Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Stay Hotel Évora Centro 3 stars

Travessa da Milheira 19, 7000-545 Évora, Portugal

#21 of 29 hotels in Évora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2281 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    the breakfast was very tasty, especially the orange juice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the single room was extremely small, there was no air coming from outside because there was a higher building facing the windows so the air could not come in; it was not possible to sleep with the AC on because it was too noisy and it was blowing directly on the bed; luckily they put me in another room, which faced the opposite direction, however next time I would choose another hotel located in a not so cramped area.

    the breakfast was very tasty, especially the orange juice and the croissants!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    5.0
    BAD HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very good but the hotel is very bad. There are two different locations . My wife and me stay on the the second one. In the room there are no lights, the safe do not operate, the air conditioning does not refrigerate. We have to go up two staris to get to the room. I DO NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE. PLEASE, MADE THIS STATEMENT PUBLIC.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.7
    The location was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not accessible by car, there were street parking near the hotel but we had to lurk out luggauges to get to the hotel. The staff was not that helpful. Checking in took a very long time. Our room had a raise floor that we had to take a few steps to get into. It was quite dangerous, one of us slip and hurt herself.

    The location was decent. The breakfast was simple but good enough.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist, Marta, was so pleasant and went above and beyond helping our friends with a suitcase that was accidentally left behind. After work she delivered it to the bus station for shipment. Thank you so much Marta!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the evening when we wanted to shower was ok in the morning Wifi signal was very bad in room unable to connect Parking can be difficult only 9 allocated spaces so 1st come basis

    Fresh orange at breakfast location of hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very (very!) low water pressure in the shower. Got told it was beachside of construction outside the hotel. Hotel looks nice but the room itself needs remodeling.

    Good location Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    If you don't have a car or a kid and do not like coffee in your room, it is a nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked for 3 people and got only a double room., I was informed about that only on arrivel. No coffee on the room only tea bags.

    Location was good but car park very hard to find. Staff was very friendly but they are not responsible for the structure.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.2
    Hostel not a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the foto of a room that you see when you book isn’t correct. We got a tiny old room 3 meters for 3 meters, dirty, with dust everywhere and noisy air conditioner. We went to reception to ask a change of the room, but the receptionist told us that it’s impossible. The only reason that we stayed was an early get up to take a flight.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Good stay, excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one negative comment is that there was no elevator; we were at the first floor and it was not necessary, but we would have appreciated especially when arriving and leaving with the luggages.

    We have stayed in this hotel only 1 night just for commuting reasons because we visited Algarve but flying back from Lisbon, so staying there was a good choice as it was in the middle of the two. The room was ok and the hotel near the city centre. We really appreciated the breakfast since it was complete with fresh products and provided early in the morning; this was good for us because we needed to leave at 8 in the morning and we were able to have it without asking to get it before the scheduled time. The staff was really kind and gave us also suggestions for parking in the area. Inside there is a restaurant opened till 10 pm but we didn’t try it. We suggest it, also because it was the less expensive hotel we found in Portugal!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.1
    Close to the main centre & clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great that the kettle was in the room to make tea in the morning but I had to move it to the floor to get it to reach the power plug. Take a cab to the hotel if you come in on the bus as I recall it was hard dragging my suitcase wheels along the cobblestone 20 minute walk to hotel, which was not that easy to find even though it's just off the main road.

    Close to the main centre & clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    stay okay is just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -vacuum cleaning while people were trying to enjoy their breakfast. - having to press oranges at breakfast: very sticky business. Another machine please. - room felt like basement: cool temperature but very depressing. Only suitable for one night.

    service of staff, good breakfast, good airconditioning and very good shower.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult and hard to get to . I parked around 200 m away outside old city walls. Ok for me but inconvenient if I had loads of luggage and shopping. Also room didn't have any view. Glazed over window.

    Very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.5
    Loved the location and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not ready when we arrived and we went out and returned late. By the time we got in we discovered that one of the rooms had not been cleaned. It must have been started as there was a mop left in the bathroom. One of the towels had been used and the bed not changed. When we called down the man said what do you want me to do-I cannot change your room and just brought towels up. We were offered no concession for this.

    Loved the location and price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of mould. The room beside mine was flood the day before and the stench of mouldy water was terrible. I should have been moved.

    Location was good!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and 24 hour service. Rooms average but great for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although clean i suffered terrible allergies from my night in the room, whether it was the carpets, curtains or bedding and we were unable to open window to let fresh air in.

    24 hour reception, really friendly and helpful staff, nice communal areas, great location in evora and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find. Not enough daylight in our room.

    Brilliant staff. They were extremely helpful in sorting out a problem we had with our return flight booking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel i recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit hard to find its in a small laneway dont drive in just park out of laneway and go in with your luggage only 2 minutes away

    Close to center staff was nice and helpfull when we got there staff showed us where to park, was hard to find but we got there. Our room was too small but when i told staff room was too small she happily tranferred to a bigger room and we were very happy it made our stay pleasant. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect accommodation in an ancient city full of interesting history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were efficient and friendly. The room and bathroom were large and spotlessly clean. The Stay Hotel was conveniently located for sights, restaurants and the bus terminus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.8
    Good location but no charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small, with carpet floors and not very well cleaned. The payed parking spot is on the street.

    Good location. The staff was helpful. The hotel has rooms on the ground floor with good accessibility and lift to the other floors.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Centrally located just hidden behind some shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor was a bit dirty with a little bit of bad smell.

    Centrally located just hidden behind some shops. Need help finding a nice restaurant, looking for free parking. The staff were absolutely very friendly and gave us their own tip as locals

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.8
    Espresso machine at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very disappointing and not corresponding to the pictures. Extremely small, hot (we were in the top floor of the secondary building), extremely unconfortable bed and pillow, no elevator, lack of professionalism (3 out of 4 of the hotel staff members we interacted with). Hotel virtually impossible to reach by car, unless you are a local and are familiar with the tiny narrow streets around the structure. In any case there is no parking space, so better to park outside the walls and reach the structure on foot or by taxi. We stayed one out of two days and left before the end of our reservation because it was not possible to change the room and get a better pillow.

    Espresso machine at breakfast. Best coffee at breakfast in my whole stay in Portugal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came, the lady said that our room is in another building. Well, okay,not a big problem. But the room was awful! The view was very bad - we were looking at a wall that was so dirty. The carpet wasn't cleat at all. The bathroom was dirty, too. The toilet was disgusting. And the worst thing - the smell in the room was really bad, like we were in a sewer. We asked for another room or for money back. We were waiting for one hour and then they gave us money back.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.5
    Great potential, a few short-comings, but an overall good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old carpeting needs to be replaced (stained in halls), safe did not work and staff was unable to fix it, the furniture in the room was showing it’s age and too big, the lamp shades were stained. Two people couldn’t pass each other in the room.

    Central yet quiet location a short walking distance to major sites and good restaurants, a friendly and very accommodating staff, big, comfortable beds. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    A gem of a hotel tucked into the heart of a wonderful world heritage city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It was perfect for us.

    Staff was efficient and friendly. Location was superb--close to everything in old city. Breakfast was a bit pricey, but good value. A well-maintained, modern facility tucked into a heritage setting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are very small but it did not matter to us. It was clean, everything worked and it was good value. We drove to the door to drop off our luggage but we had a small car; don't try it in a large car or van. There are many one way and very narrow streets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location; very central, yet in a quiet alley, perfect for a good night's sleep.The bathrooms are bigger than average and the shower is very good. The staff is nice and helpful. And so much cleaner than 3 stars hotels in Manhattan.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Portugal Trip, Stay 2/6
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark and tiny room, not even a headlight installed. The only light came from a tiny window and 2 worn down night lamps. Overall the room with its furniture was very worn down and seem to be too old. The entry area with the reception and breakfast room was on contrary very new...

    It was clean. Quite good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely book it again and recommend it, just order a breakfast on a different place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next time, will order the hotel again but without breakfast because its not the best. Simple coffee from a can, fruits are not prepared and not in a good quality. Only one simply kind of ham and cheese as cold cut. No muesli.

    The hotel is in perfect location. Its much comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    We would come again, my wife points out that she is my wife not my partner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in bedroom, no convient socket at dressing table. To boil water for tea making you have to balance the kettle on the chair to plug it to the only available socket on the back wall below the dressing table. Could be dangerous if you are not very careful.

    The staff, friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warning that driving there, within the center is a nightmare and really they have only 5 parking spaces so should be warned to park outside the walls which wasn’t far.

    The beds were very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Everything was good, with exception of heating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little small for a double. The air conditioner for heat would not run all night. It shut down after about an hour and had to be restarted. Not what you want at 3 in the morning when it was cold outside. Mentioned at the desk but nothing changed.

    Everything was good, with exception of heating. . The location was near the tourist sites' The hotel was quiet at night.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Had a very good start in “Quinta do Rocim” in Cuba!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not a “don’t like” but a could be better: breakfast included in the rate.

    Well since the hotel was refurbished not a long time ago everything seems new and for that comfortable. The variety of the breakfast and presentation of it was amazing and clean. The lobby area is comfortable and friendly specially if you are with friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.6
    Evora...a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second stay here. First time was a little more upscale. New owners made the hotel a little more user friendly. Staff were helpful and friendly. Easy walk to main square. Room was a little small, but enough room and comfortable for two.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    the service was really slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is only one computer by the front desk. I waited for 30mins to get checked in.

    walking distance to everywhere in the town, pretty basic and just enough of what you need. it was a little cold when entering the room, but AC worked well. very quiet at night, I had a wonderful rest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Very Narrow alley to drive car to door, upon arriving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Narrow alley to drive car to door, upon arriving. No parking here. Had to leave enclosed town area and come back around to main road parking spot. Upon leaving, having to carry suitcase because couldn't slide on alley, large, uneven rock stone surface to take to Main road parking spot. Also, missed sign - was too low on sidewalk - not well visible to turn right into alley to hotel. The old previous Santa Clara name was well visible.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.7
    Work in progress
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is on the street behind the hotel and as there is no way of the staff keeping an eye on this and anyone parks in these spaces. Had to pay for 24 hour at a local car park as I had to leave it overnight. Breakfast was poor and apart from little choice the hot milk was warm. Not a pleasant start to the day.

    The room was very comfortable and clean. It was also very quiet. Great restaurant nearby called Migas!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Good value hotel in quiet street
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price nothing to dislike

    We had a twin room with balcony (no view)!which was a good size.? Beds comfortable and sheets good quality. Located on quiet street. Has a lift and you can get breakfast for €7

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room a bit noisy but it is because we were just over the reception and facing the street. I am sure they have quieter room so ask when you book. No possibility to park your car with them, they redirect you to the carpark of a church 300m away (which is free). We left the car there for 36h without any problem.

    Nice place to stay. It looks like a chain. Weird bathroom installation but all was working fine. Nice room overall. Right in the city center, everything is within walkable distance! Really good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signs for directions to the hotel had not been updated so it was very very confusing when driving in this area of an old medieval narrow street area. If the directions and signs were more clear it would have saved an hour or 2 of stress. The room was well worn but clean.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Could teach 'Premier Inns' a thing or too - great Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed everything here

    This is a 'Stay' Hotel - part of a Portuguese chain. Our room was bright, airy and clean and with good bathroom facilities and a really good value breakfast. The hotel was a nice place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Hotel difficult to drive to;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel difficult to drive to; roads narrow and confusing. Limited, reserved pay parking one block away. We had to park 500m away, outside city wall, on busy public street and carry out bags to hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    A great place to stay while visiting Evora!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Learned not to drive in the old town. Park on the main streets and walk in. The lanes are too narrow and not made for cars. Maybe the hotel should have a dedicated loading//unloading zone in front of the church. We were lucky we got a spot in front of the church, but if we didn't, we would have been very frustrated. Walking with all our luggage would have been terrible.

    Quiet room --very clean. Good breakfast and good wifi. Close to main area of town, only a couple of blocks. Enjoyed our visit to Evora very much!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money, hard to find !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find as it is located on a small back alley ... and they changed recently the name of the hotel from "Stay Santa Clara" (I think) to the current "Stay Hotel Evora Centro" with some of the directions in the streets still using this old name. Strange parking option with some "reserved parking spaces" in the main street ... only available if no one parked there by mistake as it is not well marked !!!

    Good value for money, well located, clean, calm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location and breakfast; deficient amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had one electric outlet for tv, coffee maker and desk lamp. Hot water took a while to come in our wing of building. Breakfast self serve Included making own orange juice and expresso; knives did't slice well.

    Clean and well located, good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    If you need a good value hotel right in the centre of Evora this is the one for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast had no hot food, ( a few boiled eggs or sausages would be welcome),therefore did not consider it good value. The hot water for the tea was lukewarm and had to be heated up in the microwave, this happened every day, I think you need to upgrade your warming facilities. The lead for the kettle in room was not long enough to reach the plug had to move kettle onto the floor to make a cup of tea.

    Very clean and comfortable rooms. Ideal location right in centre of Evora. Very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel and great location. Good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom space is a little weird, but fully functional.

    The staff was delightful. They were very pleasant and happy to help. The room was very comfortable, especially the beds! The location was also great. Close to everything but not a lot of street noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    5.8
    Clean small room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was impossible to access the hotel by car, very narrow streets. The staff was unable to explain the way. We had to park 300 m away. It took us an hour to find the hotel

    Clean small room. Very simple facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    6.7
    The place was clean and the bed confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was clean and the bed confortable. The only problem is the mini size of the room. But for a short stay it's ok. the staff was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.8
    clean room in the centre of evora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking the car is not easy and you are not sure to get a parking space of the hotel on the street. the hotel was being refurbished, so a part of the hall and the breakfast area were empty. at breakfast it looked rather like a treasure hunt, where to find a plate, a glass or how to get some coffee.

    clean room in the centre of evora

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Nice place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The construction work in the hotel finished the day we arrived so it was very quiet. The room was a little small but opened to a central courtyard so we could sleep with the window open. It's an easy walk to the centre from here. The staff were really helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Little gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location, close to square and all the sites. Newly renovated hotel was lovely inside. There was street parking places reserved for the hotel near the property. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Good location close to the main square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation noise nearby echoes around the tight lanes on which the hotel is situated.

    Good location close to the main square. The rooms have just been renovated so are sparkling clean and well decorated. The staff were very attentive to our needs. The wifi was speedy. This is a very classy hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to access plugs and no washcloths. Some noise due to remodeling.

    Great location, yummy breakfast, and very friendly staff. Loved the AC, too!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.4
    UNESCO World Heritage Site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    BUT doing a major renovation which made it very unpleasant! Elavator didn't work during the day! Reception at another building down the street! Breakfast down the street in 2nd building too.

    Nice breakfast could walk to everything including bus station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    I would stay here again. Evora is a special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation noise. Noisy room due to renovation. I understand this is necessary and the desk clerk did advise that this noise would be present. This is a very small issue.

    Great towels in the bathroom, nice TV channel selections and a wonderful breakfast! Loved the central location also.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Good facility, good location, excellent bargain price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower valve did not shut off automatically as designed, resulting in previous room occupant manually shutting off hot water supply valve - until staff checked, we had no hot water.

    Good near central location, easy to walk to, well maintained facility.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    I liked the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the location of the hotel. It was close to the centre of the old town and yet it was quiet. The room was small but comfortable, clean and the bed was very comfortable. I didn't like that there was construction during the day but it was contained. I was generally pleased with the room and facilities. I would recommthia hotel to friends. It was good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    3.3
    very disappointing handling of guests experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this place was one of my worst experiences as a guest: 1. Arrival/Parking - nobody told us that the streets leading to the hotel are super narrow and impossible (!) to arrive at some point with a van. writing a pre-arrival notice with the details regarding on which spot the parking for the guest is, would not cost money for the hosts. Instead- we had to spent 1.5 hours on trial and error before we have arrived to a designated spot in a crowded st. that apparently was for a hotel guests. (and also there- only if at the moment if was free). 2. arrival to the hotel itself - after finishing almost 2hours of parking hustle, we had to carry our own suitcases (including a 70 years old lady in our family) from the parking spot to the hotel - nobody came to help/ no designated staff or anything - although the manager himself was there! never seen such thing. we had to walk about 500 meters with our suitcases on a road that was built from bricks - suitcase wills were completely damaged by that. 3. hotel is under construction - nobody bothered to update us that the whole first flor is under ongoing construction. and I'm not even mentioning here the poor facilities and size of the rooms. "Booking" - I would like to believe you can do better than that. I was super disappointed from this unprofessional, exhausting experience, and would have liked to believe your standards are higher than that for your guests. made me think twice before I'll order via your site next time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Clean, professional hotel operation with good staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and obliging. We asked to be shifted to a quieter room to avoid noise created by nearby renovations and they arranged this without fuss, bother or additional expense. The breakfasts were great and we were impressed with their orange "juicer".

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Make sure you inquire about construction noise before you commit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The construction noise was our only complaint

    Staff was very good... But did not warn us that costruction noise was constant from 10 am to 7 pm... Making it impossible to relax...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    No frills, but no surprises (good or bad)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast was a real do-it-yourself affair. Squeeze your own orange juice, cut your own fruit, etc.

    You can't find a better location in Evora. It's walking distance to literally everything. This is a good, clean three-star property. If you want basic and convenient, and good value, you won't go wrong here. Don't necessary trust your GPS once you get really close to the hotel, or you may find your car nearly wedged into a small lane, like we did!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    10
    Very nice comfortable room, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were renovating and until 7:00 p.m. It was extremely noisy beneath our room. I'm sure this won't last long but didn't help us.

    The location and the very nice modern room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €7 per person breakfast OK. Have your breakfast here for the convenience not the quality.

    Our room looked upon space in middle of building so was quiet. AC was great. Staff was very helpful making some calls for me since I don't speak Portuguese. Great location- walking distance to bus station and to the sites in town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.3
    Definitely not of the standard of a 3 star hotel, even if the price was not high
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given had a broken window. The young man alone on the desk was helpful in changing it but this should not happen. The shower curtain was dirty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.9
    Good central location in a quiet street with all attractions...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A slight smell of drains in the bathroom. Driving in the centre of Évora is a nightmare. I would recommend parking outside the walls (near the cemetery), from where it's just a few minutes' walk to the hotel.

    Good central location in a quiet street with all attractions within easy walking distance. Friendly staff. Attractively decorated, comfortable room. Good breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    5.4
    There are just 9 free parking places for the whole hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are just 9 free parking places for the whole hotel. The room was semi-clean and not modern. The furniture and the bed were old and we had to wait 20 minutes for check-in. Location was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    9.2
    A Good Choice in Evora!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok for me, but if you are driving you need to check the best way to arrive as is not on a main street.

    I enjoyed my stay at Hotel Santa Clara Evora. The Reception staff were excellent and the room was very comfortable. The hotel provides good, clean accommodation and is located on a side street so is also very quiet. Breakfast was buffet style and offered a good assortment including freshly squeezed orange juice. The room rate was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    MARVELOUS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like. The only problem for us was are travel time from canada was too long znd we had never driven in portugal.

    Your staff was absolutely amazing,especially Pedro on the afternoon shift and Maryanna at breakfast. Overall stay fabulous qnd would come back again if in the area. Have told everyone we meet to visit your hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Very clean and economical hotel in the heart of Evora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room rather small. Very difficult to find hotel (should include detailed map when making reservations).

    Very economical room, clean and excellent help from the front desk. She came out on the street to help us find the hotel and parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    7.9
    Historic walks and Great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We requested parking when making the booking, and this was confirmed, they had parking but it was not at the premises so paid parking was 5 mins walk or free parking was 10-15 min walk at this made it difficult to find the place and unload luggage at the end of a big drive

    Once settled in Hotel, location was excellent staff very helpful, in the old city walls so once there everything is in walking distance

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    7.9
    A comfortable stay at Hotel Santa Clara
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was great; easy to walk to everything, 1 minute from Girald square. Our room (118) was quiet, windows faced a side street. Staff was friendly and helpful. There's a bar to hang out in.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice small hotel, friendly staff, good location to stay while visiting Evora for a short trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator in the other building where we were booked. there was urine smell from the ground floor toilet of the other building which hit as one entered the building. But the room was clean, so no complaints with the stay.

    Good staff, our hotel was in another building from the reception building, but nothing inconvenient. The room had a nice romantic feel to it with a view of a small garden square. Location is nice, it is located within the city walls of Evora. There is a church near by where we parked our car free of charge.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    I would definitely recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I can think of that could be improved is the fact that the coffee could have been a bit hotter at breakfast.

    The staff was very friendly, responsive, and professional. Great location! Very nice Breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Great business type hotel, nothing fancy but clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints, excellent value.

    Great business type hotel, nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Short walk to town center. Friendly and helpful multilingual staff. I didn't take advantage of the breakfast offer so I can't comment on that. I did, however, use the hotel parking which is very handy in a walled in historic old town..!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable and quiet hotel, in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The poor staff appeared to be a bit thin on the ground & one member of staff was getting a telling off by some clients, who had been waiting to be served, but he was in charge of the bar and reception all at the same time. The few available parking spaces had been taken up, so we had to park a short distance away outside the city wall, but no great problem.

    Have to say the bed and pillows were the best we have ever slept on in a hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: