Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa 5 stars

Praia de Stª Eulália - P.O. box 2445, 8200 - 916 Albufeira, Portugal

#21 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1235 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not active (not a big deal because weather was not so warm) but the last day there were a lot of insects entering into the room that we could have avoided if the air had been working. Buffet was a bit pricey.

    Great beaches, nice location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small and in need of updating, furniture dented and needed touching up, steps to beach broken, for a 5 star hotel just needs a little more, bar service was slow, had to pay for lounger on beach as price is not included in hotel, pool area crowded and small.

    Access to beach was perfect, cleanliness great, comfortable bed, staff were very friendly and helpful, spa was amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea or coffee making facilities and the hotel rooms and corridors are looking tired

    All the staff were friendly and helpful, food, service and cleanliness was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel is rated 5 star (by whom I don't now?) and it probably once was (in a bygone era) however not now.!! They did keep it clean but wear and tear is evident everywhere and the layout is old fashioned and bizarre to say the least with a huge delivery access road separating the hotel pool area from the beach side cafe?? Whats that all about? Ugly and adds no value to the hotel and certainly not guest enjoyment / atmosphere??? The food and drinks offered by the hotel were outlandishly expensive and similar to what we would have paid anywhere in northern Europe. I was travelling with my 7 children , 5 of which are adults and poolside cocktails (small) were out of the question with a single drink coating €8, a round costing €50!!! As a result the bars and restaurants were normally empty and devoid of atmosphere. The hotel did send a bottle of chilled bubbly wine and a birthday cake for my wife to our apartment on the 5th June, thanks (really), but would have been better to check we were actually in our apartment before doing so. We simply didn't bother to use the hotel for anything other than pool facilities although the hotel did try to encourage us to use their dining facilities by offering us 1 free bottle wine if we dined with them (we were staying for 10 nights!!). Breakfast buffet was €20 a head and anywhere else (I mean anywhere else in town) was charging no more than €5!!! If the hotel were to reduce their prices they might have sold far more meals and drinks and maybe the staff wouldn't have looked so bored all the time!!! Staff generally were ok, in particular kids club staff appeared to be top notch, reception desk staff good, cleaning staff brilliant but serving staff (the few times we tried to use the facilities) in all pubs and restaurants were poor (aloof, bored looking and disinterested!!!) Weather was not great whilst we were there (2nd to 12th June) and all outside pools were really cold and as a result very few people used them.

    The cleaning staff were great and looked after us very well given we had 4 apartments and our seven children with us 5 of which are adults. The bus transfer to town was good. The hotel grounds were clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little out. The shuttle bus stopped at half 6 which was a little annoying

    Amazing hotel. Breakfast was fabulous, gave you An amazing spread from rashers and eggs to a more continental breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities like indoor hot pools and sauna should be free for guests.

    Lovely resort, comfortable but basic rooms, great breakfast and a range of restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not as nice as I expected, certainly not 5 star. We paid extra for a view which was nice but the room offered little to no reason to stay in it and enjoy the view.

    The staff was amazing! Answered all our questions, helped with food recommendations, allowed for an early check in. A lot of staff at hotels make you feel like you're inconveniencing them everyone here was extremely helpful. A big thanks to Jorge who helped us out so much!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the smell in the corridor on floor -2 should be fixed because it is not good

    breakfast and dinner buffet were good and varied, staff very helpful, room very clean and nice view on the sea

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We loved out stay at this hotel. It was clean, comfortable and exceptionally good value. The staff were really helpful and our room was bright, big and really clean. Breakfast was lovely and we were offered great choice. We loved the pool area and nearby beach. the shuttle service was really useful also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect Amazing romantic location Plenty restaurants on every corner Clean rooms Great staff Amazing food n drinks Nothing bad about this hotel will definitely return soon !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful resort walking distance to the beach plus two pools. Our room was large and very comfortable and staff was friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the quiet of being outside of Albufeira but only being a short car/taxi ride away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I only stayed for 1 night and I didn't use the restaurant or the pools, however the grounds were lovely and very close to a lovely beach and within walking distance to the strip, I would love to, and probably will stay here with my kids for a week in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was full of people that were on bargain breaks .. definitely not 5*

    Very disappointing for a 5*. We only booked this hotel because of its rating and were bitterly disappointed in the hotel. It should be re rated as no more than a 3* and needs refurbishing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was pretty hard. Brought my own pillow as travelling for a month and this was a sensible decision.

    Wonderful buffet breakfast, great views across the pools and to the ocean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved everything from the food to the pool. The whole place was spotless with rooms being cleaned daily and new towel provided also. Good choice of restaurants inside and outside complex. Lovely location with private beach access and close to the old and new town. Loved the option of getting the free shuttle bus also. Overall,had a brilliant stay and will definitely be back if I go to Portugal again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast would need some improuvement - not enough fresh vegetables - a little bit too british

    We got a free upgrade to a room with seaview. Very confortable bed. Good facilities. One of the outdoor pools was heated.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit was comfortable, cleaned every day and had all the amenities that you need to enjoy your stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. Easy access to the old and new town via a free bus services from the resort which makes exploring easy. Various pool facilities around the resort was great as the pool areas were comfortable and not to full all the time. Food was great at the various restaurants on the resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    waiting for our room to be cleaned for 2 1/2 hours and when ready cleaning rag left on side and half a coat hanger lying under table cleanliness ????? We was given a meal in the beach bar has a gesture by the manageress which did soften the blow of not getting a 5 star service We found the hotel needs a lot tender loving care in the hotel and especially in the grounds

    The bed was very comfy, the view from the room was excellent and bars/restaurants nearby were great value

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room air conditioning did not work. No tea / coffee facilities in room. Mini bar not stocked.

    Very pleasant hotel complex with lovely, attentive staff. Allowed late check out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in our room did not work so it was pretty stuffy inside. The shower couldn’t seem to get the temperature right, either far too hot or freezing cold, and the power on it wasn’t great either. Neither of these things spoiled the experience though, and the room was otherwise clean and fresh.

    Staff were fantastic. The cleaner, check in staff, bar staff. People couldn’t do enough for us. Breakfast options were great, and the pools were clean and the pool area kept tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wooden floors in the bedroom left it very noisy when children are in next bed room . Also asked staff for fresh towels extra toilet rolls , because room had not been cleaned. Breakfast was like going into a food hall and then dried up food in hot buffet. Having been going there for 12. Years , and the fact it’s meant to be 5 star . I would expect better . Also when asked for anything in person or on the phone front desk staff not very helpful. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An absolute 5 star! Great amenities, great location, on the beach, courteous staff and made the stay really special for us by organising surprise cake treat for our daughter's birthday. 100% recommended!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Ok, slightly outdated but so what.

    Everything! It is magical. Fabulous lovely location on private cove, Hotel has great facilities and lovely restaurants and views. Walks on cliffs. Great indoor spa too. Would definitely return for a two week holiday. We loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough hot water, if someone had a shower or a bath the other family member need to wait for few hours to get hot water again. Evening Entertainment is not that good.

    The rooms are clean and in good size. Location is only 5-10 mins walk to the beach. Free bus going to town centre. Complimentary milk and water. My girls love the kids club. Staff are friendly and always make sure toiletries are replaced everyday.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite it’s a 5 Star hotel, the room was not perfectly clean at all: hair found on the tap, on the desk obvious marks from glasses of the guests before, and dust around electric plugs.

    The bed was very comfortable. The ocean view from the room is mesmerizing. The breakfast was really nice and big variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cover on the terrace overlooking the beach. This meant that the area was not used when it was raining which is a shame.

    Everything. It was clean bright airy and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely accessible and had all I needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Would have appreciated a tea/coffee maker in room...I would have thought that as routine for a 5 star hotel

    Pleasant staff...great location...closeness to the beach. Appreciated the shuttle bus to Old Town, Albufeira

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart from one young male soul singer, the late evening singers were disappointing and not worth staying up for.l

    Brilliant and wide choice at breakfast ..something for everyone even the moaners ! thought the food generally in the restaurants was only ok, although quite pricey. But the Atlantico snack bar and restaurant overlooking the beach was poor except for a short break drink although it was nicely located Our hotel room with a sea view was perfect and spotless..and I was very impressed with a very spacious self catering apparent we visited

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really bothered us. But if I have to mention something negative maybe was the fact we had to wait for getting a table for breakfast but not annoying or long wait.

    Amazing hotel with a short access to beach and amazing view over the ocean. Very good breakfast with large variety of choices. and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the pools could have done with being heated. The gym needs a bit if tlc and food options and room service charges could be little less.

    The resort can only be described as fantastic! The views spectacular, the staff amazing and the accommodation top class!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We recently stayed at This beautiful resort as we will be getting married here in October 2018. We found the Location, resort, amenitites, service and staff all to be first class. This short trip has really put our mind at ease as the perfect Resort for our big day and truly cannot wait until our return in October. Keep up the Fantastic work guys!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor sound insulation in the self catering apartment. We could hear everything next door. No access to indoor pool for baby. Food in hotel expensive. Not great bar ... No atmosphere.

    Rooms cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean room, private beach, pool with sea view, excellent breakfast and free shuttle bus to old town and new town. We had an excellent stay would highly recommend !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a long que every morning for breakfast on all 3 of our stays with you over the last 3 years

    Staff were very friendly and attentive, hotel was very clean and comfy (apart from the beds were rock hard)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets bit outdated!

    Great staff,very friendly and obliging.Fantastic beachfront location.Buffet breakfast wonderful.Fabulous for young families and older couples alike.Good mixture of clients ,everyone seemed happy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20€ price for pool €10 sauna - not a nominal fee. Also breakfast over priced we had planned on going down 2 mornings but didn’t in the end . Nowhere to buy water @ resort one morning before a cycle, I was told by reception I could fill in toilets or bar - which was not opened yet. I went down to breakfast both girls at dirt said I could fill them, then manager cane over & rudely gave out on front of many others there. V embarressing ( only filling small water bottle)

    Apartment perfect, geeen area outside & pool so close fab ! Cleaning everyday was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were shuvved together and really uncomfortable so got neck and back pain. Restaurant only served buffet midweek which was stodgy, mostly carbs and not too tasty. Maybe cos it was out of season. There was paint peeling off the walls in the bedroom and the lamps were so low from the ceiling we kept banging our heads off them. Wouldn’t say it was 5 star quality.

    Plenty room in the apartment and plenty sleeping surfaces. But they were all very uncomfortable, and for the double bed it was two beds shuvved together with a split in the middle. Plenty pools but they weren’t heated so we couldn’t bring our 7 month old swimming. Staff were lovely and helpful. Plenty space to lounge around the hotel. Facilities in the apartment were good for self catering.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we need to pay €21(including compulsory swimming cap) per person to use the indoors pool and spa for an hour

    Great breakfast and nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel staff did not take any notice of specific comment made at the time of booking - we said we did not wish to be made to change rooms after the first night and could they make sure allocation was made accordingly. I had made a point of booking "garden view" to give them maximum flexibility. No hint from check-in staff that this would not work. Instead I noticed only after unpacking and having dinner the first night that the room card referred to "1 night"; we asked reception whether they just needed to recode the keycard next morning and were told "no, you have to move to an apartment tomorrow" and they said they were fully booked. After getting a manager out the following morning, we finally managed to at least *only* be relocated to another room "because you can't keep that seaview upgrade room, we need it for people who booked one". Oh, and "we didn't read your comment". Well, we hadn't asked for the upgrade and weren't aware of it (checked in after sunset). And why did some couples who were part of the group booking, who checked in only for two nights one day after us and did not book seaview get seaview rooms? It's either surprising incompetence for a 5-star hotel or deliberate because we didn't cough up extra money to sponsor the hotel's group booking department. -- Another annoying point: heated indoor pool would have cost EUR 18. -- Overall not sure what makes this hotel 5-star, particularly when comparing with other hotels in Portugal and Spain.

    We booked this hotel for an additional night ahead of a group event. Comments regarding our room and staff relate ONLY to the additional night and not the group booking. -- After initially contacting the event organisers and getting in touch with the hotel's group booking manager, we noticed that the same room type including breakfast was advertised for significantly less on this site here, so we added a reference to the group event in the comments and specifically pointed out that we wanted to stay in the same room. I mentioned this again when we were checked in by a very friendly trainee ("booked for 3 nights, but they are on two different references"). Received our room key and were pleased with room allocation - see under 'negatives' for what happened after that. -- We had our dinner at the hotel's bar, good burger although a bit pricey. Two burgers and drinks came to just under EUR 50. -- Breakfast was slightly disappointing, with very limited choice of bread and acidic orange juice (maybe someone got the mix of concentrate/water wrong?). Good coffee and fresh fruit though.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Excellent location just on the beach. Very good break fast with lot of verity. It's very convenient to get free shuttle bus from hotel to city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a very long queue for dinner on the first evening but there was a definite improvement the next evening

    Staff very courteous, facilities v.g. I had booked an extra night and without any problems I stayed in the same room ORIGINAL BOOKING THROUGH Scottish COUNTRY DANCING

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't like to be there in summer as it is huge and there would be very many guests.

    For a large group event of the type we were attending ( over 160 dancers) it was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault anything.

    The hotel was in a fantastic location right on the beach. The staff were very attentive, polite & professional and the place was immaculately clean and well presented. Our room was large with views over the tennis court and the sea beyond. We had clean towels every day & the toiletry supplies were also topped up daily. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable. The buffet breakfast was vast with plenty of choice and I would highly recommend the Gourmet Burger Restaurant on site. The hot food was delicious & plentiful and the pastries, doughnuts & cakes were to die for. The beach bar was lovely as were the staff and again the food was delicious. Reasonable prices too considering the location. We spent a lot of time there. I wouldn't hesitate to book The Grande Real again & am already looking at prices to return soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym could do with an update. There should be music playing at the bar and lobby area in the evenings when there is no live music. For a 5 star hotel I expected a few extra touches like fresh water in the room, the apple bowl ran out at reception and a few more toiletries should be provided. Our Maid also woke us up at 9.30am every morning knocking on the door to clean the room which was very annoying to be honest.

    The buffet breakfast every morning with prosecco was well worth getting out of bed for. The hydrotherapy pool in the basement was lovely and not advertised enough! The outdoor pools looked lovely we just didn’t get the weather. The staff are just so lovely!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa had a musky smell which needs looking into.

    Friendly staff, very clean and comfortable with wonderful food and drinks. Nice clientele plus bars and restaurants within walking distance. Not to mention the beautiful beach just below the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If pushed I would have to say the mattress was way too hard and gave me quite a lot of pain as I suffer from bad arthritis in my neck, back and knees I had only one unfortunate experience which was in th restaurant when we sat down and ordered our food a party of ten arrived a few minute's later they had finished their starter and were half way through their main course before any food came to our table, we waited for 45 minutes for our food and when it came out the whole order was wrong, after waiting so long for our food we took what was on offer paid and left. It was quite expensive and very disappointing

    From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the the stay was nothing short of one of the most wonderful hotel experience's I have ever had, the staff were extremely attentive, friendly and displayed the height of professionalism, their facilities are second to none as I believe a whole lot of thought went into what is on offer here from the spa to the pool's (yes I said pool's at least four in the complex that I saw to the stunning terraces also four of those too and the private beach. The apartment was spotless and had everything you would need for a very relaxing and comfortable stay. The owner's should be very proud of their staff and complex it is truly outstanding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1.taxi dropped me off past midnight and refused to accept credit card. I asked the hotel staff if I could pay them on credit card, and have them give cash to the taxi driver. THEY REFUSED. SO INSTEAD the taxi driver pulls me back into the cab, and drive me around for another 20 minutes looking for a working ATM. I was already exhausted after a long commute… Was truly shocked that the hotel staff did not have the decency to help me pay off the cab driver so that I could get my room. 2.food was horrible.the only thing half decent was the hamburger.

    great location on the beach.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was missing an indoor pool for the winter. Not great evening entertainment (the man and his guitar).

    Lovely breakfast! Great view on the sea, great garden and next to the beach! Lovely small beaches nearby. Hotel is a bit old but it had a great atmosphere!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 25 nights

    Outside of the main restaurant the eating facilities were very limited, expensive and offered poor choice. The buffet dinner in the main restaurant was also extremely expensive, especially for guests on long stay vacations. Also, it wasn't open every night as, during our first week, it was occupied by a very large group of guests attending a "conference". Entertainment was also poor and nowhere near as good as at some similar hotels with 4-5 star ratings.

    Great location and breakfasts. Staff were outstanding

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the bedroom ,had to ask for a kettle from reception but still no tea bags etc. Stained chair in the room Quality of the evening meal wasn't what you would expect for a 5 star hotel,more 4 star. The likes outway the dislikes

    The bed was cosy and the bedroom large. Great variety at breakfast Lovely pool area Fab beach with private entrance Views from hotel fab Staff friendly Very child friendly Book transfers on line and save about €15 , we paid £27 sterling when booked from the Uk and paid €30 for return journey with the same driver.he was great and gave us info along the way about the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 2 PCs don't work properly and it is a shame because you have a printer to allow you priting the documents you need,... except that you have to wait and wait when you want to connect to you email, for instance, because of these old PCs :-(

    Comfortable and beautiful room, comfortable bed. The breakfast was with full of possibilities, only to much people between 9h15 and 10h. The access to the beach is easy, the access to Albufeira also (even without car, because it is 1,3/1,4 km from the hotel). Possibility to park the car easily, even if there were a lot of clients.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you are a 5*, you should fit to this. The Hotel had left an impression of some decline with it's "weathered" furnitures and fixtures Bathroom was not clean Breakfeast was only "eatable"

    Really good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to find a fault I would say that the bed was a bit too firm.

    Really nice hotel. Fantastic location on the beach. Lots of parking. Extremely helpful, efficient and friendly staff. Spacious rooms. Efficient room service serving very hot meals. Large bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is dirty with small flies and even crocroach. The table in the room is sticky and it does not look like a 5 stars hotel in terms of the room.

    The breakfast is good and the outdoor space is good. I like the place for kids too. They can have workshop there.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The warm food in breakfast was cold. There was decoration going on in our room corridor, which was quite noisy.

    Nice and clean hotel with very nice beach. Good location near Albufeira center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The décor in the rooms was hard on the senses. Greens, oranges, yellows and reds. Differing patterns using all colours in bathroom, kitchen, living and dining room. Far too busy, to the point it was disturbing.

    The rooms were large and the beach was stunning

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner didn't start until 7pm, we would have liked an earlier option.

    Children's play room was wonderful for our 1,5 year old daughter, and the staff friendly. Food was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little disappointed about the Spa, we did have the spa pool to ourselves, it was lacking lighting and the facility should be included with your stay. We had the couple's massage which was fantastic although there was no dimmed lights or music playing only when we went for a tea or water then the music was put on.

    Location of the hotel is perfect. Staff were brilliant and a relaxing getaway with old and new town close enough for a change of scenery,although we were happy to stay around the hotel and beach and just chill.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ! Definitely would go again.

    Super colourful , tasteful , comfortable family apartement. Large grounds with kids club , swimming pools, fabulous beach. I chose to dive off the beach with Dive instructor who was brilliant . Easy to reach Albuferia and Vilamoura and Portamaio and Benagil Caves.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Booked room with sea view but was given room on level -2 with outlook only roofs of buildings in front and small glimpse of sea.Ask for room at higher level but was told they were all allocated. Looked at upgraded to a suite but was too expensive at extra 350.00 euros.for 1 week. We decided we would check out next day then reception suddenly found a room available on 3rd,floor!!! Resturant was a la carte at lunch time but only buffet in the evenings so had to eat out but some good local restaurants close by.

    Pool area had ample sun beds and umbrellas. Hotel access to beach very good. Room was spacious with super king bed, very comfortable. Spacious bathroom with full size bath.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - it was a fantastic weekend - great head space !

    The Hotel's Staff attention to detail was second to none. They noticed when photocopying our passports that my husband's Birthday was on while we were at the hotel & sent us a Bottle of Chilled Prosecco & Bday Cake to the room. with a lighter to light the candle. Fantastic , Friendly Staff - also Staff in Spa were

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It's a little walk from the apartments to the restaurants and we had an issue with the bathtub which was reported but not fixed.

    The property is located right over the stunning beach of Santa Eulalia with direct access. All facilities were very good, although out of season, not all of them were in operation (bars, restaurants, game room). The food is really good, 5-star level and the staff very kind and accommodating, especially with kids. The location is perfect, out of the noise of the city but close enough to shops if needed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self catering apartments clean and comfortable but now need updating

    Lovely resort- 3rd visit. Plenty of pools, good gym. Friendly helpful staff. Daily housekeeping in self catering. Free shuttle bus to Albufeira

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Family Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children up 12 years old)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas abit run down ie decking around pool ( a few splinters in feet!) and cracked decking. Quite a long and ugly walk up a hill to the nearest restaurants etc cars drive very fast and not much by way of nice views along route. Charge 10 euros for an hour use of tennis courts, make them free and stop them being empty! Maybe heat another pool to avoid it getting to busy.

    Great heated pool and children's club lovely beach and fabulous breakfast. Staff friendly and plenty of sunned so no towel hogging. Hotel is well designed and comfortable and has a lovely relaxing feel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    outdated rooms with stained carpets , cleanliness not up to par. Buffet breakfast just ok . Overall not a 5 star

    location, staff , beach . Ines was very nice and helpfull. Hamburger restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 th visit to this hotel this year -Room so small couldn’t get the room service trolley into the room. Had to eat dinner corner of the bed looking at door. Tiles on bedside table falling off as they stuck to the plastic glasses that were in room. No mini bar or room service menu - waited 40 min for delivery of menu

    Breakfast was ok nothing special for a 5 star hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little worn and tired looking Food/ drinks at poolside bar are very expensive

    Great location beside the beach Great selection at breakfast Shuttle bus service into albuferia is very convenient

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was a little more crowded then others in the area regarding the umbrella and sun loungers

    Staff, facilities, location combined for an excellent vacation. We will return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the room a bit tired. Some parts of the property could use a bit of an upgrade.

    The sound of the ocean and the view each morning from my balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The resort was fantastic, easy walk to one of the best beaches in Albufeira. the free bus ride to old twon and new town is available every one hour which is very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been her 5 times now - and we are already booked for next year. There are loads of choices for eating from buffet to a la carte. The beach front restaurant offers freshly caught fish and meat dishes. The bar overlooking the bay does the best cocktails. It's a great hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They offer a free shuttle bus service into Albufeira which is about three quarters of an hour's walk from the hotel. They arrange the shuttles however to make it very difficult for you to eat in Albufeira if you want to get there and back using the shuttle. For example the last one leaves to come back at only about 7.30. I suspect this is a very deliberate ploy to make you eat at the hotel! You can get a taxi back for about eight euros.

    The hotel is right on a very nice sandy beach, although the water is very cold. Also lots of sunlounges around the pools. The room we stayed in was perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No airer for drying towels in apartment. Otherwise all excellent.

    The whole complex was lovely. We had a very warm welcome and staff were all fantastic. We were lucky enough to be upgraded from a studio to a 2 bed, 2 bath apartment, with a lovely view of one of the quieter pools. Just lovely. Hubby forgot adaptor for shaver and reception were able to supply. Hoping to return in future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Opening times of the gym are a bit limited (only until 8pm). One improvement point: during breakfast, the staff is all the time cleaning our tables while we are still eating and that can be a bit annoying sometimes.

    We've had a very nice stay. Breakfast was complete and delicious and all the restaurants inside the hotel serve great food. Our room was very quiet and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Bonus point for the big gym and daily activities like Circuit training, pilates, etc...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double/Twin Room with Resort View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Be aware that there is no natural shadow on the beach only sunbeds with umbrellas which cost 15 EUR even for hotel guests. Free sunbeds are only by the pool.

    Staff was really friendly and helpful. There was a free shuttle bus to Albufeira old town all day long, last bus was at 7:20 p.m. and we came back to the hotel by taxi. No other opportunity. This is really a beach side hotel. There is a really nice restaurant by the entrance of the hotel called Portobello, nice food on good price, value for money much better that in the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grande Real Santa Eulalia Resort & Hotel Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: