Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Internacional Design Hotel 4 stars

Rua Da Betesga 3, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-090 Lisbon, Portugal

#93 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1798 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great contralto location & very friendly helpful staff Breakfast good . Room ( internal view double ) was quiet despite central city location & very clean Bed comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom has a little sewer smell.

    The buffet breakfast in the recommended hotel restaurant had an excellent view of Rossio square. The voucher for a free glass of port was a nice welcime gesture. The staff was really very friendly and helpful, especially Nuno. The airport shuttle (EUR 40) was very convenient, especially because our delayed flight arrived late past midnight. The location of the hotel is excellent, right at the end of the pedestrian-only shopping street and a couple of doors down from the excellent and reasonably-priced Confeteria Nacional bakery. Short walk from Rossio train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small, items were dirty and the pillows were uncomfortable.

    Great location, very friendly welcome and loved that they gave us breakfast boxes for our early airport departure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night

    No responsibility of the hotel but readers might want to know parking is very very expensive in the centre for just under 24 hours it cost us €42, if you get there and park ask the hotel if they have a parking coupon we didn't get one but you might be lucky.. The only 'fault' we'd mention is the shower was one of the rain drop ones which are fab but they do need a bit of attention to make sure the spouts don't get clogged up - when I started the shower it sprayed everywhere and left a rather large puddle on the floor - apologies to the hotel we forgot to mention this on leaving.

    The hotel Internacional is in a great location central to almost everything in Lisboa, we had a lovely time wandering around and were thoroughly spoilt for choice of where to eat - sadly we only had the one night! The room was good with an enclosed balcony having views down one of the side streets and across to a very pretty square that had trees in full blossom of a beautiful blue (sadly no photos of that). The staff are very courteous, friendly and helpful, were very happy to answer all our questions and give us another map as we kept forgetting ours! There is a central enclosed courtyard with plants, (we felt some of them and yes they were fake but it would be hard to keep real plants - however a few of them could do with a little bit of 'spit & polish'!) along with AstroTurf and chairs where you could sit quietly and read or use the phone and order in room service! Breakfast was as you would expect, help yourself with a good selection of choice, we ordered a couple of omelettes which were unconventional but tasty! There's fun art dotted around the hotel with quirky quips on top of classics that got you guessing where they were from and the relevance to the picture, we were sorry to leave and would recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cramped. Bathroom very unergonimically designed. Staff service inconsistent.

    Some staff members helpful, others not (there was 1 complimentary bottle of water in the room but we were 2- we asked for a second one and they said no). The entire hotel had a very offensive smell, particularly in the room bathroom. Food and beverage manager was excellent. Front door porter was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathroom door would not shut (it kept sliding back open, which is why I have not recommended the room for a couple. Service at the Bastardo was slow.

    The bed was to die for. Best mattress I have ever slept on, send it to my home. The exterior was perfect. The staff were extremely helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    I went for a long weekend to Lisbon with my friend for her 40th birthday so we chose to stay in an upmarket hotel and this certainly was. It was beautiful, clean and stylish and the staff were all so friendly and welcoming. The locations amazing for everything. I let the hotel know in advance about my friend's b'day and they surprised her with lovely flowers and a birthday cake. She was so happy, it made her day. Such a thoughtful thing to do. I am planning to go back with my husband.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got breakfast at the hotel and frankly the menu became a tad monotonous after 7 days. Also they kept champagne on ice on the week days but mysteriously uniced on the weekend when I’d have liked a glass.

    The location is absolutely superb, very close to transport hubs and really in the middle of the more interesting and historical bits of Lisbon. The staff were absolutely helpful in telling me where to buy and load the card one needs to use public transport. When I arrived, the people of the dest immediately gave me a map and marked the spot where the hotel was and noted points of interest. Very useful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A comfortable boutique hotel in the heart of historic Lisbon, within sight of the Rossio train station, several metro stops, Aerobus airport shuttle stop, and the historic trolley. Our top floor room was artfully decorated, clean and very comfortable with large opening balcony doors and small balcony overlooking the adjacent Rossio and Figueira Squares. Staff were very welcoming and helpful with great recommendations for area restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a poo smell at the reception all day but it did not continue into the rooms.

    The bed was so comfortable! The room smelled amazing and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms had no place to store clothing so you had to live out of your suitcase.

    The location was excellent and the hotel was very nice. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is centrally located but the rooms are surprisingly quiet. Staff are very friendly and all speak very good English. Get a Square view (not a side street view) and a larger room, its worth the extra money. The breakfast was very enjoyable and they serve it until 11am! I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night before our stay I read some of the negative reviews and thankfully we did not experience anything at all like them. I stayed with my mother (73 years) and we were given a room on the 4th floor (406) over looking Rossio. It was lovely - only there for one night - I wouldn’t have a problem to use this hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is quite busy, right in the middle of the old city centre. This is great if you want to be in the middle of the buzz. But less so if you like to sleep with the windows open and air-conditioning off. When closed they provide good noise isolation however.

    This hotel has a great atmosphere with different design themes in different parts of the hotel. The restaurant is charming and there is a nice small atrium decorated as an indoor garden. We had 4 rooms in total, all different designs and outfitting. Some of them were smaller but overall the space was nice. The rooms were clean. I was amazed by the language proficiency of the staff. I've heard fluent Italian, French, English and of course Portuguese.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room was a box, it smelt of drains seriously not right barely room for the luggage. Paid lots of money (200 quid per night) did not expect this! Complained they changed us to one floor up - marginally bigger room. But at least it did not smell of the drains. Badly designed bathroom and very very small - no cat to swing to be precise. NOT 4 star Joke to call it a design hotel. And an even funnier joke to say it was luxury........... Better places to stay for less money - be warned!

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most unfriendly front desk staff I've ever encountered. Never a smile or a hello- barely even a nod. Multiple staff over different shifts and different days were consistent in their disregard for positively impacting the guest experience. Couldn't bother to even hold the door open for us, as we departed with large suitcases in hand. They were not rude, just detached and uncaring. They bill themselves as members of "Small Luxury Hotels of the World"- guess outstanding or even average customer service is not a criteria for membership. If you could care less about friendly service, the location and rates may make it worthwhile to stay at the Internacional Design Hotel.

    This boutique hotel has a prime location, just off the Plaza d Pedro IV, right in the heart of Lisbon. Rooms are small but adequate- they are clean and quiet. Restaurant looked fine- we did not try it. Rates were reasonable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My bathroom was really substandard. Cheap and old fittings. The floor tiles were cracked. The shower was in the bath. There was mould on the tiles in the bath. I was expecting better. Half the staff were welcoming and friendly, the other half quite unfriendly.

    Excellent location. The breakfast room was really beautiful and they selection of buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue with the hotel was the size of the shower which was far too small for a reasonably sized person

    The hotel is perfectly located in the old party of the city below the castle with tram and bus stops very close. The overall hotel decor was quirky and fun. Touristy restaurants nearby and better more interesting places to eat within easy walking distance. The staff were great, helpful and good humored and the room was a good size and well appointed with a comfortable bed. . Breakfast was fine. All in all an excellent place to stay in Lisbon if you don't mind a very tight shower space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator very slow. Electric outlets poorly positioned and inadequate for charging multiple devices ( two tablets and two smart phones).

    Breakfast wonderful. Staff wonderful. Ideal location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clocks in the room.

    This was one of the most delightful hotel stays I have had! The location was fantastic. The staff was so helpful and friendly. Great breakfasts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lobby was very small and dark. Room was stark and extremely small. Nowhere to put 2nd suitcase nor drawers to put anything away. No room for a chair! I’d asked for a spacious room with a seating area and only had room for the bed. Pictures on website indicated the rooms were larger than what is actual. Would never stay there again! Nor recommend it!

    Location was excellent. Bed was very comfortable. Buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way over priced. Nothing luxury about this ... very average room, air conditioning did not work, poor bathroom design (did the manager/ owner ever try to actually wash their face in the washbasin?), some tried to come into our room at 8am on Sunday am. When we complained at check out we were told there was no manager on the premise to talk to. When the chap checking us out asked how was our stay I said this was not luxury in any way and his answer : “ ok ... (pause) ... can you input your pin please (handing me the terminal)” . This place is not worth the money.

    Great location. Very nice breakfast buffet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last night both the air conditioning and the television failed to work. Despite their best efforts, without an on-site 24 hour maintenance staff, it was impossible to remedy the situation. Pity.

    Dinner at Bastardo, the in-hotel restaurant, was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did forget to book a restaurant as requested by us and promised by them. In the end they booked us on a really touristic place. Big disappointment. Other than that everything was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dark. 410 As a superior room it has small windows, and therefore not much of a view. No drawer space and the bed was really short.

    Staff were great. Friendly and very helpful, they booked restaurants for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was excellent - unexpected & thus delightful surprise. We requested a Kettle & it arrived almost immediately - big bonus. ONLY little quibble that the bed weren't 'turned down' on our last night & we DID miss our bedtime choc🍬

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a bit of a whiff of bad drains but it’s very very clean and is an old building so to be expected !

    Location was great, very central. We had the corner room on floor 4, very trendy decor. Well cared for and staff were very friendly , helpful and professional - lovely !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Scented corridors vaguely unpleasant. No kettle in the room, coffee machine does not make a good cup of tea. No bath or feather pillows. Strange arrangement of steps from room to the lift made it a bit difficult getting my case to the lift when leaving.

    The position was great, the bed comfortable and the room was a good size also I could open the window, always a bonus.. Breakfast was plentiful. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Reserved "Superior Double Room with Square View", and initially shown to a standard room equipped for the disabled. Made representation, and albeit with a lack of enthusiasm, we were allocated a better room, which included the facilities described in booking confirmation. Wardrobe provided, but no drawers, and one of us lived out of the suitcase for the entire five night stay. Airport shuttle service advertised, and upon requesting quote told it would cost 40 Euros each way. We made use of Aerobus 1 at a total cost for the return journey of 12 Euros. The bus stop is no more than a minute from the hotel.

    Location could not be bettered. Hotel well-maintained, and with an imaginative décor. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is quite limited

    Its clean and totally a great location altogether. Accessable to anywhere within walking distance. Staff are very very helpful and informative. Will come back for sure

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internacional was the icing on the cake for us while enjoying the beautiful city of Lisbon. We loved the location, friendly helpful staff, the welcome drink, and to top it off they left a delicious dessert in our room for my husbands birthday! The room was clean and comfortable! Their restaurant has an eclectic flair with good food and staff that are second to none. Loved this hotel and will include it in our Memories when thinking of our trip to the beautiful city of Lisbon!🇨🇦

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather wasn't great. There was some rain, but it came and went vey quickly.

    Fantasic hotel and staff. The cleanest and nicest smelling hotel ever, which had a really moden interior, with the original exterior intact, which was so nice. The location was unbeatable, right in the centre, but you could also walk to the older more Portuguese areas. We could see the castle and two main squares from our balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was small and the wifi service in the room was quite undependable--never better than just barely adequate.

    The staff was as friendly and helpful as could be. They went out of their way to answer our questions, and on the last day, when we had to leave the hotel before breakfast was served, they provided us bagged breakfasts that were very tasty. Above all else, THE LOCATION OF THIS HOTEL COULD NOT BE BETTER--right in the center of the city, near tram and bus stops and a metro station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I appreciated the friendliness of the staff. They were very helpful, and knowledgeable regarding suggestions of ways to see Lisbon. The location of the hotel is fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a one way street in front of the hotel so make sure you don't miss the parking garage because if you do, it's hard to get all the way back due to all of the one way streets.

    Awesome location with a parking garage located just across the street! Best breakfast I've had in a while with the best service. Room was very spacious with great view of the square. This was probably my favorite hotel that I've stayed at since being in Europe. The staff was very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of available relaxing space. Even though they have small concept zones such as the loft or the garden, they are quite impractical to use. Also, with NO sitting area or seats in your room it wasn't a very relaxing hotel.

    Our room was tiny and overlooked the street and was noisy. We asked if we could be moved, it was done quickly and without hesitation. The staff were very helpful and helped us book restaurants, trips and a fado night out. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great. The bar, although small, was well stocked with a variety of gins and the staff there were lovely and very helpful. Our room on the 4th floor had a lovely balcony with a great view of the square but could have done with a central light fitting as it was a little dark at times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a bit small, but still great for our needs.

    Extremely friendly staff, making extra touches to make us feel welcome (like a jar of candies in our room), perfect location for exploring the main attractions of Lisbon, breakfast was great, beautiful design of common spaces.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thing that impacted me the most in a negative way was that they refused us service at the restaurant when my partner and I wanted to get just some dessert and coffee. The person in charge said “ this is a restaurant, so you can sit if you want to have lunch”.

    I loved the place. It is really nicely done, different and original. Breakfast was very nice as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathtub/shower floor was slippery when wet

    Great location! Walking distance to water. Room was very comfortable. Food and wine at their restaurant, was amazing!! Staff was very helpful with transportation to from the airport. English speaking staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the mattress was a little old

    i received an upgrade to a larger room with a very nice view over the square. the room was very quiet, breakfast was good and staff was superfriendly good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fabulous, really comfortable and the facilities in the room were great. Lovely products to use and a decent hairdryer. There was a great selection at breakfast which was constantly topped up. Staff were friendly and helpful. There was really handy guide to Lisbon in the room, with restaurant suggestions and other recommendations.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more options in terms of vegetarian food and things like different jams, baked beans,etc. Smiling and welcoming faces at the reception would have been a nice gesture. Only 3 out of all the different people I saw smiled and greeted us, the remainder were rather indifferent and somewhat aloof even when I tried to be friendly and polite. As someone who's well travelled I value customer service highly and so was expecting a lot more in terms of hospitality, respect and the manner of tone with which I was spoken to. The hotel was nice overall but definitely has a lot to learn with regards to meeting it's customer's needs.

    The room was lovely and the location was great for walking to places of interest. Could easily buy the yellowbus siteseeing tickets at the reception. Most of their staff was informative and helpful when I had questions. Beautiful display of breakfast. The nata were yummy!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a weird smell in the hallways. Rooms are very small and bathrooms have high tubs-not very safe for old or very short individuals. There is only one elevator.

    LOCATION was superb! Staff were very helpful and friendly. I really like the area the hotel is located- I could walk to so many places!!!! The restaurant- Bastardo was really good. Breakfasts were really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a street merchant below my window repeating his pitch over and over and over without variance for three days. He was not very creative. It's the guy with the splattering rubber balls that return to their shape.

    Location location location. And great helpful happy staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some travelers may prefer more of a lobby. This one is quite small. I never got used to the half step up between the bathroom and the bedroom, Almost tripped on it about six times in three days. The hotel is also not a great choice for business travelers; for instance, the "business center", (my description, not theirs) consists of one computer in a corner of the attic floor, with no printer. If you want to print even a boarding pass, you have to e-mail it from the upstairs computer down to the main floor reception desk, where they print it. Also, waiting for that one computer is no picnic if someone is using it and you're in a hurry. But for leisure travelers, this may be irrelevant.

    Wonderful location. Great buffet breakfast. Helpful staff. Very modern and up-to-date interior. Pleasant notes of whimsy, like the "Garden of Eden" in the center atrium and the "Alice in Wonderland" quotation in the elevator shaft. Generous welcome gift of a glass of Portuguese port. The room price I got was about US$85 a night for three nights. When I went back to check the website a few days later, it was more than US$300 a night. My views would have been a lot more demanding at the latter price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the bathroom would stink. Maybe this was a temporary problem as I know maintenance was working on some rooms.

    Great redesign of an old hotel right in the heart of Lisbon. The location is great, de decor is great, people are friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was super friendly, check in time was at 15.00 but they had a room ready for in the morning already. They also provided with great local tips. The breakfast was awesome, lots of options and delicious food. The restaurant design is tasteful! Room was spacious and bed was mega comfortable. Location is amazing, right at the city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were given a room which faced the Main Street and it was very noisy.

    The staff were really helpful and pleasant. The room was very well appointed and very controllable air conditioning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room replenishments hit and miss. Cleaning hit and miss as well. Some managers didn’t seem to know what they were doing or what they should be doing other than just standing around.

    Location, concierge and breakfast. Most of the staff very friendly and helpful. Would stay again when next in Lisbon

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My twin stayed in this hotel 4 years ago and recommended it to me. It was perfectl! Great location, really nice staff, beautiful design! I loved having a little balcony overlooking the square. Ask to have a robe brought into the room. Also, don't miss buffet breakfast at Bastardo!! All you can eat/drink for 15 euros. It's also a great place for dinner. I basically LOVED staying in this hotel and will miss it a lot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Located int the very center of Lisbon. Great access to the city and the attractions and surrounded by cafes and restaurants in walking distances. A fantastic location to explore the city and really bar car easy to access from the airport. No own carparking, but city underground parking in 2 minute walking distance (not cheap but priced as everywhere). We loved the hosts at the reception, extraordinary friendly, helpful and great charming people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The carpet was dirty. The bathroom tiles were broken. The hooks in the bathroom were in odd places. You couldn't get your head all the way over the sink to wash you face. Water went all over the floor. The shelf above the sink was in the way. Disappointed in my room. Especially for how much I paid! The room is in dire need of an update. DEFINITELY not a 4 star property. More like a 3 star at best.

    Room 203. The balcony was LOVELY. The pillows were nice. The 'double bed' is really just 2 beds pushed together. The TV was large and new. The shower was nice although the tub was VERY slippery. The blackout curtains were incredible. The Nespresso machine was also a nice touch. The breakfast was SO good and plentiful. The people that worked there were really really great. ALL of them. EXCELLENT location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast started at 7am. We were at the breakfast room at 7am for breakfast the morning of our flight home but the breakfast room was not open (we had booked a taxi for 7:15am). Two members of staff were very unhelpful and abrupt especially the chef. When we got into the breakfast room to grab some food on our way out he was more concerned about fixing the buffet display we distrubed (picked up a roll and ham) rather then helping us. He did not apologise for the late opening. The reception member of staff did not apologies either. Also the taxi did not arrive and one had to be hailed down. This dampened our experience of the hotel as it was excellent before these to incidents occured.

    The room had a nice ambience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Fresh coffee ran out at breakfast. Although coffee still available from the machine.

    Really good service and a very comfortable room. Coffee maker in the room plus a late breakfast until 11.00am. Great location right in the centre of town with easy access to transport options including trams and tourist buses.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Being charged 5 euros for milk to go with our tea and coffee that was supplied in the room, milk wasn't supplied?! That was a disappointment in a hotel that otherwise had very high standards.

    Superb location central to see everything, great breakfasts and pleasant room, unique and special

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were adequate but small. Desk and work area in room was also small. For business, the desk area needs to be larger and better set in the room. The business center did not have a printer, which is essential for the traveling business person.

    Hotel was clean, conveniently located, and stylish. Great location central Lisbon. Rooms were adequate, but n the small side. I expected a larger room. Wifi was good for hotel WiFi, but slow for business purposes. I took the room with breakfast and breakfast was good, but could provide more in terms of custom orders. It was continental, but could have offered oatmeal and omlettes for special order.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no lobby in the hotel, just a check-in desk and two chairs. The room and the storage capacity was way too small. The breakfast was simple, nothing special.

    The location is simply perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was small with a tiny high up window that was blocked with a close wall as a view. Bathroom also small with no room to dry yourself after showering.

    Hotel itself and facilities and location were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Baby crib offered is a travel crib of poor quality, not suitable for longer stays, and at first we got it with big holes and weary. There is a horrible scent all over the hotel, made of toxic chemicals as I got allergy reaction from it, this scent spreads into the room when the box producing it placed next to the doors in the corridor. Hotel is not suitable to person suffering from allergies. Hotel is located at very busy intersection, so it was relatively noisy in the evenings. The hotel is max. 3 stars for the price of 4. Superior room is very small, not enough place for storage, working desk too minuscular to be used.

    Very nice and professional staff, good breakfast selection. Reacted quickly to solve the issues, stopped the scent machine on the floor. Baby crib with holes was promptly replaced to a new one after complaint. The hotel is easy to access with stroller. Airport shuttle service is great. Its very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very small room. Poor breakfast. Bar area was under construction. Noise from building work being carried out in the hotel. Rooms were not cleaned unless requested every day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small, but you dont get to stay inside for too long so it is ok.

    Breakfast was very nice. Fruits, cheeses and selection of fresh breads was excelent!!! Bed was comfortable. No noise from outside.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Absolutely loved this hotel. The staff couldn't do enough for us! The breakfast was full of choice and delicious. We also ate at their restaurant 'Bastardo' which was very good. The room was lovely and the location was fantastic! We really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Sliding door in the bathroom (not enough privacy when traveling with someone else). The central location of the hotel can lead to some noise from the street.

    Great location in the city center with most attractions located within walking distance. View on Rossio square from the bedroom and the hotel restaurant. Plenty of food options for breakfast. Clean rooms and friendly as well as attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were too small, bathrooms not well laid out. A bit noisy. A bit overpriced.

    The restaurant and bar were very good. Location is excellent. The personal for the most part were very good and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price is to high. Our room was so tiny. It was not possible to stay together in the bathroom as it was so tiny. Also the shower door was leaking and after a shower the whole bathroom was wet. We booked a interior view room and received a room with a tiny window in 2m high where we could see a wall. So somehow it was like a bunker. Realy not worth the money.

    The location is good, the staff friendly and the bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got confirmation (twice) that we will get a room with balcony and highest possible floor - to be given room on 2nd floor out of 5 without a balcony

    Great communication prior to our arrival

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 Coffee machine for breakfast , was inadequate - always having to queue and the coffee wasn't hot - machines like this can't heat water quickly enough . Shame they didn't have a roof terrace to relax on

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Square View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little storage areas in room Small almost useless bathroom vanity counter Property hard to locate. Tiny front door that’s hard to see. Extremely small lobby. Not even a lobby, just a front desk.

    Location...breakfast...comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Probably the best location in town. The hotel is situated on the busiest street in the old town - however the room is very quiet. You are very close to a subway, a railway and a couple of tram and bus stations. Very good king size bed. Exceptional breakfast. Try the Bastardo restaurant for lunch or dinner - surprisingly refined food. The chef really knows his trade. Really liked the hotel staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location of this property it was good but for the price of the hotel our room was very small. For the length of our stay they should have given us a larger room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are super small. Bathrooms are not renovated, showers are sinking. We fund bugs in our room. The odour of vomits on the floor was totally disgusting. We told about our complaints and hotel staff offered free bottle of water as a compensation. Totally not recommended!!!

    Location is cery good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room we were given when we arrived at 2am was tiny. We complained and were moved rooms by the afternoon the next day. Annoyed that we were given such a small room In the first place and couldn't unpack properly the first night as had to repack to move rooms which is very annoying when you have a short stay anyway. 2nd room larger but smelt of bad drains. Room not well designed either no where to get ready other than bathroom. No where to put bags/put make up etc and had to virtually crawl on the floor to reach the low plug points. The Room was run down - cracks in bathroom tiles etc No slippers or bathrobes in 2nd room despite them being in the 1st room. When we asked for them housekeeping said they'd be back in a minute and never came back. No water left In room after cleaning and No turn down service. They Assured me they could cater for vegans at breakfasts and first morning they had no clue and offered me egg and gluten free bread! They assured me they would have dairy free spread which they didn't so the first morning I had some fruit and dry bread for breakfast. The 2nd day they cooked me up a very random breakfast of tofu with cooked cucumber, carrot and cold mango and radish! Reception staff not very helpful nor friendly. Breakfast day 2 they ran out of breakfast teabags and still none on day 3. Can't believe in a hotel like that they didn't have any teabags in the whole building! Asked if we could have our welcome drink on the rooftop bar as pictured on booking.com but apparently no such place exists! All I can stay is Stay somewhere else. This place is not luxurious at all and really poor value for money. Had a great weekend in Lisbon but the hotel definitely brought the weekend down a bit.

    The location was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Interior view
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I liked having access to the 5th floor. It provided a nice extra space for exercising and TV watching. The second floor space near the restaurant was also a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a great location in the center of the Chiado section of Lisbon. It is walking distance to many sites and surrounded by shops and restaurants. The Metro and some of the major streetcar lines are only steps away. The rooms are clean and comfortable with very good sound insulation.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Internacional Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: