Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Verde Esperança

Rua da Esperança, nº 69, 2º, Estrela, 1200-656 Lisbon, Portugal

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.5

  • Comfort

    5.3

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.1

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Hot water, clean room, clean bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many mosquitos in room, old room but it is ok if you want to stay only during the night.

    Hot water, clean room, clean bathroom. The price for this location is great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    2.9
    Simply atrocious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You may think you really are a veteran of messy hostels but this one surpasses them all. The receptionist/guardian/cleaner, was very rude and didn't know a word of English nor did he try to speak intelligible Portuguese; he would often be found staring at people from various corner of the hostel. The room resembled a Pollock piece of work because of all the spots on the wall, pavement and even ceiling, all of dubious origin. There were balls of stranded hair on the floor. The sheets were dusty and dirty with unknown green spots. There was a bucket gathering water from a leaky tube, and the electrical outlet would hum at an high volume with every appliance attached. The door to the balcony, once closed, required a good deal of effort to unstuck; the room door rattled because the lock has probably been forced in the past. The bathrooms were dirtier (unknown spots, pubic hair, you name it) than what you would expect in a hostel (and that may already be pretty dirty), they often lacked toilet paper and they would get stuck and wet the floor, to which the guardian responded "mop it yourself". They promised a basic kitchen with a kettle and toaster, what we didn't know was that the toaster had been toasted itself. Getting inside the building with the key was almost impossible and we were close to call the owners to help us because we couldn't get in (and apparently someone else had to, the next days). All around it wasn't at all good value for money, nor it was like it has been advertised.

    I guess the area around was nice, it hosted nice restaurants and bars, but that was all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    Bad place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The problem with this place is that the owners are not there all the time, there is no reception. We arrived at 7.30 am and we wanted to leave our luggage, we communicated this and they said it was Ok. But when we arrived nobody opened so we had to comeback at 2 pm for the check in. Then there is no hot water in showers, the kitchen is dirty and there is a lot of mosquitos. The room and the toilet it's clean but it could be better. Everything is very old and the Wi-Fi does not work in rooms only at the entrance.

    It is not so far from the center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    So many disappointments. Location, price and Lisbon made up for it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No promised sink in room, no bath (because they would not give a plug), no balcony, unfriendly staff, difficult to find. Basically the description did not match what we got. Going to try for a refund

    The location was lovely with wonderful local restaurants. Our room was spacious

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    Sense of Madragoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment needs some technical enhancement, quality of equipment was quite low however price per room was very resonable in line with overall quality.

    Location, price, nice english speaking staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.4
    localization, nice staircase
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In the information about the room was said there is sink, there was just a hole after it. And it was just dirty :( Pity, the place has awesome potential, but just potential. P.S. removed sinks were on balconies.

    localization, nice staircase

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Very good value budget accommodation in a nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No street number on booking.com so a bit difficult to find.

    Very good value for money, sweet host, good location, some very nice cafes/restaurants in the area, not near metro but within walking distance, access to kitchen.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither shower had a mount for the shower head, meaning we were required to hold the shower above our head while washing. The beds weren’t very comfortable, although not terrible. There was a broken floorboard in our room which had been taped over unsuccessfully and remained very sharp. The keys/locks to get into both the building and the flat were difficult to work.

    Great location. A bit far from Lisbon Oriente station & the airport, but the area itself was lovely, and the marina was accessible by foot. The hosts were friendly and spoke good English.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    2.9
    Everything literally broken, BED BUGS, no refund, no electricity, no wifi, showers broken horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    EVERYTHING was terrible. I never write bad reviews but i wouldn't want anyone else to have to experience this place.

    Nothing apart from the location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Simple, clean, European-style guesthouse in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a toaster or Netflix tv in the common room, and towels in the rooms upon arrival, but really everything we needed was provided.

    Everything was exactly as described. Rooms come with wardrobe, desk, chairs, balcony, and mirrors. There are 3 bathrooms (1 with a bathtub and 2 with stand-up showers), cleaned daily. There is a communal kitchen with a microwave, kettle, and fridge. Some crockery and cutlery are provided. There is also a common room with couches and an old tv. Wifi is good enough in some rooms to stream Netflix. Owners are friendly and helpful, very flexible and welcoming. The location is 5-10 min walk to Santos train station (on the Cascais/Belem line) and near to many local bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    3.8
    A no go! Dangerous gas and electric installations! Bed bugs!
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Little critters bed bugs ! The electric installations and the gas water heater are more then dangerous. Quite sure that this place will blowing up on day.I could smell gas because it was leaking!! The behavior of the couple who run this place isn't pleasant!! Half of stay wasn't hot water available because they were not willing to change the gas bottle. The door to the shared balcony wasn't closeable. Furniture, floor,walls, shower curtains are dirty or mostly broken and the chair in the room was untouchable. The rent is very cheap and some kind of things I criticize are bearable but bed bugs,electric and gas issues and the very unfriendly behavior of the old couple is a no go.

    Close to public transport Low cost

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    The host was very nice and patient and there was enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a little bit complicated to reach the accomodation, when you will arrive by bus to Lisbon. We were not warned, that there will be only cold water very late in the evening (around 11PM/2 AM). Also there was ringing the alarm. During the first nigth it stopped after few minutes, however during the second night, it was ringing the whole night until morning.

    The host was very nice and patient and there was enough space in the room. The free wifi was working, however for us only near the reception. Close to the accodomation in the way to the Railway station, there is very nice market open until 11 PM offering a lot of different possibilities to try the fish and the traditional pastry. And also you can buy here vegetable, until around 9PM. The square was also nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for a short visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The floor was a little bit broken. You can hear everything that is going on in the apartment. Many people coming in and out and can be noisy. There is a building site just around the corner which doesn't help to the noise - This will go in time obviously but was a rude wake up call some mornings. With check out, I needed to check out early but when I came to checking out there was no one around with the check out time being from 7am, this was at 7:10am, I had to leave my key at the reception desk.

    A nice place that is good for staying in, Bathroom was clean and bedroom was nice and cool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location good value of the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite old and little modernisation done. No stove.

    It was a very good value of the money. Simple stay but enouth clean shower and kitchen and room, walking distance from city center. I enjoy it for a short budget stay. I would go again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    The location is quite good, nearby you can find some nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The information about how to find the hostel is terrible, it took us quite a long time to find it. Everything inside, starting with reception and room, finishing at kitchen and bathrooms look old, dirty and desperately needs renovation. Choosing the hostel for that price we didn't expect much but it was deep below our expectations.

    The location is quite good, nearby you can find some nice restaurants and cafes. Also is't close to the bay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    3.8
    Very bad and uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad and uncomfortable. It was not possible to establish any contact to the place - nobody is answering the phone or reacting on an e-mail. Unfortunately the booking.com cunstomer service was not helpful either.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    5.0
    Not very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very cold (no heaters), one day the water was very cold because they did not change the gas bottle even when we asked them to come in the evening. There was still rubbish in the bin from last time and the blankets were dirty.

    I liked location and the room was spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    If you are not too choosy and you are in Lisbon for having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had no hot water for two days.

    If you are not too choosy and you are in Lisbon for having fun that will not be a bad solution. I saw worse hostels for higher price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    2.9
    dirty bed house with bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgusting dirty bed house with bugs!!! Unfriendly staff. There are hidden costs -for examle, towels are for extra charge etc. Not recommended to stay

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is an error in GPS coordinates given on the Booking.com, but the address was correct. When we arrived with the Taxi, we thought it is a mistake as it didn't look like a hostel and there was no sign in front. Then we went to the GPS coordinates, just in case and that was a park. At that moment we felt awkward like some kind of a scam, so we called the given phone number and understood that we need to go back. The sign was on the second floor. So the first impression was awful, but afterwards we were satisfied. The terrace is shared among rooms, so for a family it is not convenient to leave it open during the night. Luckily it is not that hot.

    Price excellent, position also. Host was pleasant and everything was correct. I would recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    Great location and hostel owner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked to be able to cook, there was a kitchen but only with a microwave. Also, rooms need a bit of repair, but generally good value for money.

    The owner is a very lovely and helpful lady. The location is great, we couldn't have hoped for a better location. It's on the same street as the puppet museum and near by a really nice outside coffee place. Also 10-15 min walk from Bairro Alto. Finally, we arrived at the end of June, when Lisbon had festivities and we had the chance to have BBQ meals on our doorstep, amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    4.6
    Cheap and nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner was impolite but sometimes he had better moments, spoke english very badly. Bed was infested by bedbugs and owner claims that it is common for such season. And when I say infested I mean dozens of bites all around your body, at least owner did offer new room. Be aware that this hostel uses pre-payment method so you have to pay everything in cash because there is no terminal, and money will become conducted from credit card till the time of arrival. Wi-Fi range is enclosed only for the reception region which means it won't reach your room. Owner offers luggage storage which he mentions on the reservation but he won't be in the agreeded time of the taking bags back and you will encounter closed door. Room has extremely basic furniture - only bed with two small cabinets.

    Great location and probably the cheapest 2 bed room in Lisbon. Also it has pleasant view out of the window. Hostel offers one fridge for the guests as well as very basic kitchen equipment. Two shared bathroom were acceptable but far from pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.1
    The corner room no 5 had 2 french windows facing the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi went off occasionally even in common areas. And the staff, weren't helpful even to allow me to make a phone call. I arrived at midnight and had informed the management earlier, they did not let me in, inspire of saying they'll be there, so I had to walk an hour with my girlfriend and spend another 50 euros to stay at another hostel for one night. The elderly management man refused to accept his responsibility, saying he was there and I did not ring the bell.

    The corner room no 5 had 2 french windows facing the city. Quite an excellent view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Nice location. Requires more maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The kitchen did not have much cooking facilities aside from a microwave. The dish drying rack and sponges were dirty. The bathroom lacked hooks to hang items and had a lot of mould along corners of the shower floor. Our bedroom had only one hook and no hangers in the closet.

    The location was away from the main touristy areas and provided more of a local experience. It was walking distance to food trucks, Time Out market and a train station. It was a nice area for walks around the neighbourhood as well. The acoustic proof windows were excellent in blocking out sound from late night festivals. The area itself would not be noisy on typical days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    2.5
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was old and understand nothing Cant speak english and not kind The room was warm and dirty and the bed was not clean The area around the hotel was noisey and we couldnt sleep ,all night we have the screaming party people outside It was long from the airport about 25 minutes Terrible terrible hotel We gone travel next morning and we were like sombies with no sleep and nothing good to say

    Nothing to say positive about the place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    6.7
    The owner couple is nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything is very old in the hostel. We couldn't pay with credit card.

    The owner couple is nice and friendly. You can use the kitchen (microwaver, kettle).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    The property was in walking distance to the main square of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately, the room was attacked by bed bugs on two occasions, which could be very startling and disappointing for many tourists, hence my low mark in cleanliness.

    The property was in walking distance to the main square of Lisbon and it was very easy to get to all the sights. Also, there were a lot of cheap restaurants, offering delicious food in the immediate proximity of the property - practically right outside the hostel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    4.2
    Very nice part of the city - I liked this street;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not too clean, hot water in a bathroom only if you ask, small kitchen area and leaking pipe in my room - I wouldn't recommend it

    Very nice part of the city - I liked this street; close to famous "28" tram and 10-15 minutes walk to some trains and metro station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    Good was the nice view and balcony,place in the center near...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfurnatelly after my way back i have found on my body a lot of abcess from insect bugs-stenice-we say in czech.somebody wrote it here too.i think its a pitty bcs its quite nice place for the price and u can see in the rooms the owners they dont care about it

    Good was the nice view and balcony,place in the center near sea and nice owners

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.1
    fair price and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they dont give you a receipt for payment even if i asked for that. I was told that they send it via e-mail but they havent sent it ....so i hope to not charge me twice for service.

    It was a quiet place to stay and other tenants were great.I will return on my next trip there.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.2
    Not very good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really old installations, not very clean and beds not comfortable It depends on the type of tourism you want. I was going alone and to stay for a pair of days just to sleep is OK... but do not try to go with your lovely partner for a romantic trip :-)

    Emplacement. It is in the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    6.3
    A Cozy Place to Stay Off the Beaten Path - Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no rooms with private bathrooms, but this was difficult to find in general in Lisbon. This is acceptable, but towels and soap were not provided. On the first night I discovered this after the manager had retired for the evening. On the next day, he informed me I could rent a towel for 1 EUR extra per day. I think paying 45 EUR for 2 nights should entitle me to a towel and a mini bar of soap. I had to find a market and buy soap. The website states that they accept credit cards, but they do not.

    The location was good; not far from Bairro Alto (Old Neighborhood) and the center. The narrow street was lined with quaint little hole-in-the-wall cafes, bars and restaurants. The houses were a tapestry row of the faded glory feel of Old Lisbon. Ornate tiles on building facades, tiny balconies, etc. The proprietors were nice and helpful. The building and the room in which I stayed had an old school vibe, lived-in yet cozy. The WIFI worked well and there was a self-catering kitchen. The view from the balcony was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.1
    Dirty room, dirty floors, mouldy showers but very, very cheap!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely dirty. First thing we had to do was cleaning the floor. 3 times! It was that dirty and sticky. Moreover we received an old dirty blanket even without a cover. Showers and shower curtains covered with mould (come on, how much does it cost to change them? 1 euro?) there were constantly issues with warm water.

    The owner/receptionist was really kind, lovely location and great price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    5.4
    Nothing more positive then localisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel- luck of contact via e-Mail or phone. When we arrived reception desk was closed even though it was during working hours. We were waiting in front of door around 1 hour. Unacceptable.

    Only 2 positive things: localisation and price. For this amount of money we couldn't expect nothing more.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    nice guest house in great neighborhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    totally cosy and sufficient accommodation, don´t expect a fancy hotel but it was nice and clean. staff was very helpful and available anytime. the location is close to the river and to bairro alto, although i preferred the area of madragoa (where the accommodation is located) as it was not so touristy and much more relaxed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Visiting Lisboa
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes no hot water, staff leaves open balcony after cleaning

    Location, permit to smoke on the balcony, clean toilet/bathroom, hospitality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    the place has good energy
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the place has good energy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old Rooma, dirty place

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Best place in such a low price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Comfortable bed, clean hostel, great neibourghood. Best place to stay in Lisbon!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Good for a last minute accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with cleanness

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hosts and nice room. I would totally recomend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.0
    Dangerous bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find a place, wasn't clean enough room, cold room, bed bugs...

    Good location, I was late check in, inexpensive room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    2.5
    Dirty place, unpleasant staff, not recommended at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty place, unpleasant staff, not recommended at all

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Feels like an old hospital You need earplugs because you hear everything.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    Great price. For people who don't need luxury ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite bad condition of building, especially kitchen and bathroom.

    Great location - quiet and close to city center. Very good price and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    You get what you paid for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not expect to have soap or shampoo it is a low cost as it is announced.

    You get what you paid for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.0
    the door lock was broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the door lock was broken...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    5.0
    Location is good, price is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hostel is rather exhausted, and sometimes dirty. In a bathroom you won't find where to put your things

    Location is good, price is ok

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.7
    very friendly owner and late check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    aluminium floor profile sticking out of the floor

    very friendly owner and late check in

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It could be a little bit more clean

    The responsible person for the hostel was really friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    The room had a nice view out over a section of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a nice view out over a section of the city. Beds were acceptable, but a very standard room. For what we paid it was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.4
    Danger bedbug !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Danger bedbug !!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    8.8
    Fair for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice budget place. We had river view. Bring earplugs. Nice quarter. I'll come back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    No hot water!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Not bad for the money. Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find parking. Pretty run down but what do you expect for 20€ a night.

    Great location in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    It was family owned and very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms were soaked every time you took a shower and the curtains were very moldy

    It was family owned and very friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    6.3
    fine for a budget place, lovely part of lisbon
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    difficult to rate budget places as you get what you pay for

    located in a beautiful part of lisbon beautiful building

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    2.5
    The worst hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees are the worst ever. Terrible. Impolite. Disgusting...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    8.3
    The place is a bit far from the city center, but I liked my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrace door didn't close properly. There wasn't an electric kettle.

    People working here were nice. I liked the oldschool vibe of the room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    5.8
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No quilt

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    4.2
    Atención! Chinches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Chinches en la cama!!! Sin toallas.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.6
    Very good localisation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good localisation.The owner is friendly and costs are not higher.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    6.3
    It's a sweet indian/thai family who owns the hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately the bathroom wasn't that clean and the bedsheets were too thing -> freezing nights.

    It's a sweet indian/thai family who owns the hostel. And the location is pretty central (aprox. a 10 min. walk to the city center).

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    7.5
    The location was good and the mature couple running it as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems to speak of - remember this is a budget hostel and not the Taj Mahal! Not a party place - you are sharing with the owners. Bedding a little dated.

    The location was good and the mature couple running it as a family business were helpful. It is a budget hostel with basic facilities and this reflects on the price. The building is up from the main centre of town - about 10 mins walk from the action. Common Bathrooms and kitchen kept clean.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.5
    owner spoken Engliah very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there are kichen. but You can not use the kitchen fully. just microwave and electric Kettle. they don't like cook anything. even instant noodles! it's just boiling 4 min, but they were too much angry. anyway I said sorry. almost hostels are avilable cooking...

    owner spoken Engliah very well. big room with balcony. refrigerator

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    4.6
    Helpful staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lots of pubics on sheets.. How can u give dirty sheets to guest? We used our towels instead... And the staff besides of being helpful was very noisy after 23pm, speaking on corridors so loud we couldn't sleep.

    Helpful staff and location.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    8.3
    Very cheap, so you can't expect any luxury service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very cheap, so you can't expect any luxury service.The room was clean, balcony, shared bathroom was clean. Great location, close to historical city centre.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    We were thrilled when we arrived as the room and shared...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sadly my husband and I had to leave Lisbon after the first night because of a family issue. We will stay here and complete our interrupted trip to Lisbon next year. We booked to stay for 4 nights but because we had to leave we only got to stayed for one night.

    We were thrilled when we arrived as the room and shared facilities were very clean. It is a great location. The owners are lovely and speak perfect English. They are very helpful too.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    4.6
    The only good thing about this place is the location, near...
    • Couple

    The beds are really uncomfortable, only one socket was working in the room, the internet only works in the "living room" - which is usually occupied by the owners watching TV. When we tried to take a shower at 10 p.m., there was not more hot water. Also, if you have heavy luggage, be prepared to climb the stairs in this old building.

    The only good thing about this place is the location, near restaurants and with easy access to public transportation to go to the city centre and to Belém.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.9
    it is absolutely clean and clerks speak English very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    it is located on the third floor of the building and doesn't have the elevator.

    it is absolutely clean and clerks speak English very well. Kitchen stuff can be used freely, but it doesn't have stove.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    5.8
    + Good location for a really good price during the summer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - We wrote that we will be coming at the hotel at 21:00, came at 19:00 - no one was there, came on time - no one was there, owners came back only at about 22:30. They didn't even check the bookings, even we booked two days before. And they didn't reply to phone call - Bed was not comfortable, too hard. But perhaps for some people it's an advantage - Wi-Fi signal was very poor in a room, better near the reception - Balcony connects with other apartments

    + Good location for a really good price during the summer season

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    10
    The price for what you get is unbeatable, our room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price for what you get is unbeatable, our room was spacious and had two balconies facing a beautiful garden. The sheets were clean, the bed was super comfy, just bring your own towel and you'll be very happy with your choice. Go for the restaurants just outside the door, the food there is so tasty. It has definitely been a very relaxing experience. We suggest you also to rent a scooter to move around and explore the amazing beaches 30 minutes far from Lisbon.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    The place is very close to the centre of Lisbon so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The place is very close to the centre of Lisbon so there's no need to use public transport to move around. Plus the neighbourhood is really pretty. The place is not very modern but clean and with all the basic amenities. If you're travelling on a budget, it is more than perfect. I'm surprised at all the negative opinions. Verde Esperanza is definitely not a 5-star hotel. Yet it offers everything you need to have a little rest after a busy day of walking around Lisbon.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.5
    Owner was quite friebdly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bad thing is you need to pay 1 euro for each towel if you want.

    Owner was quite friebdly. In the room we have enough space and cozy beds, the best is the small balcony with excellent night view. During the night you could barely hear any noise from out side if you close balcony door. You could use their small kitchen if you want, good way to save money!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    9.6
    The couple owning the guesthouse were lovely and the place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The couple owning the guesthouse were lovely and the place was Perfekt for the money, I enjoyed my stay and everything was easy to get to from there :)

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75