Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Vasco Da Gama 3 stars

Av. Infante D. Henrique, 8900-412 Monte Gordo, Portugal

#2 of 8 hotels in Monte Gordo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 761 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit dated and dark. There was a garden in front of them full of frogs that wouldn’t let us sleep at night.

    Location is perfect. The pool area is very pleasant and you can spend your whole day resting there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mass-produced food and enormous dining room.

    This hotel complex is fit for purpose (for package tourism.) The new developments under construction on the beach will make a big difference.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was quite cold , unfortunately the weather was,nt very good, but there was little or no heating on most of the time. Our room , which was on the 5th floor was very cold for the first day , after reporting this they came & set the a/c to come on at a higher temp, before they did this it was 16 degree,s! We had one very wet day when ,we & most people stayed in but there was no snacks to be bought in hotel that day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 11 nights

    opening hours gym, a bit more variety in the restaurant; three members of our group had a birthday and a short but simple tribute from the hotel would have been great

    Great location, pre-dominant friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The dining room was a bit cafeteria style with a tendency to join tables together in groups of 8 or 10. Difficult if you want a bit of privacy while you eat

    Excellent position on the beach. Good beds, crisp sheets. We had the use of a secure storage building for our electric bikes, no charge for car park (unlike other hotels). Plenty of choice for breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a bit poor, no fruits at all. Channels was really bad in the room ( I know on holidays we don't spent time in the room but I had a child with me and was raining outside )

    The staff & location was 10/10

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a disco or something on the roadside the noise of which did impact on sleep. The hotel should have made it clear access to the beach is currently restricted due to improvement work in the town.

    The restaurant was good value with a good choice of food available as self service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The beds were very firm , too firm for my tastes, but many like it that way.

    The staff were excellent, friendly, and professional. We had to be moved to a different room because our hot water was not working and they were very accommodating and took care of it quickly. The breakfast buffet was very good, catered to many tastes, and all the restaurant staff were excellent, friendly and responsive to everyones' requests. The evening meals were good but it would have been nice to have a separate option of proper dining instead of buffet style food. The bar staff were great , very friendly, and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was really good with REAL coffee which you dont often get these days, dinner was quite good but we felt it was,nt labeled very good, a fair selection of fish dishes (if you like fish!) which you had to guess or ask what they were. also most of the guests were elderly & some , not all ,were very arogant , maybe because they were long stay or came every year ,

    The bed & pillows were lovely & soft. We like it as it is close to the Spanish border, you can either go across on a ferry or by road. We would definately go again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was spotless, staff friendly, the bed was extra comfortable, and the breakfast was delicious, I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Xmas Gala dinner was very disappointing. Quality of food was very poor. We had visited a few days earlier to make them aware of food allergies and we were informed that an alternative would be provided, This did not happen. To be honest even if it were and the quality was the same then it would not have been worth it. When complained next morning reception blamed the kitchen and did not care that one of us had practically nothing to eat. No discount and shrugged shoulders all around from reception staff.

    Updated Room was very clean and retro styled. Happy hour between 6-7 pm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain clientele but its an old age resort in winter? Also not very Christmassy except for excellent xmas night

    Great bed great view when bathroom refurbishment complete accomm fabulous and extra spacious. Huge climb in wardrobe!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was initially cold and took some warming up,,a sea view room (south facing )would have been a better option.......

    ...location and their food were their strongest points...excellent xmas day dinner.....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a bit of a refit and the rooms could do with 2 comfy chairs as all the rooms are for 2 people

    Every thing about the food. They looked after me so well as i have a food allergy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    After 10 years the nightly entertainment in the lounge is sometimes a little boring.

    I have been staying at this hotel every year for around 10 years and and it is a good hotel, is well run and the facilities are first class..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room and had to trudge all the way downstairs to the bar to get it anytime of day. Room service unavailable.

    Location and old style feel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold even with the heating on. Hot water pressure was very low and bathroom was badly designed and tiny. Would not recommend any rooms on the ground floor. Terrible

    Breakfast was good and the location is perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A fabulously relaxing beach hotel with too many extras to mention - upgraded to ocean-view suite; best value for money hotel on our 3 month trip through France, northern and southern Spain and Portugal (the room price was great but included a huge buffet breakfast AND supper); great sitting areas, unbelievable beach and boardwalk, excellent pools, table tennis, tennis, pool table, and just across the street from bars, restaurants, grocery stores and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Dining room serving units need changing - currently one long run with plates in the middle meaning you have to force your way through the feeding frenzy of soup and salad queues to get your plate if they let you! Coffee awful!

    Excellent choice of hot and cold items at breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-fi speed is not too good and it would be nice to have more than Sky News in English on the TV, like BBC.TV channel(s)

    The staff are extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need a little updating and the area of Monte Gordo during November is very quiet, only a few bars and restaurants open.

    The hotel is right on the beach. Beautiful views. The food was excellent value for money and the staff are all very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we have to pay if we want to exchange the pool towel as the room price was not very cheap for this season of year.

    Right in front of beach. Excellent, room, cleanliness, working wifi on room and common spaces, free parking and good breakfast. It has a big terrace with a table and 2 chairs and a "device" to hang clothes for drying, very useful in a beach hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff (two) were very irritable when I asked Wi-Fi questions. One reception clerk was very courteous at check-in and check-out.

    Breakfast good, nice variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms need refurbishing, they were very old especially the bathrooms but apart from that a very good Hotel.

    Excellent location right on the beach. The pool area was great lots of loungers and good swimming pools. The lobby and bar areas were very comfortable. Excellent breakfast good choice and very well cooked.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Old hotel, which in our case didn’t represent any problem.

    Fantastic location for those looking for beach holidays. Very close to the beach and no need to use any transportation. Free parking inside, which is priceless in the crowded months and allow us to have all the freedom to go in and out all the times we want. Very nice hotel environment, totally different from all the other offers in the region. Acceptable breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a 4 star hotel in my opinion, rooms outdated, need upgrades, mini bar unorganized, emptied by staff 2 days before departure, and ignored my request to fill it back up, did bare minimum to make my stay enjoyable, free drink card was non alcohol, for the price, not worth it, the great thing was location and breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I should had booked another hotel ,it was horrible

    The room was very old and stunk of blocked drains all the time it was horribly and we could have been poisened by the gas fumes from the drains .I notified the front desk but nothing was done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is right on a very large if somewhat busy beach which is well maintained. Ideal for everyone couples and families. Good facilities with two good pools, one for the kids. Bars, shops and restaurants all on your doorstep but the area in general is very quiet, well it was during our stay. Staff were very good and helpful and you won't go hungery and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home.

    Old y world hotel with charm and standards been five times never disappointed food is excellent and pleasant staff.hotel very clean and comfortable with go back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms need upgrading. Hot food at breakfast sometimes lukewarm. Prices for food and drinks generally too high.

    This hotel is in a great location with easy access on to a wonderful beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bathrooms have not been updated since visiting in the 1980's and the overall decor on the coiridoors needs updating

    The beds very comfortable, the pool area beautiful and the reception staff very friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment was ground floor area with bedrooms in upper levels. Not clear in hotel description of apartment layout. With toddler, dificult to keep eye in stairs, as stairs had no safeguards. Ended up sleeping with toddler in her bedroom to ensure she would no wonder off downstairs during night. But all ended up well and she trained her confidence skills on those stairs :)

    Staff very friendly. Apartment very cool and clean. Distance to the beach perfect for family with children. Beautiful pool area. Despite the inconvenient of apartment layout (2 floor level), we had really wonderfull holydays :) will be back next year :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was unable to book half board through Booking.com as was not available on this occasion!

    As always efficient,friendly staff and very good breakfast and dinner buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room they gave us was dark & dingy & had only 1 bed, but we booked for 2. They upgraded us to a suite, which could have been much cleaner. Baseboards and walls were visibly dirty. Balcony was dirty. Soap dispenser in bathroom was coated with stuck on dust. Beds in main room were poor, but the bed in the outer room was excellent. No space to put toiletries in bathroom. I didn't want to walk barefoot on the floors. It would have been nice to be provided with bottled water.

    Lots of sitting areas inside and outside the hotel. Friendly staff. Antonio in the breakfast room was the best! Plenty of food for those with (or without!) allergies. Fun entertainment in the bar at night. Lots or storage space in suite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since my wife is semi invalid we had booked a room with a walk in shower but on arrival discovered that the shower was over the bath - impossible for my wife to use. But, when advised, the receptionist quickly moved us to another room. Our next problem was that there was no lift only a considerable number of stairs to access the dining room. Once again the receptionist acted quickly and we were shown how to access the dining room via a service lift and the basement corridor and eventually the kitchen! We saw many people really struggling with stairs. Our room was on the landside and there was a lot of noise from bars, until about 1.30am. We had booked for three nights from 14th April, but unfortunately my wife was ill and we had to leave before breakfast on the 15th. We expected to pay for the Saturday night, but since the hotel policy stated that one could cancel with more than 24 hours notice, we had not expected to pay for the third night. The receptionist advised that had we booked direct this would have been the case, but since we had booked through Booking.com, this was not possible.

    Dinner was buffet style, plenty of choice and excellent food.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    As in previous visits Staff and food choice and quality very good. Also food and service in Hotel's beach restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building work that was been carried out in the hotel opposite our room and not been informed about it. Room number 005. Also the rear fire door was open all the time for letting people in from the self contained apartments

    The hotels location and the breakfast was superb

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception not very welcoming. We arrived, having walked from the bus station in the rain, got no hello just I need your passports then told we could not check in for another hour. No would you like to wait in the lounge, leave your luggage, have a coffee in the bar while you wait. Not very good first impression some training needed. Happily rest of staff very friendly.

    Can't fault anything warm comfortable in all areas. Beds really comfortable with lovely crisp white bedding. Requested a walk in shower if possible and got one. Everything you could want at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water problems.Had to dump water away 4 ages beforwater became lukewarm and slowly turning warmer.This eas very annoying and caused a huge waste of water.

    Bed,meals and staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room walls let a bit of sound through but it was in no way a problem at any point as the hotel is generally quiet/peaceful atmosphere. Just mentioning it in case the hotel was very loud in high season and people were surprised.

    Would highly recommend this hotel to stay in. Pool looks amazing but can't comment on this per se as I didn't actually go in during the trip. Room and bathroom were perfect (spacious and clean). Breakfast was excellent as promised. Didn't stay in the hotel for dinner but the menu looked good. Location is perfect for running on the trails or walking along the beachfront and to restaurants. Gym isn't huge but has ample equipment/a sensible selection for a work out.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about the room ,the beds where nice and comfortable nice and clean.the only complaint we have .we where close to an exit door and when the staff came in or left Earle in the morning the door was banging close ,they should do something about that,an soft closer or some thing . But that was my only complaint.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing; location is perfect staff are really friendly from chambermaids to the manager

    we arrived late and missed dinner, but the staff left two trays of food in the room for us. its little things like that sets this hotel above other hotels. Monte gordo is a quite and small resort a place to relax

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    no 'tea making facilities'

    the hotel has ample recreational areas and lounges and tastefully furnished. decent equipment in the fitness suite. there was ample choice in the included breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in room 228 was a bit dodgy ! Breakfast was good but would like to have seen some dates and figs which are typical of the region.

    Outdoor area very spacious. No problem getting lounger and brolly. Rooms comfortable and happy with air conditioning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Staff excellent On arrival boking .com had not passed on my request for two single beds as I was travelling with my brother. Hotel was full so they accommodated us in a garden apartment - two floors , 4 beds the works and no extra charge . Winner !!.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Whilst the breakfast buffet choices were excellent we would have preferred to see a buffet style dinner - the menu was OK but very expensive at 30 euros each. The restaurant at Dinner was sparsely occupied as most guests went to outside venues.

    The garden room allocated to us was in effect an apartment with two bedrooms, a lounge, a bathroom and a separate shower room with a patio area with chairs and table outside. What a bargain.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Lovely room overlooking a spectacular beach. Bed very comfortable and bed linen of a very high standard. Cleaning and towel change every day. The staff were most helpful especially the ladies on reception who organized our taxi to the airport. Bar staff also very friendly and professional. Towel loan from reception an excellent idea. Great breakfast in a spacious dining room with lots of choice. It's less than 5 minutes walk to the town where there are cafes and restaurants. We stayed here a few years ago an hope to return soon again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Given the average age of guests at the hotel is probably 70, I would expect more people to comment in reviews on the lack of lifts to the pool/beach/restaurant level. Going anywhere in the hotel was a huge problem for me with a wheelchair but much of this applies to anyone with walking difficulties. There are 18 stairs to get to the pool or the restaurant as no lift serves this level. The staff offered us the option of going to the second floor, accessing a private staff only door, walking through a storage area for cots and mattresses, down in a service lift to the kitchens, walking through the area where food was being prepared or cleared up, and out into the restaurant or out to the pool from there. I didn't go on holiday to go through a service lift. Apparently it is on the cards to put a new lift in in the next couple of years. The normal lifts barely take a wheelchair either. Even using the service lift for the pool or restaurant doesn't get you to the beach. There is direct beach access from behind the pool area but there are several steps to negotiate before you get to the path. An alternative route was shown to us which went through the garden area and avoided the stairs but this path has plenty of gaps in it where the chair's wheels got stuck. The actual path from the hotel to the beach is cobbled and has gaps in it where the chair would get stuck. The only alternative is to go outside the hotel front entrance and access the beach that way, which involves pushing the chair in the road or over cobbles. The entrance of the hotel is spacious, yet they have put a ramp in that is so steep it looks like a ski slope and is totally unusable for a wheelchair. Even though they could easily and inexpensively make the slope have a smaller gradient, they have installed a special wheelchair hoist which has to be key operated by a member of staff. I contacted Booking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to leave a 10 Eur deposit to use a swimming pool towel from the hotel.

    A good hotel right in front of beach, reasonably priced. It's not a new hotel but it is very well mantained and materials are of good quality. The rooms are not sound proof from the corridor or the street. The beds by the pool are all new and the pool itself is fine. The bathroom could be a little larger, this issue depends on the room. The staff was very nice, breakfast is good with too many variety and the service is good as well, it is a very good hotel on 3 star rating range.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Perhaps another soft chair in the room. Thee was only one chair and therefore one of us had to sit on the bed to watch the television.

    We appreciated the protection on the windows to keep the mosquitos out meaning we got a more relaxing sleep not worrying about being bitten.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed everything. Nice view in a quiet room. Confortable bed and renovated bathroom. Good breakfast and bar service. Helpful staff. Nice vintage decoration. Lovely bar on the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff needs to be friendlier! Especially at reception, boiled sweets don't compensate for unhelpful staff! Place could do with a lick of paint.

    The breakfast was excellent, and the pool was large with plenty of sunbeds, always in the sun

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being asked to pay an extra €850 on arrival due to my Son who turned 13 in May being classed as an adult

    Fantastic location and good breakfast included

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The en suite bathroom was very small - I could have used the toilet, showered and washed my hands at the same time!!!! ;). We used the downstairs shower instead as the upstairs shower was too small to move in. Although they provided kitchen utensils including a fish slice, heat resistant mixing/serving spoon, the kitchen only had a fridge, microwave, sink and draining board. No oven, stove top, nor dish soap or sponge, and no sharp knives, just one bread knife. There were plenty of plates, bowls, cups and cutlery though. I would have liked the pool to open earlier in the morning to get in a swim before breakfast, and stayed open later at night - including night swimming which my kids love. Pool hours were 9am to 7pm. I thought the accommodation was quite pricey compared to where else we stayed in Portugal, but I think the Algarve charges a premium.

    We stayed in the apartment as a family of two adults and two kids who had twin beds in a separate bedroom - the safe was in the closet in their room. The apartment was spacious, with a good bathroom downstairs and a powerful shower. It's in a great location, just across the street from the shops, supermarket, ice cream shops and restaurants and the end of the pedestrian area which comes alive late at night, but we couldn't hear any noise from the hotel. It's also on the HUGE sandy beach. The pool was perfect - quite big so when it was busy late afternoon there was still plenty of space for everyone, a great temperature and long enough for me to swim laps in. There were plenty of sun loungers and umbrellas around the pool area. If you want beach towels, you can pay 10 Euros deposit per towel at reception, but you get this back when you return the towels at the end of your stay. Breakfast was a large buffet - meats, cheeses, eggs cooked in various ways, small cereal selection, juices, rolls, croissants, coffee/tea machine, and some fruit. Staff were very friendly and helpful and responded quickly to any request. My mother also stayed here at the same time, in the hotel, and had a top floor room with an extra large balcony, with her own sun loungers and sun umbrella. The view was great from up here, but the larger balcony meant her room was a little smaller than on the lower floors.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the outdoors areas, the lawns looked like they needed more care, many leaves on chairs. Looked a little unloved or uninvested. But no major problem.

    Great situation, facilities great, loads of extras like crazy golf. Pools looked great one for little ones just slightly set to side of main pool and beach just steps away.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We first visited this hotel 30 years ago and this was our third stay there. We were upgraded to an apartment which was an added bonus. The breakfast buffet has a coffee machine and there is plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening snacks only toasties av Ailable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needs total refit

    Great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    friendly reception staff and the general location of the hotel - we have stayed at the hotel before and will continue to do so

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could have been more Choice for food at dinner time.

    The rooms were comfy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Efficient,friendly staff.Good quality food with plenty of choice breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities for wheelchair users very poor. Lack of lifts between some public areas is not good

    Excellent good humoured staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals too expensive. Food was Luke warm

    Facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals were repetitive

    Situated in a quiet and convenient area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a walk from room, to reception and lounge. Hotel in need of some re-furbishment.

    Very good seaviews, ideal for New Year's fireworks.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Position good breakfast and nice bar

    Corridors and bedrooms a little tired but then in winter so are the clientelle

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous breakfast, good happy hour in the bar 5-7pm 50% off all drinks. Plus a free drink on arrival.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great breakfast. Entertainment laid on was unexpected

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff food and facilities excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was brilliant, loads of choice.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good choice of food for breakfast and evening meal. Great location for the beach, And great space around the pool area and terrance to sit.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault breakfast, a good choice & well cooked

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    all of it, was a very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Land View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room location overlooked by car park.

    Wide variety of food, at breakfast and dinner

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Vasco Da Gama traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: