Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mundial 4 stars

Praça Martim Moniz 2, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-341 Lisbon, Portugal

#142 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3864 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes had to wait a while for the limited sized lifts at busy times.

    Good central location with various transport links (trams, buses and train station) all within reasonable walking distance, although a 15-20 min walk to the waterfront. Spacious room, and mine had a great view over the Square. Large breakfast room with lots of choice including healthy options. Nice roof top terrace/bar, although a bit windy at times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I asked for double bed and ended up with 2 single beds.

    Breakfast spread was good. Great layout in bedroom with plenty of room and good safe. Great location. Would definitely recommend. View from rooftop bar is incredible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night this time and the hotel met our expectations in all areas - no complaints at all

    The location close to Rossio station was exactly why we booked this hotel as we were en route to Sintra. The location was also good for a couple of short trips into various areas of Lisbon which we wanted to revisit. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of foods available and the waiting staff were very efficient. Checkout was well managed as we were able to leave our bags at the hotel while we went out and about.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, but if you have breakfast after 9 am, it was very busy.

    It is a very popular hotel and very well located down town. Walking distance to the river and main attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dribble of shower ran hot & cold. No tea or coffee making facilities. Towel rail didn’t work. Breakfast poor undustriallly made portions. On edge of red light district. Aggressive homeless people

    Beer tasted good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ate in the 8th-floor restaurant the food was possibly the worst meal in a hotel anywhere in the world, chose to sit together to see view did not suit surly waiter, managed a couple of digs in the ribs and pushed about he had hissy fit when asked for a pen to sign the bill. My Wife's Monkfish with bacon was not filleted properly sinue left on steamed no seasoning or sauce tiny sliver of bacon unable to cut. My Dover Sole filleted griddled salted to death, both served with an unseasoned slab of boiled potato and a little finger sized carrot,80euro for a piece of bicycle tyre and 4 slices of salty cardboard. Recommend you use Amaretto in tiramisu not lashings of almond essence. Unsurprising out next night but went to bar for coffee and port at 7.30 pm .Entertained buy cleaner hoovering round us , waitress brought port to us then tried to give coffee to someone else but spilt it down them, gave us clean saucers and half cups of coffee . When asking for bill they tried to charge other orders to our bill. Don't start me on breakfast, choice of food without plates, plates without food, juice no glasses hot food colder than cold food,hunt the spoon etc The hotel has 2 lifts so a good wait is expected, on the 3rd floor the noise and vibration from the Metro was only interrupted by the toilet sounds coming through the paper thin walls , the smell of paint from nearby rooms being refurbished and many other things. Did I complain? no, 50 years in catering told me it would fall on deaf ears . I have employed many Portugues staff and know this is not representative.

    Location was just right, the main reason why the hotel was busy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast had poor quality products and the fact that roof top bar wasn't open. Also bed was slightly hard.

    Good location right in the middle of the old town in Lisbon. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area quite small and therefore busy. However was very efficient Sadly rooftop bar and restaurant were closed for renovations.

    Lovely location central to tourist places. We had a really nice room overlooking the square. Also a bottle of bubbly - a lovely gesture from the management to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. Would definitely book again when we return to Lisbon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For us,the hotel had everything we needed.

    This hotel is in a great location. The staff were very helpful and it was a beautifully kept hotel. The breakfast was very good. We had an older person with us and every effort was made to ensure his comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction starts at 8am...banging, jackhammering...no way to sleep with al that noise.air conditioning sometimes works...when it’s one you freeze..when it turns off you get hot.

    Breakfast buffet was great. Location is perfect. Beds are comfortable. Great decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar was closed under construction and after being given a room on the floor below there was a lot of noise but they moved us to another floor and it was perfect.

    This hotel was spotless. Ideal location and I would definitely return to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a coeliac. It was great to see all the gluten free breakfast on a separate table. Unfortunately people were leaning across it to see what was on the table that had regular breakfasts on their plates. People with coeliac disease have to be very careful of cross contamination

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooftop bar was closed for maintanence to make it even better. In 4 minutes walk you have topo rooftop bar where you can also enjoy drinks and a beautiful view

    The location and the view from the hotel was amazing. The hotelroom was big, clean, the beds where very comfortable and the staff was super friendly. It’s really safe. Unfortunatly the roof bar was closed for maintanance, its actually the best rooftop bar in town (been there before) The hotel is in middle of the centrum,close to the shopping district, 10 minutes walk to bairo alto and also close to the train station and the bus and tram stops next to the hotel. Unfortunatly the hotel was fully booked so we could only stay one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor check in, room wasnt ready when I went to room having been checked in, row then ensued between cleaning staff and reception. First room very very noisy, overlooked street and could not sleep. Reception agreed to change room (a good response) and agreed to move my bags. I had to ask 3 times where they were, and when I went to reception to find them, my request as to why bags hadnt been sent up was met with a shrug of the shoulders. Breakfast seating very poor, too many tables, meant many tables were unusable as no room for people to get past other tables when people were seated. I had to insist on differnt tables, many others in similar positions.

    Great air conditioning, very handy for city. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rootfop is not available right now, one of the reason I actually booked the hotel was for the view and rooftop.

    The breakfast and the room were fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - 'hot' dishes cold; bread not good or fresh - much better at baker across road Majority of staff not naturally helpful

    Location convenient Facilities more than adequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee should be improved. Not up to the Portuguese standards.

    Excellent position, nice staff, abundant and varied breakfast (including a gluten free corner)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modern building but single glazing made the room a bit noisy - sounds coming in from the square in front of the hotel. But this is nothing I would consider a deal breaker.

    Very good location - walking distance to the main areas of interest, very close to two metro stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok but not quite to my liking. More "Amarican style" thought it had a lot of fresh fruit!!!

    Very good location. Right in the historical center, in walking distance to main historical places, tram 28 and sightseeing bus, metro. Hotel has panoramic view over the city. Very clean. Rooms are spacious, though bathroom room is kind of small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace vith a view is not opened although hotel promotes it is, they tell you that it is not opened after you come to hotel. After I told hotel manager that they did't change on booking websites that the terrace is closed he said that it is not his problem. Rooms are very old, sound isolation is terrible so you feel like you sleep directly on the street. Breakfast is like in a english low budget hostel, terrible. The heating is not working. You can find much better hotels for this money.

    Location is nice, near the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a bit better trained. Queue to get a table for breakfast/ shared table for breakfast.

    Excellent location. Hotel's facilities. Rooms are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queen size bed is actually two beds joined - it always causes the hole. There is not enough black tea for everyone during the breakfast. It is very noisy place - lots of street and wind sounds.

    Great location if you are about to do some sightseeing in the Lisbon center. Quite nice breakfast especially if you like sweets. We have got big balcony with the really exciting view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t anything

    Good Choice of food at breakfast, well managed considering the number of guests. Nice big room, big comfy bed, good sized bathroom with more than adequate shower - everywhere spotless. Couldn’t ask for more really. Hotel right near metro and tram stops airport bus stops just up the road a little way. Sightseeing bus stops right outside. Good restaurants within a ten minute stroll.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof top bar was closed, and there was no info on this in the hotel description. Breakfast was pretty odd. It felt like London: eggs, bacon and sausage. No Portuguese pastries.

    Bed was comfortable and there were pillows with different sizes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roof Top bar was closed but not informed on Bookings or at hotel until asked.

    Location, spacious room, room view as you can spot the Castle very close by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very noisy as sound proofing on window was very poor and our room was looking out onto the square which had lot of traffic.

    Breakfast had good variety

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lacks local character but value for money, clean, safe and friendly. A bottle of champagne on my birthday was a nice touch!

    Excellent location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop terrace was being refurbished and so we were unable to take advantage of the views. Early morning traffic was noisy.

    Excellent breakfast menu choice. Very comfortable bed - the best nights sleep ever away from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was quite bad. There were never enough staff at the reception helping people. We saw quite a number of employees behind the counter busy doing something while customers were queuing and waiting, this happened every day during our stay. I requested a quiet room and got the room next to the lift facing busy road with constant sirens.... we were able to change but only after one night. The breakfast was quite bad quality, they were also overcrowded so people were queuing to get seated, very hectic atmosphere inside the breakfast room. We checked it out on the first morning and chose to skip it on all other days as it was a rather stressful way to start a day.

    Excellent location in the heart of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As our stay was at the beginning of the tourist season, breakfast was extremely busy and crowded. Would have liked if some take-away cups and paper bags were provided in order to take pastries away and avoid the busy restaurant.

    Great location and extremely friendly staff. Rooftop restaurant had tasty vegetarian options for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a full on tourist hotel. The rooms are small, the beds hard, the bathrooms whilst clean lacked what I expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was a free for all, the food was below what I expect and its was crowded, the food in the same restaurant for dinner was on the other hand OK although the restaurant lacked any atmosphere. The roof top bar was closed for renovation and it was impossible to get a table for dinner on the 8th floor restaurant. The hotel is a full of bus loads of tourists who sweep though the place and literally take over. Its not a hotel I would recommend and or stay at again.

    The Hotels location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great. Location was central but lots of beggars around. Fine for 2 days but wouldn't stay again.

    Location was walking distance for most things but that was it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame the roof top terrace was closed. The hot elements of the breakfast didn't stay hot.

    The rooms were kept nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The cold items for breakfast were excellent. The bar area was excellent and at a very reasonable price too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink was leaking. All sanitary facilities in the bathroom would benefit from some refurbushment/replacement. The mattress and pillows could be changed for more comfy ones.

    Excellent location, near to or walking distance from many tourist attractions. Good breakfast, with a nice variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad check in, stood there and waited a couple of minutes while the staff were discussing something. No welcome or did you have a good journey or even enjoy your stay with us !! Very disappointed that the rooftop bar was closed for refurbishment and that we were not made aware of this when booking, particularly that’s why we chose the hotel in the first place! Our room very spacious which faced the lovely square but very noisy !!

    Great Location ! Rooftop bar looked great if it had been open 😪 Aero bus stops just across the road ! 4 euros each way, allow a little longer when going back to airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food that should be served hot was only warm - at breakfast and also the evening dinner. We would also have appreciated tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.

    Excellent location for visiting the main sights of the city. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Pleasant spacious room for 3 people. Good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't get the hang of accessing the WIFI and therefore the Internet from my 'phone.

    I have been coming to The Mundial on and off for the last 30 years. Its location and the wonderful staff make ones stay so personal. I have very fond memories of the place. I will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was noisy and the city seems to wake around 03:00 every morning.

    Excellent location, underground car park with lifts to hotel, very extensive and good breakfast, roof top bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment would be that reception staff seemed a little harried on both check in and check out.

    Our second visit and it did not disappoint - great central location, wonderful breakfast (included), very comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s very little that leaves this lovely hotel down! the guys at the door oh help! these guys are the most miserable i’ve ever came across what is wrong with them they can’t even smile let alone greet you, I tried but alas not even a smile, good luck if you need their help 😝

    This hotel is the perfect place to stay in Lisbon, the view from our room was fabulous, room good and spacious with plenty of towels and pillows, breakfast was great room was busy but staff had it well under control and plenty of choices. Receiption area was always busy and again staff were helpful and friendly. We ate in the 8th floor restaurant great views and good menu a bit pricey but good for a treat. had a pricey drink in the rooftop bar was special and worth it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably the most noisy hotel room I've ever been in. Forget about sleeping in after 6:30 am. I would ask for a quiet room next time.

    Comfortable bed. Bathroom up to date and very clean. Front Desk Staff welcoming and friendly. Great location. Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower head/spray was far too high up the wall, could hardly reach it. The toilet was too close to the wash basin and would be difficult if you were a large person. Staff could have smiled more and for a hotel of that size it should have had a conceirge for assistance.

    Size of the bedroom was good and very comfy beds, lighting good. Very clean and maid service very efficient. Excellent breakfast choice. Super roof terrace and view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room layout for twin room was cramped - could not fully open wardrobe doors Breakfast buffet was not up to 4* standards

    Location was good, near the main shopping area. Nice bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would recommend that the hotel puts signs in the lift to remind customers to not slam their hotel doors and keep the noise down after a certain time.

    The hotel was central to the city centre. Lots of restaurants and cafes near by. Great rooftop garden for gorgeous views and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The facilities are great offering wifi and computers in reception for you to catch up on emails. The tram 28 trip is also round the corner and the beach is 10 minutes from the hotel. The breakfast is excellent offering lots of health choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good !, if they had more people to assist check in and check out would be good

    Location was super central, very close to the rossio square, lots of shopping and food around, the famous tram 28 stop is close by, the aro bus stops right in front of the Hotel, very friendly staff and the breakfast spread was too good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was above the kitchen and you could clearly hear the activity but it didn't overly affect our enjoyment of the property. If it affects you advise staff and they will sort it. They were concerned we didn't report it immediately but we only mentioned it as other guests might find it more annoying then us.

    Excellent location with good access to airport bus, hop on bus, metro etc. Lots of good restaurants close by. Hotel was comfortable with good breakfast and a good well priced restaurant for dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Here the guests bringing a medium or large car must be WARNED !! The hotel offers free parking in the garage, 2 levels below the street level. We rented a larger Opel, going down into the garage was difficult, getting out was a much worse story. The garage is extremely cramped ! Rounding corners was almost impossible. A "trap" was also installed. In an opening between two garage rooms a steel cylinder of 70 cm height had been installed along the corner of the wall opening to protect the corner, but obviously to "kill" cars. The car had no alarm for the side, only for the front and the back. The cylinder caused considerable damage to the left back door as we rounded the corner....

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The number of intoxicated persons and beggars directly opposite the hotel. A little frightening at night. Sparse police presence. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Excellent breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows. They were leaking so it became a bit chilly in the room. And it also caused a bit noise from the street, but nothing that ruined our sleep at all.

    A lot of things to choose from at the breakfast buffet. Large room with excellent cleaning and fantastic beds. Free parking in the basement.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist we dealt with did not welcome us to the Hotel at check in and we were just handed a leaflet and key to our room....it would have been nice to be told where we were in the city and just some basic info about the city.... 😕

    The location was amazing and the rooftop bar at The Mundial was fantastic for views over the city 😊

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast outrageously rude practically had to beg for a table at breakfast very poorly run being sent the long way around to another entrance when clearly plenty of tables available also requested double bed and given twin so asked at reception to change very rude lady on reception. Given another room but had generator outside do was very noisy

    Great location great bar both inside and roof terrace and great bar staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel will definitely return to it on my next visit. From the moment we got there we where treated brilliantly. The rooms where spotless and very spacious. We got the breakfast included and was a great selection to set you up for the day. In walking distance to everything which was great. The bed was very comfortable had a great sleep. The rooftop bar was definitely a bonus even in January it was great sitting up there with views of the city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet should be cleaned more carefully.

    Location. On arrival we took the Airbus No 1 from airport, stop was 40 m away from the hotel. You can walk to Baixa and Rossio (10 min walk). Stop for famous Tram 28 is 50 m away. Room size: Adequate Breakfast (many options including scrambled eggs)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The temperature outside was 10°C. In hotel, especialy in the room max. 15°C. We were not able to heat our room. Really could. :-(

    Very good location close to city center. Many free space for parking in garage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor issue we had was that the hot food at breakfast was only barely warm.

    It was in a very interesting part of Lisbon and so close to the castle on the hill. The airport bus dropped us right outside the hotel. There were loads of amazing restaurants in close proximity. the hotel itself was lovely and the breakfast had a huge selection of food items to choose from.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think the internet connection could be way stronger, considering the central location and access to service.

    The location of the hotel is perfect! It is around everything that you must see and do in Lisbon. Friendly staff and welcoming atmosphere. The bar with at the rooftop opens a bit late, because it is quite cold at the minute but after asking if I could go in the morning and enjoy the views, they let me do it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not very knowledgeable about buses, tours, and not very helpful when we asked about restaurants in the area.

    Location was great. Breakfast was excellent. I was very happy to see there were gluten free options (bread, cereal) to choose from.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The A/C wasn't heating. I kindly asked at the reception for help for two days in a row(!!!) and nobody helped me. We ended sleeping in a very cold room. Our room had the view into the back of the hotel and the noise from an A/C machine, that works for the whole hotel, was kind of loud even with the window closed. Also the subway that goes under the hotel makes a mini earthquake every 5 minutes.

    The location is just perfect, all the important things are there (restaurants, landmarks, transportation). The well known tram no. 28 starts there. Also the breakfast is very good and diversified. They were very kind to keep our luggage at the hotel after the check-out and before the check-in for free.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We visited in late January and found our room to be very warm and stuffy. On 3 occasions we asked the front desk to address the problem. We also had a problem with the TV programing cutting out, again asking for resolution. On our last night stay we spoke to another front desk clerk who sent up a maintenance person.. He opened the screenless window explaining that the airconditioning was turned off for the winter. The TV had bad connectors and needed to be unplugged for a reboot. The hot food choices in the breakfast buffet were cold even coming from freshly topped up servers. The staff were too busy to be of much help at the front desk. This is a popular Hotel choice they need more staff at the front line. Ours were minor complaints but they could do better considering the cost of the small rooms

    The location was perfect for walking the downtown area and the close proximity to the waters edge. Plenty of shops to peruse. Restaurants on every street with options to feed every budget, though the menu choices were often similar. The Hotel served a breakfast with our room reservation, we like this option. The variety in the buffet style breakfast was excellent, the food tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Conveniently located in central Lisbon, close to bus lines and metro stations. We had a large room with a great view and very comfortable beds. The staff was very kind and helpful. Also, the breakfast was delicious with a lot of variety. I highly recommend this hotel and I will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Vanessa could be lovely as the other staff members. The breakfast could be better.

    The staff is lovely! Always trying to make our stay as great as possible. With the exception of Vanessa, which was not as lovely as the other staff people. It was possible to have an early check-in, which we really appreciated! The rooms are spacious, clean and everything works well. The location is great, close to everything! There is a parking available at the property, which is big plus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very noisy because of the air conditioner fan. Our room was interior and the air conditioner machine was very close to us. It was running the whole night :(

    Very good location. Good parking place. Ok breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    Very good, central location. Good breakfast, if somewhat busy. Reasonably priced food served in the restaurant by very helpful staff. Good Wifi. Secure, on site, free parking. Helpful staff throughout the hotel. Comfortable bed. Cosy bathrobes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the rooms :( The guy in check-in was quite antipathetic

    Good staff in general ; amazing breakfeast and perfect location to discover lisbon. Perfect with our 6months baby with baby bed and bath

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Looking at reservation details I've filled in , the hotel staff noticed it's my birthday and when we came back in the afternoon we found a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room. They did a truly nice thing and I appreciate them a lot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    stayed in triple room, third bed was small and not as comfortable as the other two.

    great location, good breakfast, view from rooftop terrace is wonderful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The sound proof is poor especially the rooms in lower floors because the hotel is close to busy streets.

    The location is very central, and close to public transportation. Breakfest is rich although there is little change every day. Very helpful personnals.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating system was noisy and made me feel ‘stuffed up’ No tea/coffee making facilities in room Being charged €4 for a cup of hot water Luke warm breakfast

    We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Mundial, with a great location. The hotel lobby and bar is stylish and welcoming with friendly and helpful reception staff. The room (triple) was a decent size (although the 3rd bed seemed an afterthought and more suitable for a child), however our third guest didn’t make it so it wasn’t a big problem. The room was kept clean and was welcoming to return to after a busy day out and about. I personally don’t like hot air blowing form of heating, but at least it was warm. The small flat screen tv was ok but lacking anything of interest to view in English. Breakfast was a bit poor as the hot food selection was lacking and served luke warm/cold. Continental selection was far better with delicious fresh fruit. The restaurant was busy, noisy and a bit chaotic, which was a vast contrast to the evening, where we ate twice. The set menu is unbeatable at €17 for 3 courses which were all extremely tasty. The staff were again helpful and attentive, making for an enjoyable and laid back experience. We only used the bar once, as my friend asked for a cup of hot water and a slice of lemon as she felt unwell and was charged €4 as the barman said it was classed as ‘lemon tea’!!!! We were not expecting it free but €4 is extreme! I would expect a hotel like Mundial to provide tea/coffee making facilities in the room. However I guess it’s more revenue for them not doing so, but poor in my opinion. Overall enjoyed our stay, would I return? most likely I’d look for somewhere different just because of the few things that were lacking but make for a more comfortable stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally breakfast had good choice of fresh ingredients but watery fruit juices let the whole experience down a little.

    Very convenient location, close to Metro & sights of Lisbon. Well appointed rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooftop bar. Good selection of food for breakfast. Rooms etc all of the standard expected from a large modern 4 star hotel. Well run. No complaints!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could clearly hear people talking and music playing in room next door, and they were not really that loud. Walls must be very thin. Very difficult to sleep. Don't stay in 609.

    Good breakfast and great location. Easy access to Metro and downtown sites.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got the room the window was opened and in the room was 18 celsius. The heating was broken and very very slow. The other day they cleaned the room and left the window open again.., Wifi is extremly slow....

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of drug dealers in town.

    Nice hotel, nice city. You can visit a lot in 2-3 days. Take daily pass for all 'transports' in Lisboa. Rent a car to see Sintra, Cascais, Cabo de Roca etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat came on every time we popped the card into the slot for power and I couldn't turn it down. If your sensitive to noise the front of the hotel has a park frequented by some undesirables, a lot of traffic and the hospital is up the road so sirens going all the time you can hear it all even with the window sealed. It didn't bother us but might with others.

    Check in fast and efficient. We had an early flight. We got the airport bus which had a stop across from the hotel. We were able to check on and go to our room straight away. Lovely big room with a large window you could open facing out onto a large square. Comfy beds extra pillows in wardrobe. Lots of storage in wardrobe. Electronic safe. Tv channels not great. Bathroom plenty of towels. Toiletries supplied and dressing gowns. Mini fridge in room. Wine port and snacks in the room. Black out curtains are very good. Hotel Mundial is very central just a short walk to the main streets behind the hotel. Bank machines available right outside the door both sides. Lovely cafe across the road to the left fresh oj lovely coffee, beer, sandwiches, soup, pastries ,lovely girl there speaks English. Pricing cheap. The Hotel is 10 min walk to the Arch and the sea. 5 min walk to Metro on Rossirio Sq. Tram 12 leaves Rosario Sq goes up by the. Astor and less busy than tram 28. 10 min walk to train station Sinatra. 10 min walk to main shopping streets. Tram 28 starts its journey up on the right hand side of the Sq the hotel is on. Get your ticket in the metro or a daily ticket or buy onboard but it's more expensive. It's not a round trip so you'll have to pay to get back on the return trip @€10 in total. Breakfast was served from 7-10.30. Plenty to chose from lots of fresh sliced fruit. Plenty of juices. Hot breakfast scrambled eggs, bacon, small hot dog sausages,Beans,grilled tomatoes, mushrooms some days. Breakfast room clean and organised but gets very busy with queues very quickly. The bar was very expensive. Bottle opener provided in bathroom. Computers x2 for guests at reception FOC.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were slow around breakfast time and we took the stairs a number of times. The porter staff in the foyer were like security and not very friendly or helpful with luggage.

    The breakfast was good with great variety however I would have liked some options with the eggs other than scrambled. The rooms were spacious and the cleaning really good. The bar area is really classy with great staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mundial traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: