Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel America 3 stars

Rua de Santa Catarina 1018, Bonfim, 4000-447 Porto, Portugal

#127 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 965 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    It’s a little walk to the centre which is ok except for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was pretty dated, but no big deal.

    It’s a little walk to the centre which is ok except for the heat. Bed was very comfortable, even if the room was small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.3
    Staff were very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos were misleading, was expecting bigger rooms - However beds were very comfortable

    Staff were very nice and friendly. Location very good near the old town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi signal in our room was very weak and it was impossible to connect to internet. Never smiling staff in our opinion

    Breakfast very good, room as in the pictures and position not very close to center but ok for a 30 minute walk. Ok for short stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Room size and bathroom was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress was smelling like old, found some rubbish under the chair, chair was so dirty, I had a room by the reception. Was noisy and people putting TV loud. Smelling the food as well in the morning.

    Room size and bathroom was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    The daytime staff were good and the room was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound travelled in the seperate room as we were right above the reception. When it came to booking out we signed out the room and left the rest of the family to the apartment as we were catching a plane. Upon this we were informed we needed to pay for the apartment despite me having a prepayed confirmation email. We were then informed it would be the room even though we had payment confirmation for that. He finally tried to bill me for another unspecified €8 despite not having used any extra services. We left it with my mum who upon checking out of the apartment with different staff had no problem at all with a different member of staff although it was the same reservation.

    The daytime staff were good and the room was clean. The apartment was lovely spacious and clean with good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.5
    Not a place I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small that there was no place to open the suitcase. The parking costs money. One night we came late and the parking spot that we paid for was given to someone else.

    The staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Good family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See comment above.

    Apartment had three bedrooms. Everything was great but there was no climate control in the third bedroom, which actually used to be the balcony but they enclosed it in order to make it a bedroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Great experience to repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    triple room with 2 beds only quite tight

    Outstanding service by Lilly and other staff. Customer service incredible and excellent support to hire car service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    9.2
    On the whole I enjoyed my stay at Hotel America. The damp/mould by the window was disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mould on the wall/corner by the window. Also a feeling of damp in the room which was eased by alternating between the heating & the fan for cool air.

    The staff were friendly,helpful and seemed genuine when conversation was made.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    Location was good and staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Location was good and staff friendly. Problem was noise. The walls are very thin and noise from adjoining rooms was a constant disturbance at night. We all struggled to sleep as a result.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    No problems but did not have wow factor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very little atmosphere in hotel it is more of a business hotel,

    good location - but strange people on the street at night close to the hotel - food and breakfast was okay nothing special for the price room was smaller than expected - adequate

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.5
    Huge room for my family and my wife's parents.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Huge room for my family and my wife's parents. Great value for the night, staff was amazing (we arrived at 9:30AM the morning of our booked night, and they offered us their breakfast free of charge, even though the one included with our booking was for the next morning). Parking is small, but affordable - 10Euro a day. Definitely recommend for larger families/groups. Almost 2KM from the old bridge, though...can be a bit of a hike for kids/older visitors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    i stay only 2 days working in the port wine and testing port...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i stay only 2 days working in the port wine and testing port, but ,staff very nice...breakfast very nice and full , really enjoyed.10 min wolking to the center..15 min wolking to the ribeira zone .20 min wolking to other side of the river x testing port wine..wery good position..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.0
    The staff was friendly and helpful and they offered to move...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was mold in the bathrooms, stained sheets, hair in the bed and the apartment had a very bad odour.

    The staff was friendly and helpful and they offered to move us from a room to an apartment when we wanted to check out the second day out of our 7 days stay because we weren't happy.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    A great stay and a warm and cozy shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound insulation is very poor. We could listen people talking in other rooms, and in the hallways the noise was kinda upseting.

    I liked the bed very much. It was large and confortable but most of all I loved the shower and the bathroom in general. Very clean, confortable, cozy and with a great shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    5.4
    good breakfest, close to the metro stations, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff could be more friendlier, hotel equipment is quite old, relatively significant bumps on the floor

    good breakfest, close to the metro stations, cleanliness

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    5.0
    The property was in what felt like a rundown area but a 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was in what felt like a rundown area but a 10 minute walk from the main sites. There were not many places to eat nearby so it meant staying out all day rather than returning to the hotel and eating locally. Our room looked out on to a derelict area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.4
    I would stay here again because the price is right and it includes a breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Some staff members were very helpful. A few had no helpful advice.

    The coffee/expresso very good. The breakfast generic and not flavorful, but loved the bowl of fresh fruits.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    6.3
    noisey room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main problem with room 103 is that it is above reception so we were kept awake late into the evening and woken early in the morning around 5 am as people were arriving and leaving and not being very quiet about it i think this would affect the rooms around us as well ,also the drain in the bathroom flooded when we had a shower but only once which was a bit strange.

    Room was good breakfast was good if you like continental if you like a cooked version there was almost nothing to eat when we where there and the coffee was good once waiter had made us some proper coffee not the stuff they offered at first

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in centre of Porto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the window was a little boring. But hey...you're in the middle of Porto. So no probs.

    The hotel is near the main centre of Porto. On walking distance. The hotel is quiet, clean and the personal was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Clean, cozy, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    At breakfast there was always a cold omelet and sausages. Bad sound insulation in the rooms. I heard neighbors coughing.

    Nice and helpful staff, clean room and bathroom. Good plumbing in the bathroom and technique in the room. Very tasty desserts at breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    Clean, friendly hotel with comfortable rooms and easy access to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was a bit noisy, we could hear it from our room sometimes. Although it wasn't a big issue and didn't spoil our enjoyment.

    The breakfast was plentiful, eggs ( scrambled and boiled) a selection of ham, cheese, bread rolls, toast, fruit, yoghurt, and lots of pastries and cakes. Tea /coffee fruit juice etc. The hotel was spotless, staff very friendly and helpful. Room size was good and ensuite had a shower, bath, bidet and basin. There was a built in hairdryer, although it wasn't a high powered one. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the metro. Get off at Bilhao ( from the airport, take a metro direction Dragao. You'll know if you get out of the exit on the right side at Bilhao if there's a blue tiled church to your left. That's on Rua S. Caterina. Just pass the church, keeping it on your right and keep walking. The hotel part of the street isn't the trendy part. It's a long Street, the bottom half of which is buzzing with shops, cafés and there's a huge market place just near the metro. We walked into town. It was easy to find our way around but after a long day of walking it can seem a long uphill Road. There's a car park at the hotel too. I think it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.9
    simple but nice hotel near downtown
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was a bit too much.

    Nice location, 10m from Aliados and St. Catarina. Good, simple hotel for a couple of days in Porto. Very friendly staff. A very good breakfast in a cozy space. The room was clean and the beds were confortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.6
    All good at the America.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby smelled of smoke. Smokers outside the front door.

    The breakfast had a great variety of food with fresh oj and it was plentiful. The reception staff speak English and helpful giving us good suggestions to go for supper. Easy to find from metro which we took from airport.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    6.3
    Our superior double room was a good size , with a wooden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit further outside of the centre of the city than realized . In addition , it is in a block of this street which is a bit dodgy with people drinking on parts of the street throughout the day at a weekend . Some of the front desk staff were a bit surly , but others were ok . The hotel shuts during the evening , so if you return mid / late evening then you have to wait for an old lady to come to that front door to let you in . Door keys are not allowed outside of the hotel .

    Our superior double room was a good size , with a wooden floor .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.9
    Good for a short staying
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night I slept in room Nr. 102, very small room, no window, noisy ventilator outside.

    Second and third night I slept in room Nr. 201, big silent room with kingsize-bed, not to the street.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Good and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good and good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad condition of hotel Very expencive

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.0
    The breakfast was very nice, better than what we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are old and not very clean.

    The breakfast was very nice, better than what we expected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Thus was an ideal place for a short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Layout of breakfast table. Too crowded. Not enough fruit. No bin in the bedroom.

    The location was good. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Good breakfast, the only caveat is the coffee and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast, the only caveat is the coffee and the machine, it was not very good. Parking on site

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    good location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wifi and if you are not early to have breakfast, there is not too much food

    good location and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    view, poor WIFI

    Close to old town

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Very Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in the evening

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.1
    We got reasonable price and had triple room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not centre of town

    We got reasonable price and had triple room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    3.8
    Unexpected.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room images are misleading and the room cleanliness and comfort disappointing when considering the price.

    The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    The tails in apartment floor needs to fix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tails in apartment floor needs to fix. Also the door's frime was broken.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stinking rooms and ruined view to outside

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Reasonable choice, friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel lacks a bit of soul & ambiance

    Reasonable choice, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    To see the employees eating breakfast from the same table as...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To see the employees eating breakfast from the same table as the guests. Smoking in the garage flooding the lobby with cigarrete smoke.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Staff professionale
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costo

    Staff professionale

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Thumbs up for this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe or safety deposit box available.

    Great breakfast. Nice room. Wifi worked great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.1
    It was okay for 2 nights
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is to small and the bed was not nice at all , need an update

    I did like the location, breakfast was okay, friendly staff and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    The hotel staff were really generous by sourcing gluten free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were really generous by sourcing gluten free options at breakfast for me.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    O pequeno almoço era mau, no todo. Breakfast was terrible

    Friendly staff. Clean room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Couldn't have been happier with our stay at Hotel America.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast! Good value and convenient location to sites and train stations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weak wifi

    Comfortable appartment, nice breakfast, friendly personnel, nice place near the city center

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    As a family we enjoyed our stay at Hotel America
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic and no service at all

    Spacious modern and clean apartment with an extra room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.5
    Very nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The taxi called by the hotel was not an official taxi.

    Very nice breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Stay was comfortable and in good walking distance to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    scrambled and fried eggs,m great meat selections, Fluffy pastries. Ice for the room if you ask.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Would recommend this hotel to any travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lift was a bit noisy if your room is near by.

    The breakfast was out of this world. The rooms were very comfortable and the staff very friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    Porto Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor run down area hotel needs renovation

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    Danger location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.9
    Great appartments, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great appartments, great breakfast. rather good location- 10 minutes walking from center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and good staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent stay, friendly service and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I disliked was the coffee from an automatic dispenser

    Close to centrum. Clean and well cared for. Breakfast buffet excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Great location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    wifi was on and off

    Great location! friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    simples mas confortável
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breackfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Wifi slow from room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi slow from room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more light colours

    Nice atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Really friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rubber sheet on the bed.

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast provided.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Large apartment to ourselves
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated decor and the bedding was worn.

    Large apartment to ourselves

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    Solala
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sanitary facilities are old, broken and full of mold

    Near the City. Very good breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent. Looks more like 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had too many sweets

    Amasing room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Quiet location 10 min walk from the metro station, friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location 10 min walk from the metro station, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    It was reallly close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was reallly close to the centre. Just a 10 minute walk. Also staff were really helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Good sized room, comfy bed & very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel is a 20 minute walk from the centre which is all down hill......... but all up hill on the way back!! However, plenty of taxis available to get back at a reasonable cost of about €5.

    Good sized room, comfy bed & very clean. Reception staff welcoming & helpful. All in all very good value for money and would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.9
    I liked the service and all staff was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like the parking because it was too small.

    I liked the service and all staff was brilliant. The location was great just 15 min walk from the main shops and around 25-30 from river Douro and all restaurants

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    5.4
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thin walls, not sound-proof at all, many noisy children in other rooms. Uncomfortable bed, old bed-sheets, no ventilation in bathroom, not clean. Low value for money.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Not too far from city centre and metro.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    5.8
    A nice small family run hotel, staff friendly, food was ok,
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little basic could do with Tea & Coffee in the rooms, bed very hard, and a very long walk up a hill from Metro.

    A nice small family run hotel, staff friendly, food was ok,

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    5.4
    Comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A small room that felt like a prison cell - small window looking out onto a wall. No facilities in room to make a cup of tea/coffee - although the staff did provide this on request in the evening.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    Really fast Wi-fi connection, exceptional breakfast with all...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not that good position, need to walk uphill for quite long from Rua Catarina (approx 10 minutes). Little bit dark.

    Really fast Wi-fi connection, exceptional breakfast with all traditional sweet portugese pastry, joghurts, cereals, fruits and also eggs and sausages.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    7.5
    Close to the center of Oporto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Close to the center of Oporto. By foot you can easily visit all the most important monuments and museums of the center. Close to the metro station of Bolhao, directly connected to the airport. The room and bathroom were clean with air-conditioning, flat TV set, minibar and free wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    9.6
    We liked the friendliness and helpfulness of staff , the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the friendliness and helpfulness of staff , the cleanliness of the room and the excellent variety of fresh food available for breakfast. The location was very convenient.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.9
    The personnel was excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just the fact that the view of the hotel was not exactly the one described at the site. But in general it is a nice hotel.

    The personnel was excelent! They helped us in anything we asked for. Breakfast was rich and fresh!

There are also 39 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel America traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: