Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Santana Hotel & SPA 4 stars

Monte Santana, 4480-188 Vila do Conde, Portugal

#17 of 19 hotels in Vila do Conde

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2030 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    3.8
    Lower your expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was awful. Absolutely nothing like the pictures on the site. The room floor was completely trash, old stains, the wall had holes in it, and the terrace have a massive hole on the floor. This is not even a joke, when we entered the room we were like : What the Hell is this ???? For 90 Euros per night? This has to be a joke. Everything! The pictures in this site do NOT correspond to what we found! The hotel is in a state of degradation. I've been to 4 star hotels, and this is not it. The rooms are just really bad, not well kept, the walls are stained, the bed top is stained from the humidity, the bathroom is also ruined by humidity, the varanda... dear lord, look at the pictures. This is it ..... for 90 euros per night, I've done much much much better.

    The staff were nice. The hotel was not.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed in our shabby room. Not a place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Our room needed refurbishment. Carpet stained and dirty, rucked up and torn by entrance so door had to be forced open over the torn area. Walls dirty and scuffed, chair with broken back, two light switches not working, air conditioning not working in bedroom area (two requests to maintenance - no result), light bulb blown, safe broken, bed comfortable but hollow with use, and bathroom needs deep clean to remove black mould and embedded dirt around the bath and basin. Our room could be noisy due to aircon not working. The window was open for fresh air that allowed noise in from aircraft, metro trains and cars on cobbled road with occasional blasting/explosions from up the valley.

    The staff were very pleasant, helpful and courteous. When built in 1976 this must have been a wonderful four star hotel. Refurbished in about 2000, it is now shabby and overdue for another upgrade. Represents value for money at the heavily discounted rate we had. With the benefit of hindsight we should have paid more and gone elsewhere. You get what you pay for. The Spa, pool, and dining rooms were well presented and had good views, with corridors and lift showing signs of wear. The evening buffet meal could be good depending on menu. It was easy to find a good restaurant or cafe within 15 mins walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    4.2
    Breakfast buffet was very good with range of food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and in need of renovation Carpet 😱 Spa bath non functional view 😱 In general very disappointing for a 4 star

    Breakfast buffet was very good with range of food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Overall great, I would stay again and recommend it to friends
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think they need to do a upgrade in rooms. A bit old fashion and carpet the old stains.

    Good variety at breakfast buffet. Clean room. Good location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    3.8
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was dirty, water in the bath/shower tub blocked, dirty windows, dirty carpet , mouldy smell in the room and an empty fridge in the suit non even with water.. 4 star hotel !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast did not meet my expectations, nor the staff did. Tables were untidy and dirty and they did not seem to be interested in doing their job correctly. No one asked us for the room number when we entered the breakfast dining room nor paid any type of attention to us. A similar thing happened while trying out the "spa": children were jumping in the pool, their parents were loud and the lady in charge of the Spa desk did not seem to care about it. You get to pay 5€ for a hair cap if you don't have one what ends up being ridiculous... Who needs a hair cup if you can jump into the pool when other people try to swim as fast as possible and you are there just trying to relax?

    I liked the friendliness of the staff and how quiet our room was. This is probably so, due to the fact that the hotel "in the middle of nowhere" is if you stay here because you wish to visit Porto. One of the beaches close to the hotel was also pretty clean and quiet. Perfect to chill and filled with locals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.0
    We expected more from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms seemed a lot bigger on the photos, the room we got had very low ceiling, marks all over the walls and ceiling. Th carpet on the floor was really old and not clean at all. The floor itself was quite wonky and had little bumps all over which made the carpet stick out a lot. I expected the spa to be bigger like on the photos.

    Staff was friendly, nice view to the river and a lot of free parking possibilities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.9
    Not what you think you’re getting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a start it took us forever to find the property. We were looking forward to an amazing stay at a great price. Didn’t look at the reviews as was so taken by the photos on booking.com - don’t be fooled - yes the photographer has done an amazing job - the place looks nothing like the photos!! Extremely rundown and needs a HUGE refurbishment! Our room had a stale and mouldy smell, carpets were dirty, outlook disgraceful! Didn’t sleep a wink -wish we had have arrived earlier as we most certainly would not have stayed there but was too late to arrange an alternative. Had a bottle of red wine with our bar meal, when asked for a larger wine glass we were told not possible yet I had a large wine glass for my white wine. No way is this a 4 star property - would struggle to be 2 stars. Sorry management and owners but you need to do something quickly or you won’t have a business! Shocker! Didn’t even stay for our inclusive breakfast - couldn’t get out of there quick enough.

    Sorry but can’t say much good about this property

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    4.2
    Could not recommend this hotel and would not stop again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the service which was no existent because they had no staff, the staff they had seemed to be interns which I think are work experience and were left on their own to deal with customers. The food in buffet not good but food in restaurant good' We had a big balcony but with no furniture but it did have a light for the evening! The bar was open but with no staff getting a drink very difficult, the terrace off the bar which was one of the reasons for booking and the restaurant was not in use as it was set up for a wedding. The hotel is on top of a hill with no bars or cafes nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely views & great comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got an amazing room with two bathrooms, private balcony & lots of comfort. Especially liked the black marble stone bathrooms with a jacuzzi :) Great place to stay and it's close to the beach!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanness of the bedroom and bathroom, very poor. Breakfast too simple for a 4 star hotel. Air conditioner was not working properly, only fan option was available. Fridge froze every thing that you put inside.

    Location The view WiFi covered all hotel Staff were friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Not worth the money. It does not feel 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where to begin.... the hotel is very old and battered. It needs urgent renovation. Because I read that some of the rooms were in dire need of renovation I decided to book a suite thinking that the most expensive rooms should be in better shape... but no! There were stains on the carpet both on the room and on the corridors, the bathtub had black wear marks, there were signs of humidity and even mold on the bathroom ceiling, the closet drawers were broken, the refrigerator door's handle was dirty with some kind of sticky, gooey substance, there were broken phone plugs on the walls, there was a draft coming from the balcony window, etc... Because I was travelling with a baby we requested a crib which was provided free of charge, but there was a big tear on one of the sides os the crib and one of the upper beams was so bent and croocked that my 1,5 year daughter could easily climb out... as a result she had to sleep with us in our bed. There was a note in our room that stated that, because were keeping the guests needs in mind, we could now prepare tea or coffee in our room, but I couldn't find a kettle anywhere... It REALLY wasn't worth the 120€ I paid for the accommodation. It definitely does NOT feel 4 stars.

    The bed was confortable, the swimming pool is very nice. And that's it for positive aspects.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    The wifi signal was so weak that I could not use it (Room 3114)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is outdated and not very well maintained. The rooms are not in good condition, little dirty and there were bad smell coming out from the bathroom.

    The indoor pool was nice, and the breakfast with nice views to the river an town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.3
    Below average, in need of maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very dated, . All linen was worn and stained. The hairdryer was broken and the bathroom floor would be covered in water after every shower. We were excited by the pool and spa facilities but the fact that you have to wear a swimming cap (sold for 5Euro), even in the jacuzzi, is unnecessary and takes away all enjoyment and relaxation.

    The bed was comfortable. Breakfast selection OK.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.9
    relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent price quality relation. Good breakfast. Great pool, Jacuzzi, sauna to relax in the end of the day after a crazy day of work. Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Great SPA and great breakfast with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioning in the room.

    The fact that the hotel as a view over the river and the amazing breakfast. The SPA was nice too, the pool was warm and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.8
    Stunning city view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They seem give a lot of priority to customers that are not staying at the hotel.Guest not staying over night at the hotel park at the hotel's parking bay leaving us no options but to leave our car parked outside and quite far.Pool facilities are open to public in general.I rather enjoy it when it is limited to hotel guests as it becomes noisy with all the training!

    Beautifully located on a cliff along side the river Ave.Stunning view of the river and city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff was not good. After changing my mind regarding a request of a bottle of wine I heard the restaurant staff commenting on that at the kitchen on a bad note. Besides the rice was warmed up not fresh. Not the standard for a 4* hotel. The shower head was lose and I had to hold it through the entire shower. Not comfortable.

    The reception staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Good for rest..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel looks like it needs an update in most of its facilities. It's becoming smelly and it should be cleaner. Spa is ok but there was swimming classes happening that were really annoying.

    Great location for those who want a peaceful environment. Perfect to have a great rest. Staff was really nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel for golfers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No 10 euro buffet dinner available. Told by waiter this was discontinued last week....though reception staff were still promoting it and adverts for the deal were posted all over the hotel and continue to feature on the hotel website. Restaurant now only a la carte which is not to my taste and too expensive for the standard and quality of food provided. Bar meals are available which offer better value.

    Great stay in the recently refurbed rooms. Fantastic new beds, a lick of paint and new curtains were long overdue. Bar snacks as tasty as ever. Staff polite and friendly. Satellite tv in the bar is an excellent new facility. Pool and sauna brilliant. Outstanding value. Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Good place to stay and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location close to the city, the beaches and the metro station. Good views from the hotel. Good leisure facilities. Nice restaurant, good menu. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    Used to be a 4 Star hotel but today …
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a good location to stay, but the quality maybe not a four star hotel anymore. Time worn facilities, room are very "dated" and with lack of maintenance. Very poor WiFi signal at level -2 almost unusable.

    Good location, metro station to Porto 10 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.7
    Good but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    But i really need to say and give the suggestion, the hotel is looking old fashion, and with lack of maintenance, and is a waste because the hotel is beautiful, plus top location with 5 star views. The breakfast should have more variety.

    The views and location are wonderful. The suite had wonderful areas. the common areas were very nice. the bar outdoor really really beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.2
    It has seen better times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since my last visit, 10 years ago, not a lot was invested in the hotel. We've booked a suite and since none was available and it was our honeymoon, they gave us the presidential suite - so far, so good. But the access to the room was super dirty, had no elevator (we had 3 big suitcases to carry upstairs) and was in the middle of a hallway (with people screaming when passing by our door). The room itself was quite outdated and had signs of a previous party (confetti on the floor and a plastic wine glass over the fireplace), the lights were a maze, the minibar was empty (we asked for the complementary water, coffee and tea, but they never came), one of the walls was broken (hidden behind a chair) and the terrace had some loose boards. The breakfast was shamefull. Despite booking previously, we were asked to come later for dinner because a big group was in the Michellin starred restaurant - but they forgot to warn us that it had been turned into a buffet for the month (on the website, though, the "a la carte" was still shown) and most of the food wasn't refilled unless we complained. The steam room was too cold until another guest found the sensor and kept on pouring cold water. In both situations, and when confronted, the staff wasn't helpfull with info nor tried to solve the situations.

    The location is great and the spa area is quite nice in general.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Polite staff but the extra charges have put us off returning there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Spa Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking I gave two names, requesting a room with twin beds. The receptionist insisted I had not given a second name and charged an extra 27 Euros for a second person. Also there was a charge for the swimmingpool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very nice spa/swimming pool, friendly people ready to help, nice breakfast (and I'm quite demanding on that topic ; however forget the free orange juice) ; I had a nice room with a convenient fridge. To be honest, the room need to be refreshed, but it was clean, as the bed. All in one, an excellent quality/price ratio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.4
    Skip it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced and counting last days before major renovation. Outdated, tired, staff unmotivated. They charge euro 5 per person for guests who want to enter the pool, forcing to buy caps (1.5 euro value). They are probably understaffed as rooms were not ready even at 3;30 PM

    River view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.3
    Stayed 2 nights and was glad to move to another hotel .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay up front on arrival staff were indifferent The hotel carpets and general furnishings has seen better days Building could do with complete with a complete refurbishment.

    free parking but very limited fridge in room

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.7
    Expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no way it lives up to a 4-star hotel. The furniture, carpet and room in general are old and in need of either replacement or repair. The terrace is completely empty and the walls are too high. The hotel has seen better days. They make you pay €5 for a swimming cap if you didn't bring your own.

    Breakfast buffet was good and the views are nice. The receptionist was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    I would question the star quality of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa facilities and staff. We were staying for one night and booked a leg massage. Until the staff in the thermal suite understood we were having treatments, we were not offered a robe or slippers. Not the service of a 4 star hotel in my experience.

    The service at the bar was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel if you want a quiet place on the metro line to Porto, and with a great beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English tea! ( It's Not a teapot of hot milk and a tea bag! ). But to be fair, the new dining room staff/waiter had only just started work there, and it is a Portugueses hotel, so maybe I shouldn't expect English tea!

    Good choice at breakfast. Views from the rooms terraces and dining room. Spa treatments and swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Huge value for money place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not a huge point, but the decor and fittings are a bit dated and tired in places. It all gave the impression that a huge sum had been invested in setting it up 30 years ago, and not much had been done to it since. This is a cruel criticism as it did not detract from a great value for money experience in the hotel.

    The location, on a hillside above the river and the town gives superb vistas. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was very adequate. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. It was a very nice place to spend the first night of our holiday, and a short drive from Porto.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    Provides a great base to explore this part of Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As mentioned before, yes the carpets are stained in bedroom, but who in their right mind would put beige carpets in a hotel!!!?? However still clean. Also some water marks on the ceiling. Take into consideration the price and overall comfort, cleanliness and standard then you are getting a lot for your money.

    Breakfast was fine. Good choice of hot, co!d, fresh fruit and breads. All you could want to start the day. Room had a good view over the river Ave and gardens. Room serviced every day, kept nice and clean. Hotel is up on a small hill but that gives you great views, especially from the outside seating decked area. Quiet nights sleep. Used public transport. Metro from Porto which continued up to the coast of Povo d Vazim. Get off at Santa Clara for the hotel, about 10 minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    3.8
    Hotel under reconstruction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is currently under reconstruction. Which means, that the pictures are not exactly representative of the rooms. In fact, in the pictures are only the few already renovated rooms, the remaining are in extremely poor conditions: carpets completely worn out, with bumps on the floor, furniture also old and stained and the room was stinking of cleaning products. The hotel itself is very big and confusing with never ending corridors and turns. And the "cherry on the cake" was the colony of ants living in the hallway, which didn't seem to have bothered the staff.

    The staff was very helpful and nice. Also the surrounding of the hotel is well maintained and taken care of. And this looks like going to be a nice hotel once the renovations are over, until then, I wouldn't recommend to stay there.

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.3
    Review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows weren't clean and the air conditioner in our room 2110 did not work as expected. The were also a leakage of water from the bathtub while showering. The bathroom floor got covered with water. In general the room seemed to need a bit of renovation.

    The SPA was good and the massage was tremendously good! Breakfast and meals were also good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    5.5
    Will not book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to walk half a mile and had to take our own bags after taking the lift had to take our bags stairs, 3 people over 70 years old how good was that, No signs from our room to reception,

    Breakfast just fair

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    6.3
    very charming with a twist
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the hotel is old and not really like in the pictures. the carpet was very unclean and stained. there were drafts everywhere.

    The breakfast was diverse and tasty. the views of the restaurant and breakfast area were stunning. the bed was extra comfy. the staff was super nice and helpful. happy there was free parking at the location. it was super easy to go to the city center that was just 450 m away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    5.8
    You pay for what you get....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpets in the room were full of stains in it, it looked really bad and you would think twice before you walked barefoot there. The balcony door was stiff and extremely hard to get open. Our particular balcony, unlike the others in both sides of our room, had no table or chairs, so we couldn't really sit to enjoy the view. There were no robes or slippers in the room as the receptionist had said there would be (although the staff quickly fixed this). There are photos and an advertisement of this romantic atmosphere in the pool area, with the jacuzzi and all, HOWEVER, this pool is also used for swimming lessons for local children and what was supposed to be a quiet relaxing time with my other half, turned into a rowdy, loud and splashy experience. Also there was no mention of having to purchase swimming caps for the pool and had to pay 5€ for each cap (could have brought our own if made aware previously)

    The breakfast was extremely good!! A lot of variety, well presented and very tasty! Everything very fresh. View from the restaurant is beautiful. The toilets were very clean and well presented. The staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    Management you have excellant staff, hire a few more to support them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bedroom dated , wires under the carpet, old furniture, balony high walls, needed extra staff in bar. Breakfast the service is good but food quality-ingredients poor. Restaurant evening meal quality & service is good.

    Staff really impressed me, Hotel had all the features for 4 stars , great TV channels, good bar,spa , restaurant facilities. My score from your icon rating shows 9.2 but my rating would be an 8.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent value and handy for the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture and decor a bit tired. The lift needed a clean. The back of our wardrobe was rotting and the coffee table needed replacing.

    Excellent value. Great location. Super facilities, although we never used the spa. Handy for the airport.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    7.5
    I wish it were cleaner...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the lack of maintenance work, the dirtiness of the rooms! , the smell !, the dirty old out-dated carpets! and the spa/gym/pool schedules.

    I liked the view, the beautiful indoor pool, the size of the bedrooms, the layout of the rooms and the whole building and the staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.1
    Good view, good breakfast, extra bed allowed to move freely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet with a big stain, Wi-Fi signal didn't reach the room, tv signal very poor, wc flush took for ever to fill the container

    Good view, good breakfast, extra bed allowed to move freely in the room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.7
    expensive and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what it is, rooms very old fashionable ; no relaxing atmosphere in room/ **room felt uncomfortable**, long hall way old fashioned and unpleasant, poor breakfast

    nice spa (jacuzzi/sauna/ swimming pool), good location but would not stay here again

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    A Relaxing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key didn't always work properly and I had to insert it in the card slot several times before I could enter the room.

    I had a very pleasant stay. The staff were very attentive and met my needs. The river view from the restaurant especially was stunning and the food was of a high standard and quality. My room was spacious with an enormous balcony overlooking the river. The fittings worked well and the beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    7.5
    Hotel space.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steam sauna smell terrible _ we couldn't use. Swimming rough surface

    Hotel space. Jaccuzzi. breakfast Some of the staff so helpful and friendly Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Lots of facilities, great views, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    some items not in room which should have been, such as tea and coffee making facilities. Loo rolls.

    Lots of facilities, great views, helpful staff. good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    2.9
    Horrendous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned, dirty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Too short. It was sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    The pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.3
    How is this a 4 Star hotel?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room with stained floor and dusty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Customer service was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was excellent. Also, the breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Pool was lovely and I had a great facial with Annabelle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no sense of anyone managing the hotel and breakfast was very poor.

    Pool was lovely and I had a great facial with Annabelle.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    4.6
    Very outdated needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated needs renovation

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    2.9
    Hotel photographer is exceptional!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs total refurbishment and reinvestment across every aspect of hotel.

    Spa ok as free and location and view across to Vila Do Conde and Rio Ave.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Spa, fitness area and restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was with dirty carpets and the extra bed was not comfortable

    Spa, fitness area and restaurant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast .

    The view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Rest stop on my camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee served with breakfast was poor

    The pool was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    Mini fridge empty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini fridge empty. Lack of staff Breakfast very poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants all over the bar...

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    a ubicacion do local
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a ubicacion do local

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    5

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Da piscina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do check in e do quarto

    Da piscina

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location but dated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to the center of town. Hotel has lots of potential but is very dated. Needs upgrading.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Everything was just perfect!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Pool it's absolutely fantastic .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything it's in right place...

    Pool it's absolutely fantastic ...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    3.8
    Horrible place, dirty and cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cold food, cold dining room and bar area. bedroom had stained carpets, broken curtains and cigarette ends outside window

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't have a balcony, even tho we paid for deluxe room

    Food was lovely and so was staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    We would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could do with a little TLC, as do a lot of old hotels

    Only stayed one night, it was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Everything is on the top ;
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is on the top ;)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.8
    I'd would to suggest about changing the facilities in bathroom like shower since others r perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom, cleaness regarding to the 4stars hotel

    Spa, swimming pool, bed, views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Thank u for all
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is fine!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some room facilities a little old needing conservation

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Everything is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything is good. Although i have a little appointment about restaurant.The food is good but we need to wait so long.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Very nice and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Great for Golfers
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Love this hotel

    Great refurbished rooms. Outstanding value. Ideal for golfers.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: