Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel D. Luis 3 stars

Rotunda da Ponte Rainha Santa, 3040 - 091 Coimbra, Portugal

#19 of 31 hotels in Coimbra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2111 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    The room had the best bed we slept in in the two weeks of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps more frequent shuttles would have been an advantage.

    The room had the best bed we slept in in the two weeks of our holiday. Shuttle transfer to the town was good and on time. The Portuguese steak was delicious as was the rest of the meal. Lovely balcony with umbrella, table and chairs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    No frills hotel for budget travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not super convenient, it’s across the river so you will need to cab it in and out. Would not recommend driving into and out of the city each time.

    Simple, efficient, facilities, helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    4.6
    Wish we had stayed somewhere else as this was supposed to be a birthday treat for my husband.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid for a Romantic package which was supposed to include wine, bon-bons and flowers in the room. We just got the wine. On querying this with reception we were told the flowers had been taken by the previous occupant! A total waste of money as the extra cost 18 euros and the wine was only 14 euros in the restaurant! Food in restaurant only average.

    Courtesy bus to town is ok so long as you plan ahead. Free parking good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfy hotel with great view, easy parking and easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Established hotel with a magnificent view. Great staff and a very clean comfy room. Recommend the little extra for the city view rooms. Well worth it. Restaurant was very obliging, chef came out to explain the local dishes to try. Onsite parking in front of hotel a bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Great retreat in Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Courtesy & efficiency of staff, from checkin to checkout . Special mention to Ivo in restaurant. On the other side of the river from town, but not a hassle as hotel provides a free shuttle + free parking. Wonderful views from our room. Great breakfast, as was buffet dinner (includes wine). A quiet place in busy, attractive Coimbra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.3
    Budget hotel. Don’t expect many amenities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had mold on ceiling and around tub. Tub paint was worn away. No shower cap, tissues provided. Water was yellow in faucet and toilet and needed to run to flush out. City center not walkable as you can see from picture. Room safe has a key- so you don’t know you need that until you get to your room which means a trip to the front desk. Most hotel room safes have digits to enter.

    Parking and WiFi were free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing start to a christmas vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable, the shuttle bus was non existent, despite being advised that I had an early train to catch (0800), i was not able to order an early breakfast or room service. Restaurant prices were expensive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Generally, a basic nice pleasant hotel. An OK hotel for people on the go
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on a rainy day and although the AC was working, it was a bit cold. We had to leave it running all night. The bath-tab itself was a bit basic and its Enamel was peeled.

    Nice comfortable room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.9
    We had a car so access to Coimbra was easy. We enjoyed our short stay at the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com advertised this property at 250m walking distance from the centre of Coimbra. It is located on a hill approx. 1.8km from the edge of Coimbra old town. The property offers a clear view of Coimbra but there is a network of busy roads and overpasses between the hotel and the town. The finishes the bathroom were in need of refurbishment.

    The property was very good value for what we paid at the time of our stay. Its located on an elevated site with a view of Coimbra and the considerable road network directly in front of the hotel. The hotel a standalone property so guests have a choice of eating at the fine hotel restaurant or driving to an alternative hostelry.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    First floor rooms at front have private terraces.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a c.100 room hotel it lacks a personal touch. A bit soulless. But suited my own purposes.

    First floor rooms at front have private terraces. Good TV channel selection. Good location if you want to be away from the city centre. Good breakfast selection. Vending machines for drinks/snacks in lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.4
    Ok for commute stay overnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms are updated and we switched rooms after overwhelming mold smell. Staff were able to accommodate us quickly with a better room. They are very business like - don't expect red carpets.

    Value is ok - within a small driving distance to main attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.1
    The hotel has seen better times
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No minimal information by check in. Receptionist recommend hotel restaurant, but she did not say, that evening would be closed for the event. It was surprise, when we came back to dinner. (So one more taxi to the city and back). The rooms are little old and worn.

    Location on the outskirts of a town, but very easy accessible by car. Transfer to the city centre, but must be booked one hour before departure. Nice view from the city side. Quickly helped, when friend's partner was stuck in the old elevator.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    Hotel has great location just outside the city. It could be a fantastic hotel given some money spent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is tired and in need of updating. Breakfast was not good compared with other hotels. Fruit all canned except fresh individual apples etc. Coffee was worst I have experienced. Eggs dried up and bacon 80% fat.

    Great location and staff very friendly and helpful. gardens overlooking the city lovely to sit in. Dinner was great, food and staff spot on.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel, but the staff can improve their kindliness;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good hotel, but the staff can improve their kindliness; the style is a littel bit old; everything is clean; huge bed; very good breakfast; good situated: I would go again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel with a view over the city and easy access by car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not really possible to walk to the city center. We took the free shuttleservice to the city but then it was cancelled on our way back, so we had to take a cap instead (it's not expensive though, around 5 euros)

    Nice hotel with a view over the city and easy access by car. The hotel offers a free shuttleservice to the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a bit a way from the city & shuttle bus very infrequent.

    Large comfortable clean room with a view of the hillside. Nice views from Restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    decent size room and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite far from town.The free transfer not available that day. Must have a car to get there. Restaurant buffet ok but overpriced for what it was.

    decent size room and quiet

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.0
    It is a large hotel, the room was large and we even got a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not far from the center but there is no pavement to walk till the next roundabout. The bathroom was a bit worn out and looked not so clean.

    It is a large hotel, the room was large and we even got a room with an extra foldable bed, although we booked a double bedded room. Extra bed also meant that we got plenty of towels :). The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and elegant hotel at a very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far from the main attractions of the city. When it is only a short visit, like ours, it is better to drive to the center,even if a walk is absolutely possible.

    Convenient and elegant hotel and room, helpful staff, rich and delicious breakfast,a lot of space for parking a car, good wifi, view from the restaurant and terrace to the whole city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.3
    Ok hotel, not without its problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. It was an unorganized mess. Complication connecting to Wifi. Had to ask the front desk for help, and not all were able to do it. Broken elevator. No in-room safe. No support for putting suitcase off the floor. Pillows too soft. Lack of an extra chair in the room.

    I picked this hotel because I was already familiar with the area, and for its value for the money. If you are going to spend the least possible time in the hotel, then I recommend it. If you want to take it easy and enjoy the hotel's amenities, there aren't many. Staff was friendly but not all were knowledgeable. Just to connect my iPad to Wifi, I asked three staff members. Two didn't get it, only Fabio was knowledgeable enough to do it, and he explained it well. He was my favorite staff member. The rooms are very generic, nothing wrong with that. But it lacked a place to support my luggage off the floor. It also needed another chair since there were two beds, two people, but with one chair only, one of us had to sit on the bed. The bed was comfortable but the two pillows were both very soft. I would have preferred to have a choice of one soft and one firm. It lacks an in-room safe so any valuables had to come with us in the car, every time we left the hotel. Breakfast was a poor experience. There was bread, some yogurts, fruit and cold slices of ham and cheese. Not bad, but no hot options. Placement of trays and silverware was atrocious as they were underneath the coffee and juice machines. So there was always a very unorganized group of people around this area, some looking for silverware, some waiting to get their coffee or juice, and no one knew if people were lining up, cutting in line or just standing. Chairs in the breakfast area were also uncomfortable to me. You just sank into it and could feel the wood underneath. And to top it all the elevator seemed to be broken for more than a day. Everyone was using the stairs, and you could tell people were not happy. All in all, if I need to return to this area for one night, I might stay here as it is not expensive. But for a stay of several days, I probably will look elsewhere.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good location if you are with the cae
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great, if you are with a car. It has a large parking and a amazing view to Coimbra, especially in the night. The breakfast was very good and the room was clean and nice. In front of the hotel there are several banks, where you can admire Coimbra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    Good location, beds and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to walk from the property into Coimbra (if you are fit) as the roads have no pavements and are duel carriageways.

    Good location on over the river from Coimbra, but this makes it easier to park. Fantastic views from the front side bedrooms. Great breakfast and helpful staff. Free courtesy bus to Coimbra runs several times a day, you need to book to secure a place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous view of Coimbra (we were fortunate to have a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi signal in the room was week. No mini bar in the room.

    Gorgeous view of Coimbra (we were fortunate to have a room facing the river and the city). Very comfortable beds, spacious room, good breakfast with plentiful choice for a 3-star hotel, easy access to the city center and motorway, parking facilities are a big plus point.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    4.5
    pictures can be deceiving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    its very old and they put us in a room facing a cement wall...the front desk officer was bery rude and dismissing just wanted to get the mo key odf his back and that was the first minutes intue hotel ....but the rest od the stay the staff was very nice and we found out that there was other rooms available

    the location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.5
    Liked the specious rooms and the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the restaurant and the breakfast was terrible, the worst food that you could ever imagine, just like it's prepared by a junior chef. There was no walking path from the hotel to the city, had to get a cab

    Liked the specious rooms and the view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not able to walk from this elevated sight due to main roads. Parking alongside river on town side was easy.

    Out of town across the river with fantastic views of town. Need a car to travel across, or use their shuttle but not till 10.30 first. Peaceful, quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Comfortable, clean but a little old fashioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to complain. Breakfast eggs and bacon were slightly undercooked, as if made in a rush. Weak wi-fi signal in bedroom.

    Well maintained 3-star hotel. It is old fashioned but clean and well served. The room was clean and comfortable, although on the small side. A very minor observation (can't even call it a complaint) as there was still plenty of space to walk around. Wi-fi in the room was available although the signal was weak. Nice bathroom, also clean. Remote controlled air-conditioner worked like a charm, and very quiet. Gorgeous views of Coimbra, from the restaurant and also from the parking lot. Plenty of parking and it is free! Definitely would return to it again, and I recommend it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Breathtaking view of Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk receptionist was very unfriendly after I told him I wanted to book the room through Booking.com. He asked me to wait over. In the lobby until he received the reservation.

    Hotel is gorgeous and very clean with modern amenities. Restaurant had a excellent breakfast buffet. The hotel has a breathtaking view of the city with its bridges and river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Good choice for a short stopover to check out Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was typical corporate hotel with a fair choice, it was okay but not inspiring.

    Staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and there was a free transfer bus to and from town (we took it one way and had a taxi back for under €4). We were given info without asking for it, and a map. The hotel is elderly modern but well kept and our room was very clean and comfortable. Access by car is easy, plenty of free parking, and the views from the hotel of the river are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    A bit rundown, but comfortable and useful nonetheless; only for travelers arriving by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Lobby and especially rooms looks a bit rundown, as they were not redecorated in the last 20-30 years - Not suitable for travelers arriving by public transportation, as the hotel is above a big interchange (meaning you can't even walk to the city) with nothing in the immediate surrounding

    - Good location for travelers arriving by car; Situated on a hill opposite Coimbra, about 7 minutes drive from the entrance to the old city. There is a restaurant at the hotel, and for additional options you can either drive to the center (there are two parking lots at the entrance at Av. Navaro) or go to the Av. Regres, opposite the center, where you can find more restaurants and easier parking. - Nice views of the city if taking a front facing room; back rooms face a wooded hill, which is not so bad in itself, so try asking for an upper floor room. - Very big parking lot adjacent to the hotel - Breakfast was OK, nothing to write home about - Big rooms with good soundproofing - Great base for visiting the area, with very good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    6.7
    Coimbra hotel on a hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff's negative and indifferent attitude was quite trying. We were made to feel like they were doing us a favour by having us stay there. Trying to get a cup of coffee was challenging to say the least, and when it finally arrived it was delivered with a grunt of semi acknowledgement.

    Nice view of Coimbra. The hotel decor was like a Bond movie from the 1970's, frozen in time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.1
    Not bad for the price.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is need of a face lift, it is very dated, having said that it was ok. The staff appeared to be tired but were helpful all the same. It is clean and ok for a nights stay. The breakfast was fine and plentiful although the coffee was awful. if you go into town it is better to take a taxi as the walking route is not clear for the first 500 metres.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.0
    Impersonal hotel catering for coach parties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On our first night there were coach parties in and we were told they only had a buffet. After a blazing row they eventually brought us the full menu. We were also told by reception that we did not need to book a table. This was untrue as the restaurant was full and we were lucky to get in. It also said that the room had views of the old city. Perfectly true except the old city was about 3 miles away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice view on Coimbra !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit dated but clean.

    Very pleasant hotel with good restaurant. Good parking facilities and free transport to the center with shuttle bus. We had a room on the frontside with an amazing view !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Only for parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No greeting; lousy wi-fi connection; and the smell coming from the carpet in the hallway.

    Friendly free shuttle service back and forth to Coimbra; satisfying choice of breakfast; nice view from the room; and prompt action in managing late disturbance from other guests.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    A room with a splendid view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot blame the hotel of course, but a nearby youth festival was very loud and I am many people in Coimbra did not sleep very well that night....

    Everything came up to expectations. Great views from the hotel room on Coimbra city and the University complex. Easy reach and easy parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    7.1
    Because of the low price, one or two days it's ok, not longer, feels like a nursing home!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The negatief is minor: It's an older hotel; structure, facilities and rooms. The staff is great but never smiles! Rooms in the back have a view on a wall of trees no panoramic view!

    Great breakfast, great Wifi, great size rooms, great panoramic view on one side of the hotel. Large parking space outside!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    Buffet is great!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was a bit shocked that a business partner of mine who ordered an amazingly delicious meal from the Don Luis' fine dining restaurant was told by staff he would not be allowed to have his leftovers packaged up for him to take home with him? The waiter refused and told us it was against the note to allow its restaurants guests to take home left overs. He asked why especially as he had paid for the meal. The reply was nada? It would be wise for the restaurant to allow those who patronize them during the dinner meal to carry out their leftovers. Please note I am not talking about the FREE food that is served during the morning buffet. Meals at dinner time are are paid for by the customer.

    Buffet is great! Rooms are very clean! Staff vey very helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Good Stay in Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a little renovation.

    Location and view from hotel over the city is great! A car is needed for this hotel. Breakfast was good but it was a bit crowded - people had to wait to get a seat for breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, good views, be prepared to use shuttle or taxis to get into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern hotel with good views of town at night. Breakfast good, we did not eat there in the evening. Due to location on busy ring road with no pavement outside for about 500m you need to use the hotel shuttle or taxis to get into town. Taxi was about 5 euro one way. On the plus side parking facilities are very good. It is possible to walk about 200m if you are careful down to the brewery and its restaurant - it's worth it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    7.9
    GOOD VALUE AND COMFORTABLE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very good, the young chap at reception was very nice and came upto the room to show us how to put the heating on. The older man was very good too, but could have smiled sometimes.

    The hotel was very well situated, lovely views of Coimbra. Breakfast was good with lots of choice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful view from Coimbra - hotel needs to be redesigned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from other customers, mainly kids and in very early morning. Definitely single rooms overbooked with large families.

    Very polite staff that promptly change from a triple room to a suite room when we claim from noise from other customer in near by family rooms. We very appreciate.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.2
    family roadtrip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    lost a bit of its touch not being Best Western anymore. pity mini bar didnt have atleast water in it, even thou there is a note saying anything needed please go downstairs.

    Good breakfast friendly staff and very helpful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location and nice panoramic view over Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be have more variety.

    Great location and nice panoramic view over Coimbra. Onsite private car parking. Big and comfortable bed in the standard room (one mattress instead of 2 separate which is always a plus).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    7.1
    Nice value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was not very friendly. Was not possible to walk into the city as there are no walkways.

    Nice breakfast, clean room, quiet location, free parking, great views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    6.7
    70s-80s tired looking hotel if for 1 night stay is still ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I saw hair and body hair in the bathtub area which ruined my impression already. The hotel was full of the atmosphere in the 70s or 80s with old carpeted floor and white lightings everywhere. Staff was ok doing their job but I wouldn't say they were friendly. Maybe they were also tired by the atmosphere in the hotel. There were no kettle or glasses provided in the room I was surprised. In Viseau we also stayed in a 3 star hotel and they had a kettle, cups, coffee/tea provided.

    Room was spacious and we had a nice view over the city. Free parking space and shuttle bus to the city. Breakfast was good. Bed was fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly staff, nice spacious rooms, good breakfast, free shuttle service to town centre, excellent parking. Will always choose this hotel when in Coimbra.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.5
    The shuttle transportation was a plus
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The address in booking . Com send us like 15 further than real location. For the GPS or should state the real address Santa Clara 3040-091 Coimbra. Other than that we really enjoy it nice and clean Breakfast was good dinner was amazing . With 10 percent discount

    The shuttle transportation was a plus

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    6.3
    We were put in a large penthouse suite which was a surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room hadn't been renovated in decades. Only room on floor and the halls were dark when we got off the elevator. Creepy. We were at the same level as the neon hotel sign. Doors to balconies didn't lock. Staff was rude to us both days we were there.

    We were put in a large penthouse suite which was a surprise. Nice view of area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    hotel and location very good shame about the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the food in the restaurant was very poor worst evening meal we had had on our trip breakfast was ok

    the hotel had good views of the town and very well located

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    7.1
    Out of dated hotel with terrible breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible breakfast (bad coffee, bad omlete, bad cupcakes and other sweets - bad means not delicious at all) The management have to try to eat their breakfast or ask an expert to eat it and change everything.

    It is decent hotel, out of dated.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    7.1
    Overall a good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could smell better (possible stuffy since its carpeted) The egg's smelt horrible at breakfast, suggest taking it off the menu or cooking it differently.

    Good location, View of the city from the hotel (rooms, bar and restaurant). Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.2
    Absolutely recommend but wouldn't use the restaurant for dinner/lunch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff Very unprofessional and rude We went there one night for dinner and we were absolutely disappointed over almost everything The food quality was terribly bad and staffs are but a disappointment

    Location, facilities, front desk staff, comfort of the room - great value for the money!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    9.6
    Breakfast is rich and the room was big and had air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not recommended if you don't have a car. Otherwise, in 5 minutes drive you're in the centre!

    Breakfast is rich and the room was big and had air conditioning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    10
    Delightful stay with spectacular view
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini fridge did not function, despite the efforts of staff.

    Service was excellent in every way. The hotel dining experience overlooking Coimbra was a pleasure with local wine offerings also available and the meal was also very good and plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.0
    Easy parking , good views of Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way too old, in bad need of a Reno, not worth the money

    Easy parking , good views of Coimbra

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old carpet

    Parking spaces

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace and City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast choice was good. Dining room was spacious and had good views. Plenty of parking.Quiet location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far out of the city

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a couple and we had two twin beds, the stories smell like old.

    The breakfast was great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Free private car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free private car parking. Great view across the river to the old Coimbra. Good choices at the breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    The magnificent view across the river to the old city of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The magnificent view across the river to the old city of Coimbra was truly amazing. The hotel has a vantage point on a high hill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some carpet stains, otherwise no problems.

    Car parking, great city views and good choices at breakfast. Great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    We had a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great stay! Very central and easy to travel to and from. Food was amazing and service wad good!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    If you have car it is good location and with beautiful scenic view over the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bid old fashion and part of the facilities need maintenance.

    Beautiful scenic view from balcony and a lot of parkings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    so-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alcatifa nos quartos, preços no bar, odor do desinfectante no corredor

    Proximidade ao Centro Desportivo Universitario

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    --
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humidity smell in the room

    Food and breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dated. Staff could smile a bit...

    Nice breakfast. Nice view over the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    boa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Do restaurante e vista do Hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast was good.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My bathroom deserve to be renovated. The floor and the tiles.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the room. Intense smell due to humidity. We had to open the window during the night

    Location and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    This is an good hotel with all facilities are excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an good hotel with all facilities are excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    Good inexpensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking easy to get in to centre via taxi and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel D. Luis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: