Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Santa Maria 3 stars

Dr. Francisco Zagalo 20-22, 2460 - 041 Alcobaça, Portugal

#6 of 7 hotels in Alcobaça

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 826 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the beds a little uncomfortable but nothing which prevented us from getting a good night's sleep.

    We had a room the windows of which opened on to the Monastery and its promenade. Spectacular view. The bathroom was spacious and clean. The free breakfast was exceptional. The town was exactly what we were hoping to find in Portugal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The hotel has a very large gated car park which is free. There is also underground parking for a charge. The position of the hotel is amazing right opposite the monastery which you can see from the window when eating breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No kettle, tea or coffee bags in the room. Breakfast was good, though it could have a few details improved. Bathroom was a bit small.

    Reception staff, variety in breakfast, location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed was too small for us. If you are big I suggest you to check with them in advance.

    Good place to stay in the heart of Alcobaça. Excellent breakfast. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Refrigerator was not working and bathroom tube looked old.

    Car parking is free outside the hotel, but there is also a gated underground parking lot (5 Eur/night). Hotel is cosy, not big, staff is friendly. Nice view to the Alcobaca monastery. Breakfast was basic (omlet, bacon, bread, fruits, corn), but sufficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is great, as the hotel faces the main square and monastery. Plenty of restaurants nearby and just 10 min walk to the city bus terminal. The breakfast wasn't fancy, but it was fresh. No issues with noise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the hotels fault, but the breakfast room was overwhelmed by pilgrims going to Fatima, which made breakfast awkward and uncomfortable.

    The view from our window was over the square to the monastery. But quiet. Friendly receptionist checked us in.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A coffee or tea facility accessible by the customers for out of restaurant hours.

    The central location of the premises. The room was adequate for my situation.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    poor heating system in the structure - we heated our rooms, but the aisles and ground floor were freezing...

    The position is lovely, the room was nice and big and quiet, the people were helpful, and we could park right in front of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK . No problem with parking.

    Good location of the hotel which is located near by the Monastery of Santa Maria d'Alcobaça, north of Lisbon, which was founded in the 12th century by King Alfonso I.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The website for booking needs to be more clear. Evora is located in a couple of different places in Portugal and for travellers new to the country we ended up a couple hundred miles away from where we expected to be. When I tried to explain what happened management at the hotel would not budge, we would have lost our money. After begging they changed the date for me as it was impossible to get there for the original dates, but this did mess with our plans and were unable to visit a couple places because we had to travel to (wrong Evora) or we would have lost our money.. Have a little compassion for visitors to your country, we loved it there but this incident was unfortunate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You will be asked to pay the whole stay as soon as you check in. Make sure you book a room with a view on the square and the monastery. The rooms with a view on the back are really poor. Some rooms need renewing and some mattresses are really worn-out.

    Excellent location, on the main square in front of the Mosteiro

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bed and mattress and musty smell in room.

    Location was excellent and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely a hotel with a view. Our room looked directly onto the monastery. A good breakfast was provided.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location right next to the convent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Group
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are not ready when we arrived at 2 pm.

    Very near to the church. Nice staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard matress. Rooms need update.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are to soft

    Location, parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed extra comfy. Breakfast very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite small and old.

    Location is perfect, just across the monastery. Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Carpets on the floor.

    Quite location to visit the area, small town with good restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c not working and it was a bit basic overall

    Excellent location, vert nice staff, clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English news channels enjoying holiday in Portugal

    Close to restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    Location--right across from the monastery.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just few steps from cathedral that is main attraction here, standard hotel accomodation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was acceptable. :-)

    Ideal location in the middle of town with a comfy bed and good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed could be more comfortable

    Parking and breakfast included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smile of staff

    The price

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great view to the monister.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Goog

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard

    Friendly staff..great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was OK, a breakfast was very rich.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Situation en centre ville.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room had strong old stale smell, we had to keep windows open in order to be able to stay in the room. Furniture, equipment, bed covers, curtains were at least 20-25 years old, durty, and smelly (have some photos). Mattresses old and uncomfortable. TV was antique, the few channels that it had berely worked. TV & AC remotes had to be requested from receptionist downstears. Room had strong old stail smell, we had to keep windows open in order to be able to stay in the room. Furniture, equipment, bed covers, curtance were at least 20-25 years old, durty, and smelly (have some photos). Matresses old and uncomfortable. TV was antique, the few channels that it had berely worked. TV & AC remotes had to be requested from receptionist downstairs. "Breakfast included"...think again. Breakfast room had no tables available, if table became available nobody cleaned it and people were fighting for it. There was long line waiting to get food from practically empty platers. We finaly left and had breakfast at the cafe by the monastery. When during check out I mentioned that we should be reimburse for breafast gentelmen laughed and said that they had breakfast provided.

    Location close to monastery, view from room

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room is not cosy, but quite small and simple. Breakfast was not very good.

    The hotel is right next to the basilica and my room had a beautiful view on it. The price is reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The walls are very thin so all sounds are heard and your can't keep your privacy.

    The location of the hotel is really great - right opposite the Mosteiro Santa Maria de Alcobaca.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some said the beds were hard and pillows to thin/soft, but I thought all was ok.

    The monastery is very impressive. The restaurant we went to (Antonio Padeiro) was great. Everything easy walking distance from the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In our experience the hotel had many vacant rooms but they put us in a room to the back They made us pay for the stay on arrival, no idea why. A family entered to the breakfast room at the ending time and asked for eggs and staff was extremely angry and unpleasant with them. The room was old and it smell dusty, it was a gigantic room bud the bed and pillow weren't very comfortable. We had a fridge in the room but it was empty and off.

    The view of the breakfast room was beautiful. The breakfast was reasonable and had bacon and scramble eggs, so that was very pleasing for me :) I was counting with a better breakfast. The localization of the hotel is great! At the center of the town

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - you get the TV remote control on check in and need to bring it back on check out... same with AC control. Not very handy.

    - Breakfast was good - Big and spacious room with comfortable beds - Very helpful staff - Private parking for free outside, or inside the garage for 5 euros - 3 min walking from the Monastery

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated Hotel in need of renovation, staff looked so unhappy

    Only the location

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very old, small TV, in realty there is no TV

    Good location, reasonable price, good internet connection

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast can be better indeed

    Very friendly staff, great location, very nice place to stay, very good value for money

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Oldfashion room. Old matress.

    Very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast: great variety. Elevator. Good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the hospitality and the area of alcobaca.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    an indifferent concierge upon check-in. instead of informing of parking, he stressed the payment

    views

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location, very friendly, helpful staff, value for the money

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The road signals

    The Monastery

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel charged 18e per night to park!!

    Location was the best thing, the hotel was in the main square. The hotel had underground parking

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Santa Maria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: