Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Baleira Porto Santo 4 stars

Sitio do Cabeço Da Ponto - Apartado 243, 9400-909 Porto Santo, Portugal

#9 of 30 hotels in Porto Santo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 116 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We arrived after the restaurant had closed for dinner and were invited by staff to enjoy dinner all the same. We are very grateful. Great hotel for families with small children as they enjoy the activities provided by the animation team, especially the Mini-disco dancing after dinner. I strongly recomend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not so much to do on the island in general hard to choose food for small kids (not oriented on small kids) poor animation activites for kids

    good relaxing escape in the winter time long sand beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a vegan family we were very happy (and surpriser) that the staff got vegan butter and ”milk”. The chefs prepared special food for us (lunch and dinner). We didn’t expect that at all. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️🌟

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit windy, but warm.

    Amazing animations for kids. The beach is very close, the food is diferente everyday and the people in hotel very friendly. Very calm place and good family holidays.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that worth to be mention.

    All was perfect. Highly recommended hotel is one of the best and there is plenty to do on the island. We will be back next year for sure.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you have kids it's important other facilities: indoor swimming pool, entertainment team, thalasso is great and they offered a circuit for free ;) eenentertainment

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. My mother and sister were very happy with all the staff and hotel in general. Will like to thank the staff of the spa that took extra time to help my sister and mum.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Professional all round. Choices of sea.. outdoor pool and indoor heated pool activities, unforgettable fun times. All very well maintained.The diving centre offered great dive spots to explore, like the amazing Cordeca shipwreck. Can not wait to return. Worth every Rand.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - staff on reception dont speak good english - check inn made to complicated, takes lots of time - cleaning in the room was not good - to old hotel, surfaces looks to used - not cozy at all

    well.... spend one night there and it is more than enough big rooms, but this is the only positive thing

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced. Had to pay 20 euros a day for sun bed on beach. Apartment furniture wants updating. No shade on patio. Not 4 star. Didn't realize was all inclusive, would not recommend if you are looking for quiet relaxing hotel. No good for disable people as there are a lot of stairs going up to block we were in. A lot of loud music with the entertainment going on. No info packs given out. Had to pay for safe key. Loose floor tiles in apartment. Deco at bar damaged. No light on balcony. No early book in/out even though we arrived by ferry and there is only 1 a day. Had lunch by pool while we waited for room to be ready, which was rubbish

    Staff very helpful. Good choice at breakfast. Spa and treatments were excellent and all the women who worked there were very polite and cheerful. Hotel gave one treatment free and was well worth taking. Good for families with it being all inclusive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I materassi.

    La formula all' inclusive. La zona piscina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault.

    Hotel with an excellent location linked to a fantastic beach through a tunnel. Really good facilities. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff werent friendly, Food was often cold.

    Close to a good beach

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy restaurant - too many young children

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was very noisy

    We just had breakfast and it was good thank you

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the sea is very cold

    the breakfast is fantastic

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views close to beach

    Stayed in May 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our room could need a renovation. The refrigerator was from the 70's and we had to turn it off to be able to sleep since it was so noisy. (and the bedroom door was not possible to close since the bed was in the way for the door :-)). The microwave was exchanged on day 2 beacause it didn't work. I would guess that they have better rooms available for the travel agencies they work with, otherwise I cannot see why this is a 4 star hotel. It was however a cheap stay for us being a family with two kids. I didn't get the spa feeling of the hotel. Quite noisy and big hotel with more announcements about joining arranged shooting games or salsa lessons instead of enjoying the silence the sun beds on the beach were not owned by the hotel, instead were rented out by a separate cafe/bar. Overall this hotel is very big, it is divided in two buildings so it is not ideally if you get a room in the one far from the service. Maybe the many hundreds of room could explain why the cleaning sevice came around to our room very late in the afternoon and that an old ladies lost luggage ended up in our room by misstake :-)

    Location - short walk to the beach. The beach is just the right reason to go here, though you have to walk a short distance to the beach and you don't get the feeling that the hotel is right on the beach like in the pictures. The food and breakfast was quite allright, though the dining area was noisy and not so relaxed. Rent a bike or take a stroll to the western point of the Porto Santo Island (2 km away) where you find a really nice and relaxed cafe and cool nature. Local bus goes to town where you could visit the Colombo museum

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Couple

    At the buffet at dinner and breakfast we were made to feel rushed. Even came back at one point to our table being completely cleared of everything, our drinks, table water and condiments. We had just had our starters! Otherwise it was a great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Def worth using free hour on spa circuit. If on B and B there is a good restaurant outside the hotel gates, otherwise half an hour walk onbeCh in either direction will get u food and drink, there was a pizza rest 10 mins down road turning left out of main gates we didn't try it,may be more places in summer, also set taxi fair from town about 8 euro, 1 hour walk on beach to town, beach lovely, local bus tour of island good value.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I hated everything else: the hordes of tourists lined up for everything, the massive dining room serving food buffet-style, the unhelpful attitude of the front desk clerks.

    Nothing except the location. We wanted to be near the beach and it was the only beach hotel open in March.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    mattress is very hard so for me was uncomfortable to sleep.After the first night I was in lot of pain. After I used the sofabed instead which was much better Gym need improvement lunch and dinner food repetitive, chips on both , always same type of meat and sauces. Wi fi only in Lobby no leaflet available in room about information of the hotel facilities no facilities to hang clothes to dry

    the view from the top floor of my apartment is outstanding Breakfast is excellent staff is lovely swimming pool is gorgeous beach is outstanding

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only the sauna could do with an upgrade

    love it and will go again soon.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Gym was closed.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No internet in the room

    The staff, food, facilities.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, no WiFi in the room.

    Big room, good food.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the rooms but was told that by 2016 there will be.

    Everything Views Staff Facilities

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Vila Baleira Porto Santo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: