Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Yellow Alvor Garden - All Inclusive 4 stars

Sitio Da Dourada, 8500 - 053 Alvor, Portugal

#11 of 11 hotels in Alvor

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    6.6

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice,quite place,away from hustle and bustle,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar staff could be more happy-we are not you enemy!!! Could be some sand for little ones when weather to cold fol them to be in the pool,because they not aloud to play by the lake.....although the signs were faded

    Breakfast was ok,mostly the same,but very nice bread and croissants,they the best! Live music good,just not enough space to enjoy -bar upstairs or restaurant,where was not that much comfortable,because waiters tray to clean tables and prepare for morning service. Good thinking about kids cinema! Good breakfast pack the last morning,we have to leave the hotel very early.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Over all we have nice stay .Disadvantage will be forgoten after some time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool bar need more organize,from side looking looks like some staff want to kill you if you ask for 2 ice cream....In evenings program good,not to long.Animation man looks boring and do not care about any thing,some days even no music by pool.Com on,we just come here for holidays,to have a good time and nice memory about Portugal.

    Check-in were good,even our room was not ready,because we arrive before check-in time.Room cleaners were nice,polite and attentive.Lake with sand for turtles need more visible signs,because the old fade from sun.Very nice idea grill lunch with live music.Good cinema for kids..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    2.5
    The Hotel was run down and a long walk uphill from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel was run down and a long walk uphill from the Village. It is set behind other Hotels and the area is not good, Tennis court at the front overgrown and all paths in disrepair.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing quiet break just chilling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The BBQ, if this was cooked at a BBQ outside where guests could enjoy the theatre of a chef cooking the food

    The staff were wonderful, polite and always happy. The staff work hard and all aspects of our stay were lively. The entertainment although great singers, an area to dance would be great as the music was exceptional Definitely going back next year, we had a really relaxing holiday Thank you to all the wonderful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice little get away. Nice pool areas to enjoy if your wanting to rest and relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Farther walk into town than what we expected which was okay for us cause we had a rental. Harder to find even with google maps. Actually in behind another resort.

    The room was exactly as shown in the picture. Nice little balcony to sit on. Food was plentiful but not gorment and would not be a lot of people's choices. We alway found something to our taste as lots of salads and fresh fruit. Great if you wanted two rooms together because had a double door system. You opened the main door the went your room door and unlocked it. If you took two rooms they could stay open to each other while you were in the rooms making a mini suite. Lots of water stations to fill water bottles.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Beds were comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Place does need a lick of paint/looks a bit outdated A lot of scuffs/dents/marks in room There was always 1 vegetarian meal each sitting but only 1 Bar staff didn't always seem happy/helpful but there were dealing with rude/drunk brits... Inside bar area is very small, not enough seating Fridge in room didn't work but luckily I didn't need it

    Beds were comfy Different selection of foods every night Great balcony view looking out towards pool Great value for money Free Shuttle to Alvor Town/Beach Food/Drink always available Nice a secluded if thats what you want

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.0
    Not upto our expectation at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures before we arrived in the hotel looked really good and hence I booked it, however when we got there I was really unhappy. Very old building the rooms were not nice and the neatness wasn’t upto the mark. The floors were always dusty and the things on the table wouldn’t even be touched to clean the area. The staff at the reception were very unfriendly and not welcoming. The hotel was meant to be a family type but no kettles were provided as I had to make feeds for my baby so we had to keep going out in the middle of the night to ask for one. I would never ever go back to this hotel , overall not a good experience.

    We liked the outdoor pool and the property around it. The staff from the restaurant were ONLY very friendly and helpful as we took our little one with us. The facility to take us to the beach and the centre was good too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    3.8
    We were booked for a week but left early and booked into a different hotel ,it saved our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It shouldn't be rated as a four star hotel,the room was very small the balcony was tiny there was no area to sit and relax with a book in the hotel,we were blessed the weather was great and we weren't stuck indoors also the all inclusive was not very vegetarian friendly

    The bed and pillows were comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Very good breakfast with plenty of variety!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No towels provided to use at the pool or beach. The room cleanliness is not good!

    Very good breakfast with plenty of variety! Good food variety at lunch and dinner time! Lovely exterior and garden! Not too crowded!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Nice holidays!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Towels to use at the pool or beach are not provided which is a big inconvenient for those travelling by plane. The free wifi is slow, kept dropping the connection and requires entering login and password every time to reconnect. The room cleanliness is not that good. We could notice the dust coming off from under the cabinets and the bed. Also we had to request the balcony to be clean. Room decoration is old but enough and had terrible sound proofing. A bottle of water in the mini bar would be a nice welcome on arriving. The snacks were not the best for a children (hamburger, hotdogs, fries and not much more) Poor entertainment, repetitive, mainly in french, and too loud!

    Very good breakfast with a good local bread! Good food variety at lunch and dinner time! Delicious fruit (melon, watermelon and orange) at lunch and dinner time! Good free parking! Lovely exterior and garden! Great outdoor playground for children! Not too crowded! Nice kids corner and cinema for children! Convenient interior pool, great for when it was bit more chill outside. Nice outdoor pools, with an inflatable in the kids pool! Great spot for a summer break with children!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.9
    Safe, comfortable location with easy access to nearby beach and town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sometimes main meals were not good. Bones left in chicken and poorly filleted fish which always had too many bones in spoilt eating experience.

    Safety for little ones : seeing them at play was a delight. the pool was also great.Being able to have a snack and drinks at almost any time was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    5.0
    Clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Old uncomfortable beds and in all inclusive the only vegetarian offer salad without any dressing and rice with a few slice of champignons from can wasnt the best combination. We were basicaly unhappy with the food. You dont pay a lot but the quality of food is really bad (with exception of fruit and vegetable it was really good).

    Clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    2.5
    Worst experience in a hotel ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were so many things that we didn't like: - the cleanliness was very poor, the rooms were not cleaned every day, the water from the pool was always dirty (we didn't see the bottom) and the interior pool was really a mess (dirty glasses, dirty windows). - the staff was not nice and was very unhelpful (our baby didn't have soup for lunch despite my request in the day before in the reception and the restaurant). They told me that the soup would be ready but it wasn't and then they gave me a soup that was not cooked properly. - the food was terrible and always the same every day, the glasses and plates were dirty (the microwave was also very dirty and for me to rewarm the baby food there was really disgusting). - the mattress and the pillows from the bed were very bad and my back hurt almost all week because of that - the hotel had a very old and poor decoration, no light in the inner halls and the tv had only 4 channels that doesn't always were working. - there were ants in the room. - the drinks in the bar were bad and it didn't had cocktails. - the bottled water (for the baby) was not included. I seriously doubt that this is a 4 star hotel. I would not recommend this to anyone and I think that the rating should be reviewed.

    We hated almost everything. The location was not the worst but it also didn't make up for the rest of it. The exterior space was not bad.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    2.9
    Hotel decadente
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quartos e wc

    Piscina

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony was next to car park

    Gardens/pool area were lovely

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Alvor is small fishing village nice and quiet. Yellow Garden is good clean nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think it could do with a bit of updating but it was value for money

    Quiet location about 15mins walk from Alvor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    Ok for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was very poor some of the restaurant staff were very ignorant

    What we expected got the money we paid

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    good hotel for the price could do with more choices at meals...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    choices at meals times

    good hotel for the price could do with more choices at meals times

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    2.5
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not very clean and food is disgusting

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall very good. Animation team could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough seating in social areas in the evening. Shower head has to be held by hand.

    Food and drink were great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Recommendable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    absolutely lovely relaxing weekend away with my big sister
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Cava on all inclusive

    Excellent range of food available for all meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Our favourite hotels in our favourite resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child) - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We loved our pool view, the staff are lovely, the entertainment is fab... Great holiday all round. We'll be back 😁

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't nice

    The staff where lovely is this hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel in a very quite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (2 Adults) - All inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi

    Excellent hotel in a very quite place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    9.2
    the food was varied and excellent and plentiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the bed was very uncomfortable.the outdoor swimming pool was absolutely freezing.the indoor pool was a bit small.wi-fi was not the best.

    the food was varied and excellent and plentiful.the service was great.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    7.9
    Rooms cleaned every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to pay 50cent for staff to call you a taxi

    Rooms cleaned every day. Staff very friendly with excellent English. Shuttle bus to beach & town 4 times a day.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    7.1
    Unlimited food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gym is a joke. Bike and 1 weights machine and closed at 7 pm ! Only there so they can claim a gym. A few miles from beach and village centre, car needed. Only booked this as booking.com cancelled my booking made in May 48 hours before check in. Had to sorce own accom as they offered one in a different town. Still have not had refund of original booking or difference as agreed.

    Unlimited food. Good times available. Very clean, daily house keeping. Peaceful at night. Free wifi. Free parking. Ideal for people with young children !

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    7.9
    Lots for kids to do, all inclusive drinks excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Having to pay 50c for them to book you a taxi

    Lots for kids to do, all inclusive drinks excellent

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    3.8
    staff were nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bugs in the sauna with 6cm of diameter ! No WiFi no parking for car

    staff were nice

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    7.5
    preço/qualidade
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nao fornecem toalhas para uso nas piscinas. Refeições pouco variadas.

    preço/qualidade

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: