Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Toural 4 stars

Largo A L Carvalho, 4800-153 Guimarães, Portugal

#4 of 27 hotels in Guimarães

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1143 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is a bit older (but very clean), the friendly staf...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed could have been a bit softer ;) but I slept well anyway.

    The hotel is a bit older (but very clean), the friendly staf makes you forget about it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    Old city center location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from next door apartment only during the day - renovation going on. Wall seems to be very thin.

    Big room with nice view of the square. Very friendly staff. Situation in the old part of the city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great location, wonderful staff and beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We fortunately stayed in a suite overlooking the main square, which was lovely and very comfortable and large. The hotel is attractive and the staff is friendly. The breakfast was superb as reviewed, and the server "Gentile?" was wonderful, simpatico and very efficient. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend the Toural.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    We liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view. Room a little dated.

    Lovely central hotel. V friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Read directions to Hotel before you arrive- not complicated, but not obvious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great choice in the corner of the historic center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room beside the elevator is noisy. Some things need an upgrade: bathroom needs a shower instead of bathtub; hair dryer is an old model, but it works though; the bathtub guard needs to be bigger; the chair in the room needs attention; I suspect the bathroom with cold weather will be cold and uncomfortable - only has a small heater on the wall. Garage is further away from the hotel, but the staff is in charge of taking and getting your car; you can not go to the garage on your own though.

    Very comfortable hotel just in the corner of the historic center, with garage. Spacious and comfortable rooms and beds. Efficient A/C in the room. Great breakfast. Very pleasant staff. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    An outstanding stay in a most wonderful and memorable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we could say we didn’t like, other than our visit was too short.

    This beautiful and historic hotel is a true gem. Tastefully decorated and ideally situated in the old town, our room had magnificent windows with a great view over one of the most lovely boulevards. The staff, Marta and Sr Gentil, were outstanding, their kindness and knowledge of the town made our stay even more memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very local and good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very open and friendly welcome, since the room was not ready because we were early we received a fulll Sightseeing recommendation including a map with personal remarks. Rooms Show that the Hotel is a bit older, but everything is very well maintained and clean. The Breakfast is served at the table, nowadays completely new experience but makes it very personal. The Quality of the Breakfast was very good with home made Juice and cake.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location in the historic center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast experience is excellent. Personalized service by the waiter in a variety of languages. Fresh juice and coffee to expectations are offered. The housekeeping is very discreet and does not mingle with guests.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    The chef for the breakfast service is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chef for the breakfast service is excellent. The layout for the room is surprisingly nice and cozy. Very wonderful living experience with this classy hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    The location is what brought us here, the staff makes the stay great and the breakfast was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting in the room was a little dim, but with the windows open, it was fine. Reading at night was not the best as the lights in the room were low wattage bulbs. Overall, it was fine and I would definitely stay here again.

    The staff at the Tour was absolutely delightful. Anything you needed, wanted, whatever was no problem, they were so NICE! Both of the ladies working the front desk were happy to recommend nearby restaurants that were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to write here.

    The hotel is very well located, right in the city center and the atmosphere is amazing. Also, the room had much space and the staff is so nice! Breakfast in the morning was full of options and the staff was always with a smile.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Another enjoyable visit to Guimarães
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is the perfect spot to explore the centre and historic part of this lovely city. Breakfast was made to order and very plentiful. The front desk and breakfast room staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    an old hotel, but comfortable to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in particular.

    the staff were very helpful and friendly. even though it was an old hotel, but some facilities have been refurbished. we were staying at 3rd floor, the wi-fi was good and the mattress was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    This city is a little gem and we felt very lucky to have included it in our road trip for a night!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes, the hotel is dated (we found ourselves using the bathroom plug to charge our phones as that was the nearest to the bed but actually it is good to “switch off” for a bit) and sound travels, especially in the bathroom but we did not find this disturbing, even though we are light sleepers! The cleanliness of the room could have been better and at least the carpets could be changed as they are very old - slippers could be provided which would make this concern go away!

    The staff at this hotel make all the difference; they are kind, helpful and really go above and beyond with advice, tips and attentiveness!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent Location and Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was spacious and very comfortable. A great view out over the square. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Location is perfect for getting around Guimarães. All hotel staff were excellent with special thanks to Suzanna for all her help and guidance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    6.3
    Excellent location, staff and breakfast and poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one armchair in the bedroom and the lightning was really poor. The rooms need to be refurbished.

    The staff are very nice and helpful. Breakfast is excellent: Home made cakes and fresh orange juice. Scrambled eggs and toasts. ......

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Hotel and Guimaraes a highlight of a three week holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. Would recommend a suite as they overlook the square but absolutely no street noise (or any other) as glazing super efficient. All the staff work very hard to ensure your comfort, there was a problem with the hot water, not the hotels fault but their genuine concern and efforts to resolve the matter was an indication of their professionalism. Breakfast (continental) was fresh and generous and served at table which was a nice touch. The entrance isn't obvious so maybe a direction sign on the 10 minute parking space on the square in front of the hotel facade would solve that problem. (a "no left turn" sign on the square was badly positioned which didn't help!) Both the hotel and Guimaraes are well worth any effort you may make to visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Center of everything in Guimaraes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A limited number of on-street parking spaces are reserved for hotel guests; however, it is first come, first served. We felt very lucky to have arrived shortly after someone must have checked out in order to get the only remaining space.

    Super location for visiting Guimaraes. The receptionist at check-in was so friendly and helpful. She marked historic locations on map and made restaurant suggestions which were spot on. Hotel is within easy walking distance to castle and Ducal Palace. Do yourself a favor and eat dinner at Buxa located in the Largo da Oliveira. Order the octopus (even if you're a little uncertain about it) and prepare to be amazed-delicious! Breakfast service in the hotel was wonderful (part of the reason I booked here was because of all the great reviews I read about the food and service provided by Gentile(sp?)); and the reviews were not exaggerated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    I'll definitely stay there again next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I've stayed a few times in this nice hotel, and every time it's been fantastic. The staff is just great, couldn't be more helpful, kind and sympathetic. On arrival, you leave the car keys and they park the car for you The hotel it's a bit old but still is nice, with wide, spacious rooms, comfy beds, Flat TV and Wifi, the location also couldn't be more centric... But one of the best things about it is the amazing breakfast, they bring everything to your table, recently squeezed 100% pure orange juice, they ask you how you prefer the eggs and they prepare them, there and then! and bring them to your table. They even serve a delicious home-made orange sponge, cereals, croissants, custard cream cakes... I've not seen that quality and service in many places, not even some 5star

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Totally enjoyable, highly recommended, close to all the top sites in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not have a GPS to find the hotel, which is set back from the room on a quiet square. I asked a couple of pedestrians where it was, and they helped me drive up to the entrance. Our car was then parked right in front of the hotel, which I think has 10 spaces available.

    We had a totally excellent experience at this hotel. The room was huge and clean. The breakfast was terrific. The staff professional and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Good city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't open window so had to use air conditioning although evening was pleasantly cool. Parking was rather chaotic and access could be awkward.

    Large room, quiet, breakfast, location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money (for a short stay), especially location and breakfast. Welcoming staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old room, windows could not be opened, old and uncomfortable beds, noisy lift next to the room.

    Good breakfast, served by an excellent waiter. Excellent location. Welcoming staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Friendly staff. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance of the hotel is wrongly marked on Google Maps. Took us a while to find the way.

    Large and clean room. Located right at the entrance of the historic area. Most delightful staff - my husband and I were travelling early on check-out day and the staff still managed to offer a delicious full breakfast to us (the orange cake is heavenly good!) even half an hour earlier than usual service time. Value choice for a carefree stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    The luxury breakfast served by a friendly waiter, the big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit difficult to find, the toilet was very big but needs a reformation (still a curtain at the shower cabin!)

    The luxury breakfast served by a friendly waiter, the big size of the room, good enough for three people, the location at the historic center

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    A good hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit oldy. We prefer buffat for breakfast.

    Freindly staff. Great location. Very good breakfast served by the weitress. Very clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    The perfect place to stay in Guimaraes !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very comfortable hotel, perfect location overlooking the main square, clean and spacious room, an excellent breakfast, very helpful and hospitable staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    9.6
    Great city and lovely hotel with friendly locals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. If you modernise this hotel to meet other peoples expectations you lose what is great about it.

    Delightfully enthusiastic and friendly staff who really wanted you to enjoy their City. The hotel is sympathetically restored without losing any of its historic character. Perfect location for exploring on foot, great restaurants/bars with friendly locals. We had our best meal of the holiday in a tiny bar behind the hotel where you eat at the counter. When we arrived at the hotel in 40 degrees of heat and discovered the fridge in the room was broken, they replaced it within 5 minutes and asked if we would prefer another room. We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night! This city has a lovely warm feel about it that other places struggle to achieve.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    This quaint hotel is hidden away in the town square of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This quaint hotel is hidden away in the town square of Guirmase. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful although they did mess up my booking and quickly rectified. The hotel and the room is lovely clean and smells lovely. The size of a single bed is almost size of a double. Rooms are large. Breakfast was served from the table from staff that was welcoming and Smiley. Definitely recommend this hotel and stay her again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    excellent location and great staff, but unattractive rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed our stay, but we did not enjoy our room! The room is very dark and depressing. It is very outdated and there is fixed carpet, which makes it a bit unhygienic. What bothered us most is the noise comming from other rooms and the corridor. The walls are not insulated and you hear each other very well. Especially the water pipes are loud. Unfortunately, because of this I am not sure if I would stay here again...

    The staff is absolutely wonderful, kind, professional and helpful. Your breakfast is served at the table and is basic, but good. The room and bathroom are clean. There are a few free parking spots in the street reserved for hotel guests, but there is not always room. Parking elsewhere in the city is difficult. The location of the hotel is excellent, walking distance from the centre. You feel like a local!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location in the heart of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location in the heart of the city. Extremely cordial personnel, especially at breakfast. Great breakfast, by the way. Here we had the tastiest pastel de nata in our trip. Big and comfortable room. The third bed can be isolated by sliding doors.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Very good clean place to stay for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dated.

    The room was a bit dated but it was clean and the breakfast was one of the best we had in Portugal. It has a very good location though it's a bit hard to find so ask for directions before you arrive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    A quite exceptional hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quite exceptional hotel. The receptionists Martan and Pedro could not have been more helpful, and the waiter at breakfast was geniality itself. A really nice feel to this hotel. For quality of service and value for money, it cannot be beaten.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    City centre calm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is something of a lottery in the square near the hotel.

    Very convenient location, quiet and within easy walking distance of the centre. Excellent breakfast served with style. Helpful staff. Good tips for local restaurants. A pleasingly old-fashioned air of calm and tranquillity.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Thoroughly recommend Hotel Toural
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Hotel Toural is a lovely hotel set in a very nice location. Parking is allocated right outside hotel. The accommodation is very good, and staff excellent. The hotel breakfast was the best we experienced in Portugal with personally prepared dishes as usually only found in "Club Suites". The coffee was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    A quality hotel that serves an excellent breakfast for moderate prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking in the narrow streets of Guimaraes is problematic at best. Fortunately, after a few moments delay, we did manage to stop on the nearby plaza at a spot which then became "reserved" for us as hotel guests.

    The welcome was cordial, the rooms are spacious and clean, the superb breakfast - served at the table ! - is a true luxury these days. I sincerely feel this is an excellent hotel at a most moderate price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Great staff, but hotel needs renovating!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is good; fabulous breakfast. The rooms and decor are very tired. Some peeling paint; really needs remodeling.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Very good hotel and not so expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It a little hard to fined the hotel entrance, it in back of the building. There was not enough parking places near the hotel so we left our cat at parking place 10 min walk from the hotel (5 euro for 24 hours, very cheep) and at the evening moved the car to the hotel.

    A very good hotel, in city center, near all the attraction, restaurants and bars. We got a big room for 3 persons with very good facilities. Hotel stuff was very lovely and helpful with recommendations about restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Great Guimaraes and well done Hotel Toural
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have stayed longer and we should have eaten the orange cake on the first morning.

    This is a family run hotel and it sure shows in the way they treat their guests. I really can't commend the staff highly enough. We stayed four nights so were there to meet quite a few of them - all very courteous, friendly and spoke excellent English. Sussanah in reception was a font of information on the town - right down to where to go for a pedicure. (50m away if you have a spare hour). Gentil the head waiter whilst we were there is amazing. He was pleasure to see every morning-so chirpy, with a great sense of humour - the perfect blend of courtesy and fun. He really made our stay and we were very sorry to leave. Breakfast is amazing - muesli, cheeses, ham, croissants and toast of course. Eggs if you'd like them. Then there is the famous Toural Orange Cake which is not to be passed up! Light as a feather and topped with coconut. This and the gorgeous little cup shaped pastry filled with an egg cream mixture is reason enough to prolong your stay. There is a small, comfy bar area where you can get espresso coffee and a drink. Parking is in the little square behind the hotel. The hotel entrance is at the back - not on the square. If the little side road to this square has the block on it you just speak into the thing on the left and tell them you're a hotel guest and it retracts underground. If the parking is full you just park on the left by the hotel and the guys at reception park your car for you when a space becomes free. It's very very easy once you know. So - remember this bit! We were using a TomTom and it seemed to know to park in the right place, down the little side street. Our room over looked the main square and was light and airy. Double glazed so very quiet. Plenty of room and spotlessly clean - thank you ladies !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay in Guimaraes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did find the handsome pillows and bed very hard and uncomfortable.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, directing us to sights which we enjoyed. The breakfasts were excellent and the location, just inside the historic centre was ideal for sightseeing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.3
    Great location in a charming town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows are horrible. Get some softer ones - down filled so they are squeezable. I had a terrible night's sleep because the pillows were so uncomfortable.

    Staff were very friendly and most helpful. They were English speaking and this really helped

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Excellent old hotel at the edge of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very easy to find the entrance. The hotel is in Toural square, but the entrance is hidden away at the back.

    Old fashioned service. A large room with a bath in the bathroom. Waiter service at breakfast, with freshly baked cake and pastries. Helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    8.8
    A heart warming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected our room to be cozier. Somehow it looked better on the pictures.

    What makes this hotel so great is the people who work there! The reception guy was extremely nice and helpful, and the person in the breakfast room (blaming myself for not asking his name!!) was the most wonderful Portuguese guy we met! He was fun, and helpful, and funny, and overall made us just love love love the place. Thank you so much! The breakfast, by the way, is an enormous amount of food and includes a homemade pie, so have your stomach empty!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Great location in Gimaraes for a good value
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a bit old and deserve a bit of modernization in the rooms. Coffee served in the breakfast was awful. I also like buffet rather than continental.

    Super nice staff and best location to explore Gimaraes. Breakfast is not buffet but it was very good, except for the coffee.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel tucked awah in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only concern was the pillows that were hard as rocks and not comfortable.

    Breakfaat was amazing with fresh fruit, yogurts, croissants you could smell as you awoke in the morning, breads, eggs cooked to order, fresh-squeezed orange juice and homemade cakes and pastries. Staff gave good recommendations for restaurants and sights, all of which were easy to walk to and easy to locate from hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    10
    Top staff, situation, everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I lliked everything althoug a more modern or whiter decoration would be god. And the light on the room was not strong for one to read. I had to turn all lights on.

    Staff and location where the best!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    A nice retro old style hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location and the room and bathroom was very big with a nice view to the plaza and quiet!! It is and old style hotel, with a retro decoration. The breakfast was fantastic!!!! Fresh orange juice, fresh fruit salad, breads, pastel de nata.....They serve you in the table and ask you if you would like some eggs and they make it specially for you. The man that serve us was very charming and attentive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Very agreable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is old and was not designed for computer use, even if their wi-fi is good.

    Everything was more than ok, competent and warm staff, the room was always clean, excellent breakfest. The position is in the centre of the city, so it is well positioned for business trips. Staff fluent in 3 languages and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    Great service and an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was slow at times, but that was only a minor inconvenience.

    Service at breakfast and the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff. The central location of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really friendly staff. We were only there fir one day and they recommended a route to walk to see the best if town and some great places to eat. We happened to be there in a festival night and our room had a great view of the procession.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    100% satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv reception terrible,but we didn,t come 2 watch tv. Small tv in living room did not work.also a plug non functioning....but SO much was excellent none of this important..

    Best room in the house,balcony overlooked main square.amazing breakfast and wait staff.top quality linens,towels..helpful front desk.good value.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    8.3
    Close to old town
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the hotel entrance is difficult. We needed the help of one of the staff to help us. It's better to have a buffet breakfast.

    Close to old town

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.2
    Good position in centre of town and close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good position in centre of town and close to all amenities. Parking is difficult as they do not have many spaces. Staff friendly and rooms comfortable and clean. Breakfast good and is served by staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful location and excellent staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel furnishings reflect its history and is a bit dated.

    The staff were excellent and very helpful to our requests for information. The room was comfortable. The breakfast in the dining room was excellent, with good service and good food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff could have been more welcoming

    The breakfast staff were super attentive

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Friendly welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcome Centrally located Breakfast is great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient to access a beautiful city from its centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Range of food at breakfast limited. Slight struggle to get staff to make a coffee.

    Perfect location with safe street parking outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Helpful staff. Delicious breakfast. Place to park a car. Easy to reach everything. Thanks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was OK

    Location, staff very friendly, excellent room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Best central location in Guimares, great cosy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location rooms cleanliness car park service breakfast served to table staff attitude- a delight!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Spacious room , friendly staff, very clean and comfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room , friendly staff, very clean and comfortable beds. Fantastic small hotel within a historic building. Renovated with modern amenities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    Spacious room and bathroom .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious room and bathroom . Very attentive and welcoming staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location for walking tour of the city; pleasant room; very nice, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice breakfast with very attentive service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    Extremely kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely kind staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast is excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Breakfast is excellent!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overall standard

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    everytthing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Top hotel in the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful and the breakfast scrumptious. The room was well equipped and very clean. Location was fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    We enjoyed a delightful two-night stay and found all the hotel staff to be first-class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is noisy with bedroom window open. Cars on cobbles.

    Staff were attentive and polite. Breakfast was particularly good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic staff,good breakfast ,comfortable rooms,great location.Suzanna is fantstic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At the worst its a little dated

    Absolutely the friendliest most helpful staff i have met in any hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    7.9
    enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good staff and good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    As usual excellent stay.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As usual excellent stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Handy location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is small. We couldn't open the windows for fresh air.

    Handy location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic Breakfast and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic Breakfast and service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Good but 2 days enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water last day

    Central location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    very relaxing spacious room at good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    Friendly staff. Good location. Cozy spacious toom.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: