Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Dom Carlos Liberty 3 stars

Rua Alexandre Herculano 13, Santo Antonio, 1150-005 Lisbon, Portugal

#180 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 665 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent and helpful staff. When I left my hairdryer behind they took the initiative to contact me first and asked me how they could organize to return it to me. Many thanks to the cleaner and reception staff for going beyond the call of duty. Kerri

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast: poor choice and the taste was not good and seemed very low quality (except the scrambled eggs which were good): yogurt, juices, coffee. Bedroom: Some light switches didn't work well, the atmosphere of the bedroom was old: carpet, walls.

    Breakfast: the scrambled eggs were very good The lobby of the hotel was satisfying I slept well in the bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We just felt the bedrooms needed redecoration. Wallpaper peeling in places. We were also given twin beds and the room was quite small.

    The location was fantastic. The hotel Reception staff extremely helpful and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was smaller what we expected.

    The breakfast was really fine, the hotel also. The staff was helpful and kind. The room was clean, so everything was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating is centrally controlled at reception so you have to call down in the middle of the night if you want to change the temperature of the AC

    Has everything you would expect off a 3* hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfests shoud be improoved

    Definitely the location is perfect for a tourist accomodation. Metro is closely 50 meters and if You would like to go sightseening by walk, it's a quite good place to start.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be a little more generous.

    Very easy to get to from the airport via subway, 10 min walk to the center of the town. Nice clean room. Every day change of towels. Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was great - walking distance (15 minutes) to the Rossio (centre of Lisbon). The staff was very helpful and friendly and wi-fi was free and excellent. The rooms were clean albeit a little small. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One thing that was really inconvenient is how small the room was, we pretty much walked into the room and the bed was only one step away. We traveled somewhat light but it was an international trip after all, after we opened our one luggage (small, carry-on size) and one backpack, we can only "crab walk" around the room.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The included breakfast was okay, but not going to complain since it's free. The location is great - walking distance to restaurants and bars and downtown Lisbon, also near the Metro (about 5 min walk) so very convenient if going to the airport or train stations.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Asking the reception to turn on the air condition as it was centrally controlled.

    Good location, close to the metro. The staff was very kind and helpful. Very clean room. Wide variety of buffet breakfast. Good wifi connection. Digital safe in the room. Storing luggage after check out until an evening flight.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel equipment is old and worn out. We could not close the window so we were disturbed by the noise from cars all the night. The mattress was crap. At leaset the a/c was working.

    The hotel is located perfectly. It is 10min walk downtown, 3min to metro, 15min from airport by taxi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and the bathroom was small - overall the hotel is a bit dated and could probably do with a re-furb but its a very good value for money hotel

    Breakfast was very good self service buffet with all you need - location was great for me - its a 15 minute walk to (a very pleasant walk) to Biaxa and the Metro, which is brilliant and easy to use, is a 5 minute walk

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were really bad. It almost would hav been better to sleep in the stairwell. They are that bad. We complained and they moved us to a nicer room but the bed was the same!

    The breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only 12 euros by taxi to hotel from airport. 10min walk from hotel to main city square, but near metro if wanted. Comfortable modern rooms , but quite small, especially with the extra bed we had for our son Good buffet breakfast included in price, and served until about 11:15

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee served during the breakfast Temperature of the shower oscillates Even though I recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again, considering all the pros

    Friendly Staff ; location ; cleanliness ; value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Way overpriced for what you get. The rooms are adequate but not great by any means This is should be more like a 40 Euro a night place, 50 at most. Location is not really near anything immediate without a taxi or metro trip. They 'nickel-and-dime' you. Charged for a cup of lemon water that was out in the lobby for guests and an extra bottle of water. Again, not a bad place, but for the price you pay, it would be. You can do far better for less money at another place.

    Wifi was pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located near a busy street which is good on the one hand but on the other it means you have to put up with the noise even late at night.

    This hotel is great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. Bed needs replacement. Sag in the middle.

    Efficient and knowledgeable staff. Very pleasant. Very convenient location. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Notting really.

    The environment and place is so clean and meant my expectations. Room service was great, reception help was fantastic. Everything was on point. And I always look forward to the breakfast every morning.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bonus on selected restaurants, or museums, or sightseeing programs by night or daily. Shuttle bus to airport.

    Food was Ok. Staff Communication, information provided good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite a walk to the city centre for bars and restaurants. Although there are some near the hotel but not many.

    Breakfast plentiful with hot and cold food. Staff extremely helpful. Near to Marques De Pombal where tour buses commence

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small room/bathroom (for couple), no coffee/tea-making facilities, you have to eat breakfast on a tray (I put my buffet breakfast on the table, and was immediately given a tray by the waiter - a bit odd...). Expensive hotel for what you get.

    Walking distance to the center of town. Clean and pretty comfortable. Good wifi access. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the double bed were 2 single bed setting one beside the other and not very confortable. The bed for the baby was a camping bed with a very uncomfortable mattress. The breackfast was not up to the price of the hotel

    very kind staff at the entrance

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More variety for breakfast.

    Very friendly staff, always ready to go an extra mile to help, made us feel very welcome and had a homely atmosphere. Our booking flexibility allowed us to travel out of the city for a few days and check back in at the same rate. We requested to have our initial room and this was accommodated. We even got cookies in the room on our return. I will definitely stay there again and I recommend it to anyone especially if visiting the city for the first time like we were.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of something

    First and foremost the staff in the reception were very helpfull, friendly, smily and gave us all the information we needed about sights to see, restaurants to visit and public transportation. Breakfast was indeed to our satisfaction. Roomsize appropriate.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little more variety at breakfast would have been nice.

    Staff were excellent went the extra mile to help you. High level of cleanliness not only in the room but all other areas of the hotel. Breakfast coffee superb

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to work out how the air con works - apparently worked by reception but they don't tell you this in the first instance. The noise - building works that start at 0800 with the drilling which goes on for hours. Hammering goes on for hours. Noisy neighbours.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location. Everything accessible on foot but also close to the Metro station. Very welcoming and helpful staff. Room was clean and comfortable and food at breakfast was nice and fresh. This is the second time I stayed here and was perfect for my stay as a single traveller - would recommend.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast options could be more :) as it was very basic

    Perfect stay, very clean comfortable and modern rooms, also spacious compared to hotels in Europe, location was good 20 mins walk to Rossio and 7-10 mins walk to Marques de Pombal I would definitely come again :)! Thank you

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was a problem about the cleaning of the room which was solved very quickly

    the location was very good. close to plaza m.pombal and metro. within walking distance to rossio square the reception staff was perfect. very polite and helpful. we liked the breakfast. rooms are little bit small but who would spend time in the room in lisboa

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there were some issues with air-conditioning No complimentary water

    great breakfast with fresh seasonal food and local pastries the location is between the other districts that we wanted to visit and it was nice to take 20-30 min walks to the main locations or grab a taxi which is cheap in Lisbon. good price

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Very good varied choice for breakfast. Something to suit everyone. Excellent choice of TV channels in many languages. Helpful suggestions for restaurants in the surrounding area to suit all pockets.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    parking was not near the hotel,could not work out rates per day and accepted cash only ! no evening meal available in the hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower tub is way too high. Lots of people would not be able to climb it

    Staff was friendly food was decent and location is ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the lift was very small and being claustrophobic I was afraid to use it.

    the staff were very helpful and kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel! Great location - very central and close to all tourist hotspots! Friendly and helpful staff! Very clean and comfortable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room; asked for local restaurant, we were recommended the restaurant Santa Marta that was for tourists and not worthy it’s price

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and great service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms on the smaller side and could generally do with a facelift.

    Good hotel in a central location. Good feel, good breakfast and reasonable prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanesss and location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    coffee

    staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff, pretty well breakfast, clean fresh rooms; close to metro - just about 100m.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect Hotel close to the centre. Small , but clean Rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good value hotel in upmarket area of Lisbon just off main shopping avenue, easily accessible from metro station, good small restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were outstanding and the location could not have been b

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Staff very helpful & polite. Rooms not large but very clean & linen changed regularly. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds. Bathroom very small.

    The location is excellent. The beds are the worst I have ever experienced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was very uncomfortable, the matress should be replaced .

    The breakfast was good, the staff coud have been a little friendlier.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con could have been cooler

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing within the hotel is what a 3-star hotel should be. Tiny rooms. Few breakfast choices.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better. Lack of variety in salty dishes.

    Hotel was lovated pretty good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little expensive regarding to its rating

    You will be find so friendly staff who are really kind and help you to be happy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    excellent location in the centre of Lisbon. Very helpful and friendly staff at the reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hotel is like sad mothing inside no lobby no bar only fine accomodation

    only location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffe.was.awful.chairs notcomfortable.neither.in.lobby.norat breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be more varied.

    Excellent location, staff, infrastructures.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, bathroom small, toilet paper thin and course. No tissues

    Location- convenient to everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    CUSTO DO ESTACIONAMENTO

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like more newspapers.

    I´d like desk and lobby staff. I´d like the location and its stillness. Close to metro station and bus stop.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely kind and helpful which was great as I was staying on my own.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, amazing staff, great breakfast not ending till 11am also, perfect location - thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was a bit uninspiring

    Extremely good and helpful service, particularly sorting out a problem with my phone

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast choices.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper Bar, with stools

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could be better

    Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hot breakfast was of a poor standard (sausages, bacon and egg)

    Yoghurts, bread and condiments fine

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us good information about everything that we need.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food - coffee, croissants, and missed coffee making facilities in room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean rooms pleasant and helpful staff very nice breakfast and close to Avenue Liberdade.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    breakfast, comfort, clean, position

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asking the reception to put on the air-conditioning every time you enter the room

    Quiet and peaceful location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location on main avenue, very kind staff and nice clean room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Good breakfast. Staff is really nice

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are really helpful ,very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had two single bed rather than a couple bed

    Lovely breakfast, staff were friendly. Would stay again

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Dom Carlos Liberty traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: