of it (room 23) please fix the doors :) and maybe new matresses, because I felt like I was sleeping on the floor or even worse. This hostel is OK if you stay only for one night and if you are in transition and that's why you actually get what you paid for.

    The staff were really nice and we didn't have any problems.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was in a dire of renovation, the toilet didn't flush properly. It smelled like mould. No Wi-Fi in the rooms on the upperfloor. Uncomfortable, cheap pillows, and a very old, very used cover/plaid for the colder nights. Poor breakfast.

    Nice terrace with a great view, nice and helpful staff. Clean towels everyday. Cheap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small for a couple, smaller than a queen size and definitely no double bed. Also the linens had seen better days and the furniture was dusted. Though we had booked for two people, only one set of towels was available. We got more easily upon request. Parking is only available on street around the neighborhood. You might have to circle around a little.

    It was very cheap, so good for low income or low budget travellers. Also the staff was friendly and cancelling was no problem during our stay. The city center is easily accessible per pedes within 5 - 10 minutes.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In my confirmation it was written that there would be one king-size bed but it wasn't. I got a room with 2 little beds. and please change your blankets!! it's so dusty!

    Wonderful view and very friendly staff! The towels were changed every day, clean bathroom, not bad breakfast. Near by bus stop if you use Aerobus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Simple rooms with a nice view of Funchal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located close to the harbor which was handy for my trip to Porto Santo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It can get a bit noisy, if you want to sleep late morning. Before 8 am trafic and some building works starts. But during night time is really quiet. As well shower and all drain system is very old

    The location is excellent, close to bus station, marina and restaurants. As well we got a room with amazing view to Funchal and balcony. As well, they had a fridge you can use. And a terace to sit outside and look at night citu. Don't expect hotel with stars accomodations, but value for the money is amazing. Basic needs with realy friendly owners.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Does not matter what I did not like because I enjoyed myself and will go again.

    The location was excellent, the staff so friendly, Rosa and Grassia, the view from the room, superb and loved sitting on the small balcony for breakfast. It was all very basic but I loved it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The host was very kind, she gave us some tips to spend our nights in Lisboa, going for concerts and local food (out of tourists)! The apartment is confortable and incredibly well placed.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom in our room was not great, it was really dated and possibly could have done with an improvement. However, it was clean and the water temperature was great. The beds could have been more comfortable and the bed linen was really old. However, for value for money it was great as it provided a place to sleep. You get what you pay for and it was perfect for our needs.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, very willing to inform and help with public transport, tourist attractions, the best places to go etc.. breakfast was basic but good with fresh bread every morning. Location was very good, right by a shopping centre with a supermarket that had a restaurant and was open till late, and it was only 10 min walk to town. It also had a nice terrace to eat outside. The room was big enough.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sunny roof terrace with wonderful views over Funchal, very nice helpful staff/owners (especially Rosa), felt totally comfortable as a solo traveller, like a home from home

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    The number 1 asset of this hotel is the staff who is incredibly nice and helpful. The hotel is well located (a few minutes walking from the city center, and also from the SAM bus terminal, which can take you to the airport, Machico, Caniçal etc). I was impressed by the very good breakfast, which is great value for the price we pay for the room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no wi fi on the rooms (which for me wasn't a problem as I have Data but come on guys we're in 2017) After a certain time in the morning, there's so much noise in the building, people screaming at each others while they're cleaning Etc.

    This is a very basic place, which is good if you'll only use it to sleep. The TV actually had a lot of international channels. The price is decent and the location is nice close to a lot of shops and not so far from the marina. Didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was only available in public places and did not work in bedrooms. But to be fair we knew this before we came. We would have liked an extra chair in the bedroom.

    The room was a good size, hot water was excellent. Staff, especially Rosa and Mauricio, were very friendly. We could make tea for ourselves at any time of day, and we could also use the fridge to store yoghurt etc. Breakfast was fine, and all in all, this Hospedaria was excellent value for money. It was also only a few minutes walk from the aeroport bus stop.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel to cold no room service beds to hard only 1 pillow lights not bright enough not enough food for breakfast very poor no room service

    The staff men very friendly nothing to much trouble for staff men

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, close to the highway = can be very noisy in the evening. Rooms are tiny and very basic, but clean.

    Charming old school hotel close to the harbour. Beautiful coffee shop / bar just next door.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very thin walls trough which you hear your neighbours. Wi-fi works only in common rooms. My cupboard was smelly, so I had to keep all my things in the luggage.

    A little bit stinky room, but with a beautiful view. Close to a city center and marina. Very nice and helpful personel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather. But I don't blame you, guys! ;)

    Very nice house with amazing atmosphere and great view. The breakfast was splendid and the evenings on the terrace surfing on smartphone and talking to fellow travellers also. For lone adventurers a perfect spot!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    walls are thin and the guests in other rooms are quite noisy... needed to sleep with earplugs

    room very clean. parking in front of hotel no problem. good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very old building, small room up 4 levels of steep stairs with uncomfortable beds and very basic furniture, should be renewed. Not very clean tiny bathroom (toilet seat broken, shower tray leaked all over floor). Breakfast absolute minimum, terrible cold coffee with no actual place to eat other than two small tables within kitchen.

    Helpful young chap behind reception when we arrived.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you are travelling during summer time, can be hot because no air conditioning. Now in November was good to sleep.

    Good location on a quiet street, close to the city centre. The short distance to the Harbour and the shopping centre. Simply furnished but functional. The room was cleaned every day. A simple breakfast is included, you can buy in the store more if there is not sufficient. I'll come again.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast rather modest, but it is understandable for such price.Internet-only works in the reception area and kitchen.Last two days, there were some problems in hotel with water.Its begins to flow through the pipes in the middle of the night and sleep impossable.We had to go down at the reception at 3 a.m and ask to overlap to morning.Otel bit away from the center, 10-15 minutes on foot.

    Good hotel with "conditional" breakfast for a very reasonable price.99evro / 5days Excellent terrace overlooking Funchal, responsive personal.There is a kitchen with microvave, a common refrigerator,teapot.Daily cleaning rooms.All fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stinky bathroom, cockroaches in the room. Needs a renovation. You have to think twice before entering the bathroom

    The best about this hotel is the common terrace with a fantastic morning and evening views

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel was very kind, breakfast was above my expectations (not only jam but also ham and cheese, juice - self-service). I appreciated kitchenett and possibility of eating outside as well as inside.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little bit far from city centre (10 - 15 minutes walk)

    Good price quality ratio Very nice staff Possibility to use the terrace and small kitchen (microwave, jug kettle and dishes) Breakfast included (bread, butter, jam, ham, cheese, juice, tea and coffee)

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi doesn´t work on the top floor (but OK at the reception or on the first floor!).

    Tasty breakfast:) Fridge, kettle, microwave and dishes for usage anytime!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi doesn´t work on the top floor (but at the reception or on the first floor OK!).

    Nice breakfast:) Fridge, kettle, microwave or dishes in the kitchen for usage anytime!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Furniture is rather old, but taking into account the price it is ok.

    Very good location, close to the bus station and city center; friendly staff; nice breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic breakfast (but also very cheap price so not really complaining). Internet only worked in the reception area, not in the rooms. Our room was on the 4th floor so a lot of steep stairs.

    Great views from the windows. Nice lounge area for using the internet or reading. Very good price.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good separate room for the price of bed in common room. Pretty cosy and clean. Location near the airbus stop. Good staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was in a poor condition, needed decorating.

    The staff were very friendly. Breakfast was adequate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice old hotel, not so far from the center for a good price, underground parking only 5min walk from the hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room wasn't very appealing

    The character of the room. Very traditional

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really unconfortable bed.

    The staff was nice and helpfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind people run this Hospedaria.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in terrible condition, leaking rooftop in attic rooms, mould

    Friendly staff, good localisation

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    smell in the room

    location, nice terrace with a view over funchal,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near center Funchal everywhere easy going 250m is large Shopping Mall La Vie with supermarket Pingo Doce

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great budget option

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic accommodation - but corresponding to the low price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing wiew from room :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bedding with holes

    View from the balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the accommodations also the people there wonderful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view especially was amazing! I liked the place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in the room

    Good breakfast. beautiful view from the balcony and windows

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    I liked everything. But above all I liked the view from the window

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the room, breakfast is very basic

    The receptionist was friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi on bedroom, only public areas

    Good room very clean staff very friendly. Recommended

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Quiet peaceful environment. Nice terrace to sit out in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Very clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice view

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not clean , the shower did work very well

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet is not working in the room but you can get it downs stairs!

    The views , the location , the value , the breakfast 🌞

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    bad breakfast (low cost), lots of bugs

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There's a lot of stairs and no lift - it's an older building so nothing to be done about it, but you need to be mobile. There are no ground floor rooms. Bed linen was getting a bit thin, and I guess a lick of paint everywhere wouldn't hurt, but if you want everything perfect pay for a four star hotel! This is a good budget option.

    Excellent central location, friendly helpful English speaking staff; clean, inexpensive, view across centre of city and Fort on hill from front of Hospederia, near (easy walking distance) to shopping, dining, seafront and museums. Though near a major road the traffic was really not bad at night and it's worth it for the view. And there's a little sun terrace.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed sheets should be renewed. They were not clean and there were brown stains on them. Toilet was smelling really bad. The receptionists did not have a map of Funchal. We could not pay with card because the card reader was not working.

    The lady in the reception was very very helpful. A BIG thanks. The room was spacious. Location: 10 min walking to harbor, 5 min to the supermarket "la Vie". We could eat good food for really cheap in the supermarket. The view from balcony. For this price we had a basic breakfast (milk, tea, coffee, bread, marmalade, butter, cheesse, ham) and our own toilet and shower. We could also use the water boiler to make tea during the day. 24/7 reception. If I go there again, I take my own bed sheets with me.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beds were a little on the small size for us Dutch.

    To have a breakfast included with a price this low is extraordinary. The views from the rooms were priceless and the location of the property, 5-10 mins from the city center-marina, is excellent.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing to complain really, great value for money

    nice view from the window overall efficiency - starting with check-in, through whole my stay nice and helpfull staff very affordable

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very old, small and uncomfortable bed, should be renewed. Not very clean bathroom. Breakfast absolute minimum.

    Great location close to the city center. Good value for money. Nice common area with veranda and WIFI. Daily room service including fresh towels. 24/7 reception. Friendly stuff.

There are also 27 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hospedaria Por Do Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: