Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Faro & Beach Club 4 stars

Praça D. Francisco Gomes, Nº 2, 8000 -168 Faro, Portugal

#9 of 25 hotels in Faro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1776 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing staff, especially in the restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of closet, drawers to put your clothes The beach is accessible through a 10 minutes shuttle but the pictures made me think it was just near the hotel

    Amazing staff, especially in the restaurant. Very comfortable room Amazing view on the roof where you have the restaurant and the pool One of the best restaurant in town Amazing boat trip provided by the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.7
    OK if a room is only a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the views from the top floor bar/restaurant were terrific the prime seating areas were limited and most often were habitated by smokers. Service for food and drink was not great. Sometimes staff would be hanging out talking at the bar rather than working the room. The room was utilitarian and sterile. In the bathroom, the sheet rock/plaster was chipping away on the ceiling. The vibe when walking the hallways was like at a mid end Vegas hotel. Food trays in the hallway. Kind of seedy.

    I liked the location, right in the downtown/harbor core area. Views from the top floor bar/restaurant were terrific, when you could find a spot. The room was clean. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. Check in and out was efficient.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in Faro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should be inclusive with the cost of the stay, even though it is reduced.

    Rooms were clean and comfortable. Rooftop bar and pool was excellent. Breakfast was amazing. Reception were very helpful and gave us really good advice on restaurants and places to visit, which we followed and were very happy with!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    Good location, good facilities and the roof-top restaurant is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room was in need of maintenance with lots of fan noise and the room was stuffy without it on.

    The staff were very helpful and we ate in the roof-top restaurant. Their taster menu was excellent and the food amazing. The views are great and you can watch the sun go down over Faro.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location superb, worth it just for the views from the restaurant.Never had breakfast in a nicer setting. Pool just right too. Had to get bus to beach as shuttle not running on Mondays but only 25 mins and well worth it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Hotel and city, recommend Boat trips with Carlos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some work went on in the room next door which was a little noisy but only during the day and as we were out most of the time it made no diffrence really

    My wife and I decided to go to Faro for a relaxing week of sun, food and wine. We chose the Hotel Faro for its Beach Club and Excursions. The Hotel itself is 4 stars and pretty much standard for that quality although the breakfast is outstanding and we spent many hot mornings simply lounging on the roof terrace with coffees and watching the Storks in their nests and swimming in the pool. The Beach Club is good and there is a free shuttle bus for guests. The club itself is a snack bar along a line of bars and small hotels so you are not confined to hotel faro beach club if you want to explore. The Beach is huge and golden sand. If you want two loungers under the shade its 15E per day as the Hotel does not control the beach area. I would recommend the Hotel boat excursions. They are run by Carlos who sits in the Hotel lobby. He is a very knowledgeable, friendly man who has a passion for the Ria Formosa and its wildlife. I would recommend the island trip and although it takes five hours we were dropped of at each island so time on the boat is actually very little. This trip ended with an excellent lunch in a local restaurant of fish wine(x2), salad, and local dish sides and some aperitif that was very good and very strong (My wife impressed by downing two), all for 25E a head, not included in the boat trip cost but well worth it, and put it this way, don’t get in the hire car when you get back to the hotel! We also did the Sunset cruise of one hour which was truly spectacular and a chance to have a good chat with Carlos about the local area and Portugal as a whole. Carlos and the boat trips where the stand out part of the holiday but Finally make sure you get up into the old town and try some restaurants there. I would recommend Taverna Modesto.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small with no closet, no tissues, no soap. The AC did not work properly and a staff member came up to fix it but that did not work. There was no one to help with our luggage from the street to the hotel which had a few steps.

    The location was excellent. The roof top pool and restaurant was beautiful. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Well worth every penny - treat yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A perfect location with a wonderous view from the rooftop bar. Nothing to complain about here, the staff were fantastic and friendly, the food amazing. If your stay coincides with their Brinner (buffet for 30 euros a head) then take the opportunity, the food was amazing. Book yourself on a boat trip too, one that stops off at an island for a fresh grilled fish lunch - just delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything about this place is enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor initial service, room cleaning took an extra 2hrs - so could not check in at 2pm. Had to wait around till 4pm.

    Everything about this place is enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is in an outstanding location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is a problem, but if you pay €12 you can get a special 24 hours parking deal with the hotel. Cleaning in the bedroom needs to be made with more details.

    The hotel is in an outstanding location. Our room was quiet, with a balcony on the third floor. We had a nice view towards the city and even though was in the center of everything the noise wasn’t an issue. Breakfast was excellent, varied and delicious. A separate note to the staff, always attentive and courteous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Amazing rooftop bar/pool/restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing rooftop bar/pool/restaurant. Great location right in the centre of Faro with amazing views across the marina. Easily the best hotel/bar in Faro. Staff were extremely polite and helpful and the room was modern, clean and well maintained. The beach club is a shirt free shuttle ride from the hotel and is amazing. Would definitely recommend. 5 stars ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great location, fresh modern hotel with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, fresh modern hotel with excellent breakfast. Close to the airport and to center of the city. Will definitely recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    overall ok but won't return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a 'new menu' celebration evening on one of our nights. We were not invited which was fine but when we came downstairs to go out for the evening there were lots of people in the reception area. I think it was one of the managers that came up to us and said 'can i help you'? and honestly it made me feel like i should have not been in the hotel entrance, never mind where the celebrations were taking place. like we were not good enough. I'm sure they thought we were 'ladies of the night' lol on a serious note, its not cool to make people feel like that. We have been coming for 3 years but will not be returning.

    Loved the roof top terrace & pool area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic location and rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC wasn't working in our room.

    The room view was amazing! Fantastic location centrally located everything is nearby and within walking distance. The rooftop bar and restaurant were awesome, the food was excellent and drinks were well crafted! The pool was the perfect size for a quick dip. The breakfast buffet was also very tasty!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Alberta the shuttle driver was informative and friendly - reception staff delightful and clean room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reported to the main staff at hotel that that beach club could do with a tidy up - they responded well to the comnent

    Friendly staff - excellent clean facilities - rooftop bar and breakfast area with amazing city and marina views - handy shuttle daily to Faro beach club -room was excellent with a balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    May 2018 return trip to the Algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were unhelpful with baggage, particularly at 4.30 am when 2 male staff members at the desk did not offer to help and were almost sullen and uninterested - definitely not friendly. I’d like to say that I did not put this review on Trip Advisor which was down to the saving grace of the excellent restaurant staff.

    Clean rooms, roof top pool, superb dining experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, breakfast really good with a great view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe coffee facilities in the room would have been nice. Also we paid for the spa, not exactly what we expected but still a nice experience.

    Great hotel, breakfast really good with a great view from the rooftop bar. Staff very helpful and offered a late check out at no extra cost.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and staff, fabulous rooftop restaurant, food only so-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food photos were misleading, we opted for dinner package based on photos and food reviews - package valued a 3 course meal at 25€/person - my expectations were that we would receive meals like those in the photos but did not come close. Food was good but could have gotten something similar for cheaper at nearby restaurants.

    Excellent and accommodating staff, rooftop restaurant was fab, location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Sunday we would not have mind if breakfasttimes were extended to 11:00

    Excellent location. Spend a few hours watching storks from the rooftopbar, while sipping a good glass of wine. Very friendly personnel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luggage elevator didn’t work. One of the ladies helped carry our luggage up the steps ( we are seniors)

    Excet location. Very close to beaches and shopping. Staff was excellent, from checkin, to the restaurant staff especially John and the serving staff. A special thanks to Carlo for a great trip on the pontoon boat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Near old part of city, very comfortable bed,excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee pot available in room or food allowed!! (for cost of more than 100 Euros per night!!)Had to stand in line for coffee machine at delicious breakfast & coffee tasted like instant coffee.

    Near old part of city, very comfortable bed,excellent breakfast buffet, great top-floor patio

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Comfort in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a superior room with adjoining bedroom ( family room) couple with small child were next door and we could hear everything. No coffee/ tea or milk only herbal teas

    Room was spacious wonderful comfortable king bed. Great facilities toiletries, towels etc Decor is very sleek and modern. No loud people on corridors. Rooftop restaurant and bar were really nice and our breakfasts were fantastic. Huge choice of food. A really wonderful place for adults. Not really suitable for children. Pool was lovely compact but refreshing. This is a really well located hotel which we as a couple would definitely recommend to friends and would love to return to in the future. We loved our boat tour through the beautiful park and Islands. 5hank you to all the pleasant staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    It’s a must (class)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa had no thearaphist on hand ,they would call one in if you needed a massage (strange)

    Class hotel , location, pool / bar on rooftop looking over marina , Breakfast/ brunch excellent restaurant class ,bars restaurants, castle,tours bus station,Taxai rank all beside you , walking distance, shops old town this is a must for break ,so peaceful and veiw of churches / boats class

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Very over priced for what you get, especially during their renovation times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small (and we were given an upgrade) and boring. There wasn't any atmosphere, it was quite dreary and dark.

    The staff were lovely, helpful and very friendly. The rooftop bar and restaurant was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym undersized and sauna not hot enough

    It has a Raddison feel and it doesn't come access in the website foto. It uses really great resturant with an amazing resturant and very well trained and attentive staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place for stay and romantic journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is in the heart of the City center. It has a beautifull view which makes it more perfect in a romantic evenings. Rooms are comfy and the breakfast is great (everything always delicious and fresh). But the best is part staff - I really appreciate they approach to our honeymoon. We were traveling through all Portugal and this hotel really deserve for it's all four stars. From my point of view they mark out how others should deal with clients - bravo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Blast from the past. New reburbishments of many rooms is a good idea and no reason not to go here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    The location is excellent; the staff are a joy to deal with. The rooftop is pleasurable albeit one needs sun in April this year! The rooms are varied in size and finishings but all acceptable but old design can be considered basic to anyone from the hospitality industry.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    3.0
    Terrible, Worst value for money I got in many years!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Eerything. Hotel, besides the 4th floor needs urgent full refurbishment!

    Terrible value for money. For EUR 185 in Portugal one would expect a decent room. How could this place ever get 4*? No closet, no warderobe. No paper towels. Cheepest furniture immaginable. Bed like in poor hospital.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The rooftop bar is great and the restaurant is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our “check in” receptionist was most unfriendly - really doing us a favour! She could have been a little friendly ....... even if she hates her job. The air conditioner didn’t work in the room - just blew hot air! They offer no complimentary water in the room either. Takeaway breakfast needs some attention - a door stop cheese sandwich and a bottle of water? The hotel could add a yoghurt, small container of fruit - it’s not that difficult.

    The restaurant had delicious food, presented beautifully with excellent waiter service.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Good experience with small things to be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was overall really good BUT with three exceptions. Please please please : the orange juice in the breakfast buffet is not from fresh oranges!! You have so good oranges in your country, please use them!!! (the same oranges that were in pieces in the buffet table and were so delicious). I suggest one of those machines where you put oranges from one side and you get fresh orange juice in few seconds. The croissants are always not crispy at all, even when the breakfast opens. I dont think it's hard to bake them at higher temperature and for few seconds more... I dont understand why other baked stuffs were perfect and the croissants chewy. The Yoghurts are also a pain... I have never seen so cheap and low quality yoghurt. Strawberry Yoghurt's Ingredients: milch and AROMA!!!! No trace of fruits or jam inside (at least if the translation in English was correct). About coffee/hot chocolate: the products from the machine are drinkable but not really a dream... For a dream experience, I would fix the issues above and do good quality coffee and hot chocolate (that must not be too much sweet).

    The Brunch on Sunday was really good, breakfast was in general also very good (see the three exceptions in the negative stuffs). SPA and boat tour to the islands are nice and not expensive. Hotel very close to the train station, the old city, the walking center. The room was old style but the hotel is renovating many places, I will not put this in the negative stuffs also because the TV was new and the fridge working fine (no noise). The air conditioning is also old and a little bit too noisy (but still OK, again, nothing to really complain)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee at breakfast was from a "syrup" machine and was nasty. Shame because coffee at dinner was great and the breakfast buffet excellent.

    Great location next to the old town. Loved roof top bar and the restaurant. We had the 45Euro tasting menu with wines and it was the best meal we have had in Spain/Portugal. Service was terrific too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at times from the street even though we supposedly had a quiet room. We were charged €8 for we think was a charge from the mini bar which we hadn't used. When we arrived in our room we did notice that some items were missing from the mini bar and should have reported it right away. Heads-up to other travellers.

    Excellent choices at breakfast and the rooftop restaurant and bar. Use of the gym Location. Cleanliness Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Central location with everything close at hand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you don't like airplanes overhead - Faro isn't for you

    The buffet breakfast was tasty and in a great location . Great if you like Storks nesting too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.6
    2-Star Hotel at best, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First I've never left a bad review: A big selling point was the rooftop pool, unfortunately, despite it being decent weather and sunny the pool was half full (below the jets), dirty and cold - essentially not to be used. I was not told this prior and furthermore, at no point would any staff admit that the pool wouldn't be working during our stay, simply delaying and then forgetting to come back to me with an answer. The staff couldnt have been less helpful in pretty much every regard. Not a single member of staff, outside of cleaning staff, benefited my stay and in some cases they were a negative, providing commands in a manner you would expect to talk to your child when we didn't conform to unwritten rules about where you were allowed to sit. Staff, particularly at breakfast, all appeared to be getting on with jobs that specifically avoided interaction with guests, which also meant a lot of talking with other colleagues and I noticed few positive interactions between them and any other guests. The restaurant was okay - but you're paying to use it and it's not at all competitive for quality with local restaurants and bars, so isn't really a selling point. There was a very large selection for breakfast but on closer inspection most was a minimum standard, for example, most fruits were from a tin and the grapes that weren't were very mouldy. Coffee was self-service from a machine, which is very poor. The biggest issue, however, was that the breakfast/restaurant room was full of flies on a day where no windows or doors were open - I noticed no similar issue anywhere else in Faro and would not be surprised if the Hotel has numerous hygiene issues; we ate elsewhere after that.

    The location is perfect, right in the heart of the town and seconds from everything you want to see / do.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel! Really good location, lovely staff, beautiful rooms and views and roof bar on point
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi could have been stronger. Doesn’t take away from the experience though!

    Decent room, lovely staff, fantastic roof bar and near everything you need to see. Best hotel I’ve stayed at!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Great central location. Rooftop bar boasts fab views and pool. Lovely breakfast with lots of options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room smelt of cigarette smoke so we were promptly moved - no issues at all. Minor issue not worthy of a real complaint, but there was only one mirror and that was in the bathroom. Would’ve been nice to have full length mirror in the bedroom and natural lighting.

    Staff were great, as was breakfast. Loved rooftop bar/pool/restaurant. Central location reduced our use of taxis/Uber (we moved here for our final night due to the fab location)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel itself is very basic, the rooms are spacious and clean. There is no tea/coffee facilities in the room. Water should be provided complimentary, there is a charge of €2.00 @ bottle, which I felt was very excessive. Standards do not meet a 4* Hotel.

    This Hotel is in a very good location. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are serviced daily and are very clean. There is a good choice for breakfast, lovely fresh fruit, which varied each morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing Faro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn’t provide any basic amenity ( like water boiler) that you would expect in such hotel... when I asked for hot water I got somebody coming to fix the hot water in the shower 😥 the hotel room was very noisy and from the floor above there was. Lot of noise of people and moving chairs till late and starting early. Coffee and tea tasted like chlorine. Heating didn’t work. Definitely for the cost and for the presentation in the site we expected much better !

    I liked the location of the hotel and view from the rooftop terrace.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no conditioner in the bathroom toiletries. There was also no tea/ coffee facilities in our standard double room. Apparently it is only available in superior double rooms and suites. This discrimination should not be there in a wonderful hotel like this. Wonderf

    Location, staff and breakfast are excellent. We had a great time there. The Island tour is amazing and the skipper is really good fun!!! Highly recommend doing this tour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location with excellent rooftop terrace and eatery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom spacious but needs separate shower and bath

    Great location with starbof the show being the rooftop bar & restaurant. Hotel needs modernised and that is in progress. Tired rooms, carpets and fittings but clean and comfortable. Helpful and courteous staff added to make up for shortcomings in decor and furnishings.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just the location. It was in town, but was advertised as being close to the airport which it was not

    The included breakfast buffet is the best one could find anywhere.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    Excellent location, comfortable, great value
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been nice to stay longer.

    Comfortable room, excellent breakfast with beautiful view, friendly staff, right adjacent to the historic centre of Faro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    A very modern and comfortable hotel with excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular. It met all of our needs very well.

    The hotel was ideally placed for our purposes (walking holiday in the Algarve) due to it's proximity to the airport and railway station, and it's location on the harbourside, next to the old town and shops restauarants. Special mention for the staff, who were always freindly and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.8
    My stay was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower is not good, while you are taking a shower the water becomes so hot and then cold.

    Hotel is in very good location, the staffs are great! Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.8
    Restaurant on top floor with views amazing but would not stay at this hotel again due poor bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are bare, dark and no sound proofing from other rooms. Very, very noisy corridors. We booked a premium double room but it was a very basic standard.

    Staff were lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.8
    view from roof top bar is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was amazing - huge selection and excellent quality, served on rooftop restaurant with wonderful view. Everything else was very good - clean, comfortable, great wi-fi, TV with tons of English channels. No 'charm' but great location on main square 10 minute walk to train station, 5 minutes to old town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfectly located hotel with superb staff . . . but with just a little effort, could be even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We appreciate good architecture and the Faro's imaginative external treatment is commendable. Less satisfactory is internal design and bedrooms seemingly devised by someone who has never been in any hotel before. Bedside drawers do not exist, only chipboard rectangles of pointless open Cubist style. There are no coat hooks on the walls nor the bedroom door; there was one in the ensuite bathroom of one room we occupied but not in the next room we occupied on a return visit. Room management really needs to be beefed up: providing a rail with a mere six hooks which, in our case, were fitted with two hangers with cross-pieces and two hangers without is manifestly inadequate. In-room amenities are incompatible with a hotel of ostensible 4* status: no tissues in bedroom or in bathroom; no notepad and pen; no tea / coffee making facilities. The fridge, however, is most welcome. TV reception is good but largely inaudible: out of consideration for other guests, and perhaps awareness of thin partition walls, televisions are restricted to a volume level about one-quarter of the maximum. Wi-fi works OK but don't waste time on the elongated 'registration' process; just ask reception for the password instead. Finally: an abundance of excellent restaurants surrounds the hotel, all of them offering considerably better value-for-money than the hotel's own -- a pity, because for ambiance and environment, dining-in here could, and should, have been an experience to treasure.

    Unbeatable location overlooking Faro's marina and within a minute's stroll of the archway to Faro's old town. Exterior design is audacious and appropriate, echoing the prow of a ship thrusting towards some far maritime horizon. Hotel staff superb, and 4th floor restaurant/bar with outdoor wrap-around terrace an outstanding feature. (We were unfortunate enough to be in Faro in March, so what with the rain and the cold wind, never did get the chance to relax outside; summertime visitors will be luckier -- and there's a rooftop swimming pool, too.) Hotel is exactly 5-minutes walk from Faro's new-ish bus station. Route 16 runs (almost) every hour from there to Faro Airport. Cost per person: 2 Euros 30. Hotel is less than 10 minutes walk from Faro railway station. Regional train prices are good value and especially so for seniors (half price: but only on production of your passport.) Hotel breakfast is exceptional and beautifully presented. . . though this is yet another Portuguese hotel we've encountered where breakfast choice is cold or colder because hot food is not kept in heated containers. Opt, instead, for the cold buffet of cereals, pastries, and fresh fruit: the choice is vast, the quality, unbeatable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.4
    the bathroom smelled of sewage.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom smelled of sewage. The laundry and bath tub smelled very badly. The bathroom floor was full of ants in the morning. Everything should be fixed but it still smelled. After 2 nights we had to change rooms. Renovation information was found in the booking but it would not give any noise. Unfortunately, the banquet was heard all day long.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Great for a short break even in bad weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charge for parking though it wasn't too bad at €12.50 a night.

    The location in the town overlooking the marina was excellent. The rooftop bar/restaurant area was very relaxing and allowed us to enjoy the views from inside ( in bad weather) or outside. Wonderful food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    We had a good break despite poor weather!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom was small tired, little informatiom about local attractions, because of work going on we assumed that the spa & gym were not in use, the staff did not tell us otherwise. Lack of relaxtion space in bad weather

    Excellent dining room, staff, food especially breakfast, view from room 201.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.2
    Always a pleasure to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be better if the breakfast barriers didn't go up until 10.30am

    Breakfasts are fantastic here, although food barriers go up promptly at 10am which slightly rushes you if you want to be leisurely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    The location was perfect and the views from the breakfast room/bar were stunning. Good breakfast and well sized room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.3
    Don't expect too much.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found the room very cold in atmosphere. The bathroom was very old-fashioned and uncomfortable. The toilet seat was broken, and the towels were poor quality. I could hear everything from neighbouring rooms, corridors and the F&B department upstairs. I also think that the price was too high for the low season. I asked to check out after seeing the room and was offered an upgrade for an additional fee or a 50% refund.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Slick business type hotel with stuffy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked for a quiet room, and were told that we were given one. But when we got to it, it was right by the entrance to the elevator, and the keys didn't work so then we were moved to another one. Unfortunately this was on the first floor right by a busy road so whilst the double glazing on the windows was excellent at keeping the sound out, when we had the window shut it meant that the room became very very stuffy and airless leading to a sleepless night for me. So if you stay thereI suggest you stay has high up as possible.

    Breakfast on the roof was great! Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Amazing first experience in Portugal. Would definately stay at this hotel again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was brilliant. No faults at all.

    The breakfast menu was AMAZING. So much to chose from and it was delicious. Never have I seen such a large choice for breakfast alone. The drinks at the bar were fab and the staff really listened to what you wanted. The hotel was beautiful and clean with great gym, spa and pool facilities! Sitting on the rooftop for drinks was an added bonus as the view of the marina was incredible! Amazing service from all staff members and the location was fab! It was around the corner from the bus and train station! Thank you so much to all the Hotel Faro staff for making our first stay a memorable one!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    some walls in the bedroom were marked but these will be sorted i'm sure during the renovation. nothing else wrong that i can think of now

    location location location, its right in the heart of it. got to be the best spot for visiting. bed amazing, really had a good nights sleep every night. rooftop restaurant was hands down the best food i've had in ages. everyone agreed they were more like 6 star dishes. amazing honestly the staff, i mean the normal staff on the floor behind the bar severing you food, doing the breakfasts were all amazing. could not ask for better. your reputation all depends on these guys and you have the best.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    Great one night break in the centre of Faro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Could not fault anything

    Fabulous location. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast with a great choice of both hot and cold items. stunning views from the roof top terrace and bar, looking down on the white storks in their nest. Safe and secure underground car park (although you do have to pay for it)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurang and the prices. They are trying to be exclusiv but i think not. To expensive and the meny did not suit me.

    Central,the view, and the breakfest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    We would certainly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed some minor maintenance.

    Eccellent location in the old town, close to train and bus stations. Great breakfast buffet and beautiful rooftop view . The staff were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    Well worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were the only negative for us. We woke up each morning with either a stiff neck or back. The mattress is not up to scratch and the pillows are really poor quality.

    The service was impeccable and quality of food outstanding. The view from the top bar floor in the evening is majestic.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3rd floor gets lots of noise from bar and restaurant in some areas. Staff were awesome and moved us after first night. Very helpful and understanding. Good value including breakfast.

    Very nice breakfast and rooftop view from it and the bar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Well located hotel and great view from bar on rooftop but room purely functional with limited views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was standard and functional. We were on the 3rd floor and could hear chairs being moved in the restaurent on the floor above from 7am each morning

    The breakfast on the top deck was a lovely way to start the morning

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location and a lovely quiet hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is tiny.

    The advert says an amazing breakfast and it pretty much lived up to that. Good view from the restaurant - look out for the storks. The bed was really good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with fabulous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It seemed that passing visitors can attend the upper floor restaurant, however surely the prime seating positions should always be reserved for paying guests as a priority.

    The bar and restaurant as an unenviable position with fabulous views. Excellent restaurant and wonderful breakfast. Reception staff and bar/restaurant staff are exceptionally good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    2.9
    Not a 4 star hotel, more like a 1 star.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very rude and unprofessional checkin. The hotel is in a state of poor management and over all quality. This is not a 4 star hotel and gives the Portuguese tourist industry a bad name. I feel as though we have been misled.

    Not a 4 star Hotel. Worst checkin ever- rudest staff of all time. Halls and bedroom have filthy walls, smelly carpets, exposed drywall. Bathroom shower drain not working. Elevator swipe key does not work so anyone from street has access to the hotel upper bedroom floors. Zero security. Front desk staff are terrible. Will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Dont be fooled by fancy breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being off season the property was very quiet which gave us opportunity to look at things a bit closer. Whilst the overall standard is very good, our room was starting to look a little tired with some minor repairs needed to paintwork, skirting boards and the like. General wear and tear for a busy hotel.

    A lovely hotel in a commanding position overlooking the marina. Spacious rooms which are well equipped. The roof top bar and restaurant is a fantastic place to start and end your day in Faro. I would highly recommend the sight seeing trip on the Ria Formosa. The hotel operates a private boat offering very immersive tours. Our tour lasted nearly six hours and cost €35 pp.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    5.0
    slight disappointment
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place doesn't really resemble the photos. It is not as nice. It is old and needs refreshing.

    It was convenient to the beach, but too cold when I was there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel, beautiful view from rooftop restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very warm, and we had to keep the window open at night. There is soo much noise from the street that it made it difficult to sleep.

    Convenient location, comfortable bed, great restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Next time in Faro we will definitely stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything I didn’t like.

    The restaurant was superb. Excellent breakfast, so much to choose from and everything fresh. We also had dinner a couple of times and it was lovely. The staff were always friendly and gave top class service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    10
    Excellent place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was safe but a bit expensive.

    The hotel was spacious and the staff very helpful. We tried the tasting menu which was delicious but a little expensive. The restaurant is on the top floor with wonderful views and the buffet breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    A terrific hotel with gorgeous views over the marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location on edge of old town overlooking the marina. Views from rooftop pool and bar are spectacular. Staff very friendly, helpful, polite and informative. Breakfast was AMAZING. Huge variety to suit all dietary needs. Hotel was clean and very well kept. Would highly recommend this hotel to all. Would like to stay again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.8
    We were both disappointed with the hotel & navigating around Faro by car is a joke!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    in my opinion the hotel & our room did not match the 4 star rating . The reception does not provide a welcoming focus for the hotel. getting to the hotel by car very difficult.Expensive to park at the hotel 62.50 euros for 5 days , free car park 800 metres away.

    The breakfast choices & quality were very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    A great place to stay in Faro!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room on the third floor which meant noise from the restaurant (above) particularly at breakfast was better than any alarm. We asked for a double bed but got two singles joined together which was very uneven.

    We really enjoyed our four night stay at the Hotel Faro, the staff were very friendly. The tremendous choice available for Breakfast on the 4th floor (roof terrace) was a highlight. We liked the security card system which allowed only residents to exit the lifts at the three room levels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with awesome breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - absolutely wonderful stay that we had at this hotel. Would come back next time we visit the Algarve.

    Absolutely loved the buffet breakfast and the huge beds! Breakfast was something we always looked forward to because of the fresh fruits and the variety of the food that was available. The rooftop view was fantastic, and a great way to start the day! The hotel is also nicely situated - near the bay, lots of shops around, and being near the pharmacy was a great plus for us.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If you leave the hotel around 6:30 in the morning, prepare yourself patiently because it takes about 30 minutes. Nobody mentioned that the hotel had a special price for the parking lot, I understood it the last day.

    Excellent location of the hotel. Exclusive Breakfast. Very polite staff. Outstanding views from the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: