Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Maritur - Adults Only 4 stars

São Rafael, 8200-383 Albufeira, Portugal

#37 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 870 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was really amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed is made by two twins that are stuck together, very uncomfortable to sleep and really annoying for two people! No slippers in the room, bad air conditioning, empty minibar. Very far from the interesting points in Albufeira.

    The breakfast was really amazing. Very good food. The view to the pool and to the ocean very nice too.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing holiday same hotel 2 years running so must be pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep hill to hotel from town centre or marina so not good if walking back

    Very relaxing hotel near enough to central Albufeira but not to near so best of both worlds More than enough loungers around the pool for usage Great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was so cold you couldn’t get in. Everyone thought the same not just me. Breakfast choice was poor. Aircon light was so bright it lit up the room. Room was dirty. Nothing around the hotel. Food was poor.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    A quiet beach holiday !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Book airport transfer otherwise 65 euro taxi to hotel - 30mins journey. Public transport from airport to resorts - non existent ( need to go into Faro with limited eve service ) and in general is terrible in Algarve. 35 euro mini-bus transfer hotel-airport - allow 1 hour journey including pick-ups. Coffee & sausages at breakfast inedible with no bar open to purchase a real coffee. 2 tea bags in room for 1 week stay. No coffee. Tea bags not replenished. Air-con very complicated to operate. Pool could be cleaner. Flower beds around restaurant not maintained. Restaurant House wine by the glass - not good although some great Portuguese wines here and eleswhere. No public transport into town after 6.30pm. Taxi 8-10 euro old/new town. Its a quiet residential area with nothing to do in the evening only have dinner. If you like to have a drink/socialise and meet people this is not the place. Although the restaurant bar is open in the evenings, there is no communal area or separate bar where people gather to have drinks in the evening. There are no tables or chairs around the pool for drinks in the evening if that is what you want. Outside areas lacking any atmosphere/ambience but potential is there. I was the only single at the hotel. Its basically just for a quiet beach holiday away from the crowds which is fine. No big surprises from what I expected.

    Very friendly & helpful staff. Good varied breakfast. 2 nice beaches nearby ( ten mins walk ) both with beach bars/restaurants. Sao Rafael the main one and next door the smaller Arrifes beach, left side of hotel. Rafael is very pleasant and picturesque for early morning coffee/sunsets. There are two separate roads down to both beaches outside hotel but you can access both including some small hidden ones by connecting dirt tracks behind each beach. Marina 5mins by taxi. Best restaurant - Fisherman's Club. Marina to Old town 20 mins walking- uphill first half but great panoramic views of ocean and town at top. Room cleaned daily. Nice view to sea from balcony ( side view ). Had the buffet 1 night (20 Euro) but for not much more the A-la-carte restaurant is very good with everything cooked on bbq and reasonably priced. Local bus stop ( to 6.30pm only ) and Hop-on-hop-off stop outside Apts opposite hotel. Mini market, English cafe & Chinese restaurant 5mins walk. Fridge and kettle in room. Perfect for a quiet beach holiday away from the crowded centre yet only ten mins by taxi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far from center so If you don't rent a car can be a bit uncomfortable.

    The staff was very polite, they had a various breakfast, a nice swimming pool outdoor and indoor where you could relax, they have a nice book selection inside where you can borrow book during your staying.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Great Place for Lazy Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Generally, nothing bad. just suggestion here: dinner buffet is good, but i hope they could offer some sea food.

    1. staff is friendly, helpful, and professional. I came earlier ,but they still borrow me a beach towels 2. this hotel has two outdoor swimming pools and one indoor, with sunbeds. at outdoor swimming pool, you can enjoy the sea view. 3. the nearby beach is very beautiful and is only 10 min by feet. 4. room is clean and big 5. breakfast is good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Very nice stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Catia, our receptionist was so great and supportive! Thanks to her we managed to handle some trouble we had with our previous stay in Lisboa! Very nice personality and very caring. Thanks again. Muito obrigado :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    8.3
    Very quiet and relaxing, nice pool areas, good location (15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think a sit in water pool bar would be great to add. Slightly dated room decor.

    Very quiet and relaxing, nice pool areas, good location (15 min walk to marina and short cab to old town).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Good for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are not many areas of shade by the pool. The hotel could do with updating.

    Good for a short break. Nice big indoor pool. Quiet location with the marina 25 mins walk away (very steep hill). Staff all friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.3
    Suitable for a quiet getaway break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is 45 minutes walk from the Old town centre downhill most of the way, but a taxi back :) There was no entertainment in the hotel apart from a singer 2 nights a week Perhaps entertainment has been tried in the past but hasn't been a success

    The accommodation had very comfortable beds, air conditioning and a safety deposit box - a lovely bathroom with a powerful shower, tea making facilities with tea sugar and milk, no coffee - supplies were not replenished after the first day The breakfast was buffet style with a good choice of food There is a bus stop nearby and a shop, cafe/bar Chinese restaurant, and Portuguese Restaurant further down on the same road - Sao Raphael beach is 10/15 minutes walk away and lovely to visit

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.0
    I would not stay at the Maritur again ,not what i would exspect for €200 a night...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not a 4* more 3* hotel looked very tired and pool not that clean.We was told that T bags were only free on the first day ,the food was very exspensive and when it arrived was missing some of the food and when we told two waiter staff ( one the bar manager) we were met with a quite bizarre answer ,please hotel Maritur train your staff better including the bar manager....

    The hotel was a good location walking disstance to nice beach and 7€ in taxi to old town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    We loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything.. the food is yummy, the staff is really nice, we are impressed, we had an amazing time, and we hope to come back! Thank you for a beautiful week!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    Handy location for nearby wedding at Sao Rafael Atlantico,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were quite rude when checking in and also when coming to service the room.

    Handy location for nearby wedding at Sao Rafael Atlantico, room was nice with a good aircon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Alternative Albuferia Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good pool area and very clean rooms. Nice quiet location and very handy for São Rafael beach, which was amazing. Only a short taxi ride to Albuferia old town, which I liked very much, rather than the more commercial parts.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Relaxing Holiday would Highly Recommend Maritur Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    A long walk to Albuferia Old Town and its very hilly on the way back up to Hotel.

    Very friendly and helpful Staff both at Reception and the Pool side Bar especially Alex ! Very relaxing & Peaceful to sit at the Pool ( Adults Only). Would highly recommend the Spa treat yourseld your on holidays ! Short walk from the Hotel is a Supermarket and a nice English Bar lovely outdoor seating and good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel with great restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit old equipment

    Absolutely stunning location couple of meters form great beach, great restaurant with delicious food -really recommended, restaurant elevated Hotel one little step up.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Very quiet hotel stay, location poor but lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was dead, we were a group of 30 year olds and the little people that were around were mostly pensioners. Location wasn’t the best but a short Uber could get you most places for around €7.

    Very clean hotel, staff were brilliant, lovely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Overall very good apart from the accusations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the owner who accused my friends & I of being noisy the said someone of our party was sick in his lift without any evidence & we were given no apology

    The staff were very good the facilities good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.2
    Mold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really bad due to the smell of mold!!! It is absolutely not healthy to be in an environment that smell of mold and even if we said that to the staff at our arrival, nothing was done to improve the situation. In the room there was two bottle of water and two glasses and even the glasses were full of mold so they also didn’t care to clean the room properly before our arrival. I really do not suggest to go there because it is not healthy and the small was really strong!

    The location is very nice with a nice view from the swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice hotel with spa but not open and the bar in lounge area...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite remote lovely beach but very steep hill to climb No entertainment and too quiet more like a business hotel rather than holiday resort

    Nice hotel with spa but not open and the bar in lounge area shut no entertainment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    It was "adquate" however a little ambitious to say that the Maritur was four star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The steam room (turkish bath) was out of order the whole period, the swimming pool was freezing, we were only allowed two t-bags in the room on the day of arrival and the bar in the open reception communical area was never opened. The air filter in the a/c unit was thick with dust and hadn't been cleaned in a very long time.

    The rooms were nice, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.0
    Decent hotel, nice breakfast, gorgeous beach nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Wifi is very slow during peak hours. Rooms smell a bit damp. TVs in the rooms are tiny.

    Staff are very friendly and helpful. Free parking. Fresh orange juice at breakfast. Gorgeous beach at walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.8
    The location was great well situated easy access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property holds 4 star however the design and structure of the hotel is out dated the furniture is old and badly maintained. Very basic for 4* hotel. Disappointe👎🏼

    The location was great well situated easy access

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    I stayed off peak and would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I didn't book a room with a sea view but was given one on arrival. The room was very comfortable and very spacious. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice. I had an evening meal twice during my stay, again good choice of food, buffet style or from the menu. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    We will return to Hotel Maritur in 2019!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was slightly out of the way to local restaurants near the Marina as you had to walk most of the way there on a dirt track.

    Hotel Maritur did not disappoint on the fabulous food served for breakfast & the buffet served in the restaurant in the evening which was sumptuous☺ Paulo was an excellent host in restaurant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked less fish for dinner buffet

    We liked the breakfast. The satellite channels especially fox movies and blaze. We liked the location and peace and quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Can not fault hotel really, location is about 3km from old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit too quite but that is more the time of the year.

    Can not fault hotel really, location is about 3km from old town. Walking distance or 10 in taxi. Food was good, room was comfortable & clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Ideal for relaxing and exploring the region
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite is actually a 2 bedroom apartment (1 large double, 2 twins) with 1 bathroom, without a separate living room, the description and the lack of pictures misled us. The breakfast and the food at the restaurant was o.k. But nothing special. Everything else was perfect and even exceeded our expectations.

    What we really liked: Friendly staff, the jacuzzi and the pool area, the sea view from the suite, the comfy beds, good heating/cooling system, the size and value for money of the one bedroom apartment. We especially enjoyed that there were no kids around and it was also quiet at night, no parties next door or discos. The location is ideal (if you have a car).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Value for money hotel, in a relaxing setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds where a little too firm, but quite adequate.

    We had a lovely view from our balcony, staff most helpful and the restaurant was simple but tasty. Pools are great, even had an indoor heated one. It was a quick walk to the secluded beaches.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Amazing view, Breakfast was great and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that I was not overly keen on was the menu for dinner at the restaurant I found there was not enough choice for my liking

    Amazing view, Breakfast was great and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Ideal Hotel location for a break in the lovely Algarve,don't really need a car,but is handy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed could have been a little less hard.

    Wonderful sea view from the room,beautiful walks to amazing beaches close by.Beach bars expensive,but you are paying for amazing views.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    we would certainly stay at the hotel again but only on a bed & breakfast basis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    having booked our stay on a half board basis we were very disappointed with the choice available on the set evening menu - ie only one meat choice - there was however several fish choices ie sea bream/bass/tuna but i dont eat these types of fish - it was only when we questioned the availability of the a la carte menu that we were informed that we could choose from this menu with any excess costs over the fixed menu being paid for

    the breakfast restaurant was excellent offering a wide range of hot/cold food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Short stay and would return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It looks like the hotel has been refurbed and was very modern, I think they should work on the outside pool area now. Although we did not use it with staying one night , just a point....think the sunbeds and the area was a bit tired looking.

    The pleasant welcome and the rooms that looked like they had been refurbished, th hotel was also very clean. We only stayed one night but would visit again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Great holiday in a lovley hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lighing in the corridors was a little bit dim!

    Bedroom was quite spacious, bed was really comfy. We had breakfast included in our stay, but only had it twice due to the fact we liked to lay in. Good selection of continental foods. Near 2 great beaches and a couple of restaurants in the area. Staff were realy friendly :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    7* staff really clean comfortable - calm nice hotel. impressed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing much to fault. apart from a few trees around pool to obscure main road and garden features would give the property more appeal i feel. and building work opposite

    the outstanding service from the front desk reception all round from female staff who were extremely supportive and helpful, to throughout end stay. Extremely comfortable rooms, very clean, spacious, beautiful sea view. Jacuzzi, indoor pool looked nice but didn't use on stay

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Albufara stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good just some building work across the road which was unfortunate but should be complete soon.

    Great place in a great location for beach, marina and old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    The staff were friendly and helpful both in the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms need upgrading. The shuttle bus needs to run at regular intervals.

    The staff were friendly and helpful both in the restaurant and reception. The room was very basic and small. The distance from Albuferia was longer than stated on booking.com. There was a shuttle bus from the hotel but it just did one trip in the mornings at 11.45 to Albuferia and no return trip.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Enjoyed stay greatly and would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor point they have a gym but some of the gym equipment needs servicing

    Excellent location,friendly helpful staff, walking distance to several restaurants. Very clean , wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall a good experience we would go back again !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel need's a commercial toaster at breakfast time a normal 4 slice home toaster doesn't work this would eliminate the queue of people ! The outdoor pool was very cold even in 30 Deg weather.

    The staff we very pleasant throughout the hotel particular the bar / restaurant staff the food was good, breakfast catered for everyone the restaurant food at night was also very good with a choice fresh fish and great pizza !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    It was okay but if I returned to Albufeira I would stay closer to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chamber maid service was very poor. Tea and coffee not replenished and the bare minimum done each day. Have had much better service from hotels with lower stars. Staff were ok. The breakfast room had a violinist playing which I found irritable; however that is a personal opinion. I prefer quiet at breakfast. The hotel is a bit far from town and not within walking distance. There were no other shops/bars or restaurants in the vicinity.

    The adults only hotel was peaceful and quiet with plenty of sun loungers. The breakfast had a good selection

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Although there were minor hick-ups the overall stay was excellent and enjoyable. comments for improv
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fan in the bathroom, reported but no action taken, very little choice of English tv programs, wifi hit and miss and the English radio station we were listening to via the TV disappeared half way through the week and we could not then get any radio via the TV.

    Balcony and sea views were marvellous ideally situated for beaches and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Sea view rooms bright and airy, no queues for breakfast, varied selection at breakfast. Good room improvements since last visit with the brighter room lighting and decor.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    bed very comfortable good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    getting charged 200 euros for over flow in shower, paid 200 euros for sea view which was overlooking garden part of pool area. the balcony could barely accomdate one slim adult.

    bed very comfortable good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Enjoyed the pool area but more sun beds are needed as people leave there towels on them for the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was only two tea bags in the room, when asked for coffee they said they didn't supply coffee, but poor for a four star hotel we thought!!

    Wry good breakfast and lunch menu

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.8
    An expensive mistake
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lady on reception was rude, amazed she has a job with that attitude seeing as she is the first person customers come into contact with. We were told we were not welcome because we were a group of men and it was presumed we would be noisy and upset other guests. When I pointed out the Supercars in the car park and we were on a road trip the attitude changed but by then I was wound up and amazed at the way we were treated. The hotel do not want single sex groups and yet booking.com show on their website this hotel is recommended for large groups ! When I questioned this with the manager it was dismissed. We decided it was best to leave the hotel after the first night even though we had paid for a 2 night stay. I did ask for our money back and we would leave on check in if they were not comfortable with our booking but that was not an option so we left anyway. If they had a problem why did they not callus in advance and tell us there market is middle aged people/couples however they were happy to take the booking. For the record we were perfectly well behaved but because of groups of men before us we were presumed guilty until proven innocent.

    The manager was a nice guy and friendly once he knew we were not there to give any trouble

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely little hotel a bit far out but nice and quiet adults only although I saw a few children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't use the taxis the hotel book for you they are a con!! €15 to get into town we found uber and paid €4!

    Cava at breakfast, great choice of fruits and breads, pool area clean only visited it once but clean. Little private beach 5 min walk away

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    A very nice hotel if you want a nice relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not that I don't like but would appreciate more umbrellas and deck chairs around the big pool.

    Breakfasf, tranquility throughout the hotel.we enjoyed live music whilst having dinner especially Tatiana and the Duo Martin.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Nicely laid out.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so much a "Didn't like". Just advising that a car can be handy for getting around as you are about a 20 minute drive into the Old town. However, the hotel is serviced well by cabs. Also the closest beach is smaller than you might expect so drive/walk a little further to get to Sao Rafael beach

    Nicely laid out. Sea view. In a quiet neighbourhood away from the hustle and bustle of Albufeira centre and Old Town. Good choices at breakfast time. Excellent leisure facilities: Jacuzzi, gym. indoor pool, 2x outdoor pools. Would use steam room if was there for more days. Dinner in restaurant was good and I especially like the open grilling of meat and fish. 10 minute walk to either of two close by beaches. Reception staff always helpful and generally all staff very courteous and professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Worst value for money hotel i have ever used...over rated!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    One of the female restaurant staff was extremely rude to us, should not be working in this kind of job. Although we were guests she tried to refuse us entry through the restaurant to the hotel on returning from beach one day and asked us to exit and re enter through the main door and she stood in our way and didn't like that we refused. I like the idea of adults only but no atmosphere, entertainment, late bar(have to wait till another member of staff takes over night shift). Location is awful as you cannot walk to the best parts of old or new town which are fantastic. We used taxis every day. The spa was not open and the Jacuzzi didn't work. Pool water was freezing. Also was almost impossible to pay for food and drinks unless you had the exact change, was a joke. Don't know how it has 4 stars.

    I liked the room and pool area, however a little too quiet. It is very clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast had practically everything you would want to eat. Using some of the facilities even after check out was a nice service. Friendly reception staff although we discovered more information from other guests a little too late.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single beds put together when i asked for a double with single sheets

    Staff were so kind and helpful very clean we will be going back next year. Very clean food was great too. The staff work so hard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing and quiet holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet service is not the best and you have to pay for the towels to use at the hotels swimming pool facility.

    The cleanliness, the peace and quiet, friendly staff, good proximity to the beach and nice tennis court.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good location - some issues with noise - very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a Suite with balkony - It was not possible to enjoy the great view or to drink a wine quietly - the kitchens Ventilator produced a very loud noise until 11h pm - the it was lovely. Air condition not working.

    Very friendly poeple - Very good breakfast, Nice Pools, Good Restaurant, Appartment was great - old style

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location if you are looking for a nice quiet relaxing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fridge in room could have been colder, but not able to turn it up.

    We had paid for a Sea View room, which was lovely. Really large room and private balcony. Fantastic sea views. Welcome breeze around the pool and plenty of space for sun beds, so not too close to other guests. It was great to have a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    The view on the sea is beautiful and the hotel is close to a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning is place right in front of the bed and I couldn't sleep because was push directly on my head. There was a rug placed under the bed and I am very allergic and I have asthma. I looked at the room with me UV Lamp and I could see that the rug was full of dust and I have doubt it was cleaned. They should not keep a rug in the room, unless making it clear at reservation, because this is very important for me when I make reservation because of asthma and allergies. I also discovered some stained on head bed with UV lamp... The sheet for the bed wasn't enough. We could ear music from another place until midnight. This hotel is was too expansive for what it offers.

    The view on the sea is beautiful and the hotel is close to a beach, and the pool at the hotel. Calm place, without children. Good channel choices on TV.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    First time in Portugal instead of Spain. Surpasses all other hotels I have stayed at in Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Isn't a lot not to dislike. Pool could have been a bit warmer, more hangers in wardrobe, could have provide daily tea, coffee sachets, and milk for kettle. That's about it

    Been going to Spain on holiday for last 30 years, and this was first time in Portugal. The Maritur surpasses all other hotels we have stayed at in terms of comfort, and value for money. e.g. Friendly staff, excellent breakfast including talented violinist , nice pool area with no fighting over loungers, rooms were excellent - comfortable bed, flat screen TV, large balcony, good wifi connection in room, large bathroom, good working aircon, fridge, kettle, free safe, daily maid service, free daily mini bus to Albufeira, though it is walkable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel staff were excellent and accommodating. The swimming pool area is very nice relaxing. Breakfast was plentiful. Overall the hotel was great and we are booking again for next year

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    9.2
    Dont take a short cut
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    when walking back from the beach you can reach our pool by going through the pizzeria , there is a big sign pointing the way , we done this a few times then a new waiter pulled us up in front of other people and told us off !!!!!! He seemed to want people to take notice of him and him only , Not impressed with him at all .

    Very nice hotel , location a bit out of the way , very hilly , not a lot to do out and around the hotel , nice bar down the road and a Great restaurant. very quiet, would go back 9/10

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Very recommended hotel for peace and quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no negative comments the hotel and staff were lovely. Only issue for us was. The location. I'd recommend a car as it's a bit too far out to walk into old/ new towns

    Cleanliness of room. Friendliness of staff. Large variety of foods for breakfast. Lovely restaurant and ok entertainment

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    A quiet hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel is not in the best location, out of town, ok with a hire car.

    The smaller number of rooms at this hotel gave it a more personal feel, reception and restaurant staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of information. Tried to book complimentary shuttle bus to airport but was told had to wait till 6pm the day before required. As it was an early start decided to book through a transfer company instead. At dinner time there appeared to be a buffet option but we were never offered it. Had to ask a guest where she got her beach towels from (reception). None of these things were in the hotels booklet. Also, although advertised as an Adult only hotel there was at least one small child there- not a problem, just a surprise.

    Location of room was excellent, near Reception on ground floor with lovely view of outdoor pools and sea. Air Con was efficient and easy to operate. Room itself was well insulated : little noise from outside or the corridor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was uncomfortable, place is dated, not a 4 star. Needs a facelift on area around pool and grounds. Towels too thin. Loud music everynight! Weekends and a couple days during a week would be better. Neighbohood dogs are a disturbance.

    View is fantastic, and location is good. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    I'll be back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately their wifi is not fast enough and always logged out when you stop use it more than 5 minut. And if you want use more than one gadget you should ask for another one login and password what is not obvious...

    It is a clean not a big one hotel about 10 minutes far to the beach by walk. They have a very tasteful breakfast with big choice of a dishes. Unfortunately I didn't use pool and gym because of my work, but others was enjoy it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Really great hotel for a relaxing few days, no noise, no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Really great hotel for a relaxing few days, no noise, no crowded bar. On-site restaurant is very good with excellent menu with lots of options. Breakfast was very good. Really great sausages ........ as good as you'd get in Ireland or the UK. Outdoor pool area gets loads of the sun. A few minutes stroll from a nice beach that has a restaurant too.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.8
    Recharge your batteries?? Stay here.4*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location from albufeira town centre, 50 min walk. Breakfast options. Would have like more hot food options, but what we had was lovely.

    Privacy on balcony, pool, beach, the beach felt exclusive to the guests of the hotel.Indoor pool, jacuzzi great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Lovely quiet relaxing hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotels evening meal were a bit limited.

    Friendly staff . Good breakfast. Location exellent, a short walk to two beautiful beaches. Evening entertainment in restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful Hotel it is what you make it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unless you have a car there is nothing around the hotel, no supermarket, restaurants or shops. If you are travelling by car take water and drinks with you. Just for info if you are travelling by car into Portugal from Spain as we did, you will pass at least five or six electronic pay tolls both on the way in and on the way out. We asked the receptionist how we should pay these toll payments and she told us to pay at the post ofice in Albufeira but we could not find it. After asking other travellers we found out that no one pays and nothing has happened so it's up to you and your consience.

    There is lots of free parking within the hotel grounds but be careful entering the car park as there is a slightly raised entrance crossing the pavement. The food was absolutely delicious and varied. The room was extremely clean and comfortable with a balcony. We found a lane behind the hotel that lead down to a small cove and a great bar with an outside terrace. Expect to pay 4 euros for a glass of cold beer but it's worth it just to sit and watch the sea and the erosions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    A very nice property for a short holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a frustrating time finding it as the address on the confirmation paper was incorrect. Staff at another hotel found the details for us.

    A very nice property for a short holiday.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    First time staying in a bed and breakfast holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk to the beach is rather hilly. Property too far from facilities if you don't drive.

    Quiet location...... Good sized room......Clean pool area..... Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Ideal hotel for couples young and not so young
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal very poor Sack the chef Should notice the amount of food not eaten by guests at evening meal . New chef

    Breakfast Quiteness Relaxation

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The indoor pool is cold and quite neglected but you don't go there for that

    Great hotel with big great comfortable rooms . Sea view terrace. Nice beach nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    5.4
    I wouldnt stay there again. There are so many nicer hotels in Albufeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is definitely not a 4 stars hotel! it is rather 2 stars. The rooms, breakfast, indoor and outdoor swimming pools etc. - everything has below average standard. Another drawback - too far from the city centre

    Really close to two super nice beaches , 10 minutes walk to both Quiet location, perfect if you want to relax

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Friendly staff, clean Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too quiet. Hotel for older people I think. Our group were the youngest, and we are in our late 30s! No music by pool.

    Receptionist was really nice on arrival. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.3
    Would defintely recommend! The nicest staff, and beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately, if you leave going to breakfast until after 9 you risk not getting a good one! Often the scrambled eggs were burnt. However, a fab selection of fresh fruit and yogurt/breads is available. Also, there were some building works taking place for the Pizzeria, which when having a massage this did interrupt things. But it wasn't a very big deal. Also, these finished a few days after we arrived- but there is building taking place in the surrounding area so this could have accounted for the banging we heard! Overall, a lovely hotel with lovely staff.

    The Spa was fabulous, and Nadine was excellent. So professional, I can honestly say one of the best massages and reflexology I have ever had. I would thoroughly recommend her! The beds are very comfortable, and the staff are extremely accommodating. The hotel is very clean. Easy to get a taxi to marina or old town. Pool is lovely and relaxing. A lovely relaxing holiday, and sad to leave :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    RELAXING ENJOAYBLE LITTLE BREAK
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO BE A BIT CLOSER TO THE MARINA AND OLD TOWN BUT DIDN'T CAUSE NOM PROBLEMS

    EVERYTHING WAS GREAT AND TO OUR LIKING, THE ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THAT THERE WERE CHILDREN THERE BUT IN FIARNESS WE DIDN'T SEE TO MUCH OF THEM

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.2
    Not wow, but really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful location, great small beaches nearby reachable by foot. Good breakfast - maybe more vegetables would make it even better. Very kind and lovely staff, clean, spacious rooms, nice view to the sea, indoor and outdoor pool. The best fish restaurant in the area is 10 min by foot. Would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: