Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Balaia Mar 3 stars

Praia Maria Luisa, 8200-925 Albufeira, Portugal

#40 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 399 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit isolated and the bus service doesn't go to that area so you have to get taxis everywhere

    Spotless clean food fabulous in restaurant and very good value for money. The staff are really nice and friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    i have no dislikes anout the property. everything was good.

    the balaia mar is a great location few minutes from the beach.staff where very friendly food was lovely and rooms where very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool could of done with been warm as it was really cold.

    The staff are friendly and helpful. Food was lovely and fresh. Room service was of high standards. Lovely area and view. Clean and tidy hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Downside 1/Two days before we were due to check out,the hotel seemed to be readying itself for closing down. The pool and sports bar closed at night and a lot of sunbeds were tidied away 2/Poor snacks from the pool bar 3/Barman in sports bar was not friendly. There was no variety of football matches in the sports bar

    Plus points 1/Free internet in room and all communal areas 2/Free safe in room 3/Free air con in room 4/Mini fridge in room 5/TV in room with news and a couple of movie channels(could use chromecast) 6/nice clean pools with plenty of beds and shaded area. 7/several pool tables in the sports bar, charged by the hour, 6€/hr 8/Breakfast was really good and lots to choose from 9/table tennis table at the pool

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real imterest shown by the majority of staff in customers.Was not asked about our stay upom checking out.Customer service could be improved

    On arrival the room allocated did not have a pool view.The receptionist changed room had balcony with pool view.Lovely The rooms were grand.Cleaning good service lovely big bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting more of entertainment, the first bedroom given to us had a strong smell of drain.

    The apartment was good and the receptionist in the morning was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    internet was very bad. a lot of places including our room didn't get any signal at all. our room also seemed not to be really prepared, there was no soap, no shower gel which is standard in this type of hotels. our room literally was in the last corner of the whole area, seemed more like a boxroom than a hotel room. for what the hotel offered the price was too high.

    breakfast was good, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested poolside room but no access to the pool area from the balcony. Have to walk around outside of hotel. Food was repetitive. Barman in fun bar was too slow and should have had help.

    Swimming pool area was amazing with plenty of sunbeds. Staff in the restautaunt and pool bar were friendly and helpful. Where the hotel is located ensures you have a peaceful holiday without street noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an issue with the airport transfer which the staff didn't try to rectify, and we felt a strong level of unprofessionalism on the matter, due to the age of my boyfriend and I. We would not stay in this hotel again.

    Poolside views were really lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few things I didn't enjoy. Firstly our room wasn't one that was pictured-it was designed for a person with disability in wheelchair. There was no balcony and bathroom was adapted. Now we were notified this before we stayed and given the option to cancel which we didn't as didn't mind too much but upon arrival we were sorry we did that. Room was so dull. There was a tiny window covered with a shutter that was facing into the carpark that we rarely opened as was noisy and not very scenic, and also the room was located right next to reception and the pool tables so every night it was so noisy as everybody walked past or was socialising right next to our door until quite late. We were also beside a stairs and woke up every morning 4/5am to people banging cases off the stairs while checking out. Also the accomodation wouldn't be in a great area, lots of walking to restaurants. I think if I was to stay again I'd try to stay inclusive as was out of the way. There was also a barman that was really rude. I went to buy a drink one day at the bar and as I had to pay (we were not inclusive) he huffed and puffed as he had to go and get me my change. I also saw him come around the pool and take towels off sunbeds if there was nobody on them(completely agree you can't reserve sunbeds but there's a difference if you're there all day and go to the toilet/into the pool and come back to no towel and have to retrieve it back) he also was telling people off for playing with balls/inflatables in the pool. Again agree with rules but he could have told them respectfully, rather than telling off like school children. Anyway some small complaints but overall I enjoyed my stay

    The pools were really nice. We also had breakfast included which was good too. There is also a supermarket right across the road so it was very handy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar man was moody & not very obliging towards my sister after she asked if she could have Malibu instead of Rum. He refused her request then ignored her when she asked for a Sprite instead.

    Food was good. A very relaxing environment in the restaurant & by the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stag and hen doo's. The language in front of young families was embarrassing. On a couple of occasions whilst in the dinning area, our drinks were removed whilst we were up selecting our food.

    The staff were lovely especially the top man in the restaurant, the man in the bar and the reception staff. It was great having a fridge in our room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very cold even when air con was off. Female receptionists were rude. Restaurant boss made us feel very uncomfortable

    Good location and breakfast. Good value for money overall

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool towels even to hire for a refundable charge Not as close to the beach as expected and very steep incline Buffet breakfast ok but nothing special

    Room and we had a huge balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were very helpful generally speaking and particularly when we booked our boat trip and parasailing. The hotel is only a 10 minute walk away from the beach as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff member in sports bar would ignore customers while playing with the mobile phone of a female at the bar. Have no idea if she was a guest or a friend of his. Other guy was more up to the job. Had paid hotel in advance but was charged again on departure as reception staff member was adamant they had not been paid. Booking.com are refunding the overpayment.

    Attentive staff (with one exception), clean,quiet and everything we were expecting.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I will suggest and it's only personal suggestion that there was kettle in the room but no tea bags or suger or milk provided. It would've been nice to have top up just for one cup of tea I know you can buy it but sometimes it's nice to enjoy cuppa in balcony with husband as we are not alcohol drinkers.

    Breakfast was good. Reception was very friendly and helpful. Always happy to help.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and helpful the rooms were cleaned everday and towels changed wifi was great in my room and pool area was lovly cant fault the hotel in any way 7 minits from the strip and old town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet reachability in my room (109) was so poor I had to resort to just using data. As it was off season, the main pool was closed. I think there were only 2 rooms occupied, which really made it feel like a ghost hotel - but not the hotel's fault obviously!

    Great selection at breakfast, including crispy croissants! Very comfortable bed and very large room. I had a nice view over the pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    value, helpful smiling staff, great breakfast, close to many restaurants, two pools, reception allowed access to their own computer to retrieve email to print return boarding passes, located and printed map to launderette

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't book a car because we stayed only a few days and it was a bit to far to near restaurants and pubs

    Very polite and helpful staff. Tasty brakefast. Quiet and clean.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the facilities were closed so there was only the supermarket across the road for food between breakfast and 6pm when the bar opened. You could only get wifi if you sat in the corner by the door!

    The rooms were nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the hotel smelt of stale cigarette smoke and damp/musty , its a fairly grubby hotel in need of a major facelift. very far out from the center of everything with nothing nearby and as the weather was pretty poor we had no choice but to get a taxi each night into town and home again with each taxi trip app 7euro, this adds up over a week. the hotel itself was very quiet with very few people staying there. I would definately not rate this as a 3*+ hotel more like a 2* and that being generous.

    the bed was very comfortable, most of the staff were very friendly althought the breakfast cook would stand and watch what you were putting on your plate in the mornings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sat Nav does not take you to accommodation. Receptionists directions were not helpful. The wifi was unreliable as it kept constantly dropping out and we were in the main building.

    Great location. Cheap good food in close proximity to the hotel. Great breakfast with average evening meal.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money. The pictures from this website are exactly what the hotel looks like. Good service all round. The staff arranged the airport transfers for us before we arrived and we were provided with a lunch pack, which was well thought through, during a whole day excursion. The food was good on a daily basis.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was off a very busy mainroad

    It was small and friendly and first class service with all the stAff, food good, and rooms clean and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No window in hotel room, so it got a little hot at night. (But they do have airconditioning)

    Friendly staff, very helpful. Hotel close to the beach (5-10 minute walk). Albufeira city centre easy accessable by car.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the breakfast buffet was a bit uninspired - a bit dated look

    - nice hotel with several pools - comfortable rooms - amazing value for money - located close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neg. not very friendly staff in restaurant and location bit far out 6 euros to strip and 10 to old town which is lovely

    Pros. Clean And tidy, nice big room with balcony ask for a pool view, beach 7 mins away walk

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little more variation in the food was welcome. Towels were put on chairs near the swimming pool, to reserve them. Maybe someone from the staff could keep an eye of this so people who actually are swimming at least have a place to lie down.

    Good value for 3 stars hotel. Friendly staff, clean rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis are a bit of a pain from the hotel but most nights we got one in less than 5 mins.other nights waiting over 40mins

    Staff are so friendly really relaxed easy going place..very close to two nice beaches.20 min walk to the strip which is perfect

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and other outdoor facilities including proximity to beach will be excellent during the summer season. Close to many good restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a nice place to sleep. The beach near by was ok but it was close to drive to other nicer beaches.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was way to small

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room lovely bathroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great value for money. Great room and swimming pool, amazing breakfast and close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi connection. Alarms going off during the night for long periods of time.

    Very close to the beach. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was not good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi a little inconsistent.

    The friendly staff. The range of pools available and the nice food. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The allinclusive was to short

    Good food,nice staff and near the see

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor breakfast

    Swimming pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors of the room was so difficult to open and close.

    Big rooms. And everything clean and nice staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes! Wifi dropped in the room.

    Spacious room. Close to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rock hard beds in which I couldn't slleep

    Staff. Pools. Bar service. Food except for two dinners

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No evening entertainment

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not really close to Albufeira town, you need to get there by car.

    Breakfast was very rich. Large and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar man small pool bar

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was catered for so I can't find any faults

    LOCATION TO THE BEACH PERFECT, CLEANLINESS AND VERY FRIENDLY STAFF,

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent staff, very clean with good swimming pools.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice quiet hotel, great for a few days relaxing break. Liked breakfast , close to beach , sunny balconies, pool areas, sports bar, outside bar. Marquees to escape the sun if it got to hot, supermarket on lower ground floor. Rooms a little dated and not many english chanels on the antiquated tv but having said that still good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Distance from albufeira old town however only a 7 euro taxi ride away and hotel did have a shuttle bus service for 3 euro but no return shuttle.

    Hotel cleanliness was superb. Hotel room small but clean and tidy with fridge and kettle/cups etc gorgeous beach 400 yards from hotel.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet cost 3 euros per hour. :( Bartenders in restaurant speak weak/not at all english. -- but still friendly and willing to help.

    Breakfast/dinner was extremly good with many options to choose. Big and clean swimming pool was not too crouded even though that hotel was full. Staff nice and friendly. Room clean with a nice balcony. Many options to use like restaurant, bar, billiar, children pool, garden, supermarket....everything on your hand. At night from 20-22 there is a bus driving to center of Albufeira, you can buy tickets at reception. Also, if you need taxi, they will order it for you.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I was travelling with my 3yr old daughter and feel like the restaurant didnt cater for children..also didn't open until 8pm which was quite late to eat for a toddler

    I liked the helpful reception staff warm friendly cleaning staff. Very clean tidy and friendly

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room located to the pool (108) not private, dark and kinda sad.

    Good location. nice, friendly staff- especially in Restaurant. Very good breakfasts and dinners.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    mattress a bit too hard, children's entertainment could be a bit to loud some nights when other quests would like to hold a conversation without having to shout above the music of the. The hotel a little bit out of the way of the other amenities in the area

    Lovely Hotel, Very Clean, Staff wonderful very helpful & polite. Service excellent, Food good & very reasonably priced . 2 lovely pools excellent for children. House keeping very good room cleaned every day if required would stay again

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free WiFi would be great. More channels with English language.

    The pool was lovely. Staff was very kind and helpful. The food was very nice as well, good choice for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Stayed with friends early season with only a few guests at the hotel. The service was excellent and very friendly. The food was just gearing up for buffet so the we were given free choice off full menu.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Couple

    Looking tired

    Lovely pool

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice hotel would go back

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    friendly staff, free Wifi provided, nice food in restaurant, and it is close to beach and local stores

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast each morning Should was good

    Location,

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location to far from town

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool very cold but only to be expected in October.

    Staff very friendly and helpful . Good location for getting about. Very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If we were to be picky would be no free wi fi

    The staff here are very friendly lovely pools and rooms, food great!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, food and cleanliness. Warm welcome. Helpfulness of staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Camarero Calvo maleducado

    La piscina,sports bar

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very poor variety of food at lunch and dinner

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing significant

    the superb staff

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Television (should have more channels and bigger); Should have Free Wi-fi or at least better prices.

    Pool and the location of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The charge for wi-fi, even bars offer free wi-fi!

    Relatively small hotel with all facilities within easy reach

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no one tell me water is not suitable for drinking / boiler problem / air-conditioner very weak even requested several times

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    if your not a.i,its not possible to choose a meal from the menu,

    the area was very nice,staff were very good .overall a nice stay

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Balaia Mar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: