Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aliados 3 stars

Avenida dos Aliados, 85/89, União de Freguesias do Centro, 4000-066 Porto, Portugal

#130 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1829 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    The room was right near the reception and noisy since...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was right near the reception and noisy since window/small balcony were looking at the noisy street directly. But the receptionist was nice at check out!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    The location is amazing, the hotel is a walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The rooms are a little small and the beds aren't comfortable. The elevator is too slow so we ended up taking the stairs every time. The breakfast is alright but not very rich.

    The location is amazing, the hotel is a walking distance from literally anywhere in Porto. There are plenty of restaurants around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    Would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated, very uncomfortable beds, the noise from the road outside makes it impossible to sleep and the breakfast options were extremely poor.

    The location i

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    The reception was on the second floor and I saw guests...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception was on the second floor and I saw guests struggle with carrying their luggage up one flight to the elevator. Luckily we only stayed one night so we didn’t not have that issue.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location if you're ok with sleeping on a hard bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds and pillows were not great.

    The location was great! The beds aren't the most comfortable but it worked! Would stay again- the value for what we got (mainly the location -beautiful historic building) made it worth it. The view to the Main Street was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath room is like a corridor, it is hard even to turn around in the bath room. Hard to take a shover, very hard to go out from the shower. The room has a lot of space to widen the bathroom.

    The location is good. The room ceiling is high .But......

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is perfectly placed if you want to explore the old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is perfectly placed if you want to explore the old city by foot as most of the historical sites are within easy walking distance. The room was small, but comfortable and very clean. The staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not that clean, hotel all around isn’t that clean, curtains and carpets are worn-out and dirty. Dusty walls. One couldn’t get an iron and ironing board upon request for the most basic needs, must use in-house facilities which is not useful schedule-wise. Hotel has charm/history but in dire need of a complete cleanup, paint-job and renovations. Breakfast was very basic. I would not recommend this hotel based on my experience.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Great Location, A little old, Basic But Fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is traditional design inside, and i suppose quite basic. Old style elevator. The staff seemed always occupied or just uninspired but there was nothing rude. BIGGEST ISSUE is the NOISE. Very loud and noises street outside.

    Grand on the outside yet very basic on the inside. The bed was very comfortable, HUGE bathroom and check in was fast. I had booked same day and got a double room for 57euros. Check out was easy and wifi was good. there is an elevator.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    We enjoyed the sights in Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels and bed linens need replacing. Awkward and small shower. Very heavy fabric on windows made it impossible to open for light. Double wooden shutters already there for privacy and noise. Staff seemed annoyed, especially young woman in breakfast room.

    Location a 5 minute walk from train station and 15 minute walk from river. View of beautiful square. Good restaurant downstairs. Clean remodeled bathroom on reception floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyed staying at this lovely hotel. Fantastic location close to all the attractions of Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom was small, my head was touching the wall when sat on the toilet, but it was a minor inconvenience.

    Location was fantastic, close to train stations and city centre. Lovely hotel with friendly approachable staff. Breakfast was great, good choice of rolls and pastries. Rooms were cleaned daily.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    The proximity to the metro Aliados.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were no casual coffee and tea making facilities anywhere in the hotel.

    The proximity to the metro Aliados. Walking distance from everything.... not just the waterfront

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    In general ok for one night if you are not looking for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is outdated. Very noisy, especially if the rooms are to the main street side. Ear plugs are needed. Clean sheets, bathroom ok. Seems that windows of the hotel were cleaned 10 years ago :)

    In general ok for one night if you are not looking for comfort. Very pleasant personnel. Breakfast was simple but good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    The location was great otherwise hotel needs refurbishing.,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in room 412, small, musty smell and tiny bathroom, not really suitable for a couple, bed very hard and also small. Breakfast was fine, but staff not very friendly or helpful if you asked for anything else. Example was a guest asking for mustard.

    Location is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    The receptionist was excellent, really good and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Panoramic View room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My guestroom was cold, especially the first night. The bathroom was an icebox; there was no heating. The breakfast was really bad, no selection of food.

    The receptionist was excellent, really good and very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    nice location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    should provide kettle, my room was arranged at second floor at side of the road, it was so noisy, can't sleep well at night.

    nice location, friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    A hotel with history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Traffic noise from the street: with double-glazing it would be better.

    Charming traditional-style hotel; lovely old furniture; comfortable; helpful staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.5
    Location and ancient heritage
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby lounge was lovely yet very dated. Could stress heritage more. Restaurant ws fantastic ambiance.

    We loved the bathroom as we were bey the stairwell so 401 was huge. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    4.0
    Better places for the same cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is hard to review as I didn’t like the way you had to hand your key in every time you went out. The staff stopped you every time to ask. Had my own key since the age of 8, I don’t need checking on. The room and bed were that small you had trouble walking round the end of the bed. The shower room was tiny, but once in the shower it worked well. Breakfast was ok they obviously have problems with people taking food (as I’m sure every other hotel has too) so they feel the need to put a note on the table to say the waiter would be happy to tell you the cost should you take anything. And last but not least no drinks facilities in the room. Which to me is always a no no. Overall I would not stay in this hotel again. We stayed in three hotels during our stay in Portugal all about the same cost. This hotel made me feel like I was a naughty school girl and that they were doing me a favour

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location but not too clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasn’t too clean. The door had stains from other people before us and it didn’t smell great. Same with the breakfast room, where the walls had coffee stains pretty much everywhere. The bathroom also smells very bad of dirty drains and pipes. The reception lady (one with red hair) in the morning wasn’t too friendly and welcoming.

    The location is perfect, you can walk pretty much everywhere in Porto. The reception lady with glasses who works in the evening, she’s really nice and helpful. The reception lady in the morning wasn’t too friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location - exactly on the side of a very central...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom is a little tight; Breakfast was not good. Just an orange juice, water, coffee, bread and cakes. Nothing fresh (e.g. eggs) was available.

    Excellent location - exactly on the side of a very central subway station; Very nice staff; Good Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    5.0
    Hotel to be avoided
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old hotel. Extremely uncomfortable bed. Bad smell from bathroom. Needs urgent remodeling. There are far better hotels dor the same price.

    Location. And nothing else.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    I liked that the hotel was spooky and old
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel wouldn't take card payment, it was up a pretty treacherous flight of stairs, the room was very small (but just fine for my needs)

    I liked that the hotel was spooky and old

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a second floor to the reception and upper floors with rooms and not easy to have the lift free cause staff use it too

    The facilities and the location of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Great location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom too small and toilet so uncomfortably close to the sink that we could not sit properly on it without banging our head with the sink.

    The location is superb. Very central, easily reached and walking distance from all the main attraction. The atmosphere at Aliados Square for Christmas was beautiful. The staff are so helpful and pleasant especially the girl at the reception when we checked in and the waitress in the breakfast room. The room was spotlessly clean. Don't expect luxury but you are not charged for it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.2
    Grand old central hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, a bit noisy outside, but that comes with being on the main public square

    Remarkable beaux Arts hotel, location, minutes from train station and a great many terrific restaurants, nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    The location is very good, right in the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was too cold (had to set the AC to 30ºC to make it a bit less cold). No heating in the bathroom. Old furniture (I mean old, not antique). Old curtains and rugs with dirty aspect. Breakfast was basic, but fair. There was no need for the lady in the breakfast room to keep watching the time and start removing the food in a rush at 10:30 sharp. Please, be a little more polite and let people know 10 mins before time that items will be removed (such as many other hotels do).

    The location is very good, right in the city centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.8
    Bad Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the hotel wrost experience in my life. I booked 1 double bedroom 1 month in advance, using the the booking offer of the day which was 20% of discount. I paid 70 Euro par night for a room should have cost 84 Euro par night. The room I got was clearly the cheapest one, 40 Euro par night according to the Hotel price list. First of all the room was in front of the reception in a building which counts 5 floors, it wasn't a room for 2 person, but just for one. Really small, which a small double bedroom. We couldn't move around. The window was brocken, we felt the wind during the night, the blanket could not look really clean, the bathroom completely ridiculous. I suppose the towels were for children, according to their size. The doors really old, the light of the corridor was passing through and we could also ear every steps and voice from outside. The staff weren't not friendly at all!!!! Don't go there!

    Just the position

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.3
    We were given a room with the perfect view: on the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price, they should've included their already simple breakfast

    We were given a room with the perfect view: on the main avenue, also overlooking city hall (beautiful building at the end of the road). I'm not sure most rooms would have that view though

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Portuguese service with a smile!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    having to access the reception without benefit of a lift from the entry to about halfway up to it.. a real problem if you are traveling with a standard suitcase and a carry on esp. if you're of the 'boomer' age level; affiliate restaurant on the ground floor have the most warm, welcoming friendly staff we have encountered on our entire trip to Europe!

    close to the heart of the tourist areas of Porto including Cathedral, main shopping areas and close to the metro (to from airport) .. located in the 'upper town' on one of the major squares of the city

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.2
    Weekend break Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even the room was located on the 5th floor the noise was extremely disturbing from the street. When I checked the windows I have realized that there is no isolation at all. The bedding is too used and the cleaniness is questionable. You need to carry around the remote control for air-conditioning and the TV.

    Location, close to city center and the subway station is just around the corner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy at times since it is a historic building and at times, guests are not respectful of other guests when entering late.

    Location is ideal .. walking distance to river front, at a subway stop from airport, wonderful restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on the 6th floor and the lift stopped at the 5th floor so had stairs to walk up , and if you were at all disabled it would be a problem also had to climb stairs to the reception on the second floor from the hotel entrance on the street

    Position of the hotel centre of Porto near to all transport links , restaurants bars and the waterfront was only 15mins away .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice staff, rooms very very small. Noise ridiculous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was by far the noisiest place I've ever stayed at all over the world. I have A+++ earplugs but the noise never stopped. Went into the wee hours u til people going to work. The partying never stopped. And I mean constant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Position very good to visit porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Twin Beds
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Streets around hotel very noisy and noise can be heard from rooms. Small bathroom with very basic stuff. Even the suite didn't have safe or refrigerator

    Position very good to visit porto. Clean. Materass confortable ( I don't like it too soft)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.8
    The location is the best point about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room - Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst was the attitude of the young lady working in the breakfast salon. She was so surprisingly rude when I asked for a plate and a knife to eat the two kiwis I had in hand despite the Reception authorising me before. Her attitude was so shocking I put the plate and knife back in its place and got out of there because she wasn't in condition for any dialogue. I went back to the reception without telling what had happened and just asked to do it for me and the receptionist kindly brought me what I needed. After using, I washed and dried giving back to the breakfast lady thanking her just like nothing had happened. I found her attitude very sad and unnecessary. Might have been just because of a bad day in a weak character, who knows! In general you don't get to deal with many staff other than the receptionist whom are very polite but in general expect a correct institutional attitude instead of host-guest friendly relation. The other down side is despite existence of a lift, to access it you have to go up 10 to 15 sharp stairs and there is no one to help you with that. So if you carry heavy luggage or have knee problems, you are literally screwed. So have that into account.

    The location is the best point about this hotel. My bathroom and shower space was good despite I saw some rooms with small showers. The bathroom of my room was clean and very good in general. Water pressure was good and hot water perfect and immediate. Air conditioning worked perfectly fine. The building is very old but I liked it because of tall doors and high ceiling. The price was the best I could find in city centre for the high season. I liked the fact I had access to all public transport within a short walk. I walked to the main train station with two heavy wheeled cases and took me less than 5 minutes with no rush. My room was a bit noisy despite getting the option to take a quite room but I preferred the view, after all I was gonna stay just two nights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice, well-located old hotel with clean and comfortable [although slightly small] ensuite rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being an old building with a retrofitted bathroom, the bedroom was a little small, as is to be expected in this older part of town, where there are mainly only older buildings. You have to carry your bags up a flight of steps before you can gain access to the lifts.

    A clean and comfortable, historic "character" building in the older part of town which has been authentically renovated. Friendly staff. Close to railway and hop on bus departures, surrounded by restaurants. Good value breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.1
    Wonderful location and helpful staff, but a bit overpriced and rooms lack safes and refrigerators.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As above, the fact that there was no safe or refrigerator in our room was disconcerting, though this was our own fault as we assumed that a hotel at this price would have what have become basic amenities. We didn't mind leaving our key at the front desk every time we left, but we were surprised that the curtains and shutters didn't close and that the ceiling had visible plaster issues - though not to a hazardous degree. We felt a bit spoilt to notice the lack of the polish and less updated feel of what is clearly a beautiful old building, and the helpfulness of the desk staff and the daily attention to cleanliness of our room more than made up for a few slightly antiquated aspects.

    The location is ideal, and the exterior of the building is impressive. The staff at the front desk was helpful and conscientious. The building has an impressive sense of history, and the ceilings are high. The room we had came with a view, but the shutters and curtains did not close properly, and we were disappointed not to have a refrigerator or safe in our room, though it is our fault not to have checked beforehand. The lounge that is open to all hotel guests has the charm of a hotel from an earlier era, with large and comfortable velvet couches and a variety of reading material. It is a shame that no one seems to use the room, though we certainly enjoyed stopping in for a few minutes at the end of an evening or while gathering ourselves before heading out for the day. There is also a refrigerator that guests can use to keep medical supplies cold, which was my issue with our room lacking one; I appreciated the staff at the front desk suggesting this option, though I prefer to keep my supplies closer to hand. Still, this did help, and any guest can avail themselves of the kitchen refrigerator on request.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Forget the hotel - just go to the restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Avenue View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible mattresses, shower contraption was broken, windows very old and the inside doors didn't close properly to prevent light and noise from the street. Good for 1 night, no more, and VERY overpriced!!!

    Fabulous restaurant on the ground floor (pure and authentic Art Deco from 1933 in very good taste), excellent service, live piano music and very good food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed is very disappointing, don't book here if you need to stay long term. Very limited choice of toiletries. It feels overpriced in general. The suite has a a weird layout, not handy at all, so my advice would be not to spend extra money booking the suite, choose the standard room instead. Disappointing breakfast. Cleanliness feels merely average.

    Friendly and efficient staff, excellent location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Porto a city of discovery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial staff member that greeted us could be more friendlier.

    You can't ask for more from the location. Metro close by and Porto is a city where its a close walk to everything you wanna see and experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    The hotel is a modest one, staff is not friendly, we arrived...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff Cleanliness and freshnees of the blankets and bed lining

    The hotel is a modest one, staff is not friendly, we arrived a bit early and they refused to give us the room before 2:00 pm. They also argued giving my friend shampoo, which was not available in the rooms already. The hotel is not physically disabled friendly as there stairs to get to the elevator. Location is good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.0
    A very uninspiring hotel but with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entrance to the Aliados was up a flight of stairs to a small lift, absolutely no good for elderly or immobile guests. The hotel is quite old and it would seem hasn't been updated for some time, our particular room was small and the furniture ancient. Breakfast was less than inspiring. I cannot understand why it was classed as a three star hotel.

    The only plus to this hotel was the location and one particular member of staff who was most helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.1
    3 days in porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Double Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No eggs!

    Typical 3 star fair but perfectly acceptable. Very nice lady at reception desk when we arrived. She was very helpful and pleasant for the duration of our stay. Very good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    5.8
    Not good value for money but good position to be in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior was very dated and a bit grubby. The carpets looked ancient and rather dirty in the reception area. Being on the corner it was very noisy, like you were sleeping right in the street - busses, taxis and cars all the time. Even with the shutters closed it didn't really help. The floors creak and so you can hear everyone walking around and in the passage.

    The bathroom was renovated but very tiny, even by European standards. The position was super as a city center position with many eating places and some shops.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    2.9
    To be avoided at all costs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff disagreeable and arrogant. Furniture old, dirty and broken. All rooms are extremely noisy (we changed twice) and no lift for the luggage until reception floor. Breakfast is so poor, didn't think such a thing existed. A nightmare, really.

    Nothing! Old and dirty place. Haven't seen that in more than 30 years traveling!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    6.3
    Great view, nice staff, crappy comfort and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was clogged and did not drain properly which was really disgusting. When we asked the front desk to help us they said they would send someone up but they didn't. This also delayed our check out which we then received a call about but it's not our fault your sink was disgusting- how were we to brush our teeth etc. However the staff was friendly when we re-explained the sink and allowed us to check out a few minutes later but we still did not receive assistance. The bed was terrible. We are two slim built people but the bed sank in and we both woke up with back pain. Unusual for young people and it was also our birthdays so it was pretty disappointing to wake up to pain.

    The staff were very friendly and the room was a great size! The view was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    4.6
    Do not stay at the Aliados
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was noisy. There was no view from our room. The mattress did not fit the bed in our friends room. Our room was larger and more expensive but the view looked out at the back of the hotel which was the extractor fan and kitchen! Dreadful. Would not recommend. The hotel needs extensive renovation. The furniture was outdated and drab.

    Bathroom was ok

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Central location - comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning to travellers about theft! We were hit by a pickpocket and lost a pocket camera at the start of our trip :-(

    Great location for exploring Porto. Right next to metro from the airport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    5.4
    Book Elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost to park was high. Entrance is unusual and uninviting with reception on 2nd floor above street. Be prepared for stairs to the lift. Be aware when booking : the standard room is TINY. The 5EU breakfast was VERY basic and poorly attended. Mattress was hard, flat and crinkled with waterproof under cover. We were moved, upon request, to a larger room after our first night. Tolerable but would not return.

    Location was central but busy...high street traffic. The staff was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    5.8
    Bring me another glass Porto, so I can survive here until my train to Lisbon arrives...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell from the bathroom was disgusting, the windows had to be closed because of the noise. And when the windows were closed we had a little sauna in the room, although we had AC in the room. But the best thing was that they charge 10 Euros per night for a baby cot...really??? Something that is a standard in almost every hotel taht we've visited...seriously, give me a break. And I forgot to mention that the superior room was a little bit claustrophobic. And the breakfast ...well you'll have to try it for yourself. Sorry, you've got to work on some things to get better notes.

    Nice historical building located near the São Bento train station. And that are all the good things you can say about the hotel...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    7.9
    Super location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift to first floor so could be difficult for people with walking problems. reception is on second floor.

    Super location, centre of everywhere for transport links. Helpful staff who speak English too. Great restaurant at ground level with entertainment at weekends. Would definately recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.9
    I want to go back to Porto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately we didn't have a good sleep as the location is too noisy. There`s a bell ringing every hour during the night on the Aliados Square, and our room was at the front, maybe rooms behind are quiet. Not many options for breakfast.

    We had a good weekend at Hotel Aliados, great staff, very friendly people, good and fresh breakfast! Room very clean and spacious! Excelent facilities and great shower!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    8.3
    Quirky, stylish hotel with easy access to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Panoramic View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street was noisy in the early hours but it was a Friday night and everyone was having fun. I'm not a fan of this but I knew the location of the hotel so not complaining!

    Only stayed one night (by design). Quaint room on a smooth corner of the hotel overlooking the main street. Very fitting style and décor for the period of the building - not modern but don't take that to mean it wasn't comfy and small. Quirky! Decent breakfast. Easy access to the rest of the town. Restaurant underneath the hotel is large, convenient but the higher price end. Nice piano/violin duo playing the night we were there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Location is perfect, but price is high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Price is high. Bathroom was really cold and it has never got warm.

    Location is really in the city center, close to both turistic places and night life.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Regular accomodation i.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator only from second floor. Old rooms. Old bathroom. Door cannot be closed with key.

    Location, in the core of downtown. The best choice to see the city for one-two days. Good relationship quality-price.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.9
    good heating, spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stairs to reach the reception not appropriate for handicapped or older persons.

    good heating, spacious room. my wifi worked, but I didn't really test it with a film, etc., only e-mails.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    6.7
    Only Location and staff, don't expect anything else
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wife is not working properly, the wind from the windows are normal, you can hear the traffic and people shouting there every night. The breakfast was extremely poor. No shower utilities.

    Location and staff are the only advantages.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    7.1
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Due to being an old building, the access to the different floors is limited to the use of narrow stairs or small lift, which is difficult if you're carrying luggage.

    Excellent location, right in the centre of Porto, near metro and rail stations. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    3.3
    Bad surprise
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was ver different from the one in pictures on the website. It was dusty and cold. We had the impression it was closed for a long time. The forniture was really obsolete and the wifi signal really weak. But the thing that disappointed us the most was the indifference of the staff to our complains.

    The position

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    9.6
    The staff were lovely and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a bit hard. This is nitpicking. Who cares really... everything else was fantastic.

    The staff were lovely and polite. I didn't wake up early enough for breakfast so I can't comment on that. The location was unbelievable and so was the view. The building is historic and I was very very impressed with the entire experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.3
    I was pleased to stay there but I would not want t
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very cold, ceiling fan extracts any warmth automatically. Bed covering heavy and not cosy or very good at retaining heat. Inadequate building security. Seemed no surveillance of who goes in and out of the building.

    Close to Metro, close to rail Station. Staff friendly effecient, breakfast adequate. Close to McDonald's and other restaurants. Not too expensive.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Very happy, receptionist (both) had excellent English
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was very uncomfortable

    We were very happy. It ticked all our expectations, & was near the train station, Trinidad, on the direct line from the airport.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.5
    Decent stay for a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was dated but that didn't bother us. The member of staff in the breakfast room look d as though he didn't want to be there but again not the end of the world, he is a young chap. I would have liked the rooms to have tea/coffee making facilities which would have improved he experience significantly.

    Hotel is reasonable for the money. Decor very dated but yet seems to fit in with he whole hotel. Receptionist was very good. Rooms have what you need for a city break and not planning on spending much time in your room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    5.4
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a lot of traffic noise, bed was quite hard, WiFi very slow, hotel is outdated.

    Location is excellent. Breakfast is only €5; for that money breakfast was ok. Our room was quite spacious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    Perfect to visit the city but expect no thrills. 15eur parking and internet is good enough for email
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is expensive at 15eur/day. The internet was enough for email but too slow for Netflix.

    The location is great and my room was quiet enough despite facing the street.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, good accommodations, fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was put in the 1st floor near the kitchen and the reception so the night was very noisy. The bed clothes could be better cleaned.

    The location is awesome and the rooms are really comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    4.6
    not clean, staff not very friendly and service overall not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms not clean. bed and pillows uncomfortable breakfast average, had better had go ask for towels that particlar room was very noisy will not stay there again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    7.9
    the room was very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was not soundproof at all. we had a room near the kitchen where the breakfast was prepared and the sound of the kitchen was the first thing to hear every morning. maybe at another floor it would be better. or if you are of the ones waking up really early you won't have a problem. ;-)

    the room was very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.1
    Lovely trendy loks,clean, in the center!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not top. And did not had fresh fruit cutted. I asked the staff and receved a not nice NO. All the other staff where 5 stars. Window of the room did not closed it was a very cold and noisy night -impossible to sleap

    I loved the old look of the inside. The reception staff was very nive, the place was tottally in the center and the bathroom was new!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    6.3
    2 Nights near City Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is ridiculously compact. We also did not enjoy the fact that we had to stop by reservation every single time to pick up the key to our room and drop it off. It was a slight pain waiting for 10 minutes to pick up my key if the staff was busy helping someone else.

    The location was perfect, few paces from the metro. It is a very centralized hotel! The shuttle was also very affordable to take us back to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    5.4
    Tepid water in shower
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The water wasn't hot enough for a shower or shave. we complained but without success. we vacated after night 1 of a proposed 3 night stay due to lack of hot water.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very noisy rooms, you could hear the neighbour breathing and no isolation existed against noise from the street. Very poor quality of the bedding too made it almost impossible to sleep!

    Good location. Nicely furbished rooms. Good-sized bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.1
    Charming hotel, good location, unfriendly receptionist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel receptionist was really unfriendly. The hotel has alot of charm but none of it was reflected in her attitude.

    The location is perfect in the centre of Porto we could almost get everywhere just on foot.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.9
    A very relaxing refuge in a classic setting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom ventilation either nonexistent or not working properly Mirror on wardrobe appeared dirty but maybe just suffering from old age!

    Very comfortable mattress Daniela on reception was very pleasant and helpful Loved being able to store bags before and after check-in Relaxing comfortable lounge

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Aliados traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: