Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mundial This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Praça Martim Moniz 2, Santa Maria Maior, 1100-341 Lisbon, Portugal

#142 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4001 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    5.4
    Good location ONLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is in need of an update. wiring in the table lamps was shot. we had to jiggle the wires to get the lights to turn on. Hairdryer was from the 1960"s! This is a small convenience, but a good hairdryer is a great luxury for guests traveling from abroad. Faucet was installed improperly. Couldn't even get your hands under it. Very old fixtures and plumbing in bathroom. The bed was the hardest bed I have EVER slept in ANYWHERE!!!!!! Very very uncomfortable room. I would not stay here again

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    8.8
    Great location for being in city centre and great roof top bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy - especially rooms at the back near the air conditioning units!

    Great location and the roof top bar is brilliant - lovely view and so good for getting your bearings around the city. Would def recommend staying here

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    4.6
    Good holiday but very upset by paying for 4 star hotel and receiving 2 star bed and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooftop and lounge bar were not open to guests due to corporate function during my stay. Made official complaint but received no response from management. Not informed of function before or on arrival.

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    8.8
    The hotel location, the whole staff was excellent, the foyer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Entry to the hotel is open to anyone not only to hotel guests. This open door policy can cause (and has caused) access to people targeting guest wallets, bags and other belongings in side the hotel premises.

    The hotel location, the whole staff was excellent, the foyer / bar ambiance, the fabulous breakfast , good wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is very good and very convenient to get to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is an alley opposite the hotel, it is close to the train station, there are more strange people, and it will be a little worried when we go back to the hotel.

    The hotel is very good and very convenient to get to all places. They are nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Non

    Breakfast was very good and the location was great. wonderful staff. Clean and comfortable beds. Showers were great too. Love the roof top restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    8.8
    Everyting, Location, Breakfast, Restaurang, Roofbar
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There should be rooms with a shower instead of bath with a shower. Could be difficult to enter if you are older.

    Everyting, Location, Breakfast, Restaurang, Roofbar

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    10
    The most wonderful holiday in a long time because of hotel and staff where so nice Lisbon is great .
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel Mundial was fabulous loved every minute of our time there staff where so friendly and couldnt do enough for us it was our Anniversary and to make our stay special we got an upgrade to a suite on the top floor with a view of the whole city and a bottle of prosecco for two in our room .so gets 10 out of 10 from us the staff at reception at the breakfast and the barbecue and roof top bar where all so lovely made our stay so great would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone and would love to return here again great work guys .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    5.8
    Will never go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon arrival a very aggressive female staff warns you that you have to pay upfront. You take your credit card out and don’t manage to pay. You take another credit card it still doesn’t work. Apparently problems with the telephone line. Ten people are now queuing behind you. Humiliating ! Then your credit is apparently open BUT you wanna put the meal on your room, it’s refused you have to pay upfront... Been downstairs to complain... only Sorrys bla-bla-bla... Complain probably unfiled: not a word from the management. You’re just another number.... This hotel looks like a train station. Very disappointed

    The location in Lisboa

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    6.3
    It was a good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff had very poor customer service. When I raised a complaint no one took any notice until my partner raised the same thing. I was promised an apology but nothing was forthcoming. As a female I want to be supported by the hotel but this was not the case. I do not recommend this hotel.

    It was a good central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    8.8
    Location, Wi-Fi, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A 4-star property should have an iron/ironing board either at the room or available to borrow - chargeable ironing service is a neat extra, but should be just that - an extra

    Location, Wi-Fi, cleanliness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike except the long queues for breakfast. And they could do with more lifts. Waited ages for a lift in the morning. There was no problem in the evening

    Very central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.5
    The location is very good and the staff was very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No car park (was full due a event) and the magnetic card to access 2 of the 3 rooms booked didn't work properly - we had to go twice to the reception.

    The location is very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    10
    Perfect hotel near to touristic areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel is not responsible about the parking.

    Perfect hotel near to touristic areas. You can go walking around the old neighborhood and it has a penthouse with nice views. Staff are very kind. Our room was perfect! And breakfast is very complete.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location right in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to queue for breakfast which was a bit unusual but perhaps they were just really busy.

    This is a very central hotel and within a few minutes walk to many of the cities top attractions. The touristic number 28 tram stops just outside the hotel and the Santa Gusta elevator is 5 minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Lisbon best located Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was very hot when we visited so take water with you every where. Shops in Lisbon are closed on Sundays.

    Location is definitely the best. Very central and close to tram 28. Go early to avoid the lines.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Good choice in central Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On site Jardim restaurant was bad for dinner, we had a long travel day and didn't want to go searching for good, we should have, sub par and food was really bad. Be sure to turn away the cover bread basket it was stale from breakfast.

    Room comfortable, AC awesome!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    6.7
    Close to the main streets, cool bar on the roof
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personal is not rude, but they do not want you to feel comfortable. They answer strictly questions with no rouse me. The reception girl even couldn’t find time to inform me how I can get to the nearest metro station. Also cleaners forgot to change towels etc. Breakfast was bad: there was verity of products but everything was mixed, finished. There wasn’t de cafe coffee and I couldn’t find anyone to ask for help

    Close to the main streets, cool bar on the roof

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    9.2
    Lisbon makes a great city break - lots to see and great architecture. Shame about all the grafitti!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would have loved a balcony but actually didn't see any other hotels in Lisbon with balconies so perhaps not their thing.

    The hotel's location was excellent- overlooking the castle. We enjoyed a lovely hike up the steps to reach it! It's also right next to the tram stops and is a perfectly comfortable hotel for a city break.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    9.2
    Stayed at the Hotel Mundial for 4 nights with my sister and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only one minor complaint - at breakfast, there sometimes was a wait for replacement cutlery, milk etc but the breakfast itself was fabulous with a good range of options for all dietary requirements/preferences.

    Stayed at the Hotel Mundial for 4 nights with my sister and had a great time. This clean and modern hotel is in an excellent city centre location close to a lot of the main sights of Lisbon and has a fabulous rooftop bar with views over the city. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been better if room had coffee or tea making facilities and a small table with 2 chairs on the balcony would have been fantastic to sit out in a morning having a coffee or a glass of wine on an evening to enjoy the view.

    Good location. Great facilities. Very clean and comfortable. View from balcony was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    10
    Great location, comfortable room with super breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our second stay at Hotel Mundial, the location is great, comfortable room with super breakfasts. Best part is watching the trams outside while having breakfast. Will definitely visit again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    5.4
    I don't usually review anything, however, I was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't usually review anything, however, I was quite disappointed by my stay. I was especially disappointed by the behaviour of the staff. They were is professional but seemed annoyed by the guests and didn't really seem to authentically care about the our wellbeing. Great location, but in my opinion definitely not worth the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    6.3
    Location good and rooms spacious. Check in haphazard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check-in was over an hour late supposed to be 2pm and then we had to leave as had a tour, disappointing as no where to change and freshen up. Little feed back and no apology. We arrived at 11:30am to leave bags and so there was plenty of time to get rooms ready- especially as everyone checking out at 11am....

    Large rooms and good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    8.8
    Would happily stay here again on other trips.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    I stayed here a number of years ago and had good memories of my stay. This trip was a similar experience, unfortunately only one night this time. Great location in the city with excellent breakfast, comfortable room and the rooftop bar with sunsets is a must to visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    8.3
    Grear location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Underground parking is very small and way to get up/down is mega narrow. By some mistake we got a room with two seperate beds although requested one double bed.

    Location is great. Staff very nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.9
    Quite enjoyed our short stay at this location and would return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the location was easily accessible from the Lisbon Airport and then parking garage is right beside the main entrance which is convenient. The interior of the hotel was very welcoming and the staff were helpful and friendly. The Rooftop Terrace Bar/restaurant was Very Nice and the View is Amazing - Highly recommend a visit to same. Breakfast in the morning was included and had a fair amount of good choices for all appetites.. The restaurant and shopping is better towards the square as you make a left outside the hotel, and then further down towards the Chiado District. Overall, we enjoyed our one night stay at this location and would return. Trina & Alex - Ontario, Canada

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.3
    Close to the old city and many restaurants, the rooftop bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noisy and hectic restaurant for breakfast. we needed to share our table with another couple although there were several free tables in the restaurant. Furthermore the table was behind a pillar in a corner with absolutely no space. In general we got the impression not to be the target group as a young couple.

    Close to the old city and many restaurants, the rooftop bar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, Superb view
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet design is a bit like a dorm, but very clean and well functioned... also the pattern on the wall seems very old fashioned.. but it doesn’t really matter too much !

    Got a balcony in my room with great view of the castelo de S Jorge. The rooftop with great view of the city is also perfect for mingling with friends at night.. Staff is nice and always with a smile.. love that atmosphere.. Room is clean, facilities are well functioned. Breakfast is ok, but good enough to feed you.. :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    3.8
    Location was central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was terrible, we asked to move and wanted to pay for an upgrade but we were told that the property was booked. Air conditioning was barely working and the shower walls were dirty. The staff was very unfriendly and not helpful.

    Location was central

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Location location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really nothing

    Location location location. Beautiful, spacious rooms. Excellent breakfast The staff was so helpful, we only speak Afrikaans and English, but they made us feel at home. Rooftop bar, the best views of Lisboa

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.0
    This is well located for tram 28, walking, buses and trams...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It seems that some hotels have become efficient at self promotion on Booking, yet the experience doesn’t match because they are running over capacity and with little focus on customer experience. This hotel is obviously well established and busy, but check-in was frosty and inefficient with a queue and the room I was directed to wasn’t actually ready (well after check-in) meaning I had to wait rather than get out and about - they should (a) have enough staff to match capacity for it to be ready and (b) know it’s not ready and advise when it will be and offer to hold bags. I also seem to have difficulty explaining that my partner was arriving from the UK a bit later. I don’t know why this would be so difficult? I suspect the training might be deficient. (Profit rather than customer focus). The room is actually very noisy with both traffic & street noise from a busy square and internal noise from lifts and people. This is contrary to the description and undermines rest. In the morning, there was a queue to get into breakfast as there were not enough tables. We chose to share a table. Great if you are down with it. But then there were shortages of glasses and milk etc repeatedly with a lack of attention. You can hear other customers dissatisfaction so it shouldn’t be hard for staff to notice. (Again inadequate staffing or customer focus). Aside from not having the custard tarts which Lisbon is famous for and which feature in the hotels pictures, and despite a a slightly chaotic experience, food was good quality. The roof top isn’t unique, busy or worth the loss of customer service (but again makes great photo marketing). In summary - there are better customer experiences to be had (in clear de proximity) particularly if you fancy a decent sleep.

    This is well located for tram 28, walking, buses and trams all over old town, Belém and trains to Sintra. But it is not unique in this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    8.8
    Good quality hotel in Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sometimes had to wait a while for the limited sized lifts at busy times.

    Good central location with various transport links (trams, buses and train station) all within reasonable walking distance, although a 15-20 min walk to the waterfront. Spacious room, and mine had a great view over the Square. Large breakfast room with lots of choice including healthy options. Nice roof top terrace/bar, although a bit windy at times.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    10
    Breakfast spread was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I asked for double bed and ended up with 2 single beds.

    Breakfast spread was good. Great layout in bedroom with plenty of room and good safe. Great location. Would definitely recommend. View from rooftop bar is incredible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    8.8
    A nice stopover in lovely Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night this time and the hotel met our expectations in all areas - no complaints at all

    The location close to Rossio station was exactly why we booked this hotel as we were en route to Sintra. The location was also good for a couple of short trips into various areas of Lisbon which we wanted to revisit. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of foods available and the waiting staff were very efficient. Checkout was well managed as we were able to leave our bags at the hotel while we went out and about.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good, but if you have breakfast after 9 am, it was very busy.

    It is a very popular hotel and very well located down town. Walking distance to the river and main attractions.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    5.4
    Loud building works begin every day by 8.30am.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dribble of shower ran hot & cold. No tea or coffee making facilities. Towel rail didn’t work. Breakfast poor undustriallly made portions. On edge of red light district. Aggressive homeless people

    Beer tasted good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.7
    Stay here for location nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ate in the 8th-floor restaurant the food was possibly the worst meal in a hotel anywhere in the world, chose to sit together to see view did not suit surly waiter, managed a couple of digs in the ribs and pushed about he had hissy fit when asked for a pen to sign the bill. My Wife's Monkfish with bacon was not filleted properly sinue left on steamed no seasoning or sauce tiny sliver of bacon unable to cut. My Dover Sole filleted griddled salted to death, both served with an unseasoned slab of boiled potato and a little finger sized carrot,80euro for a piece of bicycle tyre and 4 slices of salty cardboard. Recommend you use Amaretto in tiramisu not lashings of almond essence. Unsurprising out next night but went to bar for coffee and port at 7.30 pm .Entertained buy cleaner hoovering round us , waitress brought port to us then tried to give coffee to someone else but spilt it down them, gave us clean saucers and half cups of coffee . When asking for bill they tried to charge other orders to our bill. Don't start me on breakfast, choice of food without plates, plates without food, juice no glasses hot food colder than cold food,hunt the spoon etc The hotel has 2 lifts so a good wait is expected, on the 3rd floor the noise and vibration from the Metro was only interrupted by the toilet sounds coming through the paper thin walls , the smell of paint from nearby rooms being refurbished and many other things. Did I complain? no, 50 years in catering told me it would fall on deaf ears . I have employed many Portugues staff and know this is not representative.

    Location was just right, the main reason why the hotel was busy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.1
    Good location right in the middle of the old town in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast had poor quality products and the fact that roof top bar wasn't open. Also bed was slightly hard.

    Good location right in the middle of the old town in Lisbon. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception area quite small and therefore busy. However was very efficient Sadly rooftop bar and restaurant were closed for renovations.

    Lovely location central to tourist places. We had a really nice room overlooking the square. Also a bottle of bubbly - a lovely gesture from the management to help us celebrate our wedding anniversary. Would definitely book again when we return to Lisbon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    We all enjoyed our stay and will come back to this hotel when next in Lisbon. We would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For us,the hotel had everything we needed.

    This hotel is in a great location. The staff were very helpful and it was a beautifully kept hotel. The breakfast was very good. We had an older person with us and every effort was made to ensure his comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    Beware of construction!!! It so loud!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Construction starts at 8am...banging, jackhammering...no way to sleep with al that noise.air conditioning sometimes works...when it’s one you freeze..when it turns off you get hot.

    Breakfast buffet was great. Location is perfect. Beds are comfortable. Great decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.0
    Perfect stay. We loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooftop bar was closed under construction and after being given a room on the floor below there was a lot of noise but they moved us to another floor and it was perfect.

    This hotel was spotless. Ideal location and I would definitely return to stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    10
    It was a great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I am a coeliac. It was great to see all the gluten free breakfast on a separate table. Unfortunately people were leaning across it to see what was on the table that had regular breakfasts on their plates. People with coeliac disease have to be very careful of cross contamination

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    9.6
    The location and the view from the hotel was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooftop bar was closed for maintanence to make it even better. In 4 minutes walk you have topo rooftop bar where you can also enjoy drinks and a beautiful view

    The location and the view from the hotel was amazing. The hotelroom was big, clean, the beds where very comfortable and the staff was super friendly. It’s really safe. Unfortunatly the roof bar was closed for maintanance, its actually the best rooftop bar in town (been there before) The hotel is in middle of the centrum,close to the shopping district, 10 minutes walk to bairo alto and also close to the train station and the bus and tram stops next to the hotel. Unfortunatly the hotel was fully booked so we could only stay one night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    5.4
    Great location, very expensive, staff not particularly interested - felt like it was not well manage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Poor check in, room wasnt ready when I went to room having been checked in, row then ensued between cleaning staff and reception. First room very very noisy, overlooked street and could not sleep. Reception agreed to change room (a good response) and agreed to move my bags. I had to ask 3 times where they were, and when I went to reception to find them, my request as to why bags hadnt been sent up was met with a shrug of the shoulders. Breakfast seating very poor, too many tables, meant many tables were unusable as no room for people to get past other tables when people were seated. I had to insist on differnt tables, many others in similar positions.

    Great air conditioning, very handy for city. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast and the room were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rootfop is not available right now, one of the reason I actually booked the hotel was for the view and rooftop.

    The breakfast and the room were fantastic!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2018

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast - 'hot' dishes cold; bread not good or fresh - much better at baker across road Majority of staff not naturally helpful

    Location convenient Facilities more than adequate

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    10
    Excellent position, nice staff, abundant and varied...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee should be improved. Not up to the Portuguese standards.

    Excellent position, nice staff, abundant and varied breakfast (including a gluten free corner)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2018

    6.3
    Very good location - walking distance to the main areas of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Modern building but single glazing made the room a bit noisy - sounds coming in from the square in front of the hotel. But this is nothing I would consider a deal breaker.

    Very good location - walking distance to the main areas of interest, very close to two metro stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    8.8
    Very good hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was ok but not quite to my liking. More "Amarican style" thought it had a lot of fresh fruit!!!

    Very good location. Right in the historical center, in walking distance to main historical places, tram 28 and sightseeing bus, metro. Hotel has panoramic view over the city. Very clean. Rooms are spacious, though bathroom room is kind of small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    3.8
    Good location, everything else average. There are better hotels for this money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The terrace vith a view is not opened although hotel promotes it is, they tell you that it is not opened after you come to hotel. After I told hotel manager that they did't change on booking websites that the terrace is closed he said that it is not his problem. Rooms are very old, sound isolation is terrible so you feel like you sleep directly on the street. Breakfast is like in a english low budget hostel, terrible. The heating is not working. You can find much better hotels for this money.

    Location is nice, near the city centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff could be a bit better trained. Queue to get a table for breakfast/ shared table for breakfast.

    Excellent location. Hotel's facilities. Rooms are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    7.5
    Big hotel in the city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Queen size bed is actually two beds joined - it always causes the hole. There is not enough black tea for everyone during the breakfast. It is very noisy place - lots of street and wind sounds.

    Great location if you are about to do some sightseeing in the Lisbon center. Quite nice breakfast especially if you like sweets. We have got big balcony with the really exciting view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    10
    All around good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn’t anything

    Good Choice of food at breakfast, well managed considering the number of guests. Nice big room, big comfy bed, good sized bathroom with more than adequate shower - everywhere spotless. Couldn’t ask for more really. Hotel right near metro and tram stops airport bus stops just up the road a little way. Sightseeing bus stops right outside. Good restaurants within a ten minute stroll.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2018

    6.7
    Bed was comfortable and there were pillows with different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roof top bar was closed, and there was no info on this in the hotel description. Breakfast was pretty odd. It felt like London: eggs, bacon and sausage. No Portuguese pastries.

    Bed was comfortable and there were pillows with different sizes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Roof Top bar was closed but not informed on Bookings or at hotel until asked.

    Location, spacious room, room view as you can spot the Castle very close by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.3
    Breakfast had good variety
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very noisy as sound proofing on window was very poor and our room was looking out onto the square which had lot of traffic.

    Breakfast had good variety

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.2
    Great location with helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lacks local character but value for money, clean, safe and friendly. A bottle of champagne on my birthday was a nice touch!

    Excellent location and helpful staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooftop terrace was being refurbished and so we were unable to take advantage of the views. Early morning traffic was noisy.

    Excellent breakfast menu choice. Very comfortable bed - the best nights sleep ever away from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    5.8
    Central, large hotel with no character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The service was quite bad. There were never enough staff at the reception helping people. We saw quite a number of employees behind the counter busy doing something while customers were queuing and waiting, this happened every day during our stay. I requested a quiet room and got the room next to the lift facing busy road with constant sirens.... we were able to change but only after one night. The breakfast was quite bad quality, they were also overcrowded so people were queuing to get seated, very hectic atmosphere inside the breakfast room. We checked it out on the first morning and chose to skip it on all other days as it was a rather stressful way to start a day.

    Excellent location in the heart of the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    8.3
    Short and sweet
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As our stay was at the beginning of the tourist season, breakfast was extremely busy and crowded. Would have liked if some take-away cups and paper bags were provided in order to take pastries away and avoid the busy restaurant.

    Great location and extremely friendly staff. Rooftop restaurant had tasty vegetarian options for dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    6.7
    No more then a 3 star facitlity
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a full on tourist hotel. The rooms are small, the beds hard, the bathrooms whilst clean lacked what I expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast was a free for all, the food was below what I expect and its was crowded, the food in the same restaurant for dinner was on the other hand OK although the restaurant lacked any atmosphere. The roof top bar was closed for renovation and it was impossible to get a table for dinner on the 8th floor restaurant. The hotel is a full of bus loads of tourists who sweep though the place and literally take over. Its not a hotel I would recommend and or stay at again.

    The Hotels location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    5.0
    Fine for a night or two
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast wasn't great. Location was central but lots of beggars around. Fine for 2 days but wouldn't stay again.

    Location was walking distance for most things but that was it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a really good value hotel in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shame the roof top terrace was closed. The hot elements of the breakfast didn't stay hot.

    The rooms were kept nice and clean and the beds were comfortable. The cold items for breakfast were excellent. The bar area was excellent and at a very reasonable price too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sink was leaking. All sanitary facilities in the bathroom would benefit from some refurbushment/replacement. The mattress and pillows could be changed for more comfy ones.

    Excellent location, near to or walking distance from many tourist attractions. Good breakfast, with a nice variety.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2018

    6.7
    Loved Lisbon !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad check in, stood there and waited a couple of minutes while the staff were discussing something. No welcome or did you have a good journey or even enjoy your stay with us !! Very disappointed that the rooftop bar was closed for refurbishment and that we were not made aware of this when booking, particularly that’s why we chose the hotel in the first place! Our room very spacious which faced the lovely square but very noisy !!

    Great Location ! Rooftop bar looked great if it had been open 😪 Aero bus stops just across the road ! 4 euros each way, allow a little longer when going back to airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay . Would probably use the same hotel if we returned to Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The food that should be served hot was only warm - at breakfast and also the evening dinner. We would also have appreciated tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.

    Excellent location for visiting the main sights of the city. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Pleasant spacious room for 3 people. Good selection of food for breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couldn't get the hang of accessing the WIFI and therefore the Internet from my 'phone.

    I have been coming to The Mundial on and off for the last 30 years. Its location and the wonderful staff make ones stay so personal. I have very fond memories of the place. I will return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    8.3
    Great location for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was noisy and the city seems to wake around 03:00 every morning.

    Excellent location, underground car park with lifts to hotel, very extensive and good breakfast, roof top bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in great central location with excellent breakfast experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only comment would be that reception staff seemed a little harried on both check in and check out.

    Our second visit and it did not disappoint - great central location, wonderful breakfast (included), very comfortable accommodation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    9.6
    I loved this hotel it was all you would need for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There’s very little that leaves this lovely hotel down! the guys at the door oh help! these guys are the most miserable i’ve ever came across what is wrong with them they can’t even smile let alone greet you, I tried but alas not even a smile, good luck if you need their help 😝

    This hotel is the perfect place to stay in Lisbon, the view from our room was fabulous, room good and spacious with plenty of towels and pillows, breakfast was great room was busy but staff had it well under control and plenty of choices. Receiption area was always busy and again staff were helpful and friendly. We ate in the 8th floor restaurant great views and good menu a bit pricey but good for a treat. had a pricey drink in the rooftop bar was special and worth it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location especially for a single woman traveller.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Probably the most noisy hotel room I've ever been in. Forget about sleeping in after 6:30 am. I would ask for a quiet room next time.

    Comfortable bed. Bathroom up to date and very clean. Front Desk Staff welcoming and friendly. Great location. Breakfast was amazing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    7.9
    Overall a good hotel and excellent location. If above issues addressed it would be a superb hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower head/spray was far too high up the wall, could hardly reach it. The toilet was too close to the wash basin and would be difficult if you were a large person. Staff could have smiled more and for a hotel of that size it should have had a conceirge for assistance.

    Size of the bedroom was good and very comfy beds, lighting good. Very clean and maid service very efficient. Excellent breakfast choice. Super roof terrace and view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    6.7
    Value for money stay but food and accommodation disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room layout for twin room was cramped - could not fully open wardrobe doors Breakfast buffet was not up to 4* standards

    Location was good, near the main shopping area. Nice bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mundial Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: